DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the liner is a sealed capsule arranged within the dry reagent storage chamber. (claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This rejection concerns new matter.
Claims 1, 6 and 7 have been amended to recite in part “the dry reagent storage chamber comprises a liner formed from a material having a lower water permeability than the housing material” (claim 1); “wherein each dry reagent storage chamber comprises a respective liner, each liner comprising a material having a lower water permeability than the housing material” (claim 6); and “the barrier formed from a material having a lower water permeability than the housing material” (claim 7). The current remarks urges support therefor may be found at specification [0013], [0022], [0024], [0026], and [0027] and FIGS. 1-3.
The examiner cannot find support for the water permeability in the specification as filed. At best, the specification describes a low fluid permeability material. Accordingly, the disclosure as originally filed provided no implicit or explicit support for this limitation. Applicants are reminded that it is their burden to show where the specification and priority document as appropriate supports any amendments to the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostgaard et al. (US 5,888,826).
Regarding claim 1, Ostgaard et al. teach:
1. A sample analysis cartridge (e.g., 100), comprising:
a housing (e.g., 60) formed from a housing material (see i.e., Polypropylene is a preferred material for the housing C11/L66-67), the housing comprising:
a reaction chamber (e.g., opening 65) capable of receiving a sample (e.g., blood C7/L49-50),
a dry reagent storage chamber (e.g., sample cup 10) containing a dry reagent (see i.e., one or more reagents are applied to the surface of partition member 6 which will face receiving chamber 18. Partition member 6 is then dried, and opening 9 shown in FIG. 1 is made in the dried membrane. C9/L18-22), and
a fluid reagent storage chamber (e.g., holding chamber 61) containing a fluid reagent (e.g., 11); and
a reagent supply mechanism (e.g., vacuum chuck 15) capable of selectively supplying the dry reagent from the dry reagent storage chamber and the fluid reagent from the fluid reagent storage chamber (see C8/L29-46, L11/L16-35 for example);
wherein the dry reagent storage chamber comprises a liner (e.g., capillary hub 30).
Regarding claim 1, although Ostgaard et al. do not explicitly teach a liner formed from a material having a lower water permeability than the housing material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a material having a lower water permeability for the purpose of making them effective barriers against moisture.
With regard to limitations in claims 1, 3 (e.g., [...] for selectively supplying the dry reagent from the dry reagent storage chamber and the fluid reagent from the fluid reagent storage chamber, etc.), these claim limitations are considered process or intended use limitations, which do not further delineate the structure of the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)). "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim." Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, "[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." See In re Young, 75 F.2d *>996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)) (see MPEP § 2115).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 5, Ostgaard et al. teach:
2. The sample analysis cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the liner is a sealed capsule arranged within the dry reagent storage chamber (see Fig. 2 for example).
3. The sample analysis cartridge according to claim 2, wherein the sealed capsule comprises a breakable seal (e.g., 6, 70) which can be broken by the reagent supply mechanism to retrieve dry reagent therefrom (see L11/L16-35 for example).
5. The sample analysis cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the dry reagent storage chamber has a region (i.e., region of top seal in Fig. 1) that contains desiccant material (C7/L32).
Regarding claim 4, Ostgaard et al. teach a seal comprising aluminum, see C7/L38-40. However, Ostgaard et al. fail to explicitly teach: 4. The sample analysis cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the material of the liner is a metal, preferably aluminium.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the liner material as a metal, such as aluminum to resist moisture (Ostgaard et al. C7/L38-40).
Regarding claims 6, 7, Ostgaard et al. teach:
6. The sample analysis cartridge according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of dry reagent storage chambers, each dry reagent storage chamber containing a dry reagent, wherein each dry reagent storage chamber comprises a respective liner; and a respective seal for each of the plurality of dry reagent storage chambers (see Figs. 7-8 & C5/L27-29 for example).
7. The sample analysis cartridge according to claim 1, further comprising a barrier (e.g., 70) between the dry reagent storage chamber and the fluid reagent storage chamber (see Fig. 2 for example).
However, Ostgaard et al. do not explicitly teach: each liner comprising a material having a lower water permeability than the housing material (claim 6); the barrier formed from a material having a lower water permeability than the housing material (claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a material having a lower water permeability for the purpose of making them effective barriers against moisture.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Dumitrescu et al. (EP 0920915 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Dumitrescu et al. teach:
1. A sample analysis cartridge, comprising:
a housing formed from a housing material (e.g., 12), the housing comprising:
a reaction chamber (e.g., 318) configured to receive a sample (see ¶ 0111-0113 for example),
a dry reagent storage chamber (e.g., 312, 314) containing a dry reagent (see i.e., The frangible ampoules 294 are structural and functional equivalents of the glass ampoules 14 of the reagent package 10 and operate in a manner similar to that previously described for the glass ampoules 14 ¶ 0101; The glass ampoule 14 is a known closed cylindrical structure, fusion sealed at one end 57 and contains a reagent 58 (Figs. 5 and 8) which is preferably in a dry lyophilized form ¶ 0038), and
a fluid reagent storage chamber (e.g., 322) containing a fluid reagent (e.g., 248); and
a reagent supply mechanism capable of selectively supplying the dry reagent from the dry reagent storage chamber and the fluid reagent from the fluid reagent storage chamber (see i.e., The package 10C is brought in a known manner to an ampoule activation-breaker device ¶ 0074);
wherein the dry reagent storage chamber comprises a liner (e.g., glass/frangible ampoules 294/14) formed from a material (e.g., glass).
Regarding claim 1, although Dumitrescu et al. do not explicitly teach a liner formed from a material having a lower water permeability than the housing material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a material having a lower water permeability for the purpose of making them effective barriers against moisture.
With regard to limitations in claims 1, 3 (e.g., [...] for selectively supplying the dry reagent from the dry reagent storage chamber and the fluid reagent from the fluid reagent storage chamber, etc.), these claim limitations are considered process or intended use limitations, which do not further delineate the structure of the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)). "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim." Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, "[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." See In re Young, 75 F.2d *>996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)) (see MPEP § 2115).
Regarding claims 2, 3 and 5, Dumitrescu et al. teach:
2. The sample analysis cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the liner is a sealed capsule arranged within the dry reagent storage chamber (see ¶ 0097 & Fig. 27 for example).
3. The sample analysis cartridge according to claim 2, wherein the sealed capsule comprises a breakable seal (i.e., breakable ampule throughout the reference).
5. The sample analysis cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the dry reagent storage chamber has a region therein that contains desiccant material (e.g., dry powder, Abstract).
Regarding claims 6, 7, Dumitrescu et al. teach:
6. The sample analysis cartridge according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of dry reagent storage chambers, each dry reagent storage chamber containing a dry reagent (¶ 0038), wherein each dry reagent storage chamber comprises a respective liner (e.g., glass/frangible ampoules 294/14); and a respective seal for each of the plurality of dry reagent storage chambers (see ¶ 0097 & Fig. 27 for example).
7. The sample analysis cartridge according to claim 1, further comprising a barrier (e.g., filter members 296) between the dry reagent storage chamber and the fluid reagent storage chamber (see Fig. 27 for example).
However, Dumitrescu et al. do not explicitly teach: each liner comprising a material having a lower water permeability than the housing material (claim 6); the barrier formed from a material having a lower water permeability than the housing material (claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a material having a lower water permeability for the purpose of making them effective barriers against moisture.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dumitrescu et al. (EP 0920915 A2) in view of Ostgaard et al. (US 5,888,826).
Regarding claim 4, Dumitrescu et al. do not explicitly teach: 4. The sample analysis cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the material of the liner is a metal, preferably aluminium.
See Ostgaard et al. above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the cartridge with a liner, such as a filter screen 16 (¶ 0074) comprising a metal as it is known in the art to resist moisture (Ostgaard et al. C7/L38-40).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant is thanked for their thoughtful amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEAN KWAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798
DEAN KWAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1798