DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the blending amount of electrically conductive material" in line 2 of the claim, however, it is unclear whether the blending amount is with respect to the weight of the nonwoven fabric or the total weight of the pasting paper, either of said interpretation would read on the claimed invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, claim 2 is rejected.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the blending amount of electrically conductive material" in line 2 of the claim, however, it is unclear whether the blending amount is with respect to the weight of the nonwoven fabric or the total weight of the pasting paper, either of said interpretation would read on the claimed invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, claim 3 is rejected.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the reinforcing materials" in line 2 of the claim, however, it is unclear whether the weight percentages are with respect to the weight of the nonwoven fabric or to the total weight of the pasting paper, either of said interpretation would read on the claimed invention. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ketzer et al, US 20150099189 A1 (as cited in IDS) and Clement, US 20190181506 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Ketzer teaches a nonwoven fiber mats (reinforcement mats), corresponding to the pasting paper of the claim, that can be used to reinforce lead-acid batteries, with an electrically conductive surface that enhances electron flow [Ketzer, 0006]. The reinforcement mats may include a combination of electrically insulative fibers and a conductive material [Ketzer, 0032]. However, Ketzer is silent to teach the average fiber diameter of the nonwoven fabric being 2.0 μm or less or the coefficient of variation of sheet resistivity of the nonwoven fabric including the electrically conductive material distributed in a non-uniform manner in the nonwoven fabric is 0.03 or more.
Clement teaches a pasting paper comprising a non-woven fabric including a combination of fiber type advantageous for pasting paper [Clement, 0016], wherein the average particle diameter is greater than or equal to 1 μm [Clement, 0007].
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Moreover, according to MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lieinside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim,541F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir.1990).
While neither Ketzer nor Clement explicitly teach the nonwoven fabric with a coefficient of variation of sheet resistivity of the nonwoven fabric including the electrically conductive material distributed in a non-uniform manner in the nonwoven fabric is 0.03 or more, Ketzer teaches the reinforcement mats, which include a combination of electrically insulative fibers and a conductive material with an electrical resistance greater than about 1 million ohms per square feet, the sheet resistance [Ketzer, 0032], furthermore, when a non-metal conductive material coated mat is used, the electrons do not have to go through the electrode spot, and rather the electrons can flow freely on the conductive surface of the mater, which is more beneficial [Ketzer, 0039], wherein the conductive layer may be formed on one or more sides of the reinforcement mat by applying the conductive material to at least one surface of the mat or throughout the reinforcement mat [Ketzer, 0058], and the majority of the conductive material is positioned atop the surface of the reinforcement mat [Ketzer, 0060], furthermore, the conductive material may be applied to the glass fibers/reinforcement mat, wherein the conductive fibers are disposed at least partially within and/or entangled with the fiber mat [Ketzer, 0087] indicating a non-uniform distribution of the conductive material. Clement teaches the pasting paper may have any suitable electrical resistance, and in some embodiments, the pasting paper may have an electrical resistance of greater than or equal to 5 milliΩ·cm2 [Clement, 0064]. Furthermore, the materials taught by Ketzer, include electrically insulative fibers such as glass fibers, polyolefin fibers, polyester fibers, and the like [Ketzer, 0032], and the electrically conductive material may include conductive polymers (e.g., polyanilines), carbon material (e.g., carbon black, activated carbon, graphite, carbon nanofibers, carbon nanotubes, graphene, CNS (carbon nanostructure)), and the like [Ketzer, 0033], are the same as those taught in the instant specification [instant specification, 0012 & 0013]. Thus based on MPEP 2112.01, Part II, "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Therefore, nonwoven fabric of Ketzer and Clement should have a coefficient of variation of sheet resistivity of the nonwoven fabric including the electrically conductive material distributed in a non-uniform manner in the nonwoven fabric is 0.03 or more. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) Moreover, according to MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lieinside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim,541F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir.1990).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Ketzer teaches the pasting paper for a lead-acid battery of claim 1, wherein the reinforcement mats include a binder that includes the conductive material comprises about 5% to 45% by weight of the mats [Ketzer, 0037]. Table 1 of Ketzer shows six reinforcement sample mats utilizing graphene as the electrically conductive material that is present between 8.9% and 17.3% [Ketzer, 0094], and Table 2 of Ketzer shows six reinforcement sample mats utilizing carbon nanotubes (CNS) as the electrically conductive material that is present, without binder, between 15% and 25% [Ketzer, 0097].
Regarding Claim 3, modified Ketzer teaches the pasting paper for a lead-acid battery of claim 1, wherein the reinforcement mats include a binder that includes the conductive material comprises about 5% to 45% by weight of the mats [Ketzer, 0037]. Table 1 of Ketzer shows six reinforcement sample mats utilizing graphene as the electrically conductive material that is present between 8.9% and 17.3% [Ketzer, 0094], and Table 2 of Ketzer shows six reinforcement sample mats utilizing carbon nanotubes (CNS) as the electrically conductive material that is present, without binder, between 15% and 25% [Ketzer, 0097].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Ketzer teaches the pasting paper for a lead-acid battery of claim 1, wherein the conductive material may include conductive fibers, such as carbon nanotubes (CNS), because carbon nanotubes have a high electrical conductivity and inertness to sulfuric acid [Ketzer, 0033], indicating it maintains is physical and chemical form, corresponding to the acid-resistant requirement of the claim, furthermore, the nonwoven fiber may may also include an acid resistant binder material [Ketzer, 0011].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Ketzer teaches the pasting paper for a lead-acid battery of claim 4, wherein the conductive material may further include carbon fibers with a fiber length of between 8mm to 12 mm and an average diameter of between 6 μm to 10 μm [Ketzer, 0013].
While modified Ketzer teaches the carbon fiber length between 8 mm to 12 mm, which slightly greater than the claim 6 mm, according to MPEP 2144.05 (I), a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Ketzer teaches the pasting paper for a lead-acid battery of claim 5, wherein the conductive material may further include carbon fibers with a fiber length of between 8mm to 12 mm and an average diameter of between 6 μm to 10 μm [Ketzer, 0013].
While modified Ketzer teaches the carbon fiber length between 8 mm to 12 mm, which slightly greater than the claim 6 mm, according to MPEP 2144.05 (I), a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Ketzer teaches the pasting paper for a lead-acid battery of claim 1, wherein the nonwoven fiber mat may include a mixture of course glass fibers [Ketzer, 0011].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Ketzer teaches the pasting paper for a lead-acid battery of claim 1, wherein a wetting component may added to bond the glass fibers of the mat together [Ketzer, 0042], and the wetting component may be a fiber, including cellulose or polyester [Ketzer, 0045], wherein the instant specification states a heat-fusible organic fiber is polyester[ [instant specification, 0020] , wherein the cellulose may be present 10 to 40% of the reinforcement mat [Ketzer, 0089], however, modified Ketzer is silent to teach on a sulfuric acid-soluble material contained in an amount of 5% by weight or less.
Clement teaches least a portion of the cellulose fibers may dissolve upon exposure to an electrolyte, such as sulfuric acid, such as a 1.28 spg sulfuric acid, specifically 0 wt% to 80 wt%, of the cellulose fiber dissolve after storage in a 1.28 spg sulfuric acid solution [ Clement, 0066], therefore 5% by weight or less of the material may be contained as required by the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Ketzer to include the dissolution of cellulose as taught by Clement because such modification would result in a pasting paper suitable for lead-acid batteries [Clement, 0073].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ketzer et al, US 20150099189 A1 (as cited in IDS) and Clement, US 20190181506 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Wertz et al, US 20180175392 A1 (as cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Ketzer teaches the pasting paper for a lead-acid battery of claim 1, but is silent to teach on the electrically conductive material being a PAN-based carbon fiber.
Wertz teaches on a battery component that may comprise one or more additives such as activated carbon and/or conductive carbon, wherein non-limiting example of the conductive carbon additive include carbon black, acetylene black, graphite, carbon PAN, conductive carbon fibers, and carbon nanotubes [Wertz, 0076], wherein the additive may be incorporated into the fiber layer [Wertz, 0077].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Ketzer to include the carbon PAN taught by Wertz because it is well-known to use PAN carbon as an electrically conductive material in batteries and electrochemical devices. Further, a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2143, I, B).
Conclusion
/LILIAN ALICE ODOM/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722