Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Claim 1 has been amended
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/03/2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance. This action is made final.
Status of Rejections Pending
since The Office Action of 12/05/2026
The examiner modified the rejection below to address claimed amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN109962191A) or alternatively in view of CN 111900510, hereinafter as ‘510.
As to claims 1 and 15, Li teaches a battery pack housing including an upper housing 11 and a lower housing 12 that are covered by an upper cover for use in a vehicle (par. [0007]). Li discloses a battery pack comprising a battery module which by definition includes a plurality of battery cells (par. [0007]). The lower housing 12 (pack frame) includes a receiving cavity 121 for accommodating a battery module (par. [0026]). A channel (pack coolant pipe assembly) penetrating the receiving cavity 121 includes a first pipe channel and a second pipe channel wherein coolant passes through the pipes to cool the battery module inside the battery pack housing (par. [0007]-[0008]). The channel lies within a first reinforcing beam (pack coolant pipe housing) which is sandwiched between the top side of the reinforcing beam (pack coolant pipe housing) and the top side of the lower housing 12 (pack frame). Also, Li teaches the first pipe channel and a second pipe channel having flow through the aperture 123 to the branch pipeline where the apertures 123 are considered to be the cooling port which allow the pack coolant pipe connected to the battery module and the cooling port is disposed within a sealed volume defined by an interior of the pack coolant pipe housing and the pack frame [fig 1-3]
Li fails to disclose whether the first reinforcing beam includes a lower part configurable between an open position and a closed position. Li teaches the structure of the first reinforcing beam can be integrated with the internal and/or external pipes of the battery pack, thereby saving space in the vehicle for the battery pack housing. Li’s preference of ‘saving space’ makes room for modification of the configuration/setup of the first reinforcing beam (pack coolant pipe housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the first reinforcing beam to be a two pieces element to preserve space within the vehicle.
The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Or alternatively:
Li teaches the claimed limitation as set forth above, but Li does not teach cooling port as claimed.
’510 teaches a battery system comprising cooling pipe (8,9,10) where the cooling pipe being attached to frame 12 by bearing ring 24 [fig 5-6] where the bearing ring is considered to be cooling port and it is disposed within the sealed volume. As for combination, a pack coolant pipe assembly connected to the battery module by a cooling port and the cooling port is disposed within a sealed volume defined by an interior of the pack coolant pipe housing and the pack frame
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have the first and second pipe channel to be attached to the framed by the bearing ring 24 for preventing movement and the claimed subject matter merely combines familiar elements according to known methods and does no more than yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141 (III) Rationale A,KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
As for combination, a pack coolant pipe assembly connected to the battery module by a cooling port and the cooling port is disposed within a sealed volume defined by an interior of the pack coolant pipe housing and the pack frame
As to claim 2, modified Li discloses a two part first reinforcing beam (pack coolant pipe housing) that now comprises a lower part as taught by claim 1 previously. The top side of the first reinforcing beam (pack coolant pipe housing) of Li’s invention may act as a housing part which will protect/house the channel (pack coolant pipe assembly) whilst the lower part is exposed/in an open position. Li further discloses that the first reinforcing beam (pack coolant pipe housing) is connected at both ends to a first side beam 124 and a second side beam 125 disposed opposite to each other in the lower housing 12 (pack frame) (par. [0011]). In turn, the first reinforcing beam is connected to the side beams which are connected (fastened) to the lower housing 12 (pack frame). Li does not limit what method was used to “connect” the side beams and the reinforcing beam. Therefore, the connection can be defined as fastened.
As to claim 3, modified Li discloses a plurality of branch holes are distributed along the length of the first reinforcing beam on the side wall of the first reinforcing beam (par. [0009]). The branch holes are used to connect branch pipes, which are respectively connected to the battery modules inside the battery pack housing to circulate coolant (par. [0009]). Li discloses that the branch holes 123 are connected to the branch pipes in a sealed manner (gasket) to prevent coolant leakage (par. [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to add the sealing mechanism of the coolant ports between the reinforcing beam and the lower housing to further prevent coolant leakage (par. [0028]).
As to claim 4, modified Li discloses that the first reinforcing beam is connected to the side beams which are connected (fastened) to the lower housing 12 (pack frame). Li does not limit what method was used to “connect” the side beams and the reinforcing beam. Therefore, the connection can be defined as fastened by a bolt. Li does not teach otherwise.
The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Claim(s) 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN109962191A) or alternatively CN 111900510 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang (US20200067155A1).
As to claim 5, Li discloses a battery pack comprising a battery module which by definition includes a plurality of battery cells housed by the upper housing 11 (par. [0007], [0026]). Li also discloses a through hole 120 and branch holes 123 (coolant discharge and supply). The cooling pipeline of the internal cooling unit is connected to the first and second pipeline channels through the through hole 120 respectively (par. [0030]). The coolant circulating between the first pipe channel and the second pipe channel enters the branch pipes through the branch holes 123 to cool the battery modules inside the battery pack housing (par. [0027]). Li fails to disclose a battery cell stack. Li leaves room for modification by promoting space efficiency within the vehicle (par. [0017]). The space can be used to accommodate more battery modules, thus increasing the space for battery module placement and the capacity of the battery modules, further improving the driving range of the electric vehicle (par. [0017]).
Hwang teaches a battery module capable of maximizing space utilization by forming a module housing and a heat sink integrally with each other, and a battery pack (par. [0009]). Hwang discloses a battery module 10 including a plurality of battery cells 100 that are stacked (par. [0014]-[0015]). Six surfaces of the stacked battery cells 100 are enclosed by the housing unit 200 (pack frame) and the housing sheath 300 (module frame), such that the battery cells 100 may be protected from external foreign substances and the like (par. [0057]). The housing unit 200 (pack frame) includes a heat sink unit 210 under the housing sheath 300 (module frame) (fig. 3) having a refrigerant flow passage formed therein (par. [0014]). The housing unit 200 further includes an inflow port 213 and an outflow port communicating with the refrigerant flow passage 214 (par. [0041]). As illustrated in FIGS. 1 to 3, a refrigerant such as coolant may inflow into the inflow port 213 of the heat sink unit 210 and outflow from the outflow port 215 through the refrigerant flow passage 214, thereby cooling the plurality of battery cells 100 housed in the housing unit 200 during this flowing process (par. [0041]).
Li encourages space efficiency, therefore introducing battery cell stacks to their invention aligns with their teachings. Li’s two part housing system houses both the battery modules (lower housing 12, pack frame) and plurality of battery cells (upper housing 11, module frame). The receiving cavity 121 for the battery module within Li’s invention acts as a heat sink. A channel penetrates the receiving cavity 121, and said channel is used for coolant and/or pipelines to pass through. The channels receive and disperse their coolant via through hole 120 and branch holes 123.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to add the cell stack configuration of Hwang’s invention to Li’s battery module to further protect them from external foreign substances and the like (par. [0057]).
As to claim 6, modified Li discloses an upper housing 11 (module frame) and a housing sheath 300 (module frame) as taught by Hwang previously. Li fails to disclose a module frame protrusion.
Hwang further discloses a protrusion part as showcased in annotated fig. 1. The protrusion part is an extension of the bottom of the housing sheath 300 (module frame). The inflow port 213 and outflow port 215 both sit on the protrusion part. The ports are connected to a refrigerant flow passage 214 (pack coolant pipe assembly) formed to cool the plurality of battery cells 100 (par. [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to add the protrusion part of Hwang’s invention to Li’s upper housing 11 (module frame) to aid in cooling the plurality of battery cells 100 (par. [0040]).
As to claim 7, modified Li discloses a protrusion part as taught by Hwang previously. Li teaches multiple receiving cavities 121 for accommodating multiple battery modules (par. [0026]). The protrusion part extends from one battery module toward the other battery modules as represented in fig. 1.
As to claim 8, modified Li discloses a channel (pack coolant pipe assembly), and a reinforcing beam (pack coolant pipe housing) located between a battery module (receiving cavity 121) and a secondary battery module as evident in fig. 1 (par. [0007]). The channel (pack coolant pipe assembly) and the branch holes 123 (coolant supply port) are connected through the lower part of the reinforcing beam (pack coolant pipe housing) (par. [0027], fig. 2).
As to claim 9, modified Li discloses the receiving cavity 121 (heat sink) underneath the upper housing 11 (module frame). Li fails to disclose wherein the bottom part of the module frame contacts the coolant
Hwang further discloses the bottom part of the housing sheath 300 (module frame) including the top side of the heat sink member 211, and the heat sink member 211 is in contact with the refrigerant flow passage 214 (par. [0050]). The heat sink member 211 is a part of the battery cell/module housing structure 100 and therefore the bottom of the module frame/heat sink member is in contact with the coolant/refrigerant to increase the cooling efficiency (par. [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to add the module frame, heat sink and coolant configuration of Hwang’s invention to Li’s battery module to increase the cooling efficiency (par. [0026]).
As to claim 10, modified Li discloses the channel (pack coolant pipe assembly) including a first pipe channel and a second pipe channel wherein coolant passes through the pipes to cool the battery module inside the battery pack housing (par. [0007]-[0008]). The channel also comprises a plurality of branch holes which are distributed along the length of the first reinforcing beam on the side wall of the first reinforcing beam. The branch holes are used to connect branch pipes (connecting port), which are respectively connected to the battery modules inside the battery pack housing. Coolant circulating between the first pipe channel and the second pipe channel enters the branch pipes through the branch holes to cool the battery modules inside the battery pack housing (par. [0009]). The branch lines acts as the connecting port. The coolant circulating between the first pipe channel and the second pipe channel enters the branch pipes through the branch holes 123 to cool the battery modules inside the battery pack housing (par. [0027]). In turn, the pipe channels pass the through holes 120 (cooling ports) during circulation (par. [0011]).
As to claim 11, modified Li discloses that the branch holes 123 (cooling port) are used to connect branch pipes (connecting port). The branch holes 123 are connected to the branch pipes in a sealed
manner to prevent coolant leakage (par. [0028]).
The manner in which the two components are connected isn’t specified within the prior art. Therefore, it may be interpreted that the branch holes are coupled to a lower side of the connection port. In addition, the sealing method taught by Li is not limited and therefore may be interpreted as a sealing member such as a gasket. Satisfying the limitations of claim 11.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN109962191A) or alternatively CN 111900510 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US20180238764A1).
As to claim 12, Li fails to disclose a drain valve within the first reinforcing beam 122.
Kim teaches a battery pack for electric vehicles and a method of detecting cooling water leakage in the battery pack for electric vehicles. Kim discloses a moisture collection unit 110 disposed in the battery pack, a moisture discharge unit 130 (drain valve) disposed in a bottom of the moisture collection unit 110 wherein the moisture discharge unit may include a one-way plug (par. [0010]). The one-way plug 130 may include a plug body 132, which is mounted in the lower surface of the battery pack 100 and has a plurality of discharge apertures 131 formed therein, and an elastic body 133, which is mounted in the lower surface of the plug body 132 and has a wing portion 134 for opening and closing the discharge apertures 131 (par. [0036]). The elastic body 133 may be made of a plastic material. When there is no moisture on the lower surface of the battery pack 100, the wing portion 134 may be maintained in the state in which the discharge apertures 131 are closed. When moisture gathers on the lower surface of the battery pack 100, the wing portion 134 may be pushed down due to the weight of the moisture to open the discharge apertures 131 (par. [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to add the discharge unit mechanism of Kim’s invention to Li’s first reinforcing beam to further prevent moisture condensation in the battery pack, thereby enhancing the safety of the battery pack (par. [0048]).
As to claim 13, modified Li discloses a moisture discharge unit with the first reinforcing beam as taught by Kim previously. Li also discloses via Kim that the one-way plug 130 may include a plug body 132 (spacer), which is mounted in the lower surface of the battery pack 100 and has a plurality of discharge apertures 131 formed therein, and an elastic body 133, which is mounted in the lower surface of the plug body 132 and has a wing portion 134 for opening and closing the discharge apertures 131 (par. [0036]). The plug body 132 helps define the wing portion 134 (connection pipe) to which the elastic body 133 (drain plug) is mounted to the wing portion 134 (connection pipe) (par. [0036], fig. 4).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN109962191A) or alternatively CN 111900510 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (CN209929441U).
As to claim 14, modified Li teaches a battery pack housing including an upper housing 11 and a lower housing 12 that are covered by an upper cover for use in a vehicle (par. [0007]). Li discloses a first reinforcing beam (pack coolant pipe housing) Li fails to disclose a leak detection sensor housed within the pack coolant pipe housing.
Liu teaches a battery cooling tube that is sensitive to leakage detection for use in vehicle (par. [0004], [0007]). Liu discloses the battery cooling pipe of this utility model includes a cooling pipe 1, a cooling pipe housing 2, and a sensor 3. The cooling pipe housing 2 includes an upper housing 25 and a lower housing 26 located below the upper housing 25. The cooling pipe 1 is located inside the upper housing 25, that is, it is wrapped by the upper housing 25. The sensor 3 includes a first sensor 31 for sensing coolant leakage. The first sensor 31 is located at the bottom of the lower housing 26 (par. [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to add the sensor unit of Liu’s invention to Li’s reinforcing beam to avoid safety accidents (par. [0035]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues in substance:
None of cited references teaches the claimed limitation.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Modified Li teaches the claimed limitation as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN M TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726