DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is responsive to amendments and remarks filed on 3/19/2026.
No claims have been amended.
No claims have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, and 4-11 are currently pending.
Response to Amendment
In light of the amendment the objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that AHN does not meet all the limitations of the claim, specifically "a flexible part having stretchability". The applicant claims bending portions 113a and 114a of the lead tabs. The claims are silent on 113 and 114 with the breaking portion 115 of the tabs. These breaking portions are notched in order to cause a weak spot in the flexible "bending portion" of the lead tabs so that they would break in that exact location. AHN [0035] discloses that the lead tabs are a metal material such as aluminum which is both flexible and malleable (stretchable). Therefore, AHN meets the limitation of the claim and the rejections under 102(a)(1) and 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190173073 A1, AHN et al. provided in the IDS dated 8/19/2025.
Regarding claim 1. AHN discloses a secondary battery comprising in the annotated figure depicted below:
[0011] an electrode assembly (110) including
[0034] a plurality of electrode sheets on which with [0009] electrode tabs are formed thereon (figure 1) and
[0034] a separator located between the electrode sheets;
[0011] a battery case (121) in which the electrode assembly is configured to be housed; and
[0011] an electrode lead connected to the electrode tab and protruding to the outside of the battery case (figure 2), wherein
[0011] the electrode lead includes a flexible part called a bending connection portion having stretchability in a direction parallel to the protruding direction of the electrode lead, and wherein
the flexible part is located inside the battery case.
Regarding claim 2. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 1 in the annotated figure depicted above, wherein: the flexible part has a bent shape (114a).
Regarding claim 5. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 1 in the annotated figure depicted below, wherein:
[0017] the battery case comprises
an upper case and a lower case,
a sealing part of the upper case and a sealing part of the lower case are [0018] heat-sealed to each other called a molding process, and
the flexible part is located between a portion of the electrode lead where the sealing parts are located and the electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 6. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 1 in the annotated figure depicted below, wherein:
the electrode lead comprises
a first part connected to the flexible part and the electrode tab;
a second part connected to the flexible part and protruding to the an outside of the battery case; and
a fixing part connected to each of the first part and the second part.
Regarding claim 7. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 6 in the annotated figure depicted below, wherein:
the flexible part comprises a first flexible part and
a second flexible part, and
the fixing part is located between the first flexible part and the second flexible part.
Regarding claim 8. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 6.
AHN [0035] discloses the electrode tabs are a metal material/ aluminum foil.
Regarding claim 9. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 6 in the annotated figure depicted above, wherein: the fixing part has a straight line shape.
Regarding claim 11. [0003] A device such as an electric vehicle comprising the secondary battery as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190173073 A1, AHN et al. provided in the IDS dated 8/19/2025 in view of US 20180309112 A1, KIM et al.
Regarding claim 4. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 1,
AHN does not disclose the flexible part comprises at least one of gold (Au) and silver (Ag).
KIM [title] discloses A Pouch-Shaped Secondary Battery Including Micro-Perforated Electrode Lead Having Adhesive Properties where
KIM [0071] discloses the “electrode lead may be made of platinum (Pt), gold (Au), palladium (Pd), iridium (Ir), silver (Ag)”, both silver and gold being widely used in the art for its conductive and malleable properties.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used gold or silver in the flexible electrode lead from a limited list of highly malleable and conductive materials.
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190173073 A1, AHN et al. provided in the IDS dated 8/19/2025.
Regarding claim 10. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein:
[0034] the electrode assembly is a stacked-type electrode assembly in which the electrode sheets are stacked,
AHN does not explicitly discloses that when the plurality of electrode sheets expand in the thickness direction, the flexible part is configured to stretches in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction.
However, AHN by it’s design shows that when the electrode sheets expand in the thickness direction, the flexible part is configured to stretch in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction as shown in the annotated figure depicted below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have met the limitations of the claim by following the battery design disclosed by AHN which was published before the instant application’s effective filing date.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727