DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 07/09/2026 has been fully considered. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 5 are amended. Claims 8-13, 15, and 17 are withdrawn.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Nicolo et al. (WO 2019/048652 A1, cited in IDS, made of record on 05/11/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Di Nicolo teaches a polymer having recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-1 that is
wherein each of E’, equal to or different from each other and at reach occurrence, is selected from the group consisting of formulae (E’-1) to (E’-3):
, each R’ is independently selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali, or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer of 1 to 4 [0010], wherein the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], which reads on a bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES, optionally comprising a) recurring units (Ra) of formula (I) wherein each R1 is independently selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, and j is zero or an integer of 1 to 4, each R2 is at each location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, preferably an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, each R2* is at each location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and R3 is represented by -CRpRq-, wherein each of Rp and Rq is independently selected from H, and an alkyl having 1 carbon atom, and comprising b) recurring units (Rb) of formula (II) wherein each R4 is independently selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali, or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, and i is zero or an integer of 1 to 4, and each of E, equal to or different from each other and at each occurrence, is selected from the group consisting of those of formulae (E’-I) to (E’-III).
Di Nicolo does not teach a specific embodiment of the bio-based sulfonate copolymer b-PAES further comprising a) recurring units (Ra) of formula (I) as claimed. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Di Nicolo’s recurring units (RS) selected from
, wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, to modify Di Nicolo’s polymer, such that R’ in
is selected from alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, j’ in
is an integer from 2 to 4, and R’ in
is bonded at the 3 and 3’ positions and optionally at the 5 and/or 5’ positions. The proposed modification would read on the bio-based sulfonate copolymer b-PAES further comprising a) recurring units (Ra) of formula (I) wherein each R1 is independently selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, and j is zero or an integer of 1 to 4, each R2 is at each location independently selected from H and an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, each R2* is at each location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and R3 is represented by -CRpRq-, wherein each of Rp and Rq is independently selected from H, and an alkyl having 1 carbon atom as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Di Nicolo’s polymer for purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from Di Nicolo’s polymer because Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], and that the polymer can be used in purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from the polymer [0010], because alkyl groups having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms are among the simplest alkyl groups, and therefore would have been the most obvious alkyl groups to try with a reasonable expectation of success, and because the 3 and 3’ positions and the 5 and/or 5’ positions would have been four of only eight other positions in the
available for the R’ groups since the 1 and 4 positions would have been occupied by the 1,4-linkages.
Regarding claim 2, Di Nicolo teaches that more than 50 % moles, with respect to all the recurring units of the polymer, are recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-1 [0010]. As explained above for claim 1, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Di Nicolo’s recurring units (RS) selected from
, to modify Di Nicolo’s polymer. The amount of Di Nicolo’s recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-1 therefore would have been more than 50 % moles and less than 100 % moles, with respect to all the recurring units of the polymer, are recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-1. Di Nicolo therefore renders obvious the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES of claim 1, comprising more than 50 mol% and less than 100 mol% of the recurring units (Rb) with respect to all the recurring units of the copolymer b-PAES, which reads on the claimed range.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Di Nicolo teaches that more than 50 % moles, with respect to all the recurring units of the polymer, are recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-1 [0010]. As explained above for claim 1, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Di Nicolo’s recurring units (RS) selected from
, to modify Di Nicolo’s polymer. The amount of Di Nicolo’s recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-1 therefore would have been more than 50 % moles and less than 100 % moles, with respect to all the recurring units of the polymer, are recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-1. Di Nicolo therefore renders obvious the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES of claim 1, comprising greater than 0 mol% and less than 50 mol% of the recurring units (Ra) with respect to all the recurring units of the copolymer b-PAES as claimed, and the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES of claim 1, comprising a molar ratio of the recurring units (Rb) to the recurring units (Ra) of greater than 50:50 and less than 100:0, which reads on the claimed ranges. The mol% of Ra is based on the calculations 100% - 50% = 50% and 100% - 100% = 0%. The molar ratio of Rb to Ra is based on the calculations 50:(100-50) = 50:50 and 100:(100-100) = 100:0.
Regarding claim 5, Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer has recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-1 that is
wherein each of E’, equal to or different from each other and at reach occurrence, is selected from the group consisting of formulae (E’-1) to (E’-3):
, j’ is optionally zero [0010], where in examples, the polymer is a polysulfone isosorbide polymer of molecular formula
[0125], which reads on the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES of claim 1, wherein the recurring units (Rb) are of formula selected from the group consisting of formulae (Rb-1), (Rb-2), (Rb-3), and any combinations thereof, wherein each i is optionally 0.
Di Nicolo does not teach a specific embodiment wherein each i is 0. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Di Nicolo’s j’ in Di Nicolo’s formula RPSI-1 that is
to be zero. The proposed modification would read on wherein each i is 0 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing a species of Di Nicola’s formula RPSI-1 that is suitable for Di Nicola’s polymer and/or because it would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Di Nicolo’s polymer for purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from Di Nicolo’s polymer because Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer has recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-1 that is
wherein j’ is optionally zero [0010], where in examples, the polymer is a polysulfone isosorbide polymer of molecular formula
[0125], and that the polymer can be used in purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from the polymer [0010].
Regarding claim 6, Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is optionally selected from alkyl, j’ is optionally zero or an integer that is 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], which optionally reads on wherein the recurring units (Ra) are of formula (I*) wherein each R2 is at each location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms claimed.
Di Nicolo does not teach a specific embodiment wherein the recurring units (Ra) are of formula (I*) as claimed. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Di Nicolo’s recurring units (RS) selected from
, wherein T’, equal to each other are -CH2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, to modify Di Nicolo’s polymer, such that R’ in
is selected from alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, j’ in
is an integer that is 4, j’ in
is zero, and R’ in
is bonded at the 3, 3’, 5, and 5’ positions. The proposed modification would read on wherein the recurring units (Ra) are of formula (I*) wherein each R2 is at teach location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Di Nicolo’s polymer for purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from Di Nicolo’s polymer because Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is optionally selected from alkyl, j’ is optionally zero or an integer that is 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], and that the polymer can be used in purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from the polymer [0010], because alkyl groups having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms are among the simplest alkyl groups, and therefore would have been the most obvious alkyl groups to try with a reasonable expectation of success, and because the 3 and 3’ positions and the 5 and 5’ positions would have been four of only eight other positions in the
available for the R’ groups since the 1 and 4 positions would have been occupied by the 1,4-linkages.
Regarding claim 7, Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer [0010] has a weight average molecular weight of at least 20 000, preferably at least 30 000, more preferably at least 40 000 [0026], and that the polymer in an example possesses a Mw of between 94 000 and 99 000 [0125], which reads on the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES of claim 1, having a weight averaged molecular weight (Mw) of at least 20 kDa.
Di Nicolo does not teach with sufficient specificity that the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES has a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of at least 50 kDa, and/or at most 200 kDa. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the weight average molecular weight (Mw) of Di Nicolo’s polymer to be between 94 000 and 99 000. The proposed modification would read on the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES of claim 1, having a weight averaged molecular weight (Mw) of greater than 94 kDa and less than 99 kDa as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer [0010] has a weight average molecular weight of at least 20 000, preferably at least 30 000, more preferably at least 40 000 [0026], and that the polymer in an example possesses a Mw of between 94 000 and 99 000 [0125], which means that selecting the weight average molecular weight of Di Nicolo’s polymer to be between 94 000 and 99 000 would have been beneficial for providing a weight average molecular weight that is suitable for Di Nicolo’s polymer. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 14, Di Nicolo teaches preparing a membrane by a phase inversion method occurring in the liquid phase, said method comprising the following steps: preparing a polyaryl ether sulfone polymer solution comprising the polymer and a polar solvent [0056], wherein the solvent is an aromatic hydrocarbon, an aliphatic or aromatic halogenated hydrocarbon, an aliphatic, cycloaliphatic, or aromatic ether oxide, an aromatic amine, a linear or cyclic ester, a linear or cyclic carboxamide, an organic carbonate, a phosphoric ester, dimethylsulfoxide, or a diester [0059], which reads on a polymer solution (SP) for preparing a membrane, which comprises the copolymer b-PAES of claim 1 in a polar organic solvent as claimed.
Regarding claim 16, Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], which optionally reads on wherein in the recurring units (Ra) of formula (I), each R2 is methyl at each location, each R2* is methyl at each location, and the R3 is selected from -CH2- or -C(CH3)2- as claimed.
Di Nicolo does not teach a specific embodiment wherein in the recurring units (Ra) of formula (I), each R2 is methyl at each location, each R2* is methyl at each location, and the R3 is selected from -CH2- or -C(CH3)2-. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Di Nicolo’s recurring units (RS) selected from
, wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, to modify Di Nicolo’s polymer, such that R’ in
is selected from alkyl having 1 carbon atom, j’ in
is an integer that is 4, and R’ in
is bonded at the 3, 3’, 5, and 5’ positions. The proposed modification would read on wherein in the recurring units (Ra) of formula (I), each R2 is methyl at each location, each R2* is methyl at each location, and the R3 is selected from -CH2- or -C(CH3)2- as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Di Nicolo’s polymer for purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from Di Nicolo’s polymer because Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], and that the polymer can be used in purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from the polymer [0010], because alkyl groups having 1 carbon atom is the simplest alkyl group, and therefore would have been the most obvious alkyl group to try with a reasonable expectation of success, and because the 3 and 3’ positions and the 5 and 5’ positions would have been four of only eight other positions in the
available for the R’ groups since the 1 and 4 positions would have been occupied by the 1,4-linkages.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Di Nicolo teaches that the recurring units RPSI are those of formula RPSI-2 that is
wherein each of E’, equal to or different from each other and at reach occurrence, is selected from the group consisting of formulae (E’-1) to (E’-3):
, each R’ is independently selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali, or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer of 1 to 4, and T is a bond or a divalent group optionally comprising one or more than one heteroatom [0010], and that more than 50 % moles, with respect to all the recurring units of the polymer, are recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-2 [0010], which reads on the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES of claim 1, comprising less than 50 mol% of the recurring units (Rb) with respect to all the recurring units of the copolymer b-PAES as claimed, and the polymer solution (SP) of claim 14, wherein the copolymer b-PAES comprises less than 50 mol% of the recurring units (Rb) with respect to all the recurring units of the copolymer b-PAES as claimed.
Regarding claim 20, Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is optionally selected from alkyl, j’ is optionally zero or an integer that is 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], which optionally reads on wherein in the copolymer b-PAES, the recurring units (Ra) are of formula (I*) wherein each R2 is at each location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms claimed.
Di Nicolo does not teach a specific embodiment wherein in the copolymer b-PAES, the recurring units (Ra) are of formula (I*) as claimed. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Di Nicolo’s recurring units (RS) selected from
, wherein T’, equal to each other are -CH2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, to modify Di Nicolo’s polymer, such that R’ in
is selected from alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, j’ in
is an integer that is 4, j’ in
is zero, and R’ in
is bonded at the 3, 3’, 5, and 5’ positions. The proposed modification would read on wherein in the copolymer b-PAES, the recurring units (Ra) are of formula (I*) wherein each R2 is at each location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Di Nicolo’s polymer for purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from Di Nicolo’s polymer because Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is optionally selected from alkyl, j’ is optionally zero or an integer that is 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], and that the polymer can be used in purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from the polymer [0010], because alkyl groups having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms are among the simplest alkyl groups, and therefore would have been the most obvious alkyl groups to try with a reasonable expectation of success, and because the 3 and 3’ positions and the 5 and 5’ positions would have been four of only eight other positions in the
available for the R’ groups since the 1 and 4 positions would have been occupied by the 1,4-linkages.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 16, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/727,710 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application claims a copolymer (PO) comprising collectively at least 70 mol.% of recurring units (RPO) and (R*PO), based on the total number of moles of recurring units in the copolymer (PO), said recurring units (RPO) being of formula (M):
, wherein each R1 is independently selected from the group consisting of a halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine and quaternary ammonium, each i is independently 0 or an integer from 1 to 4, each of E, equal to or different from each other and at each occurrence, in the formula (M) is selected from the group consisting of those of formulae (E’-1), (E’-II), (E’-III), and (E’-IV):
, each R3 in formula (E’-IV) is at teach location independently selected from H or an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, preferably an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, more preferably methyl at each location, each R3’ in formula (E’-IV) is at each location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, preferably methyl at each location (claim 1), which reads on a bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES, comprising a) recurring units (Ra) of formula (I) wherein each R1 is independently selected from the group consisting of a halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine and quaternary ammonium, and j is zero or an integer of 1 to 4, each R2 is at each location independently selected from H or an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, preferably an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, each R2* is at each location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and R3 is represented by -CRpRq-, wherein each of Rp and Rq is independently selected from H, and b) recurring units (Rb) of formula (II), wherein each R4 is independently selected from the group consisting of a halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine and quaternary ammonium, and i is zero or an integer of 1 to 4, and each of E, equal to or different from each other and at each occurrence, is selected from the group consisting of those of formulae (E’-I) to (E’-III) as claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 12, filed 07/09/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-7, 14, 16, and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-7, 14, 16, and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 12, filed 07/09/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the applicant’s argument that Di Nicolo et al. (WO 2019/048652 A1, cited in IDS, made of record on 05/11/2023) cannot be used in a 35 USC §103 rejection because subject matter in Di Nicolo is excluded under 35 USC §102(b)(2)(C) (p. 12-15), Di Nicolo et al. (WO 2019/048652 A1, cited in IDS, made of record on 05/11/2023) qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) because it was published on 03/14/2019, which was more than one year before effective filing date of the instant application, which is 12/18/2020. The AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) exception does not apply to a disclosure that qualifies as prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (disclosures made before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) (MPEP 2154.02(c)). Thus, if the publication date or issue date of a U.S. patent document is before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it may be prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), regardless of common ownership or the existence of an obligation to assign (MPEP 2154.02(c)).
In response to the applicant’s argument that Di Nicolo does not render claims 1-7, 14, 16, and 18-20 obvious (p. 15), Di Nicolo renders claims 1-7, 14, 16, and 18-20 obvious as explained in the rejection of the claims in this Office action.
In response to the applicant’s argument that Di Nicolo provides no teaching, preference, example, or guidance that would have led a person of ordinary skill in the art to make this particular combination of selections (p. 15), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Di Nicolo’s recurring units (RS) selected from
, wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, to modify Di Nicolo’s polymer, such that R’ in
is selected from alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, j’ in
is an integer from 2 to 4, and R’ in
is bonded at the 3 and 3’ positions and optionally at the 5 and/or 5’ positions, because it would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Di Nicolo’s polymer for purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from Di Nicolo’s polymer because Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], and that the polymer can be used in purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from the polymer [0010], because alkyl groups having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms are among the simplest alkyl groups, and therefore would have been the most obvious alkyl groups to try with a reasonable expectation of success, and because the 3 and 3’ positions and the 5 and/or 5’ positions would have been four of only eight other positions in the
available for the R’ groups since the 1 and 4 positions would have been occupied by the 1,4-linkages.
In response to the applicant’s argument that with this multiple selection from various lists, the Office action has not shown a finite number of identified, predictable solutions leading to the claimed copolymer, and that polymer structure-property behavior is not generally so predictable that any arbitrary R8 modification would be expected to work (p. 15), one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using Di Nicolo’s recurring units (RS) selected from
, wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, to modify Di Nicolo’s polymer, such that R’ in
is selected from alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, j’ in
is an integer from 2 to 4, and R’ in
is bonded at the 3 and 3’ positions and optionally at the 5 and/or 5’ positions. This is because Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], and that the polymer can be used in purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from the polymer [0010], which reads on the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES, optionally comprising a) recurring units (Ra) of formula (I) wherein each R1 is independently selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, and j is zero or an integer of 1 to 4, each R2 is at each location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, preferably an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, each R2* is at each location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and R3 is represented by -CRpRq-, wherein each of Rp and Rq is independently selected from H, and an alkyl having 1 carbon atom. Also, alkyl groups having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms are among the simplest alkyl groups, and therefore would have been the most obvious alkyl groups to try with a reasonable expectation of success. Also, the 3 and 3’ positions and the 5 and/or 5’ positions would have been four of only eight other positions in the
available for the R’ groups since the 1 and 4 positions would have been occupied by the 1,4-linkages. Di Nicola therefore teaches a finite number of identified, predictable solutions leading to the claimed copolymer.
In response to the applicant’s argument that the asserted reason for the modification, that it would have been beneficial for modifying the effectiveness of Di Nicolo’s polymer for biological-fluid purification, is a generalized statement of a desired result, and that it does not explain why the specific claimed recurring unit (Ra), substitution pattern, bridge, alkyl substituents, or molar proportions would have been selected (p. 15), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Di Nicolo’s recurring units (RS) selected from
, wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, to modify Di Nicolo’s polymer, such that R’ in
is selected from alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, j’ in
is an integer from 2 to 4, and R’ in
is bonded at the 3 and 3’ positions and optionally at the 5 and/or 5’ positions, because it would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Di Nicolo’s polymer for purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from Di Nicolo’s polymer because Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], and that the polymer can be used in purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from the polymer [0010], because alkyl groups having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms are among the simplest alkyl groups, and therefore would have been the most obvious alkyl groups to try with a reasonable expectation of success, and because the 3 and 3’ positions and the 5 and/or 5’ positions would have been four of only eight other positions in the
available for the R’ groups since the 1 and 4 positions would have been occupied by the 1,4-linkages.
In response to the applicant’s argument that the Office action does not establish a reasonable expectation that the proposed modified polymer would maintain suitable molecular weight, solubility, membrane-forming properties, phase invention behavior, or purification performance (p. 15), one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using Di Nicolo’s recurring units (RS) selected from
, wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, to modify Di Nicolo’s polymer, such that R’ in
is selected from alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, j’ in
is an integer from 2 to 4, and R’ in
is bonded at the 3 and 3’ positions and optionally at the 5 and/or 5’ positions. This is because Di Nicola teaches that the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], and that the polymer can be used in purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from the polymer [0010], which reads on the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES, optionally comprises ) recurring units (Ra) of formula (I) wherein each R1 is independently selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, and j is zero or an integer of 1 to 4, each R2 is at each location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, preferably an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, each R2* is at each location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and R3 is represented by -CRpRq-, wherein each of Rp and Rq is independently selected from H, and an alkyl having 1 carbon atom. Also, alkyl groups having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms are among the simplest alkyl groups, and therefore would have been the most obvious alkyl groups to try with a reasonable expectation of success. Also, the 3 and 3’ positions and the 5 and/or 5’ positions would have been four of only eight other positions in the
available for the R’ groups since the 1 and 4 positions would have been occupied by the 1,4-linkages.
In response to the applicant’s argument that the rejection relies on impermissible hindsight reconstruction (p. 15), it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). This is the case in the rejection of the claims in this Office action because it takes into account only the teachings of Di Nicola and knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made.
In response to the applicant’s argument that the Office Action’s arithmetic based on Di Nicola’s disclosure of more than 50 mol % RPSI units does not supply a teaching or motivation to prepare the claimed copolymer having the claimed Ra structure and claimed Ra/Rb proportions (p. 16), Di Nicolo teaches that more than 50 % moles, with respect to all the recurring units of the polymer, are recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-1 [0010]. As explained in the rejection of claim 1, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Di Nicolo’s recurring units (RS) selected from
, wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is selected from the group consisting of halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, ether, thioether, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, imide, alkali or alkaline earth metal sulfonate, alkyl sulfonate, alkali or alkaline earth metal phosphonate, alkyl phosphonate, amine, and quaternary ammonium, j’ is zero or an integer from 0 to 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are selected from -CH2- and -C(CH3)2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, to modify Di Nicolo’s polymer, such that R’ in
is selected from alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, j’ in
is an integer from 2 to 4, and R’ in
is bonded at the 3 and 3’ positions and optionally at the 5 and/or 5’ positions. The amount of Di Nicolo’s recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-1 therefore would have been more than 50 % moles and less than 100 % moles, with respect to all the recurring units of the polymer, are recurring units RPSI that are those of formula RPSI-1. Di Nicolo therefore renders obvious the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES of claim 1, comprising more than 50 mol% and less than 100 mol% of the recurring units (Rb) with respect to all the recurring units of the copolymer b-PAES, which reads on the claimed range. Di Nicolo also therefore renders obvious the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES of claim 1, comprising greater than 0 mol% and less than 50 mol% of the recurring units (Ra) with respect to all the recurring units of the copolymer b-PAES as claimed, and the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES of claim 1, comprising a molar ratio of the recurring units (Rb) to the recurring units (Ra) of greater than 50:50 and less than 100:0, which reads on the claimed ranges. The mol% of Ra is based on the calculations 100% - 50% = 50% and 100% - 100% = 0%. The molar ratio of Rb to Ra is based on the calculations 50:(100-50) = 50:50 and 100:(100-100) = 100:0.
In response to the applicant’s argument that claim 7 is likewise not rendered obvious merely because Di Nicolo discloses molecular-weight values for different polymers, and that disclosure does not cure the absence of the claimed copolymer structure (p. 16), Di Nicolo renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1 as explained in the rejection of claim 1 in this Office action. Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer [0010] has a weight average molecular weight of at least 20 000, preferably at least 30 000, more preferably at least 40 000 [0026], and that the polymer in an example possesses a Mw of between 94 000 and 99 000 [0125], which reads on the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES of claim 1, having a weight averaged molecular weight (Mw) of at least 20 kDa. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the weight average molecular weight (Mw) of Di Nicolo’s polymer to be between 94 000 and 99 000. The proposed modification would read on the bio-based sulfone copolymer b-PAES of claim 1, having a weight averaged molecular weight (Mw) of greater than 94 kDa and less than 99 kDa as claimed in claim 7. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer [0010] has a weight average molecular weight of at least 20 000, preferably at least 30 000, more preferably at least 40 000 [0026], and that the polymer in an example possesses a Mw of between 94 000 and 99 000 [0125], which means that selecting the weight average molecular weight of Di Nicolo’s polymer to be between 94 000 and 99 000 would have been beneficial for providing a weight average molecular weight that is suitable for Di Nicolo’s polymer. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
In response to the applicant’s argument that claim 14 depends on the claimed copolymer and therefore is patentable for at least the same reasons (p. 16), Di Nicolo renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1 as explained in the rejection of claim 1 in this Office action. Di Nicolo teaches preparing a membrane by a phase inversion method occurring in the liquid phase, said method comprising the following steps: preparing a polyaryl ether sulfone polymer solution comprising the polymer and a polar solvent [0056], wherein the solvent is an aromatic hydrocarbon, an aliphatic or aromatic halogenated hydrocarbon, an aliphatic, cycloaliphatic, or aromatic ether oxide, an aromatic amine, a linear or cyclic ester, a linear or cyclic carboxamide, an organic carbonate, a phosphoric ester, dimethylsulfoxide, or a diester [0059], which reads on a polymer solution (SP) for preparing a membrane, which comprises the copolymer b-PAES of claim 1 in a polar organic solvent as claimed in claim 14.
In response to the applicant’s argument that claims 6, 16, and 20 require even more specific structural selections, including particular alkyl substitution patterns, which Di Nicolo does not teach or suggest (p. 16), Di Nicolo renders obvious all of the imitations of claims 1, 6, 16, and 20 as explained in the rejection of those claims in this Office action. For example, regarding claim 6, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Di Nicolo’s recurring units (RS) selected from
, wherein T’, equal to each other are -CH2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, to modify Di Nicolo’s polymer, such that R’ in
is selected from alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms, j’ in
is an integer that is 4, j’ in
is zero, and R’ in
is bonded at the 3, 3’, 5, and 5’ positions. The proposed modification would read on wherein the recurring units (Ra) are of formula (I*) wherein each R2 is at teach location independently selected from an alkyl having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for modifying effectiveness of Di Nicolo’s polymer for purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from Di Nicolo’s polymer because Di Nicolo teaches that the polymer may comprise, in addition to recurring units (RPSI), recurring units (RS) [0022], wherein recurring units (RS) can be notably selected from
wherein each of R’, equal to or different from each other, is optionally selected from alkyl, j’ is optionally zero or an integer that is 4, and T’, equal to or different from each other are optionally selected from -CH2-, wherein the respective phenylene moieties may independently have 1,4-linkages to the other moieties different from R’ in the recurring unit, wherein preferably, said phenylene moieties having 1,4-linkages, wherein more preferably they have 1,4-linkage [0023], and that the polymer can be used in purification methods for biological fluids comprising at least one filtration step through a membrane obtained from the polymer [0010], because alkyl groups having from 1 to 5 carbon atoms are among the simplest alkyl groups, and therefore would have been the most obvious alkyl groups to try with a reasonable expectation of success, and because the 3 and 3’ positions and the 5 and 5’ positions would have been four of only eight other positions in the
available for the R’ groups since the 1 and 4 positions would have been occupied by the 1,4-linkages.
In response to the applicant’s argument that the Office action has not explained how allowance of the earlier-priority present claims would unjustly extend patent term over the later-priority reference application (p. 17), the copending Application No. 18/727,710 is copending, has the same assignee and applicant, and renders obvious the instant claims, which is all that is required for the provisional rejection on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting rejection to be proper. The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection will be withdrawn only when it is the only rejection remaining in the instant application and if the copending application has not been patented yet, or if the applicant files a proper terminal disclaimer.
In response to the applicant’s argument that the Office action has not established that a terminal disclaimer in the present application would be an appropriate remedy for the alleged double patenting concern, and that on this record, the rejection does not identify the type of unjustified term extension that obviousness-type double patenting is intended to prevent (p. 17), the copending Application No. 18/727,710 is copending, has the same assignee and applicant, and renders obvious the instant claims, which is all that is required for the provisional rejection on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting rejection to be proper. The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection will be withdrawn only when it is the only rejection remaining in the instant application and if the copending application has not been patented yet, or if the applicant files a proper terminal disclaimer.
In response to the applicant’s argument that requiring a terminal disclaimer in the present earlier-priority earlier-expiring US application would be premature and inappropriate, particularly where the Office action has not established that any finally allowed or patented claim of USSN 18/727,710 is patentably indistinct from the presently pending claims (p. 17), the copending Application No. 18/727,710 is copending, has the same assignee and applicant, and renders obvious the instant claims, which is all that is required for the provisional rejection on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting rejection to be proper. The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection will be withdrawn only when it is the only rejection remaining in the instant application and if the copending application has not been patented yet, or if the applicant files a proper terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/DAVID T KARST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767