DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10 and 11 in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that each of the groups is centered on the same integrated technical solution and that the chemically defined culture medium of Group I is not merely a generic background feature but is expressly formulated to enabled to drive the biological effects in Groups II-IV. Applicants argue that Kilibank and Takasu is misplaced to break the technical feature since those references do not teach all of the claimed coordinated inhibitor combinations, concentration ranges and functional relationships between the Groups and claims.
This is not found persuasive because the Application of Kilibank and Takasu to break unity by addressing the special technical feature is not required to address all the claim limitations, only those shared among the groups and in this regard, Kilibank and Takasu teach the claimed medium supplemented with an WNT inhibitor, an HDAC inhibitor and a EZH2 inhibitor, thus the use of Kilibank and Takasu is proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-15, 19-22, 25, 26, 32, 34-36, 40 and 42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/22/2024.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10 and 11 are examined in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the first use of the acronym “PSC” should be preceded by the phrase “pluripotent stem cells”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “inhibitor” should be inserted after the recitation of “SAH/PRC/EZH2” in line 2 to be consistent with its use in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-12 of copending Application No. 18/036,578 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant defined culture medium comprises the same factors and concentration of said factors in the defined culture medium of ‘578. Further instant claims 2-4, 6, 8, 10 and 11 are either are identical to or are of similar scope to dependent claims 2-4, 6, 8 and 10-12 of ‘578
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 6, 8, 10 and 11 contain numerous instances of listing a limitation and subsequently providing multiple subsequent limitations using the phrase “preferably”, for example claim 4, line 4 states “preferably, the final concentration of DZNep in the culture medium is from 5 to 80 nM” which renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 4 contains the trademark/trade name “MatrigelTM”, “GeltrexTM” and “ECMTM”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. ... In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe MatrigelTM, GeltrexTM and ECMTM and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 11 contains the trademark/trade names “B27” and “GlutamaxTM”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. ... In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe B27 and GlutamaxTM and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (US 2016/0145581 Al) in view of Hanna et al. (US 2017/0275593 A1).
Claim Interpretation: the claims recite multiple instances of the limitation “optional”. For the purposes of applying art, all of the limitations following the recitation optional are treated as such and thus are interpreted as not being required by the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Deng et al. teach a chemically defined culture medium for culturing PSCs comprising a basal medium (KO DMEM) for culturing stem cells supplemented with VPA (an HDAC inhibitor) and DZNep (an EZH2 and SAH inhibitor) (col. 1 parags. 2-7 and 14).
Regarding claim 11, Deng teaches supplementing their media with non-essential amino acids (parag. 121).
Deng teaches using:
DZNep at a concentration of 20 nM to 0.1 μM (parag. 71),
VPA at a concentration of 500 μM to 0.5 mM (parag. 71),
LIF at a concentration of 1000U/ml, which equals 10 ng/mL (parag. 121),
PD0325901 at a concentration of 1 μM (parag. 121).
Deng does not teach:
WNT/β-catenin signaling inhibitor (tankyrase inhibitor), and
Ascorbic acid, Activin, Y27632 and an extracellular matrix.
Regarding a tankyrase inhibitor in claim 2, Hanna et al. teach a chemically
defined medium for culturing PSCs using the tankyrase inhibitor XAV939 (at a concentration of 2 to 8 μM-parag. 318), which by blocking tankyrase, results in increased stability and ubiquitination of canonical WNT signaling (parag. 312).
Regarding ascorbic acid, Activin, Y27632, an extracellular matrix and claims 3, 4,
6, 8 and 10, Hanna et a. teach a chemically defined medium for culturing PSCs comprising a basal medium (DMEM/F12 and Neurobasal medium in a ratio of 1:1-parag. 74) comprising:
ascorbic acid at a concentration of 50 μg/ml (Fig. 7),
Activin A at a concentration of 20 ng/ml (Fig. 7),
Y27632 at a concentration of 2 μM (Fig. 7); and
Matrigel at 0.1% to 0.5% (v/v) (parag. 578).
Regarding claim 11, Hanna teaches using B27, pyruvate, L-glutamine and streptomycin (parasg. 651 and 653, see Example 1).
Thus at the time of filing the ordinary artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Deng regarding a chemically defined culture medium for culturing PSCs with the teachings of Hanna regarding a chemically defined media comprising specific species of tankyrase inhibitor, activin activator, ROCK inhibitor and ECM to arrive at the claimed invention.
One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination since Hanna is teaching that specific cell culture factors and components are useful for the culturing of PSCs, particularly XAV939 which by blocking tankyrase, results in increased stability and ubiquitination of canonical WNT signaling.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success that the specific factors and concentrations taught by Hanna would work in the chemically define culture medium of Deng since Hanna teaches that their chemically defined media was effective for culturing PSCs.
Thus the cited art provides the requisite teachings and motivations to make and use the invention as claimed.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DAVID A MONTANARI/Examiner, Art Unit 1632