DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 05/12/2023, has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “pump”, “connection interface”, “controller”, “removable cover”, “fixed transparent cover”, and “lens” (as recited in claims 1, 7-9, and 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Figures 1-3 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites the limitation of “the breast” in the 2nd line of the claim. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation. The limitation should be corrected to recite “a breast.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites the limitation of “the end” in the 4th line of the claim. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation. The limitation should be corrected to recite “an end.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites the limitation of “the user” in the 9th line of the claim. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation. The limitation should be corrected to recite “a user.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites the limitation of “the nipple” in the 2nd line of the claim. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation. The limitation should be corrected to recite “a nipple.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
[Claims 1-3] The claims recite the limitations of “directly in front.” The examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claims, since the recited “front” has not been defined. Further, the claims provide no relative orientation of the structures to each other or their relative orientations/positions in space. As such, for purposes of examination, it is interpreted that the “front” of the apparatus is not specific to any particular surface.
[Claims 2 and 3] The claims recite the limitation of “a cone formed by an angle” “all around the view from directly in front.” Again, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim, since it is unclear what “views” are encompassed by these limitations. Again, the claims provide no relative orientation of the structures to each other or their relative orientations/positions in space. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that any “view” of the “nipple-receiving portion” which is “blocked” meets the limitations of the claims.
[Claim 3] Regarding claim 3, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
[Claim 5] The claim recites the limitation of “the components” in the 1st and 2nd lines of the claim. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Further, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claims, since it is unclear exactly which structures this limitation is meant to encompass. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that “the components” only refers to the “window” and the “nipple-receiving portion.”
[Claim 5] The claim recites the limitation of “the line of sight” in the 2nd line of the claim. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Further, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claims, since it is unclear if this refers to the previously recited “direct line of sight,” or if a new limitation is being introduced into the claim limitations. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that the limitation refers to the previously recited “direct line of sight.”
[Claim 5] The claim recites the limitation of “the nipple portion” in the 2nd and 3rd lines of the claim. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Further, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claims, since it is unclear if this refers to the previously recited “nipple-receiving portion,” or if a new limitation is being introduced into the claim limitations. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that the limitation refers to the previously recited “nipple-receiving portion.”
[Claim 12] The claim recites the limitation of “The breast pump of claim 1, comprising a wearable breast pump.” The examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim, since it is unclear if the limitation is reciting a functionality or if an additional structure is being introduced into the claim limitations. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that a functionality is being claimed, such that the limitation should recite “The breast pump of claim 1, wherein the breast pump is configured to be worn by the user.”
[Claims 2-15] The claims are rejected based upon their dependency from independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Makower et al. (PGPub 2023/0117214).
[Claims 1, 4, 10, 12, and 14] Makower teaches a wearable breast pump (figure 43, item 100; paragraphs [0004], [0223]) comprising:
an outer housing (figure 43, item 34) for mounting over a breast (as best shown in figure 27b);
a breast shield (figure 43, item 10) removably received (coupled together) in the outer housing (figure 43, item 34) as a single unit (paragraph [0223]), comprising a transparent nipple-receiving portion (figure 43, near item 54) at an end of a breast-receiving portion (figure 43, distal portion of item 10);
a pump (figure 43, items 36/38; “compression elements”; paragraph [0226]);
a connection interface (figure 43, item 62; paragraph [0165]) for connection to a milk container (figure 43, item 60; paragraph [0161]); and
a controller (figure 43, item 52) for implementing a cyclic pressure waveform to the breast shield (figure 43, item 10) (paragraph [0146]),
wherein the outer housing (figure 43, item 34) has a window (figure 43, items 432/434) in an upper portion (the examiner notes the orientation of the structure has not been defined) of the outer housing (figure 43, item 34), for enabling, in use, a direct line of sight (figure 43; paragraph [0223]) for a user of the breast pump (figure 43, item 100), through the window (figure 43, items 432/434) to the nipple-receiving portion (figure 43, near item 54) of the breast shield (figure 43, item 10),
and wherein the outer housing (figure 43, item 34) blocks a view of the nipple-receiving portion (figure 43, near item 54) from at least directly in front (see 112b interpretation above) to prevent visibility to third parties (figure 43; paragraph [0223]).
[Claims 2 and 3] Makower teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 2 and 3 depend. In addition, Makower discloses a view of the nipple-receiving portion (figure 43, near item 54) is blocked for a range of view directions including from directly in front (see 112b interpretation above) and a cone formed by an angle (see 112b interpretation above) of at least 20 degrees, for example (see 112b interpretation above) an angle of at least 30 degrees, for example (see 112b interpretation above) an angle of at least 40 degrees, all around the view from directly in front (see 112b interpretation above) (figure 43; paragraph [0223]).
[Claim 5] Makower teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 5 depends. Makower also teaches the components (see 112b interpretation above) along the line of sight (see 112b interpretation above) to a nipple of the user include the window (figure 43, items 432/434) and the nipple portion (see 112b interpretation above) (figure 43, near item 54) of the breast shield (figure 43, item 10) (figure 43; paragraph [0223]).
[Claims 6 and 8] Makower teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 6 and 8 depend. Makower further discloses the window (figure 43, items 432/434) comprises an opening (figure 43, item 432) in the outer housing (figure 43, item 34) having a fixed transparent cover (figure 43, item 434) (figure 43; paragraph [0223]).
[Claim 11] Makower teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 11 depends. In addition, Makower discloses an illumination source (“a light may be provided underneath one or more of the controls 252 or where the milk tube 32 exits the main body 34.”; or figure 44a, item 440 “light source”) for illuminating a space inside the nipple-receiving portion (figure 43, near item 54) (paragraphs [0162], [0224]).
[Claim 13] Makower teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 13 depends. Makower also teaches the controller (figure 43, item 52) is adapted to implement at least two operating modes comprising a stimulation mode and an extraction mode, with different cyclic frequency and different maximum under-pressure levels (“controller 52 may be electrically connected to the drivers 44, 46 and may be configured to modify the operation of the compression elements 36, 38 based on input received from an optional pressure sensor 54 (or multiple pressure sensors) that may be placed at least one location to assess the pumping function and maintain an acceptable pumping negative pressure profile for a wide variety of milk expression volumes”) (the examiner notes any modification would involve “different” frequencies and pressures, thus could define the claimed “modes”) (paragraphs [0143], [0145], [0146]).
[Claim 15] Makower teaches the limitations of claim 14, upon which claim 15 depends. Makower further discloses the milk container (figure 43, item 60) is attachable (via connection interface 62) to a base (any connection point could be considered the “base”) of the outer housing (figure 43, item 34), and the pump (figure 43, items 36/38) is within the outer housing (figure 43, item 34) (figure 43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makower et al. (PGPub 2023/0117214), in view of Myers (PGPub 2011/0245763).
[Claim 7] Makower teaches the limitations of claim 6, upon which claim 7 depends. Makower does not specifically disclose a removable cover over the opening.
However, Myers teaches a breast pump (figure 23, item 10), wherein an outer housing (figure 23, item 16) comprises an opening having a removable cover (figure 23, item 65) (paragraphs [0052], [0065], [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified structure taught by Makower, with the use of a removable cover over the opening, as taught by Myers, in order to provide increased functionality and control, by allowing for a means by which a user might maintain complete privacy by preventing any visibility of the nipple-receiving portion of the breast shield.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makower et al. (PGPub 2023/0117214), in view of Hung et al. (WO 00/29044 A2).
[Claim 9] Makower teaches the limitations of claim 6, upon which claim 9 depends. Makower does not specifically disclose a lens within or over the opening.
However, Hung teaches a breast pump (figure1, item 1) comprising a lens (figure 1, item 2) within an opening (figure 1, item 8) of an outer housing (not labeled) (figure 1) (page 14, lines 27-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified structure taught by Makower, with the use of a lens within or over the opening, as taught by Hung, in order to provide increased functionality and control, by allowing for a means by which a user might more easily view the nipple-receiving portion of the breast shield.
Conclusion
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 11/24/2025