DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/22/2025.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statement filed 5/11/2023 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenzon (US Patent 8603538) in view of Ikeda et al. (US 20120237602).
Lorenzon (US Patent 8603538) (hereinafter Lorenzon) discloses granular material comprising an n-butyric acid compound and a first coating comprising C14-C22 saturated fatty acids representing at least 80 % of the coating (claims 1, 3 and 11). The sugar alcohol can be present from 0.5 to 84 % ( para 0063). Lorenzon discloses a mineral agent which includes calcium sulfate dihydrate from 1 to 20 % (claim 1).
The reference does not disclose an excipient which is dissolvable in the oral cavity within 3 minutes and capable of making the granular material orally dispersible or disclose a second coating with a thickening agent.
Ikeda et al. (US 20120237602) disclose coatings which help mask bitter taste (paras 0002 and 0087). The coatings comprise an outer layer comprising microcrystalline cellulose, sugar and sugar alcohols and one or more of crospovidone, starches, low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose and camellose (claim 13). The formulations can be disintegrated by saliva within 60 seconds (para 0100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include an outercoat (second coating) containing the polymer and sugars as disclosed in Ikeda et al. for the purpose of taste masking.
4. Claims 1, 3-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenzon (US Patent 8603538) in view of Ikeda et al. (US 20120237602) as applied to claims 1-2, 5 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Ando et al. (WO2013098268) and Yadav et al. (US 20130064893) and Schwartz “The Binding and Disintegrant Properties of the Corn Starch Fractions:Amylose and Amylopectin”.
The modified Lorenzon has been discussed supra and does not disclose guar gum, corn starch and sorbitol.
Ando et al. (WO2013098268) disclose films that include disintegrants in the outer coating that include starch, guar gum and sodium alginate where the disintegrants are included anywhere from 10-60 %.In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include the starch, guar gum and sodium alginate as disintegrants in the outer coating. One would have been motivated to do so because the disintegrant imparts disintegrability that is sufficient to easily disintegrate in the mouth upon exposure to saliva.
Ando et al. does not disclose corn starch. Schwartz “The Binding and Disintegrant Properties of the Corn Starch Fractions:Amylose and Amylopectin” disclose that corn starch has disintegration properties. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute one known disintegrant such as starch for another such as corn starch. Simple substitution of one known element for another would yield predictable results as both are art recognized disintegrants.
The modified Lorenzon et al. with Ikeda et al. has been discussed supra and disclose guar gum and sugar alcohols such as mannitol and sorbitol but does not disclose isomalt. Ikeda et al. disclose outer coatings that include sorbitol in amounts from 0.5 to 84 $ (para 0063-0064).
Yadav et al. (US 20130064893) (hereinafter Yadav et al.) disclose that isomalt is a stabilizer and masks bitter taste (para 0023). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the sugar alcohol of Lorenzon be that of isomalt. One would have been motivated to do so because it is a stabilizer and masks bitter taste. Simple substitution of one sugar alcohol for another would yield predictable results as both are art recognized sugar alcohols that provide for masking bitter taste of drugs.
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 17434865 in view of Lorenzon (US Patent 8603538) in view of Ikeda et al. (US 20120237602).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to encapsulated butyric acid with a lipid coating the differences being that the ‘865 reference does not disclose the second coating. Lorenzon (US Patent 8603538) (hereinafter Lorenzon) discloses granular material comprising an n-butyric acid compound and a first coating comprising C14-C22 saturated fatty acids representing at least 80 % of the coating (claims 1, 3 and 11). The sugar alcohol can be present from 0.5 to 84 % ( para 0063). Lorenzon discloses a mineral agent which includes calcium sulfate dihydrate from 1 to 20 % (claim 1).
The reference does not disclose an excipient which is dissolvable in the oral cavity within 3 minutes and capable of making the granular material orally dispersible or disclose a second coating with a thickening agent.
Ikeda et al. (US 20120237602) disclose coatings which help mask bitter taste (paras 0002 and 0087). The coatings comprise an outer layer comprising microcrystalline cellulose, sugar and sugar alcohols and one or more of crospovidone, starches, low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose and camellose (claim 13). The formulations can be disintegrated by saliva within 60 seconds (para 0100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include an outercoat (second coating) containing the polymer and sugars as disclosed in Ikeda et al. for the purpose of taste masking.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615