DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of priority in view of PCT/CN2020/129889 with an effective filing date of 11/18/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/25/2024 and 11/27/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/11/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-12 are amended, Claims 13-17 are newly added and Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 and Claim 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the opening" in Line 5. Claim 6 from which claim 12 depends recites “an opening” however, claim 12 is refereeing to more than one opening and claim 6 is only introducing a single opening. Thus, the language is unclear and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "each tab" in Line 25. Claim 11 from which claim 17 depends on requires one tab and claim 17’s “each tab” is requiring multiple tabs. Thus, the language is unclear and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 10, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seong et al. (US 20150111068 A1), hereinafter "Seong".
In regard to Claim 1, Seong et al. discloses a battery cover plate and an electrode terminal being provided on the battery cover plate (Seong, Figure 1 (150, 140)). Seong et al. also discloses wherein an explosion-proof groove which is consistent with the definition of an explosion proof groove in the current application (Original Specification, [0038]) is also provided on the battery cover plate (Seong, Figure 2 (154), [0044,0067]). Further, Seong et al. discloses the explosion-proof groove surrounds the electrode terminal (Seong, Figure 2 (154), [0044]).
In regard to Claim 5, Seong et al. discloses the battery cover plate as claimed in claim 1, wherein the explosion- proof groove is a closed annular structure (Seong, Figure 2 (154), [0044]).
In regard to Claim 6, Seong et al. discloses a lithium-ion secondary battery, comprising a shell, and a battery cover plate, a battery cell being packaged in the shell, one end of the shell being provided with an opening, and the battery cover plate sealing the opening (Seong, Figure 1, [0039]). Seong et al also discloses an electrode terminal being provided on the battery cover plate (Seong, 140), wherein an explosion-proof groove which is consistent with the definition of an explosion proof groove in the current application (Original Specification, [0038]) is also provided on the battery cover plate (Seong, Figure 2 (154), [0044,0067]). Further, Seong et al. discloses the explosion-proof groove surrounds the electrode terminal (Seong, Figure 2 (154), [0044]).
In regard to Claim 10, Seong et al. discloses the lithium-ion secondary battery as claimed in claim 6, wherein the explosion-proof groove is a closed annular structure (Seong, Figure 2 (154), [0044]).
In regard to Claims 13 and 15, Seong et al. discloses the battery cover plate as claimed in claim 1 and claim 6, wherein the explosion-proof groove is an indentation formed on a surface of the battery cover plate (Seong, [0010, 0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 7-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong et al. (US 20150111068 A1), hereinafter "Song" as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, in view of Baek et al. (US 20110300414 A1), hereinafter "Baek". Seong and Baek et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely battery covers and assembly.
In regard to Claims 2-4 and 7-9, Seong et al. discloses the battery cover plate as claimed in claim 1. While Seong et al. discloses a battery with a single terminal on the cover plate, if the skilled artisan were to provide a battery with two terminals on the cover plate based on design incentives or other market forces it would be obvious to include the explosion proof groove (154) around both terminals.
In fact, Baek et al. teaches a battery cover plate wherein two terminals are provided on the cover (Baek, Figure 1 (143, 144)) wherein two explosion proof grooves consistent with the definition of an explosion proof groove in the current application (Original Specification, [0038]) are provided around both terminals (Baek, grooves 141a, 141b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide two explosion proof grooves when there are two terminals on the cover plate as taught in Baek et al. as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
In regard to Claim 12, Seong et al discloses the lithium-ion secondary battery as claimed in claim 6. While Seong discloses a pouch type cell with a cover plate it is silent as to the bottom opening or second cover.
Baek et al discloses a pouch type cell wherein two opposite ends of the shell are each provided with an opening and thus the design requires a first battery cover plate and a second battery cover plate wherein the first battery cover plate seals the opening at one end of the shell and the second battery cover plate seals the opening at the other end of the shell (Baek, [0030]). Baek et al also discloses the explosion-proof groove is set on the first battery cover plate (Beak, [0036]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a second cover plate when the pouch cell design requires one as taught in Baek et al. as doing so would amount to nothing more than a variation of it for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong et al. (US 20150111068 A1), hereinafter "Song" as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, in view of Cho et al. (US 20180102521 A1), hereinafter "Cho". Seong and Cho et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely battery covers and assembly.
In regard to Claims 11 and 17, Seong et al. discloses the lithium-ion secondary battery as claimed in claim 6. While Seong et al. discloses wherein a tab is provided in the shell and the electrode terminal is electrically connected to the battery cell through the tab and that one end of the tab is connected to the battery cell and the other end of the tab is connected to the electrode terminal (Seong, [0040]), Seong et al. fails to explicitly disclose a cutout provided on the tab.
Cho et al. discloses wherein the tab is provided with a plurality of cutouts (Cho, items 36, 38), and the cutouts are arranged on two opposite lateral sides of each tab (Cho, Figure 10). Cho et al. discloses these cutouts have the benefit of the electrode lead to be broken and separated more easily, thereby interrupting further current flow and preventing extreme situations and as a result, safety is improved (Cho, [0073-0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide cutouts as taught in Cho et al. to the tabs of Seong et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Cho et al. and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong et al. (US 20150111068 A1), hereinafter "Song" as applied to claims 1 and 6 above. Seong et al. is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because it pertains to the same field of endeavor, namely battery covers and assembly.
In regard to Claims 15 and 16, Seong et al. discloses the battery cover plate as claimed in claim 13, while Seong et al. is silent as to the exact dimensions of the explosion proof groove, Seong discloses that the weakened portion (explosion proof groove) comprises a portion of the cap plate of reduced thickness (Seong, Claim 3), i.e. the thickness of the cap plate is 100% and thus the range of the depth of the groove is >0 and <100%, which overlaps the claimed range and is within the realm of routine optimization for the skilled artisan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/266,277 (reference application 1) and over claims 1, 14, 15 and 17 of copending Application No. 18/266,278 (reference application 2).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of reference application 1 comprises a lithium-ion secondary battery with at least two cells and a cooling unit wherein the current application comprises a single cell and is silent as to the cooling unit, however, this is nothing more than an obvious variation of a secondary battery to the skilled artisan. Claim 8 of the reference application 1 is identical to claim 12 of the current application and Claim 12 of the reference application 1 is identical to claims 1 and 6 of the current application except that the explosion proof groove is provided on both covers instead of one when the terminal is provided on each cover, which is nothing more than a routine variation for the skilled artisan to provide the same explosion proof groove around the terminal when the terminal is provided on each cover plate.
Further, Claims 1 and 14 of reference application 2 comprises a lithium-ion secondary battery open at both ends and a cooling unit wherein the current application comprises a lithium-ion secondary battery open at both ends but is silent as to the cooling unit, however, this is nothing more than an obvious variation of a secondary battery to the skilled artisan. Claims 15 of reference application 2 is identical to claim 12 of the current application and claim 17 of the reference application 2 except that the explosion proof groove is provided on both covers instead of one when the terminal is provided on each cover, which is nothing more than a routine variation for the skilled artisan to provide the same explosion proof groove around the terminal when the terminal is provided on each cover plate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725