DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1, 2, 5 and 7-15 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 5/11/23.
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 7-15 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. Applicant’s claim for the foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) is acknowledged.
4. Applicant’s IDS filed on 8/2/23, 9/7/23 and 7/2/24 have been acknowledged.
5. The oath filed on 10/3/23 has been acknowledged.
7. Claims 1, 2, 5 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claims recite “α4β7 antibody”. It is not clear whether this antibody must bind α4β7 or the antibody needs to be conjugated to α4β7. It is recommended that Applicant amend the claims to read “anti- α4β7 antibody” or antibody that binds α4β7.
Further, claim 10 recites “main peak” that is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term main peak is not defined by the claim and the specification does not provide standard ascertaining the requisite degree and one of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
10. Claim(s) 1, 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2005/0053598.
The ‘598 publication teaches anti-α4β7 antibody formulation comprising phosphate buffer at pH 6.5 in the presence of NaCl and 0.02% of polysorbate and histidine (claims 1-39). Given that the further addition of histidine reads on addition of free amino acid as in claim 1, it meets the claimed limitation. Also, claim 2 is included in this rejection as the preferred embodiments is silent of the addition of PEG or antioxidant in formulation (note claims).
In addition, claim 9 is included in this rejection as the products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. Therefore, the reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
12. Claims 1, 2, 5 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. 9,764,033 (IDS reference) in view of U.S. Pub. 2005/0053598.
The ‘033 patent teaches vedolizumab (anti-α4β7 antibody) compositions comprising arginine, histidine buffer, polysorbate at about pH 6.5 (claims 1-33). Note the ‘033 patent teaches the concentration of antibody ranges greater than 120mg/ml and dose of 300mg that is inclusive of 160mg/ml-175mg/ml as in claims 7, 13 and 15. In addition, the ‘033 patent teaches methods of reducing aggregates after storage at room temperature or 40oC after addition of arginine, histidine buffer and polysorbate (Examples, Tables 1-40).
Further, the ‘033 patent teaches reducing particles sizes of aggregates (col. 19-20) readable upon controlling antibody aggregate formation with SEC-HPLC, IEX as in tables, meets the limitations of claims 9-15.
The disclosure of the ‘033 patent differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of NaCl as in claim 1 of the instant application.
The teachings of the ‘598 publication have been discussed, supra.
The ‘598 publication further teaches NaCl improves purity during purification and yield (p. 5) and help maintains sterility ([0051], p. 6). NaCl also works as tonicity modifier in antibody formulation ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize NaCl as taught by ‘598 publications the antibody compositions taught by the ‘033 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of NaCl may be helpful in improving purity and yield during the purification and enhances sterility during the packaging.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
14. Claims 1, 2, 5 and 7-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims U.S. Application No. 17/045,405.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘405 application recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising anti-α4β7 antibody, buffer, NaCl and surfactant.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
15. Claims 1, 2, 5 and 7-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims U.S. Application No. 17/045,336.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘336 application recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising anti-α4β7 antibody, buffer, NaCl and surfactant.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
16. Claims 1, 2, 5 and 7-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims U.S. Application No. 17/766,823.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘823 application recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising anti-α4β7 antibody, buffer, NaCl and surfactant.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
17. Claims 1, 2, 5 and 7-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims U.S. Application No. 18/265,812.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘812 application recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising anti-α4β7 antibody, buffer, NaCl and surfactant.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18. No claim is allowed.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
December 3, 2025
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641