Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Applicant’s claims, filed on 06/29/2026.
Claims 1-8, and 18-22 have been amended.
Claim 8 has been amended but is annotated incorrectly as “Original.”
Claims 9-17 have been withdrawn in response to the restriction requirement dated 10/21/2025.
Claims 23-25 have been added.
Claims 1-8, and 18-25 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8, and 18-25 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the drawings, specification and claims have overcome each objection and rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action filed 11/11/2025.
Applicant’s argument with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims have been considered and found persuasive; therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, the amendments raise new issues and a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 18, and 22 recites the limitations: plurality of energy supply lines. It is unclear what the plurality of energy supply lines is referring to in order to meet the claimed invention and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification identifies and depicts the hydraulic line coupled to the motor as a single entity in Fig. 5 and not as a plurality of lines.
Claims 2-8, 19-25 are rejected for being dependent of a rejected indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 18-19, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Precopia (US5,538,092) in view of Jelsma (US4,880,067).
Claim 1. Precopia discloses: A mobile drilling rig for drilling boreholes into a subsurface (Fig. 1), comprising;
a drive unit for providing energy (17 air compressor or drilling fluid pump, Fig. 1),
a drilling unit (15 rotary drilling device, Fig. 1) having a drive motor and a drill head driven by the drive motor (motor and drill head is inherent to a rotary drilling device powered by air or fluid) and
an energy chain (9 flexible drill pipe, Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of hollow chain links connected to one another (9 is hollow, Fig. 3), and a plurality of energy supply lines (plurality of inner bore of each segment of 9, Fig. 3) that connect the drive motor to the drive unit for transmission of the energy, wherein the drive motor converts the energy transmitted via the energy supply lines into mechanical work for driving the drill head (plurality of inner bore of each segment of the flexible drill pipe is fluidically coupled to the rotary drilling device and drive unit to provide air or hydraulic fluid to actuate the rotary drilling device, Fig. 1-4; Col. 2, lines 8-11).
Precopia does not disclose: a hinge like manner via uniaxial joints.
Jelsma discloses a non-rotating drill string formed from a plurality of independent, cylindrical sections pivotally connected together by a latch mechanism. The adjacent ends are partially beveled such that the sections can bend in a single direction. A downhole mud motor (PDM) drives the drill bit through the use of a flexible drive shaft for drilling a hole.
Jelsma teaches: a plurality of hollow chain links (32, 34, 36 drill string section, Fig. 2) connected to one another in a hinge like manner via uniaxial joints (structure of 38 latch, 112 and 114 surfaces, 40 strap, 40 and 42 pins couple 32, 34, 36 together and allows pivotal motion in a single direction, Fig. 8-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the ball and socket joint of Precopia with a hinge type joint as taught by Jelsma with a reasonable expectation of success in order the drill pipe to pivot in a single direction as taught by Jelsma (Fig. 8-10) because both perform the same function in similar contexts. Such a substitution represents the use of a known element according to its established function, and the results would have been predictable. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 2. Precopia in view of Jelsma teach: The drilling rig according to claim 1, wherein the drilling rig comprises a winding device for winding and unwinding the energy chain (Precopia: 7 rotary wheel, Fig. 1).
Claim 4. Precopia in view of Jelsma teach: The drilling rig according to claim 1, wherein the drilling rig comprises a guide unit for guiding the drilling unit and the energy chain into a borehole to be drilled (Precopia: 3 drilling tower, Fig. 1).
Claim 18. Precopia in view of Jelsma teach: An energy chain for a drilling rig, the energy chain comprising a plurality of hollow chain links (Precopia: 20 segments, Fig. 2) connected to one another in a hinge like manner via uniaxial joints (Jelsma: structure of 38 latch, 40 strap, 40 and 42 pins Fig. 9-10), and a plurality of energy supply lines for the transmission of energy are guided in or on the chain links (Precopia: plurality of inner bores on the segments and segments guides air or hydraulic fluid, Fig. 3).
Claim 19. Precopia in view of Jelsma teach: The energy chain according to claim 18, wherein the uniaxial joints are arranged externally on bearing surfaces (Jelsma: joint structure 40 is arranged externally on 46 and 48 bearing surfaces, Fig. 8-10) and wherein the energy chain further comprises locking devices, each locking device being engageable between the adjacent surfaces of two chain links bearing against one another as to lock the two chain links together against relative rotation, adjacent chain links being connected to one another via the locking devices (Jelsma: 112 and 114 surfaces of each adjacent segment lock the segments into a rigid alignment and are coupled to each other, Fig. 10).
Claim 22. Precopia discloses: A mobile drilling rig for drilling boreholes into a subsurface, comprising
a drive unit energy,
a drilling unit having a drive motor and
a drill head connected to the drive motor (motor and drill head is inherent to a rotary drilling device powered by air or fluid), and
an energy chain comprising a plurality of hollow chain links connected to one another in a hinge-like manner via uniaxial joints,
wherein the drilling unit comprises a plurality of energy supply lines that connect the drive motor to the drive unit for transmission of energy and are guided in or on the chain links,
wherein the drive motor converts the energy transmitted via the energy supply lines into mechanical work for driving the drill head (see previously rejected claims 1 and 18).
Precopia does not disclose: a drill head connected to the drive motor via a drive shaft and a hinge-like manner via uniaxial joints.
Jelsma further teaches: a drill head (56 drill bit, Fig. 6) connected to the drive motor (51 mud motor, Fig. 3) via a drive shaft (74 flexible drive shaft, Fig. 4 or mud motor drive shaft, not shown; Col. 3, lines 45-49) and a plurality of hollow chain links (32, 34, 36 drill string section, Fig. 2) connected to one another in a hinge like manner via uniaxial joints (structure of 38 latch, 112 and 114 surfaces, 40 strap, 40 and 42 pins couple 32, 34, 36 together and allows pivotal motion in a single direction, Fig. 8-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the rotary drilling device and joints of Precopia with the mud motor drill assembly and a hinge type joint as taught by Jelsma with a reasonable expectation of success in order create a hole with drill head connected to the mud motor via a drive shaft and for the drill pipe to pivot in a single direction as taught by Jelsma (Fig. 3-6, 10) because both perform the same function in similar contexts. Such a substitution represents the use of a known element according to its established function, and the results would have been predictable. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 23. Precopia in view of Jelsma teaches: The drilling rig according to claim 1, wherein each energy supply line is distinct from the chain links and extends through a hollow interior of the chain links separately from a wall of the chain links (Jelsma: 52 hose is distinct, separate and extends in the bore of the segments, Fig. 2, 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Precopia by including an internal separate pressure hose as taught by Jelsma with a reasonable expectation of success in order provide an energy supply line to a downhole component as taught by Jelsma (Fig. 7)
Claim 24. Precopia in view of Jelsma teaches: The energy chain according to claim 18, wherein each energy supply line is distinct from the chain links and extends through a hollow interior of the chain links separately from a wall of the chain links (see previously rejected claim 23).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Precopia (US5,538,092) in view of Jelsma (US4,880,067) and further in view of Slonneger (US2,657,011).
Claim 3. Precopia in view of Jelsma teach: The drilling rig according to claim 2.
Precopia in view of Jelsma does not teach: an unwinding protection device, wherein the unwinding protection device is configured to detect a counter torque exerted by the energy chain on the winding device, wherein the winding device is configured to interrupt the unwinding of the energy chain as soon as the unwinding protection device detects a counter torque of the energy chain.
Slonneger discloses an apparatus for controlling the rotation of the cable reels of well drilling rigs, and in provision for maintaining a constant rate of feed and a constant drilling load upon the drilling bit of such a rig.
Slonneger teaches: an unwinding protection device (cable reel controller, Fig. 2), wherein the unwinding protection device is configured to detect a counter torque (torque caused by the cable paying out too rapidly; Col. 6, lines 15-19) exerted by the energy chain (14 cable, Fig. 2) on the winding device (16 drum, Fig. 2), wherein the winding device is configured to interrupt the unwinding of the energy chain as soon as the unwinding protection device detects a counter torque of the energy chain (cable is paying out too rapidly i.e. creating a counter torque, drum is slowed down; Col. 6, lines 15-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the rotary wheel of Precopia in view of Jelsma by incorporating the cable reel controller as taught by Sonneteer with a reasonable expectation of success in order to actuate a brake to slow the wheel when counter torque is sensed as taught by Slonneger (Col. 6, lines 15-47).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Precopia (US5,538,092) in view of Jelsma (US4,880,067) and further in view of Gosse (US6062309).
Claim 5. Precopia in view of Jelsma teach: The drilling rig according to claim 1.
Precopia in view of Jelsma does not teach: a torque support is arranged between the energy chain and the drilling unit, wherein the torque support causes a support on the borehole wall in the event of increased torques during drilling work or in the event of blockage of the drilling unit and thereby prevents a torque increased by the drilling work or a torque generated by the blockage from being introduced into the connected energy chain.
Gosse discloses a mandrel-operated torque roller anchor for insertion into the casing of a well, which when set resists axial movement and prevents rotation of itself and the string above it in one direction, but permits such motion when rotated in the other direction.
Gosse teaches: a torque support (2 anchor, Fig. 1) is arranged between the energy chain and the drilling unit (threads for connection to parts of the string; Col. 3, liens 5-18), wherein the torque support causes a support on the borehole wall in the event of increased torques during drilling work or in the event of blockage of the drilling unit (20 slips engage with wall of 38 casing, Fig. 9-10) and thus prevents a torque increased by the drilling work or a torque generated by the blockage from being introduced into the connected energy chain (anchor prevents transmission of torque/rotation of the string above it in one direction but permits rotation in the opposite direction, Col. 1, lines 53-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Precopia in view of Jelsma by incorporating the anchor between the rotary drilling device and flexible drill pipe as taught by Gosse with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent increased torque to transfer to the flexible drill pipe during drilling work or a blockage as taught by Goose (Col. 1, lines 53-57).
Claim 6. Precopia in view of Jelsma and further in view of Goose teach: The drilling rig according to claim 5, wherein the torque support has a first connection for connection to the drilling unit (Goose: 10 threads, Fig. 1) and a second connection for connection to the energy chain (Goose: 8 threads, Fig. 1), wherein a disc-shaped clamping element having radially outward pivotable wedge segments (Goose: 20 slips, Fig. 10-11) is connected to one of the first connection, and the second connection (Goose: 20 slips are coupled to connections, Fig. 10-11), and a cam ring (Goose: 4 mandrel, Fig. 10-11) is connected to the other of the first connection, and the second connection (Goose: 4 mandrel is coupled to connections, Fig. 1), wherein the torque support is triggered rotation of by the cam ring relative to the clamping element, whereby the wedge segments pivot outward and jam against the borehole wall (Goose: 4 mandrel rotation caused 20 slips to pivot and engage 38 casing, Fig. 10-11; Col. 4, lines 33-57)
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Precopia (US5,538,092) in view of Jelsma (US4,880,067) and further in view of Bobo (US2,833,517).
Claim 7. Precopia in view of Jelsma teach: The drilling rig according claim 1, wherein the drilling rig comprises a circulation system for flushing drilling water (17 pump for drilling fluid, Fig. 1). Precopia does not disclose: the circulation system is configured to supply flushing drilling water to the drilling unit in a circulating manner in a flushing drilling process.
Bobo recites drilling fluid circulation processes and systems. Therefore, Bobo teaches: the circulation system is configured to supply flushing drilling water to the drilling unit in a circulating manner in a flushing drilling process (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Precopia in view of Jelsma by incorporating the drilling fluid circulation system as taught by BoBo with a reasonable expectation of success in order circulate drilling fluid as a flushing fluid as taught by Bobo (Fig. 1).
Claim 8. Precopia in view Jelsma and further in view of Bobo teach: The drilling rig according to claim 7, wherein the circulation system comprises
at least one settling tank (Bobo: 16 tank, Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 4-5) and
at least one sewage pump (Bobo: 18 pump, Fig. 1), wherein the sewage pump is configured to suck flushing drilling water from the settling tank and supply it under pressure to the drilling unit in the borehole (Bobo: Fig. 1), wherein the settling tank is configured to collect drill cuttings flushed out of the borehole and flushing drilling water and to separate the drill cuttings from the flushing drilling water (Bobo: Col. 3, lines 4-5).
Claims 20-21, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Precopia (US5,538,092) in view of Jelsma (US4,880,067) and further in view of Cormack (WO2014131085).
Claim 20. Precopia in view of Jelsma teach: The energy chain according to claim 18.
Precopia in view of Jelsma does not teach: wherein drive segments or toothed racks are arranged on the chain links, via which a feed of the energy chain can be carried out.
Cormack further teaches: wherein drive segments or toothed racks are arranged on the chain links (intrusions or end features of the vertebrae for protrusions on the drive to engage and create an urging force, [0165]), via which a feed of the energy chain can be carried out.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the flexible drill pipe of Precopia in view of Jelsma by incorporating end features as taught by Cormack with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a positive mechanical engagement to move the drill pipe as taught by Cormack ([0165]).
Claim 21. Precopia in view of Jelsma teach: The energy chain according to claim 18.
Precopia in view of Jelsma does not teach: wherein the chain links are of different lengths, or each sixth chain link is longer than the five chain links arranged therebetween.
Cormack further teaches: the chain links are of different lengths (links are different lengths as illustrated in Fig. 9A-9C), or each sixth chain link is longer than the five chain links arranged therebetween.
Claim 25. Precopia in view of Jelsma teach: The energy chain according to claim 18.
Precopia in view of Jelsma does not teach: at least one data line guided in or on the chain links for transmission of measurement data.
Cormack further teaches: at least one data line guided in or on the chain links for transmission of measurement data (140 cable includes communication wiring for allowing communication of data. [0127], Fig. 2D).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL T CRAIG/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676