DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received June 24, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently, claims 1 and 6 are amended, resulting in claims 1-8 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yasui, et al. (US 2011/0171504 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yasui teaches a cylindrical battery such as a lithium ion battery (¶ [0083], Ln. 14-16). The cylindrical battery includes a cylindrical battery case (10; outer can) having an opening at one end and a closed bottom, an electrode group (11) placed in the battery case, and a sealing assembly (12) which covers the opening of the battery case (¶ [0032], Ln. 1-6; Fig. 3). The electrode group includes a positive electrode and a negative electrode wound with a separator interposed therebetween (¶ [0034], Ln. 1-3). The sealing assembly includes metal plates (17 and 18), an insulator (19), a metal valve plate (20), and a sealing plate (13) which are stacked in this order in the direction toward the outside of the battery case (¶ [0039], Ln. 1-4). A packing (21; gasket) is provided around the outer circumference of the sealing assembly (¶ [0039], Ln. 4-6). Yasui teaches that the negative electrode of the electrode group is welded to a bottom surface of the battery case (¶ [0035], Ln. 1-2) and the upper end of the positive electrode lead (16) is electrically connected to a lower surface of the metal plate (17) (sealing assembly connected to the positive electrode) (¶ [0040], Ln. 1-4). As shown in Figure 3, the opening end of the battery case (10a) projects radially inward and the upper end of the battery case includes connecting portions (31) which are located radially outward than an outer peripheral surface of a cylindrical side wall of the battery case (Fig. 3). Also shown in Figure 3, the sealing assembly (including metal plates (17 and 18), an insulator (19), a metal valve plate (20), and a sealing plate (13)) is fixed by being crimped radially inward via the packing by the upper end of the battery case including the portion which projects radially inward.
Regarding claim 3, Yasui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the connecting portion (31), which is connected to the negative electrode, contacts a connecting portion (36), connected to the positive electrode, of an adjacent battery unit (¶ [0055], Ln. 1-7). Thus, the connecting portion (31) is formed in part along the circumferential direction of the can so as to connect to the connecting portion (36) of an adjacent battery unit (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Yasui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the connecting portion (31), which is connected to the negative electrode, contacts a connecting portion (36), connected to the positive electrode, of an adjacent battery unit (¶ [0055], Ln. 1-7). Thus, the connecting portion (31) is joined to a conductive member.
Regarding claim 8, Yasui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that a groove is formed in the battery case, as shown in Figure 3, which protrudes radially inward and is formed such that the upper surface supports the sealing assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui, et al. (US 2011/0171504 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Yasui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the connecting portion (31), which is connected to the negative electrode, contacts a connecting portion (36), connected to the positive electrode, of an adjacent battery unit (¶ [0055], Ln. 1-7). Yasui does not expressly teach that the connecting portion (31) has a length of 0.5-3 mm from the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical side wall of the battery case.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connecting portion of Yasui to have a length of 0.5-3 mm. Based on the size of typical cylindrical lithium ion batteries, one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of selecting a length of the connecting portion so as to be capable of extending beyond the edge of the battery and connecting to the connecting portion (36) of an adjacent battery unit, while not taking up too much space in a radial direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include a length such as 0.5-3 mm in order to provide enough space to for the connecting portion to be welded to the adjacent battery unit.
Regarding claim 7, Yasui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the connecting portion (31), which is connected to the negative electrode, contacts a connecting portion (36; external lead), connected to the positive electrode, of an adjacent battery unit (¶ [0055], Ln. 1-7). Yasui does not expressly teach that the upper surface of the connecting portion (31) contacts the connecting portion of the adjacent battery unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection between the connecting portion (31) and the connecting portion (36) of an adjacent battery unit such that the upper surface of the connecting portion (31) is welded to the connecting portion (36). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as the components being welded together achieves the function of connecting the battery units, whether the upper surface or the lower surface of the connecting portion (31) is welded does not impact the function of the connection. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to weld the upper surface of the connecting portion (31) to the connecting portion (36) to achieve connection between battery units.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi, et al. (JP-H0992236 A) in view of Yasui, et al. (US 2011/0171504 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takashi teaches a battery comprising a bottomed cylindrical metal case with one end open, a power generation element (electrode assembly) housed inside the bottomed cylindrical metal case, a sealing lid that seals the opening of the bottomed cylindrical metal case, and a gasket interposed between the opening edge of the bottomed cylindrical metal case and the outer circumference of the sealing lid (¶ [0008], Ln. 1-6). Takashi specifically teaches an alkaline storage battery (1) wherein the power generation element (20) includes an electrode group formed by stacking a positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator (¶ [0014], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 1). The sealing lid consists of a sealing plate (31), a positive terminal (33) fixed to the center of the sealing plate and protruding upward (sealing assembly connected to the positive electrode), and a rubber body (34) (¶ [0015], Ln. 5-8). The metal case (10) serves as the negative electrode terminal, and the negative electrode (22) is electrically connected to the bottom of the metal case by a negative electrode conductive tab (¶ [0020], Ln. 1-3). The tip of the opening edge (13) of the metal case is bent outward, shown in Figure 4 (¶ [0018], Ln. 1-2). Thus, the bend (14) includes a projection where the side surface of the metal case projects radially inward and a portion which projects radially outward. The bent portion improves the airtightness of the battery case, crimping the sealing plate radially inward along with a seam groove (12) (¶ [0018], Ln. 6-7). Takashi does not expressly teach that the portion which projects radially outward is located radially outward than an outer peripheral surface of a cylindrical side wall of the metal case.
Yasui teaches a cylindrical battery including a cylindrical battery case (10; outer can) having an opening at one end and a closed bottom, an electrode group (11) placed in the battery case, and a sealing assembly (12) which covers the opening of the battery case (¶ [0032], Ln. 1-6; Fig. 3). The electrode group includes a positive electrode and a negative electrode wound with a separator interposed therebetween (¶ [0034], Ln. 1-3). As shown in Figure 3, the opening end of the battery case (10a) projects radially inward and the upper end of the battery case includes connecting portions (31) which are located radially outward than an outer peripheral surface of a cylindrical side wall of the battery case (Fig. 3). Yasui further teaches that the connecting portion (31), which is connected to the negative electrode, contacts a connecting portion (36), connected to the positive electrode, of an adjacent battery unit (¶ [0055], Ln. 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the portion of the metal case of Takashi that extends radially outward to extend beyond the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical side wall, such that it functions as a connecting portion to connect to adjacent batteries, as taught by Yasui. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as battery cells are commonly connected in a battery assembly or pack, the battery cells must be electrically connected to each other. As Yasui teaches a connecting portion extending radially outward from the battery case in order to weld to an adjacent battery to form an electrical connection, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to extend the outwardly extending portion of the case of Takashi beyond the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical side wall in a similar manner. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to extend the outwardly extending portion of the case of Takashi in order to electrically connect the battery to an adjacent battery.
Regarding claim 2, Takashi in view of Yasui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Takashi further teaches that the part of the bent portion (14) which projects radially outward is formed along the entire periphery of the metal case, as shown in Figure 1.
Regarding claim 3, Takashi in view of Yasui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Takashi further teaches that the bent portion improves the strength of the opening edge and airtightness at the top of the metal case (¶ [0018], Ln. 6-7). The combination of references does not expressly teach that the portion which projects radially outward is formed in part along the circumferential direction of the metal case.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the portion which projects radially outward to be formed as a plurality of portions along the opening edge of the metal case. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the portion which projects radially outward provides an area for the bent portion to be formed, as it is pressed using a crimping punch, shown in Figure 4. Thus, the portion which projects radially outward can be included as a continuous portion along the upper edge of the battery can, or as a plurality of portions disposed circumferentially along the upper edge of the battery can and perform the same function. One of ordinary skill would find the change in shape an obvious matter of choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
Regarding claim 4, Takashi in view of Yasui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, including a portion of the bent portion (14) which projects radially outward extending beyond the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical side wall in order to electrically connect the battery to an adjacent battery. Thus, the combination of references teaches an external lead (conductive member) joined to the portion which projects radially outward.
Regarding claim 5, Takashi in view of Yasui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Takashi further teaches that the bent portion improves the strength of the opening edge and airtightness at the top of the metal case (¶ [0018], Ln. 6-7). The combination of references does not expressly teach that the portion which projects radially outward comprises a plurality of portions formed in part along the circumferential direction of the metal case.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the portion which projects radially outward to be formed as a plurality of portions along the opening edge of the metal case. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the portion which projects radially outward provides an area for the bent portion to be formed, as it is pressed using a crimping punch, shown in Figure 4. Thus, the portion which projects radially outward can be included as a continuous portion along the upper edge of the battery can, or as a plurality of portions disposed circumferentially along the upper edge of the battery can and perform the same function. One of ordinary skill would find the change in shape an obvious matter of choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
Regarding claim 6, Takashi in view of Yasui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, including a portion of the bent portion (14) which projects radially outward extending beyond the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical side wall in order to electrically connect the battery to an adjacent battery. The combination of references does not expressly teach that the portion which projects radially outward has a length of 0.5-3 mm from the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical side wall of the metal case.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the portion which projects radially outward of Takashi in view of Yasui to have a length of 0.5-3 mm. Based on the size of the alkaline battery taught by Takashi, one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of selecting a length of the portion which projects radially outward so as to be capable of extending beyond the edge of the battery and connecting to the external lead of an adjacent battery, while not taking up too much space in a radial direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include a length such as 0.5-3 mm in order to provide enough space to for the portion which projects radially outward to be welded to the adjacent battery unit.
Regarding claim 7, Takashi in view of Yasui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, including a portion of the bent portion (14) which projects radially outward extending beyond the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical side wall in order to electrically connect the battery to an adjacent battery. Thus, the combination of references teaches an external lead (conductive member) joined to the portion which projects radially outward. The combination of references does not expressly teach that the external lead is connected to an upper surface of the portion which projects radially outward.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection between the portion which projects radially outward and the external lead of an adjacent battery unit such that the upper surface of the portion which projects radially outward is welded to the external lead of the adjacent battery. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as the components being welded together achieves the function of connecting the batteries, whether the upper surface or the lower surface of the portion which projects radially outward is welded does not impact the function of the connection. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to weld the upper surface of the portion which projects radially outward to the external lead of the adjacent battery to achieve connection between batteries.
Regarding claim 8, Takashi in view of Yasui teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, and Takashi further teaches a seam groove (12) formed along the lower side of the opening edge, shown in Figure 1 as projecting radially inward and supporting the sealing plate (31) on its upper surface (¶ [0016], Ln. 5-6; Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103
In light of the Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 in the claim set filed June 24, 2026, the previous rejections of claims 1-4 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) over Kazutoshi, et al. (WO 2020/137776 A1), claims 1-5 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) over Oose, et al. (WO 2019/194253 A1), claims 1-3 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Takashi, et al. (JPH 0992236 A), claims 5-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kazutoshi, claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Oose, and claims 5-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Takashi have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, Takashi is applicable under 35 U.S.C. 103 and used in combination with Yasui, et al. (US 2011/0171504 A1) in the rejections above. Any arguments with respect to the reference that are still deemed valid will be addressed herein.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims rejected under Kazutoshi and Oose have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Applicant argues, see pages 6-7 of the remarks filed June 24, 2026, that Takashi does not teach an opening end portion extending radially outward than the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical side wall of the outer can and that there is no rational prompting a skilled artisan to modify the end portion to extend radially outward than the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical side wall of the outer can. This argument is not persuasive. In light of the amendment to claim 1, Takashi is used in combination with Yasui in the rejections above. As Yasui teaches a connecting portion (31), which is connected to the negative electrode, that contacts a connecting portion (36), connected to the positive electrode, of an adjacent battery unit (¶ [0055], Ln. 1-7), one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the portion of the metal case of Takashi that extends outward based on the teachings of Yasui. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to extend the outwardly extending portion of the case of Takashi in order to electrically connect the battery to an adjacent battery. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of using the crimping punch to bend and crimp the upper end of the metal case having an outer portion extending radially outward than the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical side wall of the outer can. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a larger diameter crimping punch may be used and would be capable of selecting a crimping punch that fits the size of the metal case.
Conclusion
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785