DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 11,171,509).
As to Claim 1, Lee discloses a low-cost and scalable control system to optimize the electrical power flow in all branches of the electrical power distribution network supplying power to changing number of active EV chargers comprising a) a network of distributed algorithmic controllers on low-cost hardware wherein each controller is at each node of the electrical power network to optimize the power flow for all output branches of the electrical distribution network supplying power to the EV chargers (Column 6, lines 24-64); b) electrical power flow sensors for every branch of electrical power network; c) software to implement optimization strategies with said algorithmic controllers; d) a communication system that allows data exchange between algorithmic controllers, EV chargers and power flow sensors and wherein the controllers do not communicate with controllers at the same nodal level; wherein the network of controllers optimizes the power flow in each upstream branch of the power network delivering power in response to the aggregate power demand set by a changing number of active EV chargers (Figure 1-2, Column 6, line 65 – Column 7, line 32).
As to Claim 2, Lee discloses the control system of claim 1 wherein the controllers are modular and scalable (Column 4, lines 56-65).
As to Claim 3, Lee discloses the control system of claim 1 wherein the controllers are arranged in a hierarchical topology within the controller network (Column 4, line 66 – Column 5, line 11).
As to Claim 4, Lee discloses the controllers of claim 3 wherein the hierarchy is based on node levels of the electrical power distribution network (Column 4, line 66 – Column 5, line 11).
As to Claim 5, Lee discloses the control system of claim 1 wherein the topology of the controller network is the same as the network topology of the electrical power distribution network (Column 4, line 66 – Column 5, line 11).
As to Claim 6, Lee discloses the control system of claim 1 used to optimize power flow in electrical power distribution networks with diverse loads besides EV chargers (Figure 1, houses).
As to Claim 7, Lee discloses the control system of claim 3 where the controller and the power flow network have at least three hierarchical levels (Column 6, lines 24-42).
As to Claim 8, Lee discloses the control system of claim 7 wherein the three node levels are plant level, intermediate level, and circuit level (Figure 1).
As to Claim 9, Lee discloses the control system of claim 1 where in the controllers are physically close to the nodes they serve, thereby improving latency using edge computing techniques (Column 5, line 57 – column 6, line 6).
As to Claim 10, Lee discloses the control system of claim 2 where the algorithmic software optimizes the power flows in the branches of the electrical network delivering power to the EV chargers (Column 6, lines 24-64).
As to Claim 11, Lee discloses the optimization of claim 10 where controller algorithms use optimization strategies selected from the group comprising linear programming, non-linear programming, mixed integer programming, mixed integer programming or combinations thereof (Column 10, lines 11-38).
As to Claim 12, Lee discloses the control system of claim 2 wherein the electric power flow sensors can be based on current, power and/or voltage (Column 2, line 57 – Column 3, line 2).
As to Claim 13, Lee discloses the power network of claim 1 where the electric power network designed to connect EV chargers to the grid is a new network, existing network, added network, retrofitted network, expanded network or a mix thereof (Column 1, lines 25-54).
As to Claim 14, Lee discloses the EV chargers of claim 1 can also be charging points or smart sockets (Figure 1).
As to Claim 15, Lee discloses a method to scale and cost-effectively add EV Chargers to any electric power network by: a) defining the nodes and branches of the added electrical power network; b) assembling a controller network of distributed algorithmic controllers with a controller at each node of the controller network to mirror the topology of the electrical power network; c) establishing communication links for each controller with its adjacent hierarchically cascaded controllers in the controller network; d) providing a power flow sensor at all branches emanating from each node for monitoring power flow; e) optimizing electric power delivery to individual EV chargers using control algorithms to optimize electric power flow in each branch of the added electric power network based on varying aggregate power demand from the EV chargers; f) optionally providing supervisory EV charging management software on a cloud platform that directly exchanges data with said controllers and EV chargers (Figure 1-2, 4C; Column 1, lines25-54; Column 2, line 57- Column 3, line 2; Column 4, lines 56- Column 5, line 11; Column 5, lines 57- Column 6, line 6; Column 6, lines 24- Column 7, line 32).
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859