DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention group I, claims 1-5 and 10, in the reply filed on 09/08/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-9 and 11-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/08/2025.
Applicants further elected compound of formula I as specific inhibitor, linoleic acid as specific lipid and biological component as specific source of lipid. Instead of single species of inhibitor, applicants elected grouping of patentably indistinct species that falls into a compound of formula I, and this indicates that each compound of formula I is patentably indistinct species from each other. Claims 1-4 and 10 read on the elected species and are under examination, claim 5 does not read on the elected species and are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-19 are pending, claims 1-4 and 10 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made that national stage of international patent application PCT/JP2021/043696, filed on 11/29/2021; which claims priority from Japan Patent application JP2020-206296, filed on 12/11/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/11/2023, 06/24/2025 and 07/02/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claims Objection
Claim 1 is objected for using “UPE” before defining it. Proper correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites formula I without presenting the formula. Although the formula I is presented in specification, Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. MPEP 2173.05(s).
Claim 4 is rejected for depending on rejected claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a0(1) &(a)(2) as being anticipated by Katsumata et al. (US5601806).
The limitation of claims 1-4 and 10 are met by Katsumata et al. disclosing a cream comprising hypotaurine and thiotaurine being applied on skin of a living body for scavenging active oxygen compound and preventing and minimizing damage to the skin from UV rays (abstract; column 12, Table 11; claim 1). Katsumata et al. discloses lowering the amount of lipid peroxide (column 3, line 50-65) that would result in inhibiting lipid oxidation induced by exposure to blue light to the subject. Each of hypotaurine and thiotaurine falls into structure of a compound of formula I.
Furthermore, the functional properties in claims 1-2 and 10 are considered as direct results of prior art steps. In summary, although the reference is silent about all the functional properties instantly claimed, it does not appear that the claim language or limitations result in a manipulative difference in the method steps when compared to the prior art disclosure. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Company v. Ben Venue Laboratories, 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CAFC 2001). “It is a general rule that merely discovering and claiming a new benefit of an old process cannot render the process again patentable.” In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Granting a patent on the discovery of an unknown but inherent function would remove from the public that which is in the public domain by virtue of its inclusion in, or obviousness from, the prior art. In re Baxter Travenol Labs, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See M.P.E.P. 2145. On this record, it is reasonable to conclude that the skin is being administered the same active agent by the same mode of administration in the same amount in both the instant claims and the prior art reference. The fact that Applicant may have discovered yet another beneficial effect from the method set forth in the prior art does not mean that they are entitled to receive a patent on that method. Thus, Katsumata et al. teaches, either expressly or inherently implied, each and every limitation of the instant claims. it remains the Examiner's position that the instantly claimed method is not only anticipated in the prior art but also obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takakura et al. (US20100209365).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Takakura et al. teaches sunscreen composition that is superior in stability and the sensation during use (abstract, [0130, 0135]). The composition comprises ingredients such as hypotaurine and thiotaurine ([0111]). Each of hypotaurine and thiotaurine falls into structure of a compound of formula I.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Takakura et al. is that Takakura et al. is not specific enough for anticipation.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the instant invention.
Takakura et al. teaches sunscreen comprising ingredients such as hypotaurine and thiotaurine being applied on face (skin), and is silent about functional properties in claims 1-2 and 10.
In summary, although the reference is silent about all the functional properties instantly claimed, it does not appear that the claim language or limitations result in a manipulative difference in the method steps when compared to the prior art disclosure. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Company v. Ben Venue Laboratories, 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CAFC 2001). “It is a general rule that merely discovering and claiming a new benefit of an old process cannot render the process again patentable.” In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Granting a patent on the discovery of an unknown but inherent function would remove from the public that which is in the public domain by virtue of its inclusion in, or obviousness from, the prior art. In re Baxter Travenol Labs, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See M.P.E.P. 2145. On this record, it is reasonable to conclude that the skin is being administered the same active agent by the same mode of administration in the same amount in both the instant claims and the prior art reference. The fact that Applicant may have discovered yet another beneficial effect from the method set forth in the prior art does not mean that they are entitled to receive a patent on that method. Thus, Takakura et al. teaches, either expressly or inherently implied, each and every limitation of the instant claims. it remains the Examiner's position that the instantly claimed method is not only anticipated in the prior art but also obvious.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613