DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This is a final rejection in response to the Applicant's remarks and amendment filed on 12/08/2025. Claims 1-2,5-6 and 8-11 are currently amended, claims 3-4 are cancelled, claims 7 and 12-13 are previously presented and claim 14 is withdrawn. Accordingly claims 1-2 and 5-13 are examined herein.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner wishes to point out to Applicant that claim(s) 1-2 and 5-13 is/are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under the following conditions. The process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (See MPEP 2114 II and 2115 for further details). For apparatuses, the claim limitations will define structural limitations (See MPEP 2114-2115) or functional limitations properly recited (See MPEP 2173.05 (g)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo (US 5,989,009 – of record) in view of ZHANG (CN 207931049 with English Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuo teaches a die plate cover (retaining boards (14,18)) attached to one surface of a die plate (1) from which a molten resin is extruded (see Figs. 1a-1b and Fig. 2; column 1, lines 54-55 and column 3, lines 30-35) and having a shape that covers a plurality of through holes (11) formed in the one surface of the die plate and bolts inserted through the respective through holes (see Fig. 3; column 1, lines 40-43). However, Matsuo does not explicitly teach that the die plate cover comprising: a first plate member and a second plate member facing each other; and a plurality of internal spaces provided between the first plate member and the second plate member to form a heat insulating layer between the first plate member and second plate member.
In analogues art, extrusion dies, Zhang teaches a die cover plate comprises a first plate member (1), a second plate member (3) member facing each other; and a plurality of internal spaces provided between the first plate member and the second plate member to form a heat insulating layer between the first plate member and second plate member (see annotated Fig. 4 below; [0004], [0016], [0020] and [0031-0036] of English Machine Translation attached). Zhang further teaches that the plurality of internal spaces configured to form independent vacuum cavities which improves the original solid cover plate into a cover plate with a vacuum insulation cavity (see [0014],[0016], [0020] and [0034] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zhang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the die plate cover as taught by Matsuo in view of Zhang with a first plate member and a second plate member facing each other; and a plurality of internal spaces provided between the first plate member and the second plate member to form a heat insulating layer between the first plate member and second plate member as such is known in the art of extrusion dies given the discussion of Zhang above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide independent vacuum cavities which improves the original solid cover plate into a cover plate with a vacuum insulation cavity (see [0016], [0020] and [0034] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zhang).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuo in view Zhang further teaches the die plate cover, wherein the internal spaces may be any one of an internal space with a pressure lower than an atmospheric pressure, an internal space with the same pressure as the atmospheric pressure, an internal space with a pressure higher than the atmospheric pressure, an internal space filled with an inert gas, and an internal space filled with a heat insulating material (see Figs. 1-3 and annotated Fig. 4 above; [0014-0018] and [0020] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zhang).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuo in view Zhang further teaches the die plate cover, comprising:
a spacer member (a middle support grid plate (2)) interposed between the first plate member (1) and the second plate member (3) to form the internal spaces between the first plate member and the second plate member (see annotated Fig. 4 above; [0014-0018] and [0020] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zhang).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuo teaches a die head to which a molten resin is supplied (see Figs. 2-3), the die head comprising:
a die plate (1) provided with a nozzle (2) through which the supplied molten resin passes (see Figs. 1a-1b and Fig. 2; column 1, lines 54-55 and column 3, lines 30-35);
a die holder (31) arranged on one side of the die plate (see Figs. 2-3); and
a die plate cover (retaining boards (14,18)) arranged on the other side of the die plate, wherein a plurality of through holes (11) through which bolts to fix the die plate to the die holder are inserted are formed in the die plate, wherein the die plate cover has a shape that covers the plurality of through holes formed in the die plate and the bolts inserted through the respective through holes (see Fig. 3; column 1, lines 40-43).
However, Matsuo does not explicitly teach the die plate cover comprising: a first plate member and a second plate member facing each other; and a plurality of internal spaces provided between the first plate member and the second plate member to form a heat insulating layer between the first plate member and second plate member.
In analogues art, extrusion dies, Zhang teaches a die cover plate comprises a first plate member (1) , a second plate member (3) member facing each other; and a plurality of internal spaces provided between the first plate member and the second plate member to form a heat insulating layer between the first plate member and second plate member (see annotated Fig. 4 above; [0004], [0016], [0020] and [0031-0036] of English Machine Translation attached). Zhang further teaches that the plurality of internal spaces configured to form independent vacuum cavities which improves the original solid cover plate into a cover plate with a vacuum insulation cavity (see [0014],[0016], [0020] and [0034] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zhang).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the die plate cover as taught by Matsuo in view of Zhang with a first plate member and a second plate member facing each other; and a plurality of internal spaces provided between the first plate member and the second plate member to form a heat insulating layer between the first plate member and second plate member as such is known in the art of extrusion dies given the discussion of Zhang above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide independent vacuum cavities which improves the original solid cover plate into a cover plate with a vacuum insulation cavity (see [0016], [0020] and [0034] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zhang).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuo in view Zhang further teaches the die head, wherein the internal spaces may be any one of an internal space with a pressure lower than an atmospheric pressure, an internal space with the same pressure as the atmospheric pressure, an internal space with a pressure higher than the atmospheric pressure, an internal space filled with an inert gas, and an internal space filled with a heat insulating material (see Figs. 1-3 and annotated Fig. 4 above; [0014-0018] and [0020] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zhang).
Regarding claim 10, Matsuo teaches an extruder (30) configured to cut a molten resin while extruding it from a die head (1) (see Figs. 2-3; column 3, lines 1-10), the extruder comprising:
a screw configured to convey the molten resin while kneading it and supply it to the die head (see Fig. 2); and
a cutting mechanism (32) configured to cut the molten resin extruded from the die head (see Figs. 2-3; column 3, lines 1-10), wherein the die head includes:
a die plate (1) provided with a nozzle (2) through which the molten resin supplied by the screw passes;
a die holder (31) arranged on one side of the die plate (see Figs. 2-3; column 3, lines 1-5, lines 25-28 and column 4, lines 9-14); and
a die plate cover (retaining boards (14,18)) arranged on the other side of the die plate (1) (see Figs.1a-1b; column 1, lines 54-55 and column 3, lines 30-35), wherein a plurality of through holes (11) through which bolts to fix the die plate to the die holder are inserted are formed in the die plate, and wherein the die plate cover has a shape that covers the plurality of through holes formed in the die plate and the bolts inserted through the respective through holes (see Fig. 1a and Fig. 4b; column 3, lines 22-25, lines 30-35 and lines 53-55).
However, Matsuo does not explicitly teach die plate cover further includes: a first plate member and a second plate member facing each other; and a plurality of internal spaces provided between the first plate member and the second plate member to form a heat insulating layer between the first plate member and second plate member.
In analogues art, extrusion dies, Zhang teaches a die cover plate comprises a first plate member (1) , a second plate member (3) member facing each other; and a plurality of internal spaces provided between the first plate member and the second plate member to form a heat insulating layer between the first plate member and second plate member (see annotated Fig. 4 above; [0004], [0016], [0020] and [0031-0036] of English machine translation attached). Zhang further teaches that the plurality of internal spaces configured to form independent vacuum cavities which improves the original solid cover plate into a cover plate with a vacuum insulation cavity (see [0014],[0016], [0020] and [0034] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zhang).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the die plate cover as taught by Matsuo in view of Zhang with a first plate member and a second plate member facing each other; and a plurality of internal spaces provided between the first plate member and the second plate member to form a heat insulating layer between the first plate member and second plate member as such is known in the art of extrusion dies given the discussion of Zhang above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide independent vacuum cavities which improves the original solid cover plate into a cover plate with a vacuum insulation cavity (see [0016], [0020] and [0034] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zhang).
Regarding claim 11, Matsuo in view Zhang further teaches the extruder, wherein the internal spaces of the die plate cover of the die head may be any one of an internal space with a pressure lower than an atmospheric pressure, an internal space with the same pressure as the atmospheric pressure, an internal space with a pressure higher than the atmospheric pressure, an internal space filled with an inert gas, and an internal space filled with a heat insulating material (see Figs. 1-3 and annotated Fig. 4 above; [0014-0018] and [0020] of English Machine Translation Attached of Zhang).
Regarding claim 12, Matsuo in view Zhang further teaches the extruder, wherein the cutting mechanism includes: a cutting process section (32) configured to receive the molten resin extruded from the nozzle (2) of the die head; and a cutter head (34) configured to be rotationally driven in the cutting process section, thereby cutting the molten resin extruded from the nozzle in the cutting process section (see Fig. 2; column 3, lines 1-10 of Matsuo).
Regarding claim 13, Matsuo in view Zhang further teaches the extruder, wherein the cutter head (34) cuts the molten resin in water supplied to the cutting process section, and wherein the die plate cover (retaining boards (14,18)) of the die head (1) faces the water in the cutting process section (see Fig. 2; column 3, lines 1-10 of Matsuo).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo (US 5,989,009 – of record) in view of ZHANG (CN 207931049 with English Machine Translation attached) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Robertson (US 2015/0132424 – of record).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuo in view Zhang further teaches the die plate cover as discussed in claim 2 above.
Matsuo in view Zhang further teaches the die plate cover comprising a communication hole (an opening) communicating with the internal spaces (see Figs. 1a-1b and Fig. 3 of Matsuo and Figs. 1-3 and annotated Fig. 4 below Zhang). However, Matsuo in view Zhang does not explicitly teach a sealing member configured to airtightly close the communication hole.
In the same field of endeavor, extrusion dies, Robertson teaches a die plate assembly for an underwater pelletizing system (Abstract), comprises a die plate (210), die plate cover (224,244 ,246) comprising: a first plate member (gasket 224) and a second plate member (an insulation chamber cover (244)) facing each other; a communication hole (an opening) communicating with the internal spaces; and a sealing member (weld 248) configured to airtightly close the communication hole (opening) (see Fig. 8; [0017], [0036] and [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the die plate cover as taught by Matsuo with a sealing member configured to airtightly close the communication hole as such is known in the art of extrusion dies given the discussion of Robertson above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would cover void space in the extrusion assembly (see [0043] of Robertson).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo (US 5,989,009 – of record) in view of ZHANG (CN 207931049 with English Machine Translation attached) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fridley (US 2010/0040716 – of record).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuo in view Zhang teaches the die plate cove as discussed in claim 1 above.
Matsuo does not explicitly teach, wherein a thickness of the die plate cover is 3.0 mm or more and 10.0 mm or less, and wherein a thickness of the heat insulating layer is 0.5 mm or more and 1.0 mm or less.
In the same field of endeavor, extrusion dies, Fridley teaches thermally insulated die plate assembly, comprises a die plate cover (38), an air chamber (32) forms a thermally insulating air pocket or chamber between the typically heated upstream side of the die plate assembly (see Figs.1-4;[0018],[0052-0054]); and a thickness of the die plate cover (38) is 3.0 mm or more and 10.0 mm or less, and wherein a thickness of the heat insulating layer (insulating air chamber) is 0.5 mm or more and 1.0 mm or less (see [0016], [0059] and [0075]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the die plate cover as taught by Matsuo in view Zhang and Fridley with a thickness of the die plate cover is 3.0 mm or more and 10.0 mm or less, and wherein a thickness of the heat insulating layer is 0.5 mm or more and 1.0 mm or less as such is known in the art of extrusion dies given the discussion of Fridley above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide thermally insulated die plate assembly which is robust in construction, retains the air pocket in a sealed condition, requires low maintenance and provides high performance (see [0011] of Fridley).
Response to Arguments
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 102, Applicant’s amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the claim rejection(s). Therefore, the rejections are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of ZHANG (CN 207931049 with English Machine Translation attached). Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Munz (US 5,679,380) teaches an underwater pelletizing die plate comprises a first member (3) and a second member (4), an insulating layer (17) is provided between the pelletizing die plate (4) and the wearing protection layer (16) (see Figs. 1-2; column 3, lines 15-50).
Kling (US 4,342,068) teaches a mounting assembly for a semiconductor device (Abstract), comprises a cover (24), a flange (14), a spacer ((42) which is insulating) and bolts pass through aligned holes in the spacer (see Fig. 4; column 2, lines 40-60).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED K AHMED ALI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743