DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted 7/31/2026 and 8/12/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 3/27/2026:
Claims 1-7 are pending in the current application. Claims 5-7 are newly added.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been maintained for Claims 1-4 and overcome for Claims 5-7. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that Okutani fails to disclose the opening end portion extending radially outward to a side farther to the axis of the outer can as seen in Fig. 2 of the instant application.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claim language. Claim 1 only contains the limitation “an opening end portion extending radially outward” and the structure of Okutani having opening section 120 of the battery that extends radially outward (as it has a thickness in the radial direction) meets this limitation under BRI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Okutani et al. WO-2018173453-A1 (US-20200013994-A1 used as translation and cited in PTO-892) (hereinafter “Okutani”) in view of Campbell et al. US-20190296311-A1 (hereinafter “Campbell”).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, and 4, Okutani discloses a cylindrical battery (battery can with cylindrical body) 100 in Figs. 1-3 (see abstract and paragraphs [0008] and [0023]), comprising:
an electrode assembly 18 including a positive electrode 15 and a negative electrode 16 in Fig. 3 (see paragraphs [0008] and [0037]);
a bottomed cylindrical outer can (can body 110 with bottom section 130) which houses the electrode assembly 18 and which is connected the negative electrode 16 (negative electrode lead 16a, from the negative electrode 16, is connected to the inner surface of the bottom section of the battery can 100) in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0023] and [0039]); and
a sealing assembly connected to the positive electrode 15 (the positive electrode lead 15a, from the positive electrode 15, is connected to the metal plate 13 where a cap is fitted at the opening to close the opening section, i.e. a sealing assembly), wherein the outer can has a grooved portion 120G, and an opening end portion 120 extending radially outward (opening section 120 of battery extends radially outward as it is the opening to a cylinder) in Figs. 1-3 (see comparison of Okutani and Instant Application below) (see paragraphs [0002], [0039], and [0060]), and
the sealing assembly is fixed by being crimped, via a gasket 21, between the opening end portion 120 and the grooved portion 120G (see paragraphs [0039] and [0060]).
Figure 1. FIgure 3 of Okutani
Figure 2. Figure 1 of Instant Application
Okutani is silent on a pressing member joined to the opening end portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cylindrical batteries (see abstract), Campbell discloses a pressing member (bridge) 160 bonded to the lip of the battery can in Fig. 7 (see 160 in Fig. 7 below) (see paragraphs [0026]-[0029]).
Figure 3. Fig. 7 of Campbell
Campbell also discloses the pressing member may be made of electrically conductive materials such as metals (meeting Claim 2) and may be made from the same material selected for the housing (meeting Claim 4) (see paragraph [0026]).
Campbell additionally discloses including the pressing member on the lip of the battery provides a significantly larger bonding surface to which a wire or other conductive element can be bonded so the bonding can be achieved more easily (see paragraphs [0026], [0029], and [0033]). In the combination of Campbell and Okutani, including this pressing member on the lip would result in the sealing assembly being fixed by being crimped, via a gasket, between a pressing member joined to the opening end portion and the grooved portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cylindrical battery of Okutani to include a pressing member joined to the opening end portion, as disclosed by Campbell, in order to provide a significantly larger bonding surface to which a wire or other conductive element can be bonded so the bonding can be achieved more easily.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okutani in view of Campbell and alternatively further in view of Li et al. US-20180358605-A1 (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Okutani discloses the cylindrical battery according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Okutani is silent on the pressing member being ring shaped.
However, Campbell discloses the pressing member 160 can have a shape that is larger or smaller than a semicircle, as long as it provides a larger bonding surface (see paragraph [0029]), which a skilled artisan would expect to include a ring shape and it is within the ambit of a skilled artisan to choose the appropriate shape for the pressing member to fit their battery.
Alternatively, if Campbell is found to be insufficient, in the same field of endeavor of cylindrical batteries (see abstract), Li discloses a sealing device for a cylindrical battery wherein the sealing device is located beneath an upper pressing member 1 comprising a through hole 11 (thus being ring shape), so the pressing member 1 can appropriately seal the battery and still allow for connection to the polar end (terminal) in Figs. 2, 4, and 6 (see paragraphs [0030]-[0032]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate shape for the pressing member of a cylindrical battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cylindrical battery of Okutani and Campbell wherein the pressing member is ring shaped, as disclosed by Li, in order to appropriately seal the battery and still allow for connection to the polar end.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okutani in view of Campbell, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Yasui et al. US-20110171504-A1 (hereinafter “Yasui”).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Okutani discloses the cylindrical battery according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Okutani and Campbell are silent on wherein a length along a radial direction from a side surface of the outer can to a radially outward point of the opening end portion is greater than or equal to 0.5 mm and less than or equal to 3 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cylindrical batteries (see abstract), Yasui discloses including connecting portions 31 extending radially outward from a side surface of the outer can above the grooved portion (corresponding to the opening end portion extending radially outward of Okutani) to connect to the positive electrode connecting plate of the adjacent battery unit in Figs. 3 and 7 (see paragraphs [0048] and [0055]). This would result in a radially outward point of the opening end portion.
A skilled artisan is capable of deciding the appropriate length of the connecting portion depending on the size of the batteries they are connecting so that enough space is provided to weld the connecting portion to an adjacent battery cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cylindrical battery of Okutani and Campbell wherein a length along a radial direction from a side surface of the outer can to a radially outward point of the opening end portion is greater than or equal to 0.5 mm and less than or equal to 3 mm, as disclosed by Yasui, in order to properly connect the batteries.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7 contain allowable subject matter.
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: none of the prior art of record, alone or in combination, appears to teach, suggest, or render obvious the invention of Claims 5 and 7.
Dependent Claim 5 recites a sealing assembly connected to one of the positive electrode and the negative electrode, wherein the outer can has a grooved portion, and an opening end portion extending radially outward, and the sealing assembly is fixed by being crimped, via a gasket, between a pressing member joined to the opening end portion and the grooved portion, wherein the opening end portion extends further radially outward with respect to a side surface of the outer can.
Dependent Claim 7 recites a sealing assembly connected to one of the positive electrode and the negative electrode, wherein the outer can has a grooved portion, and an opening end portion extending radially outward, and the sealing assembly is fixed by being crimped, via a gasket, between a pressing member joined to the opening end portion and the grooved portion wherein the pressing member has a radially outward end portion that is located further radially outward with respect to a side surface of the outer can.
Previously cited Okutani discloses a sealing assembly connected to the positive electrode 15, wherein the outer can has a grooved portion 120G, and an opening end portion 120 extending radially outward (opening section 120 of battery extends radially outward as it is the opening to a cylinder), and the sealing assembly is fixed by being crimped, via a gasket 21, between the opening end portion 120 and the grooved portion 120G in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0002], [0039], and [0060]).
Previously cited Campbell discloses a pressing member (bridge) 160 bonded to the lip of the battery can in Fig. 7 (see paragraphs [0026]-[0029]).
Newly cited Yasui discloses connecting portions 31 extending radially outward from a side surface of the outer can above the grooved portion to connect to the positive electrode connecting plate of the adjacent battery unit in Figs. 3 and 7 (see paragraphs [0048] and [0055]).
However, the prior art does not teach or suggest either the opening end portion or the pressing member having a radially outward end portion that is located further radially outward with respect to a side surface of the outer can while also having the sealing assembly fixed by being crimped, via a gasket, between the pressing member joined to the opening end portion and the grooved portion. A skilled artisan would also have no obvious reason to rearrange the connecting portion extending radially outward from a side surface of the outer can of Yasui to be joined to the pressing member in the crimped sealing assembly of Okutani and Campbell. Further, there would be no motivation for a skilled artisan to extend the pressing member of Campbell radially outward with respect to a side surface of the outer can.
Thus, none of the prior art of the record, alone or in combination, appears to teach, suggest, or render obvious the invention of claims 5 and 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729