DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2020-0165723, filed on 12/1/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted 5/12/2023, 8/7/2024, and 8/19/2025 were received and are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 5/12/2023 are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SECONDARY BATTERY WITH A FLEXIBLE AND STRETCHABLE ELECTRODE LEAD.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190173073 A1, AHN et al. provided in the IDS dated 8/19/2025.
Regarding claim 1. AHN discloses a secondary battery comprising in the annotated figure depicted below:
[0011] an electrode assembly (110) including
[0034] a plurality of electrode sheets on which with [0009] electrode tabs are formed thereon (figure 1) and
[0034] a separator located between the electrode sheets;
[0011] a battery case (121) in which the electrode assembly is configured to be housed; and
[0011] an electrode lead connected to the electrode tab and protruding to the outside of the battery case (figure 2), wherein
[0011] the electrode lead includes a flexible part called a bending connection portion having stretchability in a direction parallel to the protruding direction of the electrode lead, and wherein
the flexible part is located inside the battery case.
Regarding claim 2. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 1 in the annotated figure depicted above, wherein: the flexible part has a bent shape (114a).
Regarding claim 5. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 1 in the annotated figure depicted below, wherein:
[0017] the battery case comprises
an upper case and a lower case,
a sealing part of the upper case and a sealing part of the lower case are [0018] heat-sealed to each other called a molding process, and
the flexible part is located between a portion of the electrode lead where the sealing parts are located and the electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 6. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 1 in the annotated figure depicted below, wherein:
the electrode lead comprises
a first part connected to the flexible part and the electrode tab;
a second part connected to the flexible part and protruding to the an outside of the battery case; and
a fixing part connected to each of the first part and the second part.
Regarding claim 7. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 6 in the annotated figure depicted below, wherein:
the flexible part comprises a first flexible part and
a second flexible part, and
the fixing part is located between the first flexible part and the second flexible part.
Regarding claim 8. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 6.
AHN [0035] discloses the electrode tabs are a metal material/ aluminum foil.
Regarding claim 9. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 6 in the annotated figure depicted above, wherein: the fixing part has a straight line shape.
Regarding claim 11. [0003] A device such as an electric vehicle comprising the secondary battery as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190173073 A1, AHN et al. provided in the IDS dated 8/19/2025 in view of US 20180309112 A1, KIM et al.
Regarding claim 4. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 1,
AHN does not disclose the flexible part comprises at least one of gold (Au) and silver (Ag).
KIM [title] discloses A Pouch-Shaped Secondary Battery Including Micro-Perforated Electrode Lead Having Adhesive Properties where
KIM [0071] discloses the “electrode lead may be made of platinum (Pt), gold (Au), palladium (Pd), iridium (Ir), silver (Ag)”, both silver and gold being widely used in the art for its conductive and malleable properties.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used gold or silver in the flexible electrode lead from a limited list of highly malleable and conductive materials.
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190173073 A1, AHN et al. provided in the IDS dated 8/19/2025.
Regarding claim 10. AHN discloses the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein:
[0034] the electrode assembly is a stacked-type electrode assembly in which the electrode sheets are stacked,
AHN does not explicitly discloses that when the plurality of electrode sheets expand in the thickness direction, the flexible part is configured to stretches in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction.
However, AHN by it’s design shows that when the electrode sheets expand in the thickness direction, the flexible part is configured to stretch in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction as shown in the annotated figure depicted below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have met the limitations of the claim by following the battery design disclosed by AHN which was published before the instant application’s effective filing date.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20060216600 A1, INAGAKI et al.
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727