DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, method steps of claim 1 reciting a method for patterning a quantum dot layer including a hole transport layer as a front film layer must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the subject matter recited in claim 1 fails to comply with the enablement requirement for the following reason: The Specification of the instant application describes a method for patterning a quantum dot layer recited in claim 1 using an electron transport layer as a front film layer (See Figs. 1-3K and paragraphs 55-68). While the Specification further describes that “a specific quantum dot layer patterning process is similar to the aforementioned manufacturing method for the device of the inverted structure, which is not repeated here” (paragraph 106), the Specification does not explicitly describe an enabling disclosure 1) how a hole transport layer and a sacrificial layer with their material choices are selected for hydrophilic and hydrophobic properties during sequential formation step and 2) how the method steps of claim 1 including etching conditions of the sacrificial layer, removing conditions of the remaining sacrificial layer, and mask layer formation conditions are changed due to the hole transport layer functioning as the front film layer. As such, the Specification does not support any enabling disclosure for the claimed subject with the hole transport layer functioning as the front film layer as discussed above. Then, undue experimentation would be required for determining such material choices for the hole transport layer and the sacrificial layer and processing conditions for completing the method for patterning the quantum dot layer as recited in claim 1. Accordingly, after considering all of the evidence of record related to the pertinent Wands factors and reasons discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would not have been able to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. Claims 2-3 and 6-15, which depend from claim 1, are also rejected at least by virtue of their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei (US 2022/0251446 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mei teaches a method for patterning an emission layer, comprising: sequentially forming a front film layer (190) and a sacrificial layer (171), which are stacked, on a substrate (150); wherein the front film layer is an electron transport layer or a hole transport layer (190 is an electron transport layer), one of the sacrificial layer and the front film layer is hydrophilic (190, which has 171 is formed thereon, is considered hydrophilic), and the other of the sacrificial layer and the front film layer is hydrophobic (171 formed of an alcohol-soluble polymer, for example, polyvinylpyrrolidone having hydrophobic property) (Fig. 4A and paragraphs 86-88 and 116); forming a mask layer (163) having a through hole (1630) on the sacrificial layer, wherein the through hole corresponds to a target region (1630 is a target region), and etching the sacrificial layer in the target region under the shielding of the mask layer (Figs. 4B-4C and paragraphs 89-92); laying a quantum dot material (120) (Fig. 4D and paragraph 93); and forming a patterned emission layer (122) in the target region by removing a remaining sacrificial layer (Fig. 4E and paragraph 94).
Mei does not explicitly teach curing quantum dots in the target region. However, with Mei teaching the step of coating the quantum dot solution and forming the quantum dot light-emitting material layer (Figs. 4D-4E and paragraphs 93-94), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that a subsequent curing step is followed after coating the quantum dot solution in order to solidify the quantum dot solution for forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer.
Regarding claim 2, Mei teaches wherein the forming the mask layer having the through hole on the sacrificial layer specifically comprises: forming a photoresist on the sacrificial layer, patterning the photoresist, and removing the photoresist in the target region to form the mask layer having the through hole (Fig. 4B and paragraphs 89-90).
Regarding claim 3, Mei teaches wherein the sequentially forming the front film layer and the sacrificial layer, which are stacked, on the substrate specifically comprises: forming the electron transport layer on the substrate; wherein the electron transport layer is the front film layer, and the electron transport layer is hydrophilic; and forming the sacrificial layer on a side, facing away from the substrate, of the electron transport layer; wherein the sacrificial layer is hydrophobic (Fig. 4A and paragraphs 86-88 and 116 and see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 11, Mei teaches wherein the removing the remaining sacrificial layer specifically comprises: removing the remaining sacrificial layer by solvent soaking or solvent rinsing (paragraphs 94-97, a lift-off processing).
Regarding claim 12, Mei teaches wherein the patterning the photoresist, and removing the photoresist in the target region specifically comprises: removing the photoresist in the target region with a solvent (paragraphs 64-6 and 90). Furthermore, while Mei does not explicitly teach a mask for the photolithography processing using the negative photoresist material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the mask in order to pattern the photoresist during the photolithography processing.
Regarding claim 13, Mei teaches wherein the etching the sacrificial layer in the target region under the shielding of the mask layer specifically comprises: etching away the sacrificial layer in the target region as discussed above. While Mei does not explicitly teach oxygen plasma for removing the sacrificial layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the oxygen plasma etch process is a well-known plasma etch method in the semiconductor manufacturing technology to remove the desired layer.
Regarding claim 14, Mei teaches wherein the laying the quantum dot material, and curing quantum dots in the target region specifically comprises: laying a quantum dot material with a photosensitive material; and irradiating the quantum dot material in the target region with light of a preset wavelength; wherein under irradiation with the light of the preset wavelength, the photosensitive material or a product of the photosensitive material after the light irradiation reacts with ligands on the surfaces of the quantum dots, so that the ligands are detached from the surfaces of the quantum dots to change a solubility of the quantum dots in the target region, so that the quantum dots in the target region is subjected to coagulation to cure the quantum dots in the target region; or, the laying the quantum dot material, and curing the quantum dots in the target region specifically comprises: laying a quantum dot material with crosslinkable ligands on a surface of the quantum dot material; and irradiating the quantum dot material in the target region with light of a preset wavelength, so that quantum dots in the target region are crosslinked so as to cure (Fig. 1 and paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 15, Mei teaches a material of the electron transport layer comprises ZnO, ZnMgO or ZnAlOx (paragraph 106).
Claims 1-3, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2023/0021056 A1; hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method for patterning an emission layer, comprising: sequentially forming a front film layer (305) and a sacrificial layer (303), which are stacked, on a substrate (301); wherein the front film layer is an electron transport layer or a hole transport layer (305 is an electron transport layer), one of the sacrificial layer and the front film layer is hydrophilic (305, which has 303 is formed thereon, is considered hydrophilic), and the other of the sacrificial layer and the front film layer is hydrophobic (303 formed of fluorene-based material having hydrophobic property) (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 61-62 and 83-90); forming a mask layer (306) having a through hole (3031a) on the sacrificial layer, wherein the through hole corresponds to a target region (3031a is a target region), and etching the sacrificial layer in the target region under the shielding of the mask layer (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 90-92); laying a quantum dot material (304) (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 73-75 and 93); and forming a patterned emission layer (304) in the target region by removing a remaining sacrificial layer (Fig. 3 and paragraph 94-95).
Zhang does not explicitly teach curing quantum dots in the target region. However, with Zhang teaching the step of coating the quantum dot layer (paragraph 73), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that a subsequent curing step is followed after coating the quantum dot layer in order to solidify the quantum dot layer for.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches wherein the forming the mask layer having the through hole on the sacrificial layer specifically comprises: forming a photoresist on the sacrificial layer, patterning the photoresist, and removing the photoresist in the target region to form the mask layer having the through hole (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 63-66 and 89-90).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches wherein the sequentially forming the front film layer and the sacrificial layer, which are stacked, on the substrate specifically comprises: forming the electron transport layer on the substrate; wherein the electron transport layer is the front film layer, and the electron transport layer is hydrophilic; and forming the sacrificial layer on a side, facing away from the substrate, of the electron transport layer; wherein the sacrificial layer is hydrophobic (Fig. 3 and see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches wherein the removing the remaining sacrificial layer specifically comprises: removing the remaining sacrificial layer by solvent soaking or solvent rinsing (paragraphs 78-79 and 94, a lift-off processing).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches wherein the patterning the photoresist, and removing the photoresist in the target region specifically comprises: shielding the photoresist with a mask, wherein the mask comprises a light-transmissive region and a light shielding region, wherein the light-transmissive region corresponds to a retained region to be irradiated by light in the photoresist, and the light shielding region corresponds to the target region; and removing the photoresist in the target region with a solvent (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 63-66 and 89-90).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches wherein the etching the sacrificial layer in the target region under the shielding of the mask layer specifically comprises: etching away the sacrificial layer in the target region by using oxygen plasma (paragraph 92).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches a material of the electron transport layer comprises ZnO, ZnMgO or ZnAlOx (paragraph 72).
Claims 1-3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei et al. (US 2022/0310983 A1; hereinafter “Mei 983”).
Regarding claim 1, Mei 983 teaches a method for patterning an emission layer, comprising: sequentially forming a front film layer (103) and a sacrificial layer (104), which are stacked, on a substrate (101); wherein the front film layer is an electron transport layer or a hole transport layer (103 is an electron transport layer), one of the sacrificial layer and the front film layer is hydrophilic (190 formed of ZnO, which is the same material to that of the invention as recited in claim 15, is considered hydrophilic), and the other of the sacrificial layer and the front film layer is hydrophobic (171 formed of an alcohol-soluble polymer having hydrophobic property) (Figs. 2A-2D and paragraphs 55-72); forming a mask layer (1051) having a through hole (openings in 1051) on the sacrificial layer, wherein the through hole corresponds to a target region (openings in 1051 is a target region) (Figs. 2D-2E and paragraphs 72-76), and etching the sacrificial layer in the target region under the shielding of the mask layer (Figs. 2F and paragraphs 77-80); laying a quantum dot material (106), and curing quantum dots in the target region (Fig. 2G and paragraphs 81-88); and forming a patterned emission layer (106’) in the target region by removing a remaining sacrificial layer (Fig. 2H and paragraphs 89-101).
Mei 983 does not explicitly teach curing quantum dots in the target region. However, with Mei 983 teaching the step of coating the quantum dot solution and forming the quantum dot light-emitting material layer (Fig. 2G and paragraphs 81-88), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that a subsequent curing step is followed after coating the quantum dot solution in order to solidify the quantum dot solution for forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer.
Regarding claim 2, Mei 983 teaches wherein the forming the mask layer having the through hole on the sacrificial layer specifically comprises: forming a photoresist on the sacrificial layer, patterning the photoresist, and removing the photoresist in the target region to form the mask layer having the through hole (Figs. 2D-2E and paragraphs 72-76).
Regarding claim 3, Mei 983 teaches wherein the sequentially forming the front film layer and the sacrificial layer, which are stacked, on the substrate specifically comprises: forming the electron transport layer on the substrate; wherein the electron transport layer is the front film layer, and the electron transport layer is hydrophilic; and forming the sacrificial layer on a side, facing away from the substrate, of the electron transport layer; wherein the sacrificial layer is hydrophobic (Figs. 2A-2H and see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 15, Mei 983 teaches a material of the electron transport layer comprises ZnO, ZnMgO or ZnAlOx (paragraphs 60-62).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 10-2011-0020703; hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claims 6-8, the teaching of Mei has been discussed above except the sacrificial layer comprises at least one of: polymethylsilsesquioxane, methacrylamidepolysilsesquioxane, polyphenylsilsesquioxane, polydimethylsiloxane, polyfluorosiloxane or polychlorosiloxane. Lee teaches a method for patterning a quantum dot layer, comprising: forming a sacrificial layer (15) on a substrate (11) (Fig. 1a and paragraphs 65-80), wherein the sacrificial layer is hydrophobic and comprises at least one of: polymethylsilsesquioxane, methacrylamidepolysilsesquioxane, polyphenylsilsesquioxane, polydimethylsiloxane, polyfluorosiloxane or polychlorosiloxane (15 formed of polydimethylsiloxane PDMS, which the identical material choice to that of claim 8 would include identical properties to that of claims 6-7) (Figs. 1a-1d and pages 25-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Mei with that of Lee in order to form the sacrificial layer with readily available sacrificial material choice known in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches wherein a backbone or a branched chain of the material of the sacrificial layer has a fluorine hydrophobic group of -F or -CF3 (pages 25-27, polystyrene PS).
Regarding claim 10, Lee and Lee teaches wherein the material of the sacrificial layer comprises at least one of: fluoropolystyrene or fluoropolyacrylate (pages 25-27, polystyrene PS).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection as set forth above in this Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893