DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 3rd April, 2026. Claims 1, 7, 13, and 19 have been amended. Claims 3, 9, and 14 have been cancelled. Claims 20-21 have been added. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-13, and 15-21 remain rejected in the application. Applicant's amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the final office action mailed 5th December, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 7 filed on 3rd April, 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, regarding that the prior art does not teach the limitation(s): " obtaining metadata comprising, for a 3D object of the 3D scene, an identification of the 3D object" and "rendering a view of the 3D scene by inverse projecting the pixels of the atlas image for a point of view" have been fully considered, but are moot because of new grounds for rejection. It has now been taught by the combination of Ilola and Du.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claim 13 filed on 3rd April, 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, regarding that the prior art does not teach the limitation(s): "an atlas image packing patch pictures, representative of a three-dimensional (3D) scene" and "metadata comprising instructions to limit a change of a rendering effect value associated with a 3D object of the 3D scene to within a predefined range" have been fully considered, but are moot because of new grounds for rejection. It has now been taught by the combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau.
Regarding arguments to Claims 2, 4-6, 8, 10-12, and 15-21, they directly/indirectly depend on independent Claims 1, 7, and 13 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than independent Claims 1, 7, and 13. The limitations in those claims, in conjunction with combination, was previously established as explained.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation: "rendering a view of the 3D scene by inverse projecting the pixels of the atlas image for a point of view" on PG(s). 1, Line(s) 7-8; examiner suggests amending this to "rendering a view of the 3D scene by inverse projecting pixels of the atlas image for a point of view"; and
Claim 7 recites the limitation: "rendering a view of the 3D scene by inverse projecting the pixels of the atlas image for a point of view" on PG(s). 3, Line(s) 16-17; examiner suggests amending this to "rendering a view of the 3D scene by inverse projecting pixels of the atlas image for a point of view".Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilola et al. (US 20230134675 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ilola, in view of Du et al. (US 20190213778 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Du.
Regarding Claim 1, Ilola discloses a method (Ilola, [0135]: teaches a method comprises receiving, by a client device, information about a scene associated with a 3D presentation for initiating viewport rendering by an application) comprising:
obtaining an atlas image (Ilola, FIG. 5 teaches decoded picture pairs/atlases <read on atlas images>),
the atlas image packing patch pictures (Ilola, [0145]: teaches packing identified 2D patches <read on patch pictures> into one or more novel atlases),
the atlas image being representative of a three-dimensional scene (3D) (Ilola, [0148]: teaches the server determining necessary patches and image data associated with the patches to define an atlas that represents a portion of a scene <read on 3D scene>);
obtaining metadata comprising, for a 3D object of the 3D scene, an identification of the 3D object (Ilola, [0145]: teaches generating metadata that describes (e.g., identifies or an identification) the layout of 2D patches on the atlases, which is then used to generate one or more metadata bitstreams containing said layout of the 2D patches and information required to re-project said 2D patches into the 3D representation <read on 3D object>),
[[a value range for a rendering effect associated with the 3D object and]]
data associating the (3D) object with patch pictures of the atlas image (Ilola, [0145]: teaches packing identified 2D patches into one or more novel atlases, where the server generates "one or more metadata bitstream containing said layout of the 2D patches and information required to re-project said 2D patches into the 3D representation <read on 3D object>"; );
rendering a view of the 3D scene by inverse projecting the pixels of the atlas image for a point of view (Ilola, [0148]: teaches the server determining the needed patches and image data associated with the patches <read on patch pictures>) and
[[by applying a default value belonging to the value range for the rendering effect to the pixels of the patch pictures associated with the (3D) object;]]
[[determining, during rendering, whether the 3D object is subject to a dynamic modification of the rendering effect;]]
[[in response to user input, updating the rendering effect within the value range by modifying only pixels of the patch pictures associated with the 3D object; and]]
[[displaying an interface to allow a user to modify the value of the rendering effect within the value range.]]
However, Ilola does not expressly disclose
obtaining metadata comprising, for a 3D object of the 3D scene, a value range for a rendering effect associated with the 3D object;
rendering a view of the 3D scene by applying a default value belonging to the value range for the rendering effect to the pixels of the patch pictures associated with the (3D) object;
determining, during rendering, whether the 3D object is subject to a dynamic modification of the rendering effect;
in response to user input, updating the rendering effect within the value range by modifying only pixels of the patch pictures associated with the 3D object; and
displaying an interface to allow a user to modify the value of the rendering effect within the value range.
Du discloses
obtaining metadata comprising, for a 3D object of the 3D scene, a value range for a rendering effect associated with the 3D object (Du, [0030]: teaches a rendering component applying special effects indicated by metadata to rendered views of a textured, dynamic 3D model <read on 3D object> in a virtual scene <read on 3D scene, where the rendering component applying special effects <read on rendering effect> indicated by metadata to rendered views of a textured, dynamic 3D model; [0032]: teaches a texture value including an opacity value <read on value range> that defines an opacity associated with a point/location; the opacity is being interpreted as having a level between being fully opaque and fully transparent; [0174]: teaches a server computer system 1511 including a metadata generator 1517 that sets metadata 1523 that specifies one or more special effects for rendered views, which is associated with a dynamic 3D model);
rendering a view of the 3D scene by applying a default value belonging to the value range for the rendering effect to the pixels of the patch pictures associated with the (3D) object (Du, [0153]: teaches the rendering component determining the initial texture weights <read on default value> for a current frame, which are based on texture values that include alpha/opacity values; [0212]: teaches as part of the rendering, the rendering component projects some points of the dynamic 3D model to locations in the view, "and assign corresponding applied texture values to the locations in the view," such as applying filters to modify the appearance of the dynamic 3D model);
determining, during rendering, whether the 3D object is subject to a dynamic modification of the rendering effect (Du, [0196]: teaches a client computer system directly adjusting special effects <read on determining dynamic modification> in response to user input, where it specifies how the special effects <read on rendering effects> are incorporated into rendered views);
in response to user input, updating the rendering effect within the value range by modifying only pixels of the patch pictures associated with the 3D object (Du, [0196]: teaches a client computer system receiving user input to adjust special effects; [0201]: teaches the rendering component modifying texture values of texture maps <read on pixels of patch pictures> applied to a dynamic 3D model of a given viewpoint; [0213]: teaches, for a given viewpoint for a current frame, the rendering component assigning an alpha value <read on updating rendering effect within value range> depending on how close the normal vector value and output viewpoint are to being perpendicular, where parallel values are nearly transparent and perpendicular are nearly opaque); and
displaying an interface to allow a user to modify the value of the rendering effect within the value range (Du, [0196]: teaches the client computer system directly adjusting special effects <read on modify value of rendering effect> in response to user input <read on displayed interface>, where the user input indicates a setting and/or preference for the special effects, such as modifying color, luminance, and alpha values <read on value range> of texture values; [0201]: teaches the rendering component modifying texture values of texture maps, where the texture values include color values and alpha values, which is interpreted to be user-modifiable).
Du is analogous art with respect to Ilola because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely incorporating 2D atlases for reconstructing volumetric video. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a metadata generator that allows for user-specified special effects, such as the alpha, luminance, and color values, of associated dynamic 3D models as taught by Du into the teaching of Ilola. The suggestion for doing so would allow the user to modify the appearance of the associated dynamic 3D model in real-time, thereby improving the overall user experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Du with Ilola.
Regarding Claim 7, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in a device. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Ilola and Du discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Ilola discloses a device comprising a memory associated with a processor configured for (Ilola, [0164]: teaches a client device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory):…
Thus, Claim 7 is met by Ilola according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the method corresponds to a device.
Regarding Claims 2 and 8, the combination of Ilola and Du discloses the method and the device of Claims 1 and 7 respectively. Additionally, Ilola further discloses wherein
[[when the value of the rendering effect is modified to a new value, the method comprises:]]
on condition that the metadata comprise data associating the 3D object with a bounding box, apply the [[new]] value to pixels of the associated patch pictures inverse projected in the bounding box (Ilola, [0151]: teaches the server maintaining data that describes "a division of the scene into a plurality of sub-viewing-volumes <read on data that associates 3D object with bounding box>, wherein each sub-viewing-volume is associated with one or more slices and/or atlases <read on pixels of associated patch pictures> of volumetric data" and the sub-viewing-volumes are defined as bounding boxes; [0155]: teaches "based on the metadata comprising sub-viewing-volume related information, the client device determines <read on condition> which parts of the sub-viewing volume information is required to render the required part of the scene, i.e. the desired viewport");
[[otherwise, apply the new value to pixels of the associated patch pictures.]]
However, Ilola does not expressly disclose
when the value of the rendering effect is modified to a new value, the method comprises:
on condition that the metadata comprise data associating the 3D object with a bounding box, apply the new value to pixels of the associated patch pictures inverse projected in the bounding box;
otherwise, apply the new value to pixels of the associated patch pictures.
Du discloses
when the value of the rendering effect is modified to a new value (Du, [0203]: teaches the rendering component quantizing then converting brightness values <read on new values> and color-difference values to create a special effect <read on modified rendering effect> that is indicated with metadata; Note it should be noted that the texture values and metadata are being interpreted as being updated for a new rendered view), the method comprises:
on condition that the metadata comprise data associating the 3D object with a bounding box, apply the new value to pixels of the associated patch pictures inverse projected in the bounding box (Du, [0203]: teaches the rendering component quantizing then converting brightness values <read on applied new values> and color-difference values);
otherwise, apply the new value to pixels of the associated patch pictures (Du, [0201]: teaches the rendering component modifying texture values of texture maps <read on pixels of associated patch pictures> applied to a dynamic 3D model of a given viewpoint; [0213]: teaches, for a given viewpoint for a current frame, the rendering component assigning an alpha value <read on new value to pixels> depending on how close the normal vector value and output viewpoint are to being perpendicular, where parallel values are nearly transparent and perpendicular are nearly opaque).
Du is analogous art with respect to Ilola because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely incorporating 2D atlases and metadata for reconstructing volumetric video. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a rendering component that modifies texture values of an associated dynamic 3D model based on metadata input from the user as taught by Du into the teaching of Ilola. The suggestion for doing so would allow the user to modify the appearance of the associated dynamic 3D model in real-time, thereby improving the overall user experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Du with Ilola.
Regarding Claims 5 and 11, the combination of Ilola and Du discloses the method and the device of Claims 1 and 7 respectively. Ilola does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 5 and 11; however, Du discloses wherein the rendering effect is
a transparency effect or a color filtering or a blurring or a contrast adapting (Du, [0212]: teaches the rendering component applying a glassy filter effect <read on transparency effect>).
Du is analogous art with respect to Ilola because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely incorporating 2D atlases for reconstructing volumetric video. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a metadata generator that allows for user-specified special effects, such as the alpha values, of associated dynamic 3D models as taught by Du into the teaching of Ilola. The suggestion for doing so would allow the user to modify the appearance of the associated dynamic 3D model in real-time, thereby improving the overall user experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Du with Ilola.
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilola et al. (US 20230134675 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ilola, in view of Du et al. (US 20190213778 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Du as applied to Claims 1 and 7 above respectively, and further in view of Mertens (US 20160307602 A1, previously cited).
Regarding Claims 4 and 10, the combination of Ilola and Du discloses the method and the device of Claims 1 and 7 respectively. The combination of Ilola and Du does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 4 and 10; however, Mertens discloses wherein the metadata comprise
information indicating whether the value range for the rendering effect associated with the 3D object is an update of a previous or default value range for the rendering effect for the 3D object (Mertens, [0113]: teaches "selected histogram/range/color properties and/or parameters can include, e.g., one or more of at least one luminance value (
L
x
), a minimum and maximum luminance (
L
m
i
n
,
L
m
a
x
) <read on update of a default value range>, multipliers for specifying the relationship of a first and second luminance, etc.").
Mertens is analogous art with respect to Ilola, in view of Du because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely capturing video content. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the user be able to update and modify parameters of the video, such as the luminance and color as taught by Mertens into the teaching of Ilola, in view of Du. The suggestion for doing so would allow the user to personalize their viewing experience that they deem is more suitable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Mertens with Ilola, in view of Du.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilola et al. (US 20230134675 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ilola, in view of Du et al. (US 20190213778 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Du as applied to Claims 1 and 7 above respectively, and further in view of Oyman (US 20210021664 A1, previously cited).
Regarding Claims 6 and 12, the combination of Ilola and Du discloses the method and the device of Claims 1 and 7 respectively. The combination of Ilola and Du does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 6 and 12; however, Oyman discloses wherein
the metadata are encoded in Supplemental Enhanced Information messages (Oyman, [0130]: teaches "HEVC SEI <read on Supplemental Enhanced Information> messages for each of the dedicated HEVC bitstreams may carry additional metadata on each encoded information, including occupancy map data 730, geometry data 736 and attribute data 714").
Oyman is analogous art with respect to Ilola, in view of Du because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely video data structures. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have high efficiency video coding (HEVC) SEI messages carry additional metadata, such as occupancy map data, geometry data, and attribute data as taught by Oyman into the teaching of Ilola, in view of Du. The suggestion for doing so would enable additional content to be superimposed in the volumetric video input, thereby allowing for more creative video. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Oyman with Ilola, in view of Du.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilola et al. (US 20230134675 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ilola, in view of Du et al. (US 20190213778 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Du as applied to Claim 1 above respectively, and further in view of Vienneau et al. (US 20070198584 A1), hereinafter referenced as Vienneau.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Ilola and Du discloses the method of Claim 1. The combination of Ilola and Du does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 18; however, Vienneau discloses wherein the metadata further comprises
a flag identifying the rendering effect as user-adjustable or fixed for the 3D object (Vienneau, [0073]: teaches media (i.e., image data) and metadata, such as data relating to actions performed by the user and information relating to the media; [0091]: teaches allowing a user to perform write operations <read on user-adjustable> on compositions <read on rendering effects>; [0095]: teaches a user having an option to manually set a read-only <read on fixed> flag on a composition <read on rendering effect>).
Vienneau is analogous art with respect to Ilola, in view of Du because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely processing video media for further modifications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have metadata that tracks the user's modification of a composition, such as a composited video effect, with either automatic and/or manual read-write permissions as taught by Vienneau into the teaching of Ilola, in view of Du. The suggestion for doing so would allow the user to keep track of their previous edits, thereby allowing for easy undo-type edits, thus resulting in a more intuitive user experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Vienneau with Ilola, in view of Du.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilola et al. (US 20230134675 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ilola, in view of Du et al. (US 20190213778 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Du as applied to Claim 1 above respectively, and further in view of Chang et al. (US 20220067979 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Chang.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Ilola and Du discloses the method of Claim 1. The combination of Ilola and Du does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 18; however, Chang discloses wherein
the rendering effect is limited by a producer-defined minimum and maximum value stored as part of the metadata range (Chang, [0075]: teaches two-partial transparency levels, including minimum and maximum alpha quantization level for alpha values <read on rendering effect> that are stored in metadata; [0075]: further teaches the two partial-transparency levels being set by encoder device 204 <read on producer-defined>).
Chang is analogous art with respect to Ilola, in view of Du because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely processing texture data for 3D rendering. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a two-partial transparency level system for rendering 3D objects as taught by Chang into the teaching of Ilola, in view of Du. The suggestion for doing so would allow for automatic transparent effects to be applied on the 3D object at a given viewpoint, thereby yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chang with Ilola, in view of Du.
Claims 13 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilola et al. (US 20230134675 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ilola, in view of Chang et al. (US 20220067979 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Chang, and further in view of Vienneau et al. (US 20070198584 A1), hereinafter referenced as Vienneau.
Regarding Claim 13, Ilola discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing video data (Ilola, [0156]: teaches sub-viewing-volume data being encoded in bitstream partitions or slices <read on video data> stored in a server <read on non-transitory storage medium>) comprising
an atlas image packing patch pictures, representative of a three-dimensional (3D) scene (Ilola, [0145]: teaches packing identified 2D patches <read on patch pictures> into one or more novel atlases <read on atlas image>; [0148]: teaches the server determining necessary patches and image data associated with the patches to define an atlas that represents a portion of a scene <read on 3D scene>); and
[[metadata comprising instructions to limit a change of a rendering effect value associated with a 3D object of the 3D scene to within a predefined range,]]
the metadata associating the 3D object with patch pictures of the atlas image (Ilola, [0145]: teaches packing identified 2D patches into one or more novel atlases, where the server generates "one or more metadata bitstream containing said layout of the 2D patches and information required to re-project said 2D patches into the 3D representation <read on 3D object>"; [0148]: teaches the server determining the needed patches and image data associated with the patches <read on patch pictures>); wherein
[[the metadata further includes a flag identifying the rendering effect as user-modifiable and]]
bounding-box data restricting the rendering modification to the associated object (Ilola, [0063]: teaches a point cloud frame of a 3D object within a 3D volumetric bounding box <read on bounding-box data>, where the 3D object is bound <read on restricting> to the bounding box).
However, Ilola does not expressly disclose
metadata comprising instructions to limit a change of a rendering effect value associated with a 3D object of the 3D scene to within a predefined range; and
the metadata further includes a flag identifying the rendering effect as user-modifiable.
Chang discloses
metadata comprising instructions to limit a change of a rendering effect value associated with a 3D object of the 3D scene to within a predefined range (Chang, [0075]: teaches two-partial transparency levels <read on limit change>, including minimum and maximum alpha quantization level for alpha values <read on rendering effect value within predefined range> that are stored in metadata); and
[[the metadata further includes a flag identifying the rendering effect as user-modifiable.]]
Chang is analogous art with respect to Ilola because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely processing texture data for 3D rendering. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a two-partial transparency level system for rendering 3D objects as taught by Chang into the teaching of Ilola. The suggestion for doing so would allow for automatic transparent effects to be applied on the 3D object at a given viewpoint, thereby yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chang with Ilola.
However, the combination of Ilola and Chang does not expressly disclose
the metadata further includes a flag identifying the rendering effect as user-modifiable.
Vienneau discloses
the metadata further includes a flag identifying the rendering effect as user-modifiable (Vienneau, [0073]: teaches media (i.e., image data) and metadata, such as data relating to actions performed by the user and information relating to the media; [0091]: teaches allowing a user to perform write operations <read on user-adjustable> on compositions <read on rendering effects>; [0095]: teaches a user having an option to manually set a read-only <read on fixed> flag on a composition <read on rendering effect>).
Vienneau is analogous art with respect to Ilola, in view of Chang because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely processing video media for further modifications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have metadata that tracks the user's modification of a composition, such as a composited video effect, with either automatic and/or manual read-write permissions as taught by Vienneau into the teaching of Ilola, in view of Chang. The suggestion for doing so would allow the user to keep track of their previous edits, thereby allowing for easy undo-type edits, thus resulting in a more intuitive user experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Vienneau with Ilola, in view of Chang.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau discloses the non-transitory storage medium of Claim 13. The combination of Ilola and Vienneau does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 20; however, Chang discloses wherein
the rendering effect is limited by a producer-defined minimum and maximum value stored as part of the metadata range (Chang, [0075]: teaches two-partial transparency levels, including minimum and maximum alpha quantization level for alpha values <read on rendering effect> that are stored in metadata; [0075]: further teaches the two partial-transparency levels being set by encoder device 204 <read on producer-defined>).
Chang is analogous art with respect to Ilola, in view of Vienneau because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely processing texture data for 3D rendering. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a two-partial transparency level system for rendering 3D objects as taught by Chang into the teaching of Ilola, in view of Vienneau. The suggestion for doing so would allow for automatic transparent effects to be applied on the 3D object at a given viewpoint, thereby yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chang with Ilola, in view of Vienneau.
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau discloses the non-transitory storage medium of Claim 13. The combination of Ilola and Chang does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 21; however, Vienneau discloses wherein the metadata further comprises
a flag identifying the rendering effect as user-adjustable or fixed for the 3D object (Vienneau, [0073]: teaches media (i.e., image data) and metadata, such as data relating to actions performed by the user and information relating to the media; [0091]: teaches allowing a user to perform write operations <read on user-adjustable> on compositions <read on rendering effects>; [0095]: teaches a user having an option to manually set a read-only <read on fixed> flag on a composition <read on rendering effect>).
Vienneau is analogous art with respect to Ilola, in view of Chang because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely processing video media for further modifications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have metadata that tracks the user's modification of a composition, such as a composited video effect, with either automatic and/or manual read-write permissions as taught by Vienneau into the teaching of Ilola, in view of Chang. The suggestion for doing so would allow the user to keep track of their previous edits, thereby allowing for easy undo-type edits, thus resulting in a more intuitive user experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Vienneau with Ilola, in view of Chang.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilola et al. (US 20230134675 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ilola, in view of Chang et al. (US 20220067979 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Chang, and further in view of Vienneau et al. (US 20070198584 A1), hereinafter referenced as Vienneau as applied to Claim 13 above respectively, and further in view of Mertens (US 20160307602 A1, previously cited).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau discloses the non-transitory storage medium of Claim 13. The combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 15; however, Mertens discloses wherein the metadata comprise
an information indicating whether the value range for the rendering effect associated with the 3D object is an update of a previous or default value range for the rendering effect for the 3D object (Mertens, [0113]: teaches "selected histogram/range/color properties and/or parameters can include, e.g., one or more of at least one luminance value (
L
x
), a minimum and maximum luminance (
L
m
i
n
,
L
m
a
x
) <read on update of a default value range>, multipliers for specifying the relationship of a first and second luminance, etc.").
Mertens is analogous art with respect to the combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely capturing video content. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the user be able to update and modify parameters of the video, such as the luminance and color as taught by Mertens into the combined teaching of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau. The suggestion for doing so would allow the user to personalize their viewing experience that they deem is more suitable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Mertens with the combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilola et al. (US 20230134675 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ilola, in view of Chang et al. (US 20220067979 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Chang, and further in view of Vienneau et al. (US 20070198584 A1), hereinafter referenced as Vienneau as applied to Claim 13 above respectively, and further in view of Du et al. (US 20190213778 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Du.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau discloses the non-transitory storage medium of Claim 13. The combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 16; however, Du discloses wherein the rendering effect is
a transparency effect or a color filtering or a blurring or a contrast adapting (Du, [0212]: teaches the rendering component applying a glassy filter effect <read on transparency effect>).
Du is analogous art with respect to the combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely incorporating 2D atlases for reconstructing volumetric video. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a metadata generator that allows for user-specified special effects, such as the alpha values, of associated dynamic 3D models as taught by Du into the combined teaching of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau. The suggestion for doing so would allow the user to modify the appearance of the associated dynamic 3D model in real-time, thereby improving the overall user experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Du with the combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilola et al. (US 20230134675 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ilola, in view of Chang et al. (US 20220067979 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Chang, and further in view of Vienneau et al. (US 20070198584 A1), hereinafter referenced as Vienneau as applied to Claim 13 above respectively, and further in view of Oyman (US 20210021664 A1, previously cited).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau discloses the non-transitory storage medium of Claim 13. The combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 17; however, Oyman discloses wherein
the metadata are encoded in Supplemental Enhanced Information messages (Oyman, [0130]: teaches "HEVC SEI <read on Supplemental Enhanced Information> messages for each of the dedicated HEVC bitstreams may carry additional metadata on each encoded information, including occupancy map data 730, geometry data 736 and attribute data 714").
Oyman is analogous art with respect to the combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely video data structures. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have high efficiency video coding (HEVC) SEI messages carry additional metadata, such as occupancy map data, geometry data, and attribute data as taught by Oyman into the combined teaching of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau. The suggestion for doing so would enable additional content to be superimposed in the volumetric video input, thereby allowing for more creative video. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Oyman with the combination of Ilola, Chang, and Vienneau.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Berriman et al. (US 20140078144 A1) discloses modifying an avatar;
Budagavi et al. (US 20190139266 A1) discloses receiving a compressed bitstream that includes a set of patches, where flags are used;
Messmer et al. (US 20180262767 A1) discloses a scalable image processing system that uses metadata to manage minimum and maximum luminance values; and
Pytlarz (US 20230169930 A1) discloses adjusting brightness and contrast values.
/K.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614