DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04/09/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1 and 7-8 has/have been amended; no claim(s) has/have been cancelled and no new claim(s) has/have been added. Thus, claims 1-8 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al (US 2018/0178311) in view of Ternovsky et al (US 2020/0246907).
Regarding claim 1, Aoki discloses a controller (Fig. 3 #15 control device) configured to control, among a first drive source (Fig. 3 #62 welding gun operation control unit) for applying pressure to an electrode, a second drive source (Fig. 3 #53 robot operation control) for driving a polishing tool for polishing the electrode, and a third drive source (Fig. 3 #72 dresser operation control unit) for changing at least one of a position and orientation of one of the electrode and the polishing tool with respect to the other ([0040] lines 5-10 ---"The dresser control section 18 includes a dresser operation control unit 72 that controls the blade driving motor 43. The dresser operation control unit 72 sends an operation command based on the operation program to a blade drive circuit 73. The blade drive circuit 73 supplies electricity based on the operation command to the blade driving motor 43.”), at least the third drive source (Fig. 3 #72 dresser operation control unit),
wherein the controller (Fig. 3 #15 control device) has an operating command generation unit (Fig. 3 #16 robot control section) configured to change an operating command at least the third drive source (Fig. 3 #72 dresser operation control unit) of at least one cycle of operation of the polishing tool ([0040] lines 5-10 ---"The dresser control section 18 includes a dresser operation control unit 72 that controls the blade driving motor 43. The dresser operation control unit 72 sends an operation command based on the operation program to a blade drive circuit 73. The blade drive circuit 73 supplies electricity based on the operation command to the blade driving motor 43.”).
However, Aoki does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller has an operating command generation unit configured to change an operating command at least the third drive source to be peak-shaped and valley-shaped in the course of at least one cycle of operation of the polishing tool.
Nonetheless, Ternovsky in the same field of endeavor being electrode tip dressing teaches controlling an actuator to form peak-shaped and valley-shaped dressing of an electrode in the course of at least one cycle of operation of the polishing tool ([0039] The system also includes a second actuator 125 for providing a second axial force P2 against the dressing tool 114 to drive the blade 116 axially against the weld face 106 to form the serrates 108. The second actuator 125 is also configured to provide a second rotary force V2 against the dressing tool 114 to cause the dressing tool 114 to rotate about the welding electrode 100. It should be appreciated that the first and second actuators 123, 125 may be various types of actuators including, but not limited to, manual (unpowered) actuators such as knobs or levers, electric powered motors, gas powered motors, hydraulic actuators, etc.” and [0043] lines 3-6 ---" The method includes 508 pressing the dressing tool 114 axially against the weld face 106. Such pressing may be provided by the second axial force P2 from the second actuator 125.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Aoki by incorporating controlling of an actuator to form an electrode having peak and valley shaped dressing as taught by Ternovsky for the benefit of providing a welding electrode that reliably and consistently provides welding operations. (Ternovsky [0008])
Regarding claim 2, Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches the controller as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Aoki teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 3 #15 control device) changes the operating command in small increments in the course of at least one cycle of operation of the polishing tool ([0040] lines 5-10 ---"The dresser control section 18 includes a dresser operation control unit 72 that controls the blade driving motor 43. The dresser operation control unit 72 sends an operation command based on the operation program to a blade drive circuit 73. The blade drive circuit 73 supplies electricity based on the operation command to the blade driving motor 43.”) (Shown in the figure below; Blade driving motor rotation speed).
Regarding claim 3, Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches the controller as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Aoki teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 3 #15 control device) changes the operating command periodically or at random ([0040] lines 5-10 ---"The dresser control section 18 includes a dresser operation control unit 72 that controls the blade driving motor 43. The dresser operation control unit 72 sends an operation command based on the operation program to a blade drive circuit 73. The blade drive circuit 73 supplies electricity based on the operation command to the blade driving motor 43.”) (Shown in the figure below; Blade driving motor rotation speed).
Regarding claim 4, Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches the controller as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches wherein a surface of the electrode is formed with ridges or grooves extending radially from a center of the electrode ("[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). Examiner considers the electrode to be the workpiece.).
Regarding claim 5, Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches the controller as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches wherein a surface of the electrode is formed with ridges or grooves extending curved radially from a center of the electrode ("[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). Examiner considers the electrode to be the workpiece.).
Regarding claim 6, Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches the controller as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Aoki teaches wherein the operating command includes one of a current, speed, and position ([0043] lines 1-4 ---" The dresser operation control unit 72 controls the rotation speed of the blade driving motor 43 on the basis of the operation program and a status when the electrode is polished.”).
Regarding claim 7, Aoki discloses an electrode polishing method controlling, among a first drive source (Fig. 3 #62 welding gun operation control unit) for applying pressure to an electrode, a second drive source (Fig. 3 #53 robot operation control) for driving a polishing tool for polishing the electrode, and a third drive source (Fig. 3 #72 dresser operation control unit) for changing at least one of a position and orientation of one of the electrode and the polishing tool with respect to the other, at least the third drive source (Fig. 3 #72 dresser operation control unit) so as to polish the electrode, wherein the electrode polishing method comprises a step of making an operating command of at least the third drive source ([0043] lines 1-4 ---" The dresser operation control unit 72 controls the rotation speed of the blade driving motor 43 on the basis of the operation program and a status when the electrode is polished.”)
However, Aoki does not disclose a step of making an operating command of at least the third drive source to be peak-shaped and valley-shaped in the course of at least one cycle of operation of the polishing tool.
Nonetheless, Ternovsky teaches a step of making an operating command of at least the third drive source to be peak-shaped and valley-shaped in the course of at least one cycle of operation of the polishing tool ([0039] The system also includes a second actuator 125 for providing a second axial force P2 against the dressing tool 114 to drive the blade 116 axially against the weld face 106 to form the serrates 108. The second actuator 125 is also configured to provide a second rotary force V2 against the dressing tool 114 to cause the dressing tool 114 to rotate about the welding electrode 100. It should be appreciated that the first and second actuators 123, 125 may be various types of actuators including, but not limited to, manual (unpowered) actuators such as knobs or levers, electric powered motors, gas powered motors, hydraulic actuators, etc.” and [0043] lines 3-6 ---" The method includes 508 pressing the dressing tool 114 axially against the weld face 106. Such pressing may be provided by the second axial force P2 from the second actuator 125.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aoki by incorporating the step of forming a peak-shaped and valley-shaped electrode as taught by Ternovsky for the benefit of providing a welding electrode that reliably and consistently provides welding operations. (Ternovsky [0008])
Regarding claim 8, Aoki discloses an electrode polishing system comprising:
a resistance welding machine (Fig. 1 #10 spot welding system) having a first drive source (Fig. 3 #62 welding gun operation control unit) for applying pressure to an electrode;
an electrode polishing apparatus (Fig. 2 #40 tip dresser) having a second drive source (Fig. 3 #72 dresser operation control unit) for driving a polishing tool for polishing the electrode;
a third drive source (Fig. 3 #53 robot operation control) for changing at least one of a position and orientation of one of the electrode and the polishing tool with respect to the other.
However, Aoki does not disclose a controller configured to control at least the third drive source, wherein the controller changes an operating command of the third drive source to be peak-shaped and valley-shaped in the course of at least one cycle of operation of the polishing tool.
Nonetheless, Ternovsky teaches a controller configured to control at least the third drive source, wherein the controller changes an operating command of the third drive source to be peak-shaped and valley-shaped in the course of at least one cycle of operation of the polishing tool ([0039] The system also includes a second actuator 125 for providing a second axial force P2 against the dressing tool 114 to drive the blade 116 axially against the weld face 106 to form the serrates 108. The second actuator 125 is also configured to provide a second rotary force V2 against the dressing tool 114 to cause the dressing tool 114 to rotate about the welding electrode 100. It should be appreciated that the first and second actuators 123, 125 may be various types of actuators including, but not limited to, manual (unpowered) actuators such as knobs or levers, electric powered motors, gas powered motors, hydraulic actuators, etc.” and [0043] lines 3-6 ---" The method includes 508 pressing the dressing tool 114 axially against the weld face 106. Such pressing may be provided by the second axial force P2 from the second actuator 125.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aoki by incorporating the controller configured to shape a peak-shaped and valley-shaped electrode as taught by Ternovsky for the benefit of providing a welding electrode that reliably and consistently provides welding operations. (Ternovsky [0008])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach a controller configured to control, among the first, second and third drive sources, at least the third drive source, and further, the controller has an operating command generation unit configured to change the operating command of at least the third drive source. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Aoki teaches a controller (Fig. 3 #15 control device) configured to control, among the first, second and third drive sources, at least the third drive source. Aoki teaches an operating command generation unit configured to change the operating command of at least the third drive source (Fig. 3 #53 robot operation control unit, #62 welding gun operation control unit, and #72 dresser operation control unit, all contained in the Fig. 3 #15 control device). Each of the cited units send operating commands to the robot, welding gun, and tip dresser to perform a tip dressing operation. The third drive source is the Fig. 3 #72 dresser operation control unit which sends commands to the blade drive circuit that in turn controls the blade driving motor.
Ternovsky is relied upon to teach driving a motor for a second actuator driving a rotary force of the dressing tool. The second actuator corresponds with the tip dresser of Aoki.
In effect, Aoki in view of Ternovsky teaches the command of and operation of the tip dresser, rotation of the tip dresser being an orientation of the polishing tool.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOE E MILLS JR./ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761