Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/09/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 are pending with claims 1-13 being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the collection pan, capture opening, collection cup must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1, “the plurality of holes has a shape” should read –the plurality of holes have a shape--.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1 ”the plurality of holes is round” should read –the plurality of holes are round--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bilinski (WO 2020111959 A1; hereinafter “Bilinski” previous of record).
Regarding claim 1, Bilinski teaches a collection pan (Bilinski; fig. 1. 10 and Title) for retrieving a capsule discharged from anus of a patient into a toilet bowl. Bilinski teaches a collection pan, what the collection pan is used for is a matter of intended use, the collection pan comprising:
a flange to adapt to a rim of the toilet bowl (Bilinski; fig. 1. 14), wherein the flange comprises a capture opening for collecting feces (Bilinski; fig. 1. 16), the flange is longer in one direction than the other (Bilinski; fig. 1. 14 has a longer horizontal dimension that a vertical dimension), and two wings of the flange extended from the capture opening in a long direction are placed over the rim of the toilet bowl to support the collection pan (Bilinski; fig. 1. 14 and 2A. 14 illustrates two wings of the flange extending from the capture opening in a long direction placed over the toilet rim) and
a collection cup (Bilinski; fig. 1. 12) joined to the flange around the capture opening (Bilinski; fig. 1. 12, 14, 16, 58 illustrates fastening members 14 at inlet opening 58 adapted to top opening 16 of container 12), wherein the collection cup comprises a cup wall (Bilinski; FIG. 1. 12, 34 illustrates container with a cup having edges 34) and a sifting part at bottom of the collection cup (Bilinski; fig. 1. 32 “drainage”), and wherein the sifting part comprises a plurality of holes (Bilinski; fig. 5. 66 “gaps”) to allow "liquid or soft feces to pass while preventing the capsule to pass; and
wherein the flange and the collection cup are made of rubber or rubber-alike materials (Bilinski; Page 5. Paragraph 3 “fastening member can be made of plastic”, and paragraph 4 “the container can be made of plastic”),
the flange is flexible to fold down and to bend up (Bilinski; Abstract “fastening member 14 is bendable in its symmetry axis 46); and
the cup wall is flexible to collapse under pressure applied to top of the collection cup and the bottom of the collection cup and to extend from collapsed state when a pull force is applied to the bottom of the collection cup (Bilinski; fig. 3. 12 illustrates the cup wall is flexible).
Regarding claim 2, Bilinski teaches the collection pan of claim 1 (see above), wherein the flange and the collection cup are made of a same material (Bilinski; Page 5. Paragraph 3 “fastening member can be made of plastic”, and paragraph 4 “the container can be made of plastic”).
Regarding claim 3, Bilinski teaches the collection pan of claim 1 (see above), wherein the flange comprises at least one bump on each of the two wings of the flange and distance between corresponding bumps of the two wings matches rim dimension of typical toilets (Bilinski; fig. 5. 54 and fig. 2A 54 illustrates the left and right wing comprising two outer most projections on opposing edges of member 14 corresponding to the rim 38 of toilet bowl 36).
Regarding claim 5, Bilinski teaches the collection pan of claim 1 (see above), wherein the flange has a thickness between 1mm and 6mm (Bilinski; page 5 paragraph 3 “fastening member 14 can be 1 mm thick”) .
Regarding claim 10, Bilinski teaches the collection pan of claim 1 (see above), wherein the plurality of holes has a shape of round, square, rectangle or triangular (Bilinski; fig. 5. 66 illustrates a round shape) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6-9, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilinski (WO 2020111959 A1; hereinafter “Bilinski” previous of record).
Regarding claim 4, Bilinski teaches the collection pan of claim 3 (see above) to include at least one bump (see above).
Bilinski fails to teach the height of the bumps including thickness of the flange is between 4mm and 12mm.
It would have been obvious to modify Bilinski’s bumps to have a height of between 4mm to 12mm including the thickness of the flange in order to match the gap dimensions between the rim and the toilet seat of typical toilets.
Regarding claim 6, Bilinski teaches the collection pan of claim 1 (see above) to include a flange (see above).
Bilinski fails to teach the flange has a length between 200mm and 500mm.
It would have been obvious to modify Bilinski’s flange to have a length between 200mm and 500mm in order to fit typical toilet seats.
Regarding claim 7, Bilinski teaches the collection pan of claim 1 (see above) to include a flange (see above).
Bilinski fails to teach the flange has a width between 40mm and 400mm.
It would have been obvious to modify Bilinski’s flange to have a length between 200mm and 500mm in order to fit typical toilet seats.
Regarding claim 8, Bilinski teaches the collection pan of claim 1 (see above), wherein the cup wall has a thickness between 0.2 mm and 4 mm (Bilinski; page 4, lines 6-7 “the container with a film thickness of 100 micrometers” or 0.1 mm).
Bilinski fails to teach the cup wall has a thickness between 0.2 mm and 4 mm.
However, Examiner notes that a thickness of 0.2 mm to 4 mm is so close to Bilinski’s 0.1mm that a skilled artisan would have expected the claimed range and the prior art range to have the same or similar properties.
It would have been obvious to modify the cup to have a wall thickness of between 0.2 mm and 4 mm in order to prevent the cup bottom from collapsing after adding a sample.
Regarding claim 9, Bilinski teaches the collection pan of claim 8 (see above), wherein the cup wall comprises one or more folding lines (Bilinski; fig. 5. 46 and page 5, paragraph 2 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 11, Bilinski teaches the collection pan of claim 10 to include a plurality of holes (see above).
Bilinski fails to teach the plurality of holes is round with a diameter between 0.2mm and 12mm.
It would have been obvious to modify Bilinski’s plurality of holes to have a diameter between 0.2 mm and 12 mm in order to allow liquid or soft feces to pass while preventing the capsule recited in claim 1 above to pass through the plurality of holes.
Regarding claim 13, Bilinski teaches the collection pan of claim 1 (see above), wherein height of the collection cup at a fully extended state is between 10mm and 300mm.
Bilinski teaches the collection cup (container 12) hangs freely inside the toilet bowl without touching its bottom (Bilinski; page 5, paragraph 5 lines 5-6).
Bilinski does not explicitly teach the height of the collection cup at a fully extended state is between 10 mm and 300 mm.
It would have been obvious to include a collection cup with a fully extended height of between 10 mm and 300 mm in to prevent the container from touching the toilet bowl bottom to prevent sample contamination.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilinski (WO 2020111959 A1; hereinafter “Bilinski” previous of record) in view of Sydorsky (US 20140017720 A1; hereinafter “Sydorsky" previous of record).
Regarding claim 12, Bilinski teaches the collection pan of claim 1 (see above) to include a capture opening (see above).
Bilinski fails to teach the capture opening is round with a diameter between 40 mm and 400 mm.
However, Sydorsky teaches the analogous art of a device for collection of gastrointestinal microflora (Sidorsky; Title) that includes a capture opening that is round (Sidorsky; fig. 1. 104).
Sidorsky is silent to the capture opening having a diameter of between 40mm and 400mm.
It would have been obvious to include a capture opening having a diameter of between 40mm and 400mm in order to accommodate the passage of patients stool samples into the collection container.
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Bilinski’s capture opening to be round as taught by Sidorsky because Sidorsky teaches a round capture opening.
The opening round shape allows for proper fitment of the collection container.
Conclusion
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/JILL A WARDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798