Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Applicant’s claims, filed on 11/28/2023.
Claims 1-22 have been amended.
Claims 9-17 have been withdrawn in response to the restriction requirement dated 10/21/2025.
Claims 1-8, and 18-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the group directed to a drilling rig comprising of an energy chain for drilling boreholes in the reply filed on 10/21/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the elected and nonelected groups share the same special technical features and are linked to form a single general inventive concept. This is not found persuasive because the restriction requirement is based on the lack of a common inventive feature among the groups. Specifically, claims 9-17 are directed to energy supply lines, whereas claims 1-8 and 18-22 are directed to an energy chain. As such, the nonelected claims do not share the same corresponding technical feature required for unity of invention. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following:
Figures 6-8 are recited as cross-sectional views however the figures do not include any cross hatching.
Claim Interpretation
The ”unwinding protection device is configured to detect a counter torque” recited in claim 3 has been determine to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f), and the specification appears to provide the structure of a lever arm, feed drive, worm gear, and protective switch (Fig. 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitations one connection and the other connection. It is unclear which connection the “one” and “the other” is referring to in order to meet the claimed invention, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The “one” or “the other” is indefinite as it does not clearly indicate if the connection is the “first connection” or the “the second connection” as recited in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation locking devices are provided between the chain links in each case in order to lock together chain links lying against one another via the bearing surfaces. It is unclear how the locking device functions or the required structure to lock the chain links against each other to meet the claimed invention, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Precopia (US5538092).
Claim 1. Precopia discloses: Mobile drilling rig for drilling boreholes into a subsurface (Fig. 1), comprising;
a drive unit for the provision of energy (17 air compressor or drilling fluid pump, Fig. 1),
a drilling unit (15 rotary drilling device, Fig. 1) having a drive motor and a drill head driven by said motor (motor and drill head is inherent to a rotary drilling device powered by air or fluid) and
an energy chain (9 flexible drill pipe, Fig. 1) with energy supply that connect the drive motor to the drive unit for the transmission of the energy, wherein the drive motor converts the energy into mechanical work for driving the drill head (inner bore of flexible drill pipe is fluidically coupled to the rotary drilling device and drive unit to provide air or hydraulic fluid to actuate the rotary drilling device, Fig. 1-4; Col. 2, lines 8-11).
Claim 2. Precopia discloses: Drilling rig according to claim 1, wherein the drilling rig comprises a winding device for winding and unwinding the energy chain (7 rotary wheel, Fig. 1).
Claim 4. Precopia discloses: Drilling rig according to claim 1, wherein the drilling rig comprises a guide unit for guiding the drilling unit and the energy chain into a borehole to be drilled (3 drilling tower, Fig. 1).
Claim 18. Precopia discloses: Energy chain for a drilling rig according to claim 1, comprising a plurality of hollow chain links (20 segments, Fig. 2) which are connected to one another via joints (32 or 36 end, Fig. 3), wherein energy supply lines for the transmission of energy are guided in or on the chain links (inner bore of segment guides air or hydraulic fluid, Fig. 3), wherein the chain links are connected to one another in a hinge-like manner via uniaxial joints (universal movement; Col. 2, lines 27-31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Precopia (US5538092) in view of Slonneger (US2657011).
Claim 3. Precopia discloses: Drilling rig according to claim 2. Precopia does not disclose:
an unwinding protection device, wherein the unwinding protection device is configured to detect a counter torque exerted by the energy chain on the winding device, wherein the winding device is configured to interrupt the unwinding of the energy chain as soon as the unwinding protection device detects a counter torque of the energy chain.
Slonneger discloses an apparatus for controlling the rotation of the cable reels of well drilling rigs, and in provision for maintaining a constant rate of feed and a constant drilling load upon the drilling bit of such a rig. Therefore, Slonneger teaches: an unwinding protection device (cable reel controller, Fig. 2), wherein the unwinding protection device is configured to detect a counter torque (torque caused by the cable paying out too rapidly; Col. 6, lines 15-19) exerted by the energy chain (14 cable, Fig. 2) on the winding device (16 drum, Fig. 2), wherein the winding device is configured to interrupt the unwinding of the energy chain as soon as the unwinding protection device detects a counter torque of the energy chain (cable is paying out too rapidly i.e. creating a counter torque, drum is slowed down; Col. 6, lines 15-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the rotary wheel of Precopia by incorporating the cable reel controller as taught by Slonneger with a reasonable expectation of success in order to actuate a brake to slow the wheel when counter torque is sensed as taught by Slonneger (Col. 6, lines 15-47).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Precopia (US5538092) in view of Gosse (US6062309).
Claim 5. Precopia discloses: Drilling rig according to claim 1. Percopia does not disclose: a torque support is arranged between the energy chain and the drilling unit, wherein the torque support causes a support on the borehole wall in the event of increased torques during drilling work or in the event of blockage of the drilling unit and thus prevents a torque increased by the drilling work or a torque generated by the blockage from being introduced into the connected energy chain.
Gosse discloses a mandrel-operated torque roller anchor for insertion into the casing of a well, which when set resists axial movement and prevents rotation of itself and the string above it in one direction, but permits such motion when rotated in the other direction. Therefore, Gosse teaches: a torque support (2 anchor, Fig. 1) is arranged between the energy chain and the drilling unit (threads for connection to parts of the string; Col. 3, liens 5-18), wherein the torque support causes a support on the borehole wall in the event of increased torques during drilling work or in the event of blockage of the drilling unit (20 slips engage with wall of 38 casing, Fig. 9-10) and thus prevents a torque increased by the drilling work or a torque generated by the blockage from being introduced into the connected energy chain (anchor prevents transmission of torque/rotation of the string above it in one direction but permits rotation in the opposite direction, Col. 1, lines 53-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Prcopia by incorporating the anchor between the rotary drilling device and flexible drill pipe as taught by Gosse with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent increased torque to transfer to the flexible drill pipe during drilling work or a blockage as taught by Goose (Col. 1, lines 53-57).
Claim 6. Precopia in view of Goose teach: Drilling rig according to claim 5, wherein a first connection of the torque support is provided for connection to the drilling unit (Goose: 10 threads, Fig. 1) and a second connection of the torque support is provided for connection to the energy chain (Goose: 8 threads, Fig. 1), wherein a disc-shaped clamping element having wedge segments (Goose: 20 slips, Fig. 10-11) that can be pivoted outward radially is connected to one connection Goose: (20 slips are coupled to connections, Fig. 10-11), and a cam ring (Goose: 4 mandrel, Fig. 10-11) is connected to the other connection (Goose: 4 mandrel is coupled to connections, Fig. 1), wherein the torque support is triggered by the cam ring being rotated relative to the clamping element, as a result of which the wedge segments pivot outward and jam against the borehole wall (Goose: 4 mandrel rotation caused 20 slips to pivot and engage 38 casing, Fig. 10-11; Col. 4, lines 33-57)
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Precopia (US5538092) in view of Bobo (US2833517).
Claim 7. Precopia discloses: Drilling rig according claim 1, wherein the drilling rig comprises a circulation system for flushing drilling water (17 pump for drilling fluid, Fig. 1). Precopia does not disclose: the circulation system is configured to supply flushing drilling water to the drilling unit in a circulating manner in a flushing drilling process.
Bobo recites drilling fluid circulation processes and systems. Therefore, Bobo teaches: the circulation system is configured to supply flushing drilling water to the drilling unit in a circulating manner in a flushing drilling process (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Precopia by incorporating the drilling fluid circulation system as taught by BoBo with a reasonable expectation of success in order circulate drilling fluid as a flushing fluid as taught by Bobo (Fig. 1).
Claim 8. Precopia in view of Bobo teaches: Drilling rig according to claim 7, wherein the circulation system comprises
at least one settling tank (Bobo: 16 tank, Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 4-5) and
at least one sewage pump (Bobo: 18 pump, Fig. 1), wherein the sewage pump is configured to suck flushing drilling water from the settling tank and supply it under pressure to the drilling unit in the borehole (Bobo: Fig. 1), wherein the settling tank is configured to collect drill cuttings flushed out of the borehole and flushing drilling water and to separate the drill cuttings from the flushing drilling water (Bobo: Col. 3, lines 4-5).
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Precopia (US5538092) in view of Cormack (WO2014131085).
Claim 19. Precopia discloses: Energy chain according to claim 18, wherein the joints are arranged externally on bearing surfaces (34 ball and 36 socket are bearing surfaces, Fig. 3) of the chain links. Precopia does not disclose: locking devices are provided between the chain links in each case in order to lock together chain links lying against one another via the bearing surfaces.
Cormack discloses a vertebrae chain including a plurality of interconnected vertebrae. The vertebrae when under compression rigidly interlock such that the vertebrae chain can be driven into a surface, where a drive may include protrusions for engaging intrusions on the vertebrae to provide a positive urging force, and the vertebrae are different lengths. Therefore, Cormack teaches: locking devices are provided between the chain links in each case in order to lock together chain links lying against one another via the bearing surfaces (load bearing profiles lock the vertebrae in a rigid alignment between the vertebrae, Fig. 5C; [0199]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the flexible drill pipe of Precopia by incorporating the interlocking bearing surfaces as taught by Coramck with a reasonable expectation of success in order lock the flexible drill pipe into a rigid configuration as taught by Cormack ([0199]).
Claim 20. Precopia discloses: Energy chain according to claim 18. Precopia does not disclose: wherein drive segments or toothed racks are arranged on the chain links, via which a feed of the energy chain can be carried out. Cormack further teaches: wherein drive segments or toothed racks are arranged on the chain links (intrusions or end features of the vertebrae for protrusions on the drive to engage and create an urging force, [0165]), via which a feed of the energy chain can be carried out.
Claim 21. Precopia discloses: Energy chain according to claim 18. Precopie does not disclose: wherein the chain links are of different lengths, or each sixth chain link is longer than the five chain links arranged therebetween. Cormack further teaches: the chain links are of different lengths (links are different lengths as illustrated in Fig. 9A-9C), or each sixth chain link is longer than the five chain links arranged therebetween.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Precopia (US5538092) in view of Jelsma (US4880067).
Claim 22. Precopia discloses: A mobile drilling rig for drilling boreholes into a subsurface, comprising
a drive unit for a provision of energy,
a drilling unit having a drive motor and
a drill head connected to the drive motor (motor and drill head is inherent to a rotary drilling device powered by air or fluid), wherein the drilling unit comprises a plurality of energy supply lines that connect the drive motor to the drive unit for transmission of energy, wherein the drive motor converts energy transmitted via the energy supply lines into mechanical work for driving the drill head;
an energy chain having a plurality of hollow chain links which are connected to one another via joints, wherein the energy supply lines are guided in or on the chain links for a transmission of energy, wherein the chain links are connected to one another in a hinge-like manner via uniaxial joints, wherein the drive motor converts the energy into mechanical work for driving the drill head (see previously rejected claims 1 and 18). Precopia does not disclose: a drill head connected to the drive motor via a drive shaft.
Jelsma discloses a non-rotating drill string formed from a plurality of independent, cylindrical sections pivotally connected together by a latch mechanism. The adjacent ends are partially beveled such that the sections can bend in a single direction. A downhole mud motor (PDM) drives the drill bit through the use of a flexible drive shaft for drilling a hole. Therefore, Jelsma teaches: a drill head (56 drill bit, Fig. 6) connected to the drive motor (51 mud motor, Fig. 3) via a drive shaft (74 flexible drive shaft, Fig. 4 or mud motor drive shaft, not shown; Col. 3, lines 45-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the rotary drilling device of Precopia with the mud motor drill assembly as taught by Jelsma with a reasonable expectation of success in order create a hole with drill head connected to the mud motor via a drive shaft as taught by Jelsma (Fig. 3-6).
Conclusion
/DANIEL T CRAIG/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676