FINAL ACTION
Priority
Instant application 18/036,673 filed on 05/12/2023 claims benefit as follows:
CONTINUING DATA:
Status of the Application
The amendment submitted on 06/27/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 22 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/12/2023 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filled on 06/27/2026 has been entered.
Applicant amended claim 1, canceled claims 2-21, and added claim 22.
It should be noted that Applicant limited the instant method to a method for the treatment (prevention has been deleted) of Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis and peripheral neuropathy. In addition, Applicant limited the method to a method comprising administering SARM1 enzyme activity inhibitor as a single active ingredient to a subject in need thereof. Further, the SARM1 enzyme activity inhibitor has been limited to compounds 2-7.
Applicant’s amendment and Applicant’s arguments have overcome all rejections of record. Therefore, all rejections of records are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over WO-2006/045581-A1.
The new rejection was necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Election/Restrictions/ Species Election
Applicant elected without traverse of compound 2 and peripheral neuropathy in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
A careful review of the prior art has indicated that combination of elected species is free of the prior art. A claim directed to the elected species in independent form would be free of prior art.
The examiner has moved onto alternative species: compound 7
The subsequent examination is based on this species expansion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO-2006/045581-A1.
WO-2006/045581 teaches instant compound 7 as PPAR ACTIVATOR (see compound 24, page 21):
Further, WO-2006/045581 teaches and claims a method of treating multiple diseases, including Parkinson’s disease, comprising administering to a patient in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a compound as defined in any of claims 1-10 (see claim 17).
Therefore, WO-2006/045581 teaches the same compound for treatment of the same conditions.
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a
scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably
new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947
(Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently
present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252,
1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed.
Cir. 2004), the court held that the claimed promoter sequence obtained by sequencing a prior art
plasmid that was not previously sequenced was anticipated by the prior art plasmid which necessarily
possessed the same DNA sequence as the claimed oligonucleotides. The court stated that "just as the
discovery of properties of a known material does not make it novel, the identification and
characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel." Id.
Further, "where the Patent Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to
be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact, be an inherent
characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the
subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristics relied on"); In
re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980) (indicating that the burden of proof can be shifted
to the applicant to show that the subject matter of the prior art does not possess the characteristic
relied on whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. 102 or obviousness under 35
U.S.C. 103 (MPEP 2183).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2006/045581-A1 in view of Paul (Paul DA, Qureshi ARM, Rana AQ. Peripheral neuropathy in Parkinson's disease. Neurol Sci. 2020 Oct;41(10):2691-2701).
WO-2006/045581 teaches instant compound 7 as PPAR ACTIVATOR (see compound 24; the last compound on page 21):
Further, WO-2006/045581 teaches and claims a use of the compound in treatment of multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease (see claim 11).
Furthermore, WO-2006/045581 teaches and claims a method of treating multiple diseases, including Parkinson’s disease, comprising administering to a patient in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a compound as defined in any of claims 1-10 (see claim 17).
WO-2006/045581 teaches that the compound acts as a PPAR activator but does not teach the compound acts as a SARM1 enzyme activity inhibitor as recited in instant claims.
However, WO-2006/045581 teaches the same compound for treatment of the same conditions. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252,1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the court held that the claimed promoter sequence obtained by sequencing a prior art plasmid that was not previously sequenced was anticipated by the prior art plasmid which necessarily possessed the same DNA sequence as the claimed oligonucleotides. The court stated that "just as the discovery of properties of a known material does not make it novel, the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel." (See also MPEP 2112)
Further, "where the Patent Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to
be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact, be an inherent
characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the
subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristics relied on"); In
re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980) (indicating that the burden of proof can be shifted
to the applicant to show that the subject matter of the prior art does not possess the characteristic
relied on whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. 102 or obviousness under 35
U.S.C. 103 (MPEP 2183).
Regarding instant claim 22, WO-2006/045581 does not explicitly teach treatment of peripheral neuropathy.
WO-2006/045581 teaches and claims a method of treating Parkinson’s disease comprising administering to a patient in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of the compound.
Paul teaches that peripheral neuropathy (PN) is present in Parkinson’s disease (PD) (see abstract).
Treating Parkinson’s disease inherently treats peripheral neuropathy, a result that logically flows from the administration steps disclosed by WO-2006/045581.
It is noted that MPEP 2112 discusses the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to "prove that subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess characteristic relied on" (205 USPQ 594, second column, first full paragraph).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEORGE W KOSTURKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1621