Election/Restrictions
Newly amended claim 1 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Claim 1 was amended to recite the limitation “ a slurry supply hole connected to the manifold part inside the die is located on the lower surface of the coating die”.
This species was previously presented as species c, claim 5, and was not elected by the Applicant on December 1, 2025.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 1-11 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Specification
The previous objection to the title is withdrawn based on the amendment to the title.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “discharging part” in claim 9.
Claim Objections
The previous objection to the claims 1, 3-4, and 7-9 are withdrawn based on the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2015029973A to Aoki (hereinafter Aoki) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20210399308 A1 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) .
Regarding claim 1, Aoki teaches a slurry circulation system for belt-shaped substrates comprising, a coating die (10) for applying a material on a substrate; a tank (46) for storing the electrode active material slurry to be supplied to the coating die (10) ; and a circulation piping (30, 84) for connecting the coating die and the tank, wherein the slurry circulates through the circulation piping (30, 84) connected from at least one of a left surface, and a right surface of the coating die (10) to the tank (46) at a time of a line stop. (See Aoki, Abstract; page 2, paragraphs 5-6; page 3, paragraphs 2-5; page 4, paragraphs 2-5; page 5, paragraphs 6-7; and Figs. 1-5.)
Regarding claim 1, Aoki does not explicitly teach a slurry circulation system for electrode coating comprising, a coating die for applying an electrode active material slurry on a current collector.
Kim teaches a method for coating the current collector of an electrode with a first coating layer.
Kim teaches electrode coating comprising, a coating die ( 811, 813a-b, 815a-b) for applying an electrode active material slurry on a current collector (810). (See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 102-109, Fig. 8.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include electrode coating comprising, a coating die for applying an electrode active material slurry on a current collector, because Kim teaches this is a known structure for forming an electrode for use in a battery. (See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 102-109, Fig. 8.)
Intended use language is located in the preamble of claim 1 (system for electrode coating). A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). Aoki in view of Kim is capable of this intended use and as a result meets this claim limitation.
Regarding claim 3, Aoki teaches wherein the slurry circulation system for electrode coating is a system in which the slurry circulates through the circulation piping connected from the left and right surfaces of the coating die to the tank at the time of a line stop. (See Aoki, Abstract; page 2, paragraphs 5-6; page 3, paragraphs 2-5; page 4, paragraphs 2-5; page 5, paragraphs 6-7; and Figs. 1-5.)
Regarding claim 4, Aoki teaches wherein the coating die comprises one manifold part (18) inside the coating die (10). (See Aoki, Abstract, page 5, paragraphs 6-7; and Figs. 1-5.)
Regarding claim 8, Aoki teaches the slurry circulation system for electrode coating further comprises a return valve (32, 32) ; and a drain piping (30) connecting the return valve and the tank; and wherein at the time of a line stop, the return valve (30) is configured to open so that a part of the electrode active material slurry supplied from the tank (46) is discharged into the tank (46) through the drain piping. (See Aoki, Abstract, page 5, paragraphs 6-7; and Figs. 1-5.)
Regarding claim 9, Aoki teaches the coating die is provided with a discharging part (21) to which the electrode coating slurry is discharged. (See Aoki, Abstract, page 5, paragraphs 6-7; and Figs. 1-5.)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2015029973A to Aoki (hereinafter Aoki) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20210399308 A1 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20040062866 A1 to Masuda et al (hereinafter Masuda).
Regarding claim 7, Aoki teaches the slurry circulation system for electrode coating further comprises a pump (44) for supplying the slurry from the tank to the coating die (10) and a valve (32) connected to the connection hole (portion of 10 connected to 30 on either side). (See Aoki, Abstract; page 2, paragraphs 5-6; page 3, paragraphs 2-5; page 4, paragraphs 2-5; page 5, paragraphs 6-7; and Figs. 1-5.)
Regarding claim 7, Aoki does not explicitly teach the slurry circulation system for electrode coating further comprises a filter.
Masuda is directed to a die body for coating a substrate.
Masuda teaches a filter is used in the circulation line to filter the coating material from (See Masuda, Abstract, paragraphs 65, 75, and Figs. 1-6.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the slurry circulation system for electrode coating further comprises a filter, because Masuda teaches this structure would allow the coating material. (See Masuda, Abstract, paragraphs 65, 75, and Figs. 1-6.)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2015029973A to Aoki (hereinafter Aoki) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20210399308 A1 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20140186530 A1 to Harris et al (hereinafter Harris).
Regarding claim 10, Aoki teaches the coating die is provided with a lip guard arranged to block and open the discharging part.
Harris is directed to a die body.
Harris teaches the coating die is provided with a lip guard (60) arranged to block and open the discharging part (34). (See Harris Abstract, paragraph 69, and Figs. 11a-d.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the coating die is provided with a lip guard arranged to block and open the discharging part, because Harris teaches this structure prevents coating material from exiting the slot gap at the inappropriate time. (See Harris Abstract, paragraph 69, and Figs. 11a-d.)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2015029973A to Aoki (hereinafter Aoki) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20210399308 A1 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20030080307 A1 to Jackson et al (hereinafter Jackson).
Regarding claim 10, Aoki teaches the coating die is provided with a lip guard arranged to block and open the discharging part.
Jackson is directed to a die for dispensing fluid.
Jackson teaches the coating die is provided with a lip guard (60) arranged to block and open the discharging part (40). (See Jackson, Abstract, paragraphs 29-30, and Figs. 1A-2B.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the coating die is provided with a lip guard arranged to block and open the discharging part, because Jackson teaches this structure allows the nozzle to be opened for the desired amount of time to control the amount of material dispensed. (See Jackson, Abstract, paragraphs 29-30, and Figs. 1A-2B.)
Claims 1, 3-4, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2009000596 A to Shima Futoshi (hereinafter Futoshi) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20210399308 A1 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) .
Regarding claim 1, Futoshi teaches a slurry circulation system for a substrate comprising, a coating die (6) for applying a material on a substrate; a tank (1) for storing the coating material to be supplied to the coating die (6) ; and a circulation piping (2, 3) for connecting the coating die and the tank, wherein the coating material circulates through the circulation piping (2, 3) connected from at least one of a left surface, and a right surface of the coating die (6) to the tank (1) at a time of a line stop. (See Futoshi, Abstract; page 1, paragraphs 3-4; page 2, paragraphs 3-9; page 3, paragraphs 2-5; page 5, paragraphs 6-7; and Figs. 1-3.)
Regarding claim 1, Futoshi does not explicitly teach a slurry circulation system for electrode coating comprising, a coating die for applying an electrode active material slurry on a current collector.
Kim teaches a method for coating the current collector of an electrode with a first coating layer.
Kim teaches electrode coating comprising, a coating die ( 811, 813a-b, 815a-b) for applying an electrode active material slurry on a current collector (810). (See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 102-109, Fig. 8.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include electrode coating comprising, a coating die for applying an electrode active material slurry on a current collector, because Kim teaches this is a known structure for forming an electrode for use in a battery. (See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 102-109, Fig. 8.)
Intended use language is located in the preamble of claim 1 (system for electrode coating). A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). Aoki in view of Kim is capable of this intended use and as a result meets this claim limitation.
Regarding claim 3, Futoshi teaches wherein the slurry circulation system for electrode coating is a system in which the slurry circulates through the circulation piping connected from the left and right surfaces of the coating die (6) to the tank at the time of a line stop. (See Futoshi, Abstract; page 1, paragraphs 3-4; page 2, paragraphs 3-9; page 3, paragraphs 2-5; page 5, paragraphs 6-7; and Figs. 1-3.)
Regarding claim 4, Futoshi teaches wherein the coating die comprises one manifold part (6c) inside the coating die (6). (See Futoshi, Abstract; page 1, paragraphs 3-4; page 2, paragraphs 3-9; page 3, paragraphs 2-5; page 5, paragraphs 6-7; and Figs. 1-3.)
Regarding claim 7, Futoshi teaches the slurry circulation system for electrode coating further comprises a pump (4, 8,) for supplying the coating material from the tank (1) to the coating die (6), a filter (5, 10) and a valve (7) connected to the connection hole (portion of 2 connected to 6 ). (See Futoshi, Abstract; page 1, paragraphs 3-4; page 2, paragraphs 3-9; page 3, paragraphs 2-5; page 5, paragraphs 6-7; and Figs. 1-3.)
Regarding claim 8, Futoshi teaches the slurry circulation system for electrode coating further comprises a return valve (7) ; and a drain piping (2) connecting the return valve and the tank; and wherein at the time of a line stop, the return valve (7) is configured to open so that a part of the coating material supplied from the tank (1) is discharged into the tank (1) through the drain piping (2). (See Futoshi, Abstract; page 1, paragraphs 3-4; page 2, paragraphs 3-9; page 3, paragraphs 2-5; page 5, paragraphs 6-7; and Figs. 1-3.)
Regarding claim 9, Futoshi teaches the coating die is provided with a discharging part (6d) to which the electrode coating slurry is discharged. (See Futoshi, Abstract; page 1, paragraphs 3-4; page 2, paragraphs 3-9; page 3, paragraphs 2-5; page 5, paragraphs 6-7; and Figs. 1-3.)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2009000596 A to Shima Futoshi (hereinafter Futoshi) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20210399308 A1 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20140186530 A1 to Harris et al (hereinafter Harris).
Regarding claim 10, Futoshi teaches the coating die is provided with a lip guard arranged to block and open the discharging part.
Harris is directed to a die body.
Harris teaches the coating die is provided with a lip guard (60) arranged to block and open the discharging part (34). (See Harris Abstract, paragraph 69, and Figs. 11a-d.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the coating die is provided with a lip guard arranged to block and open the discharging part, because Harris teaches this structure prevents coating material from exiting the slot gap at the inappropriate time. (See Harris Abstract, paragraph 69, and Figs. 11a-d.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP11-319675 to Matsudaira and US Pat. Num. 7,270,409 B2 to Iwasaki et al (hereinafter Iwasaki).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARL KURPLE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717