DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/10/2023, 02/19/2024, and 01/16/2025 were filed. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al (US 2018/0178311) in view of Ternovsky et al (US 2020/0246907).
Regarding claim 1, Aoki discloses a controller (Fig. 3 #15 control device) for controlling at least one of a first drive source (Fig. 3 #62 welding gun operation control unit) for applying pressure to an electrode, a second drive source (Fig. 3 #72 dresser operation control unit) for driving a polishing tool for polishing the electrode, and a third drive source (Fig. 3 #16 robot control section) for changing at least one of a position and orientation of one of the electrode and the polishing tool with respect to the other, wherein the controller (Fig. 3 #15 control device) has an operating command generation unit for changing an operating command of the first drive source or at least one of the third drive source and the second drive source (Fig. 3 #54 robot drive circuit , #63 electrode drive circuit, and #73 blade drive circuit).
However, Aoki does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller has an operating command generation unit for changing an operating command of the first drive source or at least one of the third drive source and the second drive source to be peak-shaped and valley-shaped in the course of at least one cycle of operation of the polishing tool.
Nonetheless, Ternovsky teaches a peak-shaped and valley-shaped electrode (Shown in the figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller and polishing tool of Aoki by incorporating the peak-shaped and valley-shaped electrode configuration as taught by Ternovsky for the benefit of providing a welding electrode that reliably and consistently provides welding operations. (Ternovsky [0008])
Regarding claim 2, Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches the controller as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Aoki teaches wherein the controller changes the operating command in small increments in the course of at least one cycle of operation of the polishing tool (Shown in the figure below).
Regarding claim 3, Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches the controller as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Aoki teaches wherein the controller changes the operating command periodically or at random (Shown in the figure below).
Regarding claim 4, Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches the controller as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches wherein a surface of the electrode is formed with ridges or grooves extending radially from a center of the electrode ("[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). Examiner considers the electrode to be the workpiece.).
Regarding claim 5, Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches the controller as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches wherein a surface of the electrode is formed with ridges or grooves extending curved radially from a center of the electrode ("[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). Examiner considers the electrode to be the workpiece.).
Regarding claim 6, Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches the controller as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Aoki teaches wherein the operating command includes one of a current, speed, and position ([0043] lines 1-4 ---" The dresser operation control unit 72 controls the rotation speed of the blade driving motor 43 on the basis of the operation program and a status when the electrode is polished.”).
Regarding claim 7, Aoki discloses an electrode polishing method controlling at least one of a first drive source (Fig. 3 #62 welding gun operation control unit) for applying pressure to an electrode, a second drive source (Fig. 3 #72 dresser operation control unit) for driving a polishing tool for polishing the electrode, and a third drive source (Fig. 3 #16 robot control section) for changing at least one of a position and orientation of one of the electrode and the polishing tool with respect to the other so as to polish the electrode, wherein the electrode polishing method comprises a step of making an operating command of the first drive source or at least one of the third drive source and the second drive source ([0043] lines 1-4 ---" The dresser operation control unit 72 controls the rotation speed of the blade driving motor 43 on the basis of the operation program and a status when the electrode is polished.”)
However, Aoki does not disclose an electrode to be peak-shaped and valley-shaped in the course of at least one cycle of operation of the polishing tool.
Nonetheless, Ternovsky teaches a peak-shaped and valley-shaped electrode (Shown in the figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aoki by incorporating the peak-shaped and valley-shaped electrode configuration as taught by Ternovsky for the benefit of providing a welding electrode that reliably and consistently provides welding operations. (Ternovsky [0008])
Regarding claim 8, Aoki discloses an electrode polishing system comprising:
a resistance welding machine (Fig. 1 #10 spot welding system) having a first drive source (Fig. 3 #62 welding gun operation control unit) for applying pressure to an electrode;
an electrode polishing apparatus (Fig. 2 #40 tip dresser) having a second drive source (Fig. 3 #72 dresser operation control unit) for driving a polishing tool for polishing the electrode;
a third drive source (Fig. 3 #16 robot control section) for changing at least one of a position and orientation of one of the electrode and the polishing tool with respect to the other;
and a controller (Fig. 3 #15 control device) for controlling at least one of the first drive source, the second drive source, and the third drive source, wherein the controller (Fig. 3 #15 control device) changes an operating command of the first drive source or at least one of the third drive source and the second drive source ([0043] lines 1-4 ---" The dresser operation control unit 72 controls the rotation speed of the blade driving motor 43 on the basis of the operation program and a status when the electrode is polished.”).
However, Aoki does not disclose an electrode to be peak-shaped and valley-shaped in the course of at least one cycle of operation of the polishing tool.
Nonetheless, Ternovsky teaches a peak-shaped and valley-shaped electrode (Shown in the figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aoki by incorporating the peak-shaped and valley-shaped electrode configuration as taught by Ternovsky for the benefit of providing a welding electrode that reliably and consistently provides welding operations. (Ternovsky [0008])
Conclusion
/JOE E MILLS JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3761