Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of HER2 in the reply filed on 11 March 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) is acknowledged.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-116 were originally filed 10 May 2023. The preliminary amendment filed 11 January 2024 has been entered. Claims 59, 62-64, 69-73, 85-87, and 117-123 are pending. Claims 69-73 and 118-121 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 March 2026.
Claims 59, 62-64, 85-87, 117, 122, and 123 are currently under consideration.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 59, 62-64, 86, 87, 117, 122, and 123 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2020/099653 (referred to herein as Verheijden as cited on the IDS received 10/01/2025) as evidenced by Daiichi (see Daiichi. Request for extension of patent term under 35 USC § 156: Antibody drug conjugate. Received 02/13/2020).
Verheijden discloses humanized anti-SIRPα antibodies suitable for anti-cancer therapy (see Verheijden abstract). Specifically, Verheijden discloses the anti-SIRPα antibodies can be used in combination therapy with trastuzumab deruxtecan (see Verheijdenpg. 51 line 8). Trastuzumab deruxtecan is a HER2 ADC comprising the instantly claimed linker drug combination linked via a thioether and has an antibody drug conjugate of about 8.0 as evidenced by the FDA drug information (see Daiichi pg. 3, bottom and paragraph directly above structure; see also below).
Verheijden discloses the humanized anti-SIRPα antibodies administered in combination with additional agents can be done so in the same/different formulations, concurrent, or sequentially (see Verheijden pg. 51 lines 11-13). The cancer to be treated can be Her2 positive breast cancer, colon cancer, bladder cancer, pancreatic cancer, and the cancer is preferably treated with an additional targeted therapeutic agent (e.g., a HER2 positive breast cancer treated with a HER2 agent) (see Verheijden para spanning pgs. 6-7). This is pertinent to instant claims 59, 64, 86, 87, and 117.
Claims 62, 63, 122, and 123 are drawn to particular sequences associated with the HER2 antibody. The instantly claimed sequences are identical to those of trastuzumab deruxtecan as evidenced by Daiichi (see Daiichi pg. 2 bottom, pg. 3 top; see sequence comparison below). It is noted the instant claims are drawn to both an “antibody comprising” and a “heavy/light chain consisting of”. Thus, while the claims encompass one less residue than disclosed in Daiichi the “comprising” allows for additional elements to be present. Alternatively, Daiichi discloses the HER2 binding domain, trastuzumab, exists in two variants one of which has the terminal lysine cleaved from the heavy chain. This terminally cleaved lysine variant is identical to the instantly claimed residues 1-499 of Seq ID No: 1. This is pertinent to instant claims 62 and 63. Given Verheijden discloses a HER2 antibody with an identical heavy and light chain it naturally flows the CDRs, VH, and VL regions are also identical. This is pertinent to instant claims 122 and 123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 85 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verheijden and WO2020013170 A1 (as cited on the IDS received 05/10/2023 A12) published 16 January 2020. It is noted US Patent Publication US20210155707 (referred to herein as Matozaki) will be used as an English translation given both are part of the same patent family and therefore have the same underlying disclosure. It is noted WO2020013170 A1 qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1).
In addition to the teachings set forth above, Verheijden, discloses combining therapeutic antibodies with an antagonistic antibody against SIRPα or an anti-CD47 antibody can enhance the efficacy of the therapeutic antibody (see Verheijden pg. 1 last para). Specifically, preliminary work has suggested SIRPα antibodies were able to increase the neutrophil-mediated ADCC of trastuzumab opsonized SKBR3 cells (see Verheijden pg. 2 lines 10-13). The anti-SIRPα antibodies functions by blocks the inhibitory SIRPα signaling thereby increasing ADCC, ADCP, and/or ADAP activity (see Verheijden pg. 1 last para). Specifically, Verheijden discloses anti-SIRPα antibodies could nearly double the ADCC activity of trastuzumab (see Verheijden figure 4, pg. 8 lines 6-14, figure 13 pg. 79, 1st para).
Matozaki discloses preliminary combination therapies with anti-SIRPα antibodies suggest they can induce a more potent tumor immune response when used in combination with various anti-tumor agents (see Matozaki pg. 1 para [0009]). The anti-SIRPα antibodies bind specifically to human SIRPα and inhibit SIRPα/CD47 activity (see Matozaki pg. 2 para [0024]). Specifically, Matozaki discloses an anti-SIRPα antibody comprising Seq ID Nos: 41 and 37 (see Matozaki pgs. 3-4 para [0057, 0058]). The anti-SIRPα antibody is administered with an anti-HER2 antibody and can be used to treat breast cancer, colon cancer, bladder cancer, and pancreatic cancer (see Matozaki pg. 4, 2nd col. bottom, pg. 5, 1st col. 1st full para). Matozaki names trastuzumab as an example of a HER2 antibody the claimed anti-SIRPα antibodies can be used in combination therapy (see Matozaki pg. 14 para [0202]). The anti-SIRPα_H1L3 variant exhibited a binding inhibitory activity equivalent to or higher than that of the parent antibody cD13 (chimeric form) and did not exhibit ADCP activity in CD47 positive human Burkitt’s lymphoma cell line Raji or Ramos cells when used alone but did exhibit ADCP activity in combination with rituximab (see Matozaki pg. 28 para [0324, 0329], figure 15A-C, 16).
Therefore the ordinary artisan would have substituted the humanized anti-SIRPα antibodies in the combination anti-SIRPα trastuzumab deruxtecan therapy in a method of treating breast cancer as taught by Verheijden with the anti-SIRPα antibodies disclosed in Matozaki as these are art recognized equivalents for the same purpose. There is a reasonable expectation of success given both bind the same target, inhibit CD47 signaling and increase activity of additional therapeutic agents. It is also noted both references disclose using the antibodies in combination for increasing the potency of the therapeutic agent, treating the same cancer (e.g., breast cancer), and suggest the additional agent targets HER2 and specifically names trastuzumab.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The scope of the antibody drug ratio (DAR) of the HER2 ADC in claim 64 is unclear. The claim recites “the antibody-drug conjugate is in the range of from 7 to 8”. It is unclear if the DAR is “in the range of 7 to 8” (i.e., excludes 7 and 8) or alternatively is “is from 7 to 8” (i.e., includes 7 and 8).
Double Patenting
Claims 59, 62-64, 85-87, 117 and 122-123 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 14, and 19-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,024,566 B2 (referred to as ‘566 patent ) in view of Verheijden.
The ‘566 patent claims an anti-SIRPα antibody comprising Seq ID Nos: 41 and 37 (see ‘566 patent claims 1 and 8(1)), a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody and therapeutic antibody wherein the therapeutic antibody targets HER2 and is for breast cancer (see ‘566 patent claims 19-21).
The teachings of Verheijden are set forth above.
The ordinary artisan would have substituted the anti-SIRPα antibodies disclosed in Verheijden for the claimed anti-SIRPα antibodies in the ‘566 patent) in a method of treating breast cancer by administering a combination of anti-SIRPα antibodies and trastuzumab deruxtecan as taught by Verheijden.
Claims 59,62-64,85-87,117 and 122-123 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/374,973 (referred to herein as ‘973) in view of Verheijden.
The ‘973 application claims an anti-SIRPα antibody comprising Seq ID Nos: 41 and 37 (see ‘973 claims 1(1)), a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody and therapeutic antibody wherein the therapeutic antibody targets HER2 and is for breast cancer (see ‘973 claims 9, 12, and 14).
The teachings of Verheijden are set forth above.
The ordinary artisan would have substituted the anti-SIRPα antibodies disclosed in Verheijden for the claimed anti-SIRPα antibodies in the ‘973 application in a method of treating breast cancer by administering a combination of anti-SIRPα antibodies and trastuzumab deruxtecan as taught by Verheijden.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Sequence Comparison
(Qy) Seq ID No: 1 compared to (Db) Daiichi Trastuzumab deruxtecan heavy chain
(Qy) Seq ID No: 2 compared to (Db) Daiichi Trastuzumab deruxtecan light chain
(Qy) Seq ID No: 13 compared to (Db) Matozaki Seq ID No: 41
(Qy) Seq ID No: 16 compared to (Db) Matozaki Seq ID No: 37
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/H.A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1644 /AMY E JUEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644