DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted May 11, 2023 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Okutani et al. WO-2018173453-A1 (US-20200013994-A1 used as translation and cited in PTO-892) (hereinafter “Okutani”) in view of Campbell et al. US-20190296311-A1 (hereinafter “Campbell”).
Regarding Claims 1, 3, and 4, Okutani discloses a cylindrical battery (battery can with cylindrical body) 100 in Figs. 1-3 (see abstract and paragraphs [0008] and [0023]), comprising:
an electrode assembly 18 including a positive electrode 15 and a negative electrode 16 in Fig. 3 (see paragraphs [0008] and [0037]);
a bottomed cylindrical outer can (can body 110 with bottom section 130) which houses the electrode assembly 18 and which is connected the negative electrode 16 (negative electrode lead 16a, from the negative electrode 16, is connected to the inner surface of the bottom section of the battery can 100) in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0023] and [0039]); and
a sealing assembly connected to the positive electrode 15 (the positive electrode lead 15a, from the positive electrode 15, is connected to the metal plate 13 where a cap is fitted at the opening to close the opening section, i.e. a sealing assembly), wherein the outer can has a grooved portion 120G, and an opening end portion 120 extending radially outward (opening section 120 of battery extends radially outward as it is the opening to a cylinder) in Figs. 1-3 (see comparison of Okutani and Instant Application below) (see paragraphs [0002], [0039], and [0060]), and
the sealing assembly is fixed by being crimped, via a gasket 21, between the opening end portion 120 and the grooved portion 120G (see paragraphs [0039] and [0060]).
Figure 1. FIgure 3 of Okutani
Figure 2. Figure 1 of Instant Application
Okutani is silent on a pressing member joined to the opening end portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor of cylindrical batteries (see abstract), Campbell discloses a pressing member (bridge) 160 bonded to the lip of the battery can in Fig. 7 (see 160 in Fig. 7 below) (see paragraphs [0026]-[0029]).
Figure 3. Fig. 7 of Campbell
Campbell also discloses the pressing member may be made of electrically conductive materials such as metals (meeting Claim 2) and may be made from the same material selected for the housing (meeting Claim 4) (see paragraph [0026]).
Campbell additionally discloses including the pressing member on the lip of the battery provides a significantly larger bonding surface to which a wire or other conductive element can be bonded so the bonding can be achieved more easily (see paragraphs [0026], [0029], and [0033]). In the combination of Campbell and Okutani, including this pressing member on the lip would result in the sealing assembly being fixed by being crimped, via a gasket, between a pressing member joined to the opening end portion and the grooved portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cylindrical battery of Okutani to include a pressing member joined to the opening end portion, as disclosed by Campbell, in order to provide a significantly larger bonding surface to which a wire or other conductive element can be bonded so the bonding can be achieved more easily.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okutani in view of Campbell and alternatively further in view of Li et al. US-20180358605-A1 (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Okutani discloses the cylindrical battery according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Okutani is silent on the pressing member being ring shaped.
However, Campbell discloses the pressing member 160 can have a shape that is larger or smaller than a semicircle, as long as it provides a larger bonding surface (see paragraph [0029]), which a skilled artisan would expect to include a ring shape and it is within the ambit of a skilled artisan to choose the appropriate shape for the pressing member to fit their battery.
Alternatively, if Campbell is found to be insufficient, in the same field of endeavor of cylindrical batteries (see abstract), Li discloses a sealing device for a cylindrical battery wherein the sealing device is located beneath an upper pressing member 1 comprising a through hole 11 (thus being ring shape), so the pressing member 1 can appropriately seal the battery and still allow for connection to the polar end (terminal) in Figs. 2, 4, and 6 (see paragraphs [0030]-[0032]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate shape for the pressing member of a cylindrical battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cylindrical battery of Okutani and Campbell wherein the pressing member is ring shaped, as disclosed by Li, in order to appropriately seal the battery and still allow for connection to the polar end.
Conclusion
/S.L.K./
Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729