DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-10, and 12-20 are pending.
Claims 5 and 11 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
First, Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not suggest or teach the limitation “a
polymer jacket covering lateral surfaces of the core; and a coating on lateral surfaces of the polymer jacket,” as recited in the amended claim. See Remarks at 5-6.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but it is not persuasive.
Griffin (US 9678275 B1, 2017-06-13) teaches a polymer jacket (proximal to 285 and covering bare fiber 260, Fig. 5) covering lateral surfaces of the core (260, Fig. 5).
Moreover, Griffin teaches that hydrophobic surfaces serve to eliminate condensation and ensure that the Moses bubble is retained at the output face (or order to prevents the interaction of the saline and/or biological fluids with the fiber output face). Specifically, Griffin teaches that for the ferrule, “a hydrophobic interior surface is desirable” in order to eliminate condensation of droplets deeper within a hydrophilic ferrule bore. See 11:19-21. Griffin also teaches that “[t]o improve the retention of the air bubble or Moses bubble at the fiber output face, the ferrule can include a hydrophobic or super-hydrophobic surface.” See 14:10-13. Lastly, Griffin teaches the lateral surfaces of the core is coated with a hydrophobic FA coating (345, Fig. 6). See 13:16-18.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Griffin such that the invention further comprises a polymer jacket covering lateral surfaces of the core; and a coating on lateral surfaces of the polymer jacket in order to prolong the useful life of the fiber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 12, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin (US 9678275 B1, 2017-06-13) in view of Welches (US 20160128777 A1, 2016-05-12).
Regarding claims 1, 5-7, 11-12, and 13-17, as discussed above (Response to Arguments incorporated by reference herein) Griffin teaches a laser system comprising; a laser fiber coupled to a lasing medium outlet, including: a core for transmitting laser light (e.g., Figs. 4, 6); and a coating (175, Fig. 4; 345, Fig. 6) on at least a portion of the laser fiber, wherein the coating includes a hydrophobic physical structure. See, e.g., Figs. 4-6 and associated text. Note that Griffin also teaches pulsed and CW lasers (e.g., 1:17-26), various lenses and materials, such as sapphire (e.g., 7:5-10; 9:50-55; 12:55-63), and various polymer
jacket configuration (e.g., 6:16-65; 15:4-27).
Note that Griffin teaches a polymer jacket (proximal to 285 and covering bare fiber 260, Fig. 5) covering lateral surfaces of the core (260, Fig. 5).
Moreover, Griffin teaches that hydrophobic surfaces serve to eliminate condensation and ensure that the Moses bubble is retained at the output face (or order to prevents the interaction of the saline and/or biological fluids with the fiber output face). Specifically, Griffin teaches that for the ferrule, “a hydrophobic interior surface is desirable” in order to eliminate condensation of droplets deeper within a hydrophilic ferrule bore. See 11:19-21. Griffin also teaches that “[t]o improve the retention of the air bubble or Moses bubble at the fiber output face, the ferrule can include a hydrophobic or super-hydrophobic surface.” See 14:10-13. Lastly, Griffin teaches the lateral surfaces of the core is coated with a hydrophobic FA coating (345, Fig. 6). See 13:16-18.
Griffin does not expressly teach a lasing medium; a pumping lamp adjacent to the lasing medium; and circuitry to control the pumping lamp.
Welches teaches a lasing medium and a pumping lamp adjacent to the lasing medium. See, e.g., [0037].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Welches with the invention taught by Griffin and to modify the invention taught by Griffin such that the invention further comprises a lasing medium; a pumping lamp adjacent to the lasing medium; and circuitry to control the pumping lamp; and a polymer jacket covering lateral surfaces of the core; and a coating on lateral surfaces of the polymer jacket (as recited in claim 1); wherein the circuitry is configured as a pulsed laser system (as recited in claim 6); a laser device, comprising: a laser fiber adapted for coupling to a lasing medium outlet, including: a core for transmitting laser light; one or more outer layers covering lateral surf aces of the core; and a coating as an outermost layer of the one or more outer layers, wherein the coating includes a hydrophobic physical structure (as recited in claim 7); the coating covers an entire outer surface of the laser fiber (as recited in claim 12); a laser device, comprising: a laser fiber adapted for coupling to a lasing medium outlet, including: a core for transmitting laser light; a lens at an end of the core; and a coating on the lens, wherein the coating includes a hydrophobic physical structure (as recited in claim 13); wherein the lens is flat at an orientation normal to a direction of laser light, when in operation (as recited in claim 14); wherein the lens is shaped to alter or focus laser light, when in operation (as recited in claim 15); wherein the lens includes sapphire material (as recited in claim 16); further including a second coating on at least a portion of a lateral surface of the laser fiber, wherein the second coating includes a hydrophobic physical structure (as recited in claim 17) in order to improve the effectiveness and durability of the medical device given a particular medical use.
Claims 2-4, 8-10, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin (US 9678275 B1, 2017-06-13) in view of Welches, as applied to claims 1, 7, and 13, and further in view of Felts et al. (US 20120252709 A1, 2012-10-04) (hereinafter “Felts”).
Regarding claims 2-4, 8-10, and 18-20, Griffin teaches a laser system as discussed above, except comprising the particular materials and substances recited in the claims at issue. Felts discloses various coating materials and substances for medical devices, as recited in the claims. See, e.g., [0031], [0350], [0366]-[0377], [0722]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Felts with the invention taught by Griffin such that the invention further comprises wherein the coating includes nanoparticles that form the hydrophobic physical structure (as recited in claims 2, 8, 18); wherein the coating includes hexamethyldisiloxane (HMDSO) (as recited in claims 3, 9, 19); wherein the coating includes fluorosilane (as recited in claims 4, 10, 20) in order to achieve the appropriate hydrophobic properties for a given medical use.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Scott Luan, Ph.D.
/SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792