DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 21 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected battery module, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/09/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species A drawn to Fig. 4(a), drawn to claims 1-3 and 5-20 in the reply filed on 12/09/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)) as being anticipated by An (KR 20140087773 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, An discloses a battery cell, comprising (See Figs. 1-7, 10 and 30):
a battery case (30) having an accommodation portion (inner portion 31 and 31a, see Fig. 1, see pgs. 1-7) in which an electrode assembly (14/15 and 20) is mounted,
and a sealing portion (40 see pg. 3) formed by sealing an outer periphery thereof;
an electrode lead (14 and 15, see pg. 3) electrically connected to an electrode tab (20, see pg. 3) included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion; and
a lead film (60, see last paragraph pg. 3-first paragraph pg.4) located at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion (40) in at least one of an upper portion and a lower portion of the electrode lead (2),
wherein a gas discharge guiding unit (50/51/52, see pg. 4) is inserted in the lead film (60),
the sealing portion (40) includes a first sealing portion (portions of 40 in direct contact with 50/51/52 and 60) located on the gas discharge guiding unit and a second sealing portion (all other portions) located at both sides of the first sealing portion, and based on a protruding direction of the electrode lead, a width of the first sealing portion is smaller than a width of the second sealing portion (See Figs. 1-7, and note in Fig 4 the width of 40 exceeds portions of first sealing layer in direct contact with 50/51/52 ).
Regarding claim 2, An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, An discloses wherein based on a direction perpendicular to the protruding direction of the electrode lead, a length of the first sealing portion is greater than a length of the gas discharge guiding unit (see Figure below).
Regarding claim 3, An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, An discloses wherein the gas discharge guiding unit (50) is located at a center of the first sealing portion (See annotated figures above).
Regarding claim 5, An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, An discloses wherein the first sealing portion has a pattern recessed toward an outer direction based on an inner side of the sealing portion (See annotated figures above).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, An discloses wherein an accommodation extending portion is located between the first sealing portion and the accommodation portion and wherein based on an outer side of the battery case, an end of the accommodation extending portion is located outer than an end of the accommodation portion.
Regarding claim 8, An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, An discloses wherein the gas discharge guiding unit extends along the protruding direction of the electrode lead, and an end of the gas discharge guiding unit adjacent to an outer side of the battery case is surrounded with the lead film (See annotated Figure which depicts inside and outside).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (KR 20140087773 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 9, 10 and 11, An discloses all of the claim limitation as set forth above.
In another embodiment not shown An discloses that the gas discharge guiding unit is formed in direct contact with the tab and the lead film coats the guide unit (see pg. 4 paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the gas discharge guiding unit arrangement so that it is adjacent to an inner side of the battery case is exposed inside the battery case because An discloses that the gas discharge guiding unit can be placed in different positions with respect to the lead film.
The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
This will result in a gas discharge path is formed at an interface between the gas discharge guiding unit and the lead film and exposed to the inside the battery case and wherein an adhesive force between the gas discharge guiding unit (lower melting temperature than lead film, and the lead film is smaller than an adhesive force between the lead film and the electrode lead or an adhesive force between the lead film and the sealing portion (see pg. 4).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (KR 20140087773 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 9-11 above and in further view of Lee (US 20190198827 A1).
Regarding claims 12, modified An discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
An discloses that the gas discharging unit is made of a film that deforms.
However, An does not disclose that the gas discharging unit is a film layer made of polyethylene terephthalate.
Lee discloses a polyethylene terephthalate film which allows gasses to vent from a battery cell due to breakage of the film the above a predetermined pressure and/or temperature range ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to material of forming the gas discharging unit of An by forming it of the polyethylene terephthalate film as disclosed by Lee because it performs the same function as desired by An namely breakage of the film the above a predetermined pressure and/or temperature range.
Regarding claim 13, modified An discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regards to “the gas discharge guiding unit is a coating layer made of liquid resin” is considered is/are considered product-by-process claim limitation. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (KR 20140087773 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 9-11 above and in view of Lee (US 2019/0198827 A1) and in further view of Hayashi (US 20240145857 A1).
Regarding claim 14, modified An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
An does not disclose silica in the gas discharge layer.
An discloses that the gas discharging unit is made of a film that deforms see pg. 4).
Lee discloses a polyethylene terephthalate film which allows gasses to vent from a battery cell due to breakage of the film the above a predetermined pressure and/or temperature range ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to material of forming the gas discharging unit of An by forming it of the polyethylene terephthalate film as disclosed by Lee because it performs the same function as desired by An namely breakage of the film the above a predetermined pressure and/or temperature range.
Hayashi discloses gas discharge layers (12a and 12b) formed of a polymeric resin which contains as silica filler which aids to inhibit short circuiting between conductive components and case ([0064]-[0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the resin of modified An to include a filler of silica as disclosed by Hayashi because Hayashi discloses that this aids to inhibit short circuiting between conductive components and case.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (KR 20140087773 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-8 above and in further view of Yan (WO 2021196000 A1, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 15-17, modified An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, An does not disclose an adhesive layer between a gas discharging unit and the electrode lead.
Yan discloses (See Fig. 3C) an adhesive layer (103/104) is formed between the gas discharge guiding unit (A’ or A) and the electrode lead (101) (see pg. 5 last paragraph -pg. 6) and discloses and wherein an adhesive force between the gas discharge guiding unit and the lead film is smaller than at least one of an adhesive force between the adhesive layer and the gas discharge guiding unit (see opening 100 which forms between adhesive layer and discharge unit) and formed of a tape or binder (see last two paragraphs pg. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add an additional adhesive layer between the gas discharging unit and the electrode lead of An as disclosed by Yan because it is an effective structure to release overpressure in a battery cell which is an endeavor of both An and Yan.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (KR 20140087773 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-8 and in further view of Koroda (JP 2005038707, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 18, 19, and 20, An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, An does not disclose:
wherein the lead film has gas permeability of between 20 Barrer and 60 Barrer at 60°C
wherein the lead film has a moisture penetration amount of between 0.02 g and 0.2 g for 10 years at 25°C, 50 %RH
wherein the gas discharge guiding unit has gas permeability of 40 Barrer or more at 60°C
An discloses that the lead film is formed of a polymeric film (see pg. 3 last paragraph) and furthermore the gas discharge film (50) is directly on the electrical connector.
Koroda discloses that moisture penetration, gas permeability, adhesion of a polymer film used as a lead film can be adjusted based on the composition and amount of filler (See Technical Solution pg. 2 and pg. 5, Examples and Comparative Example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the composition of the film forming the gas discharge member/lead film of An to have the above claimed properties because Koroda discloses that one would want to modify the composition to have the composition because it will improve film adhesiveness and also durability of the lead due to moisture/gas penetration.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/035667. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite substantially the same structure for a battery cell.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 18/266703. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite substantially the same structure for a battery cell.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726