DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/13/2026 has been entered.
Claims 2 and 16 are cancelled.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 1, 3-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a computer program product" in claim 13 while there is a computer program product in claim 12 that claim 13 depends on. Moreover the computer readable storage medium are mentioned in claim 12, so claim 13 should recite the computer readable storage medium instead of A computer readable storage medium. As such claim 13 also has an antecedent basis issue that must be addressed.
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 13 appears to merely reiterate the same claim limitations of claim 12 without further narrowing or limiting the claimed limitations. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 12 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a computer program that can be a signal per se and is not a process machine, manufacture or composition of matter without significantly more. The claims recites the applicant is claiming a computer program that that is being stored in a medium. The form of the medium is not specified as non-transitory and the medium is not neither claimed as non-transitory in the claim nor supported as such in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hallek(EP 2,090,898 A1) in view of Bariant (US 2019/0056495 A1) and Haque (US 2006/0254360 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hallek teaches A method for determining soiling of a first ultrasonic sensor of an ultrasonic sensor apparatus of an assistance system of a motor vehicle the method comprising[Fig 2 has sensor #1; Abstract, 0001-0003 has sensor testing and evaluation of environmental effects, ie soiling, ice and snow]:
transmitting, by the first ultrasonic sensor, a first ultrasonic signal into surroundings of the motor vehicle[#3 in Fig 2 and 0021 has transmission by sensor #1]
receiving, by the first ultrasonic sensor, the first ultrasonic signal reflected by the surroundings [#3 in Fig 2 and 0021 has transmission by sensor #1],
transmitting, by a second ultrasonic sensor of the ultrasonic sensor apparatus, a second ultrasonic signal, …..into the surroundings essentially simultaneously with the first ultrasonic signal, [#6 in Fig 5 and 0021 and 0022 has transmission by sensor #5 and well as simultaneous transmission],
wherein the first ultrasonic sensor is configured to receive the second ultrasonic signal reflected by the surroundings[0006, 0007, and 0010 also have receiver being other ultrasonic sensor which reads on the claim];…..
determining the soiling of the first ultrasonic sensor by the electronic computing device, based on a result of the comparing[0023 has data comparison to determine if sensor is dirty].
generating, by the electronic computing device, a first reception curve based on the first received ultrasonic signal, and a second reception curve, based on the second received ultrasonic signal; [Figs 3, 4, 5, 6 have reception curves being compared to detect conditions; 0021, 0022 have comparison; See also 0012, 0015-0017]
comparing, using the electronic computing, device, the first reception curve with the second reception curve [Figs 3, 4, 5, 6 have reception curves being compared to detect conditions; 0021, 0022 have comparison; See also 0012, 0015-0017]
determining the soiling of the first ultrasonic sensor when the first reception curve and the second reception curve are same and determining the first ultrasonic sensor without the soiling when the first reception curve and the second reception curve are different.[0023 has data comparison of sensors to determine soiling meaning it compares whether signals match or not and determines if there is soiling or not]
Hallek does not explicitly teach a second ultrasonic signal different from the first ultrasonic…..and comparing, using an electronic computing device of the ultrasonic sensor apparatus, the first received ultrasonic signal with the second received ultrasonic signal.
Bariant teaches that a second ultrasonic signal different from the first ultrasonic signal [Abstract, 0016, Claim 1 has sensors with different signals]
and comparing using an electronic computing device of the ultrasonic sensor apparatus the first received ultrasonic signal with the second received ultrasonic signal [0019, 0035-0036 has electronic control device with 0035 saying it receives and evaluates the signals from the sensors].
Haque teaches comparing, using an electronic computing device of the ultrasonic sensor apparatus, the first received ultrasonic signal with the second received ultrasonic signal[0011, 0016, 0071-0074 has comparison of received signals with each other]
determining the…..of the first ultrasonic sensor by the electronic computing device, based determining the on a result of the comparing[0016, 0071-0074 has comparison of received signals with each other to determine if obstacle exists]
generating, by the electronic computing device, a first reception curve based on the first received ultrasonic signal, and a second reception curve, based on the second received ultrasonic signal, [0011, 0016, 0071-0074 has comparison of received signals with each other to determine if obstacle exists]
comparing, using the electronic computing, device, the first reception curve with the second reception curve [0011, 0016, 0071-0074 has comparison of received signals with each other to determine if obstacle exists]
determining the ….. of the first ultrasonic sensor when the first reception curve and the second reception curve are same and determining the first ultrasonic sensor without the soiling when the first reception curve and the second reception curve are different.[0023 has data comparison of sensors to determine soiling meaning it compares whether signals match or not and determines if there is soiling or not; 0016, 0071-0074 has comparison of received signals with each other to determine if obstacle exists]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor method in Hallek in view of different signals and electronic device in Bariant and the comparison of received signals with each other in Haque in order to have different signals to distinguish between the sensor sources and to determine which sensor has an obstacle/blockage in front of it as the comparison of signals to detect objects is a basic concept in the art of ultrasonic object detection.
Moreover with regards to use as detection of soiling or obstacles it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 3, Hallek as modified, teaches that wherein no soiling of the first ultrasonic sensor is determined if the first received ultrasonic signal differs from the second received ultrasonic signal [Figs 3, 4, 5, 6 have reception curves being compared to detect conditions; 0021, 0022 have comparison and 0024-0025 have detection of dirt based on comparison]
Regarding claim 4, Hallek as modified, teaches that wherein soiling of the first ultrasonic sensor is determined if the first received ultrasonic signal matches the second received ultrasonic signal. [Figs 3, 4,5, 6 have reception curves being compared to detect conditions; 0021, 0022 have comparison and 0024-0025 have detection of dirt based on comparison]
Regarding claim 5, Hallek does not explicitly teach that wherein the first ultrasonic signal is transmitted in a different frequency band than the second ultrasonic signal.
Bariant teaches that wherein the first ultrasonic signal is transmitted in a different frequency band than the second ultrasonic signal. [Abstract, 0016, Claim 1 has sensors with different signals; Title, Abstract and 0001 have frequency modulation in signal]
Haque also teaches that wherein the first ultrasonic signal is transmitted in a different frequency band than the second ultrasonic signal. [Claims 9, 10 have different transceivers having different frequencies]
Regarding claim 6, Hallek does not explicitly teach that wherein the first ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a different phase modulation than the second ultrasonic signal.
Bariant teaches that wherein the first ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a different phase modulation than the second ultrasonic signal. [Abstract, 0016, Claim 1 has sensors with different signals; 0003 has phase modulation in signal]
Regarding claim 7, Hallek does not explicitly teach that wherein the first ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a different frequency modulation than the second ultrasonic signal.
Bariant teaches that wherein the first ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a different frequency modulation than the second ultrasonic signal. [Abstract, 0016, Claim 1 has sensors with different signals; Title, Abstract and 0001 have frequency modulation in signal]
Haque also that wherein the first ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a different frequency modulation than the second ultrasonic signal. [Claims 9, 10 have different transceivers having different frequencies]
Regarding claim 8, Hallek does not explicitly teach that wherein the first ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a frequency modulation for which the frequency increases over time (t) and the second ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a frequency modulation for which the frequency decreases over time (t), or the first ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a frequency modulation for which the frequency decreases over time (t) and the second ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a frequency modulation for which the frequency increases over time (t).
Bariant teaches that wherein the first ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a frequency modulation for which the frequency increases over time (t),[0012, 0036-0037 has frequency increasing with time] and the second ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a frequency modulation for which the frequency decreases over time (t)[0012 and 0036 has frequency decrease with time], or the first ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a frequency modulation for which the frequency decreases over time (t)[0012, 0036-0037 has frequency increasing with time and it is arbitrary which is first and second and increasing or decreasing], and the second ultrasonic signal is transmitted with a frequency modulation for which the frequency increases over time (t). [0012 and 0036 has frequency decrease with time and it is arbitrary which is first and second and increasing or decreasing]
Regarding claim 10, Hallek does not explicitly teach that wherein a correlation filter of the first ultrasonic sensor is used to extract the first ultrasonic signal and the second ultrasonic signal from one another.
Bariant teaches that wherein a correlation filter of the first ultrasonic sensor is used to extract the first ultrasonic signal and the second ultrasonic signal from one another. [0016 -0017 has cross correlation and measurement and distinguishing between signals]
Regarding claim 11, Hallek as modified, teaches that wherein the determination of the soiling is carried out before a start of a journey. [Intended use and state of art has vehicle use for environment information meaning useful data when vehicle is started; 0017 has use in garage meaning it would be before a journey]
Regarding claim 12, Hallek as modified, teaches that a computer program product having program code means that are stored in a computer-readable storage medium in order to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1 when the computer program product is executed on a processor of an electronic computing device. [0012 and claim has electronic control meaning computer]
Regarding claim 13, Hallek as modified, teaches that a computer-readable storage medium having a computer program product as claimed in claim 12. [0012 and claim has electronic control meaning compute]
Regarding claim 14, Hallek as modified, teaches that an ultrasonic sensor apparatus for a motor vehicle, the ultrasonic sensor apparatus comprising at least one first ultrasonic sensor[Fig 2 has sensor #1], a second ultrasonic sensor[Fig 2 has sensor #5;] and an electronic computing device[0012 and claim has electronic control meaning computer], wherein the ultrasonic sensor apparatus is configured to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1. [Abstract, 0001-0003 has sensor testing and evaluation of environmental effects, ie soiling, ice and snow]
Regarding claim 15, Hallek as modified, teaches that an assistance system comprising the ultrasonic sensor apparatus as claimed in claim 14. [0013 and claims have parking assistance]
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hallek(EP 2,090,898 A1) in view of Bariant (US 2019/0056495 A1) and Haque (US 2006/0254360 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hallek II(US 2016/0299227 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Hallek I does not explicitly teach wherein a sensor noise of the first ultrasonic sensor is taken into account when determining the soiling.
Hallek II teaches that wherein a sensor noise of the first ultrasonic sensor is taken into account when determining the soiling[0019, 0041 and claim 6 have filtering and accounting for noise in the signal]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor method in Hallek I with the filtering and accounting for noise in the signal in Hallek II to account for noise when processing a signal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments with regards to determining soiling on page 6-9 of the remarks, Applicant is reading the prior art overly narrowly. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Here Hallek in view of Brian and Haque have comparison of received signals to detect obstacles such as blockage or objects and determining which sensor has an obstacle or blockage in front of it using the comparison of signals to detect objects is a basic concept in the art of ultrasonic object detection.
The applicant’s emphasis on transmission and reception curves is merely stating the basic premise of transmitting and receiving signal and comparing them for detection of objects. Applicant states they are different without distinguishing how a ‘reception curve’ is any different from a transmitted and received signal. Regarding applicants arguments on reception curves the applicant is reading the prior art overly narrowly as the prior art of Hallek and Haque has comparison of received signals meaning there is a comparison of a reception curve.
Furthermore, the applicant is reading the prior art overly narrow with regards to the analogous argument. Applicant merely asserts that it is not analogous without distinguishing it from the claims. In the present case Haque is being used for comparing signals and determining if an obstacle exists which is all the claim requires. Applicant’s emphasis on industrial automation as compared to driver assistance is in error as it focus is on an intended use whereas both fields involve machine sensors automatically moving and detecting objects and is in fact quite relevant to applicants claims.
Moreover, with regards to use as detection of soiling or obstacles, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Additionally Hallek already has detection of dirt ie, soiling.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Rejections are maintained – and no allowable subject matter can be identified at this time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645