DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present Office action is responsive to the application as filed on 05-12-2023. As directed, claims 1-20 are currently pending examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-13, 15-17, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 2, line 1, it is suggested that “further comprising” be added following the preamble of the claim.
At claim 3, line 1, it is suggested that a comma be added following “claim 2”.
At claim 4, line 1, it is suggested that a comma be added following “claim 3”.
At claim 5, line 1, it is suggested that a comma be added following “claim 3”.
At claim 5, line 2, it is suggested that “out the” be replaced with “out of the” for clarity.
At claim 6, line 1, it is suggested that a comma be added following “claim 3”.
At claim 6, lines 1-2, it is suggested that “the first and second spheroid cavities” be replaced with “the first spheroid cavity and the second spheroid cavity” for clarity.
At claim 7, line 1, it is suggested that a comma be added following “claim 3”.
At claim 7, lines 1-2, it is suggested that “the first and second spheroid cavities” be replaced with “the first spheroid cavity and the second spheroid cavity” for clarity.
At claim 8, line 1, it is suggested that a comma be added following “claim 3”.
At claim 8, lines 3 and 4, it is suggested that “directs” is replaced with “is configured to direct” to avoid recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 8, line 4, it is suggested that “the” be added before “second UV reflective” for clarity.
At claim 9, line 1, it is suggested that a comma be added following “claim 8”.
At claim 10, line 7, it is suggested that “reflects” be replaced with “is configured to reflect” to avoid recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 10, line 9, it is suggested that “reflects” be replaced with “is configured to reflect” to avoid recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 10, line 10, it is suggested that “the first and second spheroid cavities” be replaced with “the first spheroid cavity and the second spheroid cavity” for clarity.
At claim 10, line 10, it is suggested that “damage” be replaced with “are configured to damage” to avoid recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 10, line 11, it is suggested that “passes” be replaced with “configured to pass” to avoid recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 11, line 2, it is suggested that “the” be added before “outside air” for clarity.
At claim 12, line 1, it is suggested that a comma be added following “claim 11”.
At claim 13, line 1, it is suggested that a comma be added following “claim 11”.
At claim 15, line 1, it is suggested that a comma be added following “claim 14”.
At claim 16, line 2, it is suggested that “wherein” be added before “the first spheroid cavity allows” for clarity.
At claim 17, line 5, it is suggested that “the” be added before “UV” at the end of the line.
At claim 17, line 6, it is suggested that “damages” be replaced with “is configured to damage” for clarity.
At claim 20, lines 7-8, it is suggested that “the first and second spheroid cavities” be replaced with “the first spheroid cavity and the second spheroid cavity” for clarity.
At claim 20, line 8, it is suggested that “the third and fourth cavities” be replaced with “the third spheroid cavity and the fourth spheroid cavity” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A/the first and second UV devices in claims 1, 3, 10, and 17, which is being interpreted relative to paragraph 20 of the instant specification to include mercury based cold cathode lamps, UV LEDs, and functional equivalents thereof, such as other lamp/UV light sources.
A/the air moving device in claim 7 which is being interpreted relative to the instant specification at paragraph 30 to be a fan or impeller and functional equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the claim positively recites the ability to both directly provide disinfected air to a user via a wearable device and be couplable to a ventilator which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how the GEM is configured for provision of clean air via a wearable device and couplable to a ventilator. Further, claims are read in light of the specification, and in the case of the combination of elements present in claim 12, there does not appear to be any embodiments described in the instant specification that allow for both the wearable form and the ventilator-connected for of the GEM. Rather, paragraph 15 explicitly sets forth that the device “may be worn by a user or attached to devices such as a ventilator” but not both. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted such that the GEM is configured to provide clean air via a wearable device or be ventilator-connectable.
Examiner suggests replacing “and” with “or” to overcome the rejection, and the claim will be interpreted in accordance with this suggestion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catalan (US 2021/0330850) in view of Bell (US 2021/0330851).
Regarding claim 1, Catalan discloses a Germ Eliminating Machine (“virus irradiation and deactivation device”) (abstract, lines 1-3; Fig. 1) comprising:
a first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1);
a first UV device (see any of lamps 103 in top left chamber 102) configured to project light into the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1);
a first air pipe (see top left joint 209 in Fig. 2) configured to convey air into the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7; Fig. 2), wherein the first UV device (103) is configured to damage germs in air passing through the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-4);
a second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1);
a second UV device (any one of 103 in the top, right chamber 102 in Fig. 1) configured to project UV light into the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1); and
a second air pipe (see joint 209 between top left and tight chambers 102 in Fig. 2) configured to convey air from the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) to the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7; Fig. 2), wherein the second UV device (103) is configured to damage germs in air passing through the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-4).
Catalan fails to discloses wherein the first spheroid cavity has a first ultraviolet (UV) reflective boundary substantially surrounding the first spheroid cavity, and wherein the second spheroid cavity has a second UV reflective spheroid boundary substantially surrounding the second spheroid cavity.
However, Bell teaches a face mask with flow paths and/or chambers for disinfecting air via UV light (abstract, lines 1-4; paragraph 39, lines 1-8; Fig. 1), wherein the flow pathways and/or chambers are coated with UV reflective material in order to increase the disinfecting power of the device (paragraph 39, lines 1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coated the spheroid cavities of the device of Catalan with reflective material, as taught by Bell, to derive first and second spheroid cavities with UV reflective spheroid boundaries surrounding the first and second spheroid cavities, in order to increase the disinfecting power of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 1, as discussed above.
Catalan further discloses wherein the first air pipe (see top, left joint 209 in Fig. 2) has a first air pipe outlet to provide air to the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) and the second air pipe (see joint 209 between top left and tight chambers 102 in Fig. 2) having a second air pipe inlet to receive air from the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7; see Fig. 2, and note that in order to achieve the air flow shown in Fig. 2 and direct air through the device, each joint 209 includes an inlet where air is introduced and an outlet where air exits the joint), wherein the first air pipe outlet and the second air pipe inlet are configured to create diffuse turbulent air flow through the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) and minimize straight-line airflow through the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7, see “diffused or swirled”).
Regarding claim 3, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 2, as discussed above.
Modified Catalan further discloses a third air pipe (see joint 209 connected at the bottom portion of the top, right chamber 102 in Fig. 2) configured to convey air out of the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1), wherein the GEM is configured to (i) cause UV light from the first UV device (103 in top, left chamber 102) to repeatedly reflect in the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) and (ii) cause UV light from the second UV device (103 in top, right chamber 102) to repeatedly reflect in the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (Catalan: paragraph 90, lines 1-5; paragraph 100, lines 1-7 and Figs. 1-2; for third pipe; see Bell: paragraph 39, lines 1-7 for the reflective material used to coat the internal portion of the first and second spheroid cavities).
Regarding claim 5, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 3, as discussed above.
Catalan further discloses wherein the GEM is configured to be coupled to a ventilator exhaust to disinfect air passing out the ventilator exhaust (paragraph 106, lines 1-5, where the mask 501 and connected oxygen tank form a ventilator, and an exhalation port is contained on the mask and connected to hose 502; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 3, as discussed above.
Catalan further discloses at least one additional spheroid cavity (see middle, right spherical UV bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 2) in series with the first and second spheroid cavities (see top, left and top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chambers 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-5; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 3, as discussed above.
Catalan further discloses an air moving device to at least aid in conveying air through the first and second spheroid cavities (see top, left and top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chambers 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 97, lines 7-10; Fig. 2, note airflow direction throughout the cavities).
Regarding claim 8, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 3, as discussed above.
Modified Catalan further discloses a second air pipe outlet to provide air from the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) into the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1), wherein the first air pipe outlet directs air to a portion of the first UV reflective boundary that is adjacent to the first air pipe outlet, and wherein the second air pipe outlet directs air to a portion of second UV reflective boundary that is adjacent to the second air pipe outlet (Catalan: paragraph 100, lines 1-7; see Fig. 2, and note that in order to achieve the air flow shown in Fig. 2 and direct air through the device, each joint 209 includes an inlet where air is introduced and an outlet where air exits the joint; further note that by modification with Bell, the interior of each cavity is coated with reflective material, and thus by virtue of the airflow shown, the inlet and outlet of each joint 209, and the reflective material, air is directed to the first UV reflective boundary by the first air pipe outlet and air is directed to the second UV reflective boundary by the second air pipe outlet).
Regarding claim 9, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 3, as discussed above.
Modified Catalan further discloses an air inlet of the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (note opening of cavity 102 following joint 209 in Fig. 2), wherein the air inlet of the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) is configured to draw air from a portion of the first UV reflective boundary adjacent to the air inlet of the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1), and wherein the second air pipe inlet is configured to draw air from a portion of the first UV reflective boundary adjacent to the second air pipe inlet (Catalan: paragraph 100, lines 1-7; see Fig. 2, and note that in order to achieve the air flow shown in Fig. 2 and direct air through the device, each joint 209 includes an inlet where air is introduced and an outlet where air exits the joint, and each cavity has an opening inlet for conveying air into the chamber; further note that by modification with Bell, the interior of each cavity is coated with reflective material, and thus by virtue of the airflow shown, the inlet and outlet of each joint 209, and the reflective material, air is drawn to the second spheroid cavity from the first UV reflective boundary by the air inlet and air is drawn to the second air pipe outlet from the first UV reflective boundary).
Regarding claim 10, Catalan discloses a Germ Eliminating Machine (“virus irradiation and deactivation device”) (abstract, lines 1-3; Fig. 1) comprising:
a first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1);
a second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) coupled in series to the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1), wherein the GEM is configured to pass outside air through the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) and into the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-7; paragraph 106, lines 1-7; Figs. 2 and 5);
a first UV device (see any of lamps 103 in top left chamber 102) configured to provide UV light into the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1);
a second UV device (any one of 103 in the top, right chamber 102 in Fig. 1) configured to provide UV light into the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1), wherein the UV light from the first and second UV devices (103) damage germs in the outside air that passes through the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) and into the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-7).
Catalan fails to discloses wherein the first and second UV devices provide light to respective first and second spheroid cavities such that UV light repeatedly reflects in each cavity.
However, Bell teaches a face mask with flow paths and/or chambers for disinfecting air via UV light (abstract, lines 1-4; paragraph 39, lines 1-8; Fig. 1), wherein the flow pathways and/or chambers are coated with UV reflective material in order to increase the disinfecting power of the device (paragraph 39, lines 1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coated the spheroid cavities of the device of Catalan with reflective material, as taught by Bell, to derive first and second spheroid cavities with UV reflective spheroid boundaries surrounding the first and second spheroid cavities, in order to increase the disinfecting power of the device.
Thus, as presently modified, the device of modified Catalan includes first and second UV devices provide light to respective first and second spheroid cavities such that UV light repeatedly reflects in each spheroid cavity, by virtue of the reflective material now coated therein.
Regarding claim 11, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 10, as discussed above.
Catalan further discloses a first air pipe (see top left joint 209 in Fig. 2) having a first air pipe outlet configured to provide the outside air to the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7; see Fig. 2, and note that in order to achieve the air flow shown in Fig. 2 and direct air through the device, each joint 209 includes an inlet where air is introduced and an outlet where air exits the joint); and
a second air pipe (see joint 209 between top left and tight chambers 102 in Fig. 2) having a second air pipe inlet configured to receive air from the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) that is conveyed to the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7; see Fig. 2, and note that in order to achieve the air flow shown in Fig. 2 and direct air through the device, each joint 209 includes an inlet where air is introduced and an outlet where air exits the joint), wherein the first air pipe outlet and the second air pipe inlet are configured to create diffuse turbulent air flow through the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) and minimize straight-line airflow through the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7, see “diffused or swirled”).
Regarding claim 12, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 11, as discussed above.
Catalan further discloses wherein the GEM is configured to be coupled to a ventilator exhaust to disinfect air passing out the ventilator exhaust (paragraph 106, lines 1-5, where the mask 501 and connected oxygen tank form a ventilator, and an exhalation port is contained on the mask and connected to hose 502; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 11, as discussed above.
Modified Catalan further discloses a first UV reflective boundary surrounding the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1); and
a second UV reflective boundary surrounding the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (see paragraph 90, lines 1-7 and Fig. 1 of Catalan for spheroid cavities, and paragraph 39, lines 1-7 and the modification of the spheroid cavities in claim 10 for the boundaries).
Regarding claim 15, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 14, as discussed above.
Catalan further discloses at least one additional spheroid cavity (see middle, right spherical UV bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 2) coupled in series with the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chambers 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-5; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Catalan discloses a method of manufacturing a Germ Eliminating Machine (“virus irradiation and deactivation device”) (abstract, lines 1-3; paragraph 11, lines 1-2; paragraph 138, lines 1-9; Fig. 1) comprising:
creating a first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1), the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) allows air to be passed therethrough (paragraph 100, lines 1-7; Fig. 2);
creating a second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1), the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) allows air to be passed therethrough (paragraph 100, lines 1-7; Fig. 2); and
coupling the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) to the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) such that air passing into the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) passes through the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) and then through the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7; Fig. 2), wherein the GEM is configured to disinfect air passing therethrough (paragraph 90, lines 1-7; Fig. 1)
Catalan fails to discloses wherein the first spheroid cavity has a first ultraviolet (UV) reflective boundary substantially surrounding the first spheroid cavity, and wherein the second spheroid cavity has a second UV reflective spheroid boundary substantially surrounding the second spheroid cavity.
However, Bell teaches a face mask with flow paths and/or chambers for disinfecting air via UV light (abstract, lines 1-4; paragraph 39, lines 1-8; Fig. 1), wherein the flow pathways and/or chambers are coated with UV reflective material in order to increase the disinfecting power of the device (paragraph 39, lines 1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coated the spheroid cavities of the device of Catalan with reflective material, as taught by Bell, to derive first and second spheroid cavities with UV reflective spheroid boundaries surrounding the first and second spheroid cavities, in order to increase the disinfecting power of the device.
Regarding claim 17, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the method of claim 16, as discussed above.
Modified Catalan further discloses providing a first location where a first UV device (see any of lamps 103 in top left chamber 102) passes UV light into the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1); and
providing a second location where a second UV device (any one of 103 in the top, right chamber 102 in Fig. 1) passes UV light into the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1), wherein the UV light reflecting in the first spheroid cavity and UV light reflecting in the second spheroid cavity damages germs in the air passing therethrough (Catalan: paragraph 90, lines 1-4, note paragraph 39, lines 1-4 of Bell for reflective material).
Regarding claim 18, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the method of claim 17, as discussed above.
Modified Catalan further discloses providing an air outlet in the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) to direct incoming air to a portion of the first UV reflective boundary adjacent to the air outlet in the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (Catalan: paragraph 100, lines 1-7; see Fig. 2, and note that in order to achieve the air flow shown in Fig. 2 and direct air through the device, each joint 209 includes an inlet where air is introduced and an outlet where air exits the joint; further note that by modification with Bell, the interior of each cavity is coated with reflective material, and thus by virtue of the airflow shown, the inlet and outlet of each joint 209, and the reflective material, air is directed from the air outlet to the first reflective boundary), wherein the air outlet of the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) creates diffuse turbulent air flow through the first spheroid cavity and minimizes straight-line airflow through the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7, see “diffused or swirled”); and
providing an air outlet in the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) to direct incoming air to a portion of the second UV reflective boundary adjacent to the air outlet in the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (Catalan: paragraph 100, lines 1-7; see Fig. 2, and note that in order to achieve the air flow shown in Fig. 2 and direct air through the device, each joint 209 includes an inlet where air is introduced and an outlet where air exits the joint; further note that by modification with Bell, the interior of each cavity is coated with reflective material, and thus by virtue of the airflow shown, the inlet and outlet of each joint 209, and the reflective material, air is directed from the air outlet to the second reflective boundary), wherein the air outlet of the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) creates diffuse turbulent air flow through the second spheroid cavity and minimizes straight-line airflow through the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7, see “diffused or swirled”) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7, see “diffused or swirled”) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7, see “diffused or swirled”) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7, see “diffused or swirled”).
Regarding claim 19, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the method of claim 18, as discussed above.
Modified Catalan further discloses providing an air intake (note opening of cavities 102 following joint 209 in Fig. 2) in the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) to draw air from a portion of the first UV reflective boundary adjacent to the air intake in the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (Catalan: paragraph 100, lines 1-7; see Fig. 2, and note that in order to achieve the air flow shown in Fig. 2 and direct air through the device, each joint 209 includes an inlet where air is introduced and an outlet where air exits the joint, and each cavity has an opening inlet for conveying air into the chamber; further note that by modification with Bell, the interior of each cavity is coated with reflective material, and thus by virtue of the airflow shown, the inlet and outlet of each joint 209, and the reflective material, air is drawn to the second spheroid cavity from the first UV reflective boundary by the air inlet and air is drawn to the second air pipe outlet from the first UV reflective boundary); and
providing an air intake (note opening of cavities 102 following joint 209 in Fig. 2) in the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) to draw air from a portion of the second UV reflective boundary adjacent to the air intake in the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (Catalan: paragraph 100, lines 1-7; see Fig. 2, and note that in order to achieve the air flow shown in Fig. 2 and direct air through the device, each joint 209 includes an inlet where air is introduced and an outlet where air exits the joint, and each cavity has an opening inlet for conveying air into the chamber; further note that by modification with Bell, the interior of each cavity is coated with reflective material, and thus by virtue of the airflow shown, the inlet and outlet of each joint 209, and the reflective material, air is drawn to the second spheroid cavity from the first UV reflective boundary by the air inlet and air is drawn to the second air pipe outlet from the first UV reflective boundary), wherein air passing through the GEM passes out the air outlet of the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) through the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) to the air intake in the first spheroid cavity (see top, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) and then out the air outlet in the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) and through the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) to the air intake in the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) before passing out the second spheroid cavity (see top, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (see the arrows sowing the direction of airflow in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the method of claim 19, as discussed above.
Catalan further discloses creating a third spheroid cavity (see middle, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1), the third spheroid cavity (see middle, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) allows air to be passed therethrough (paragraph 100, lines 1-7; Fig. 2);
creating a fourth spheroid cavity (see middle, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-3; Fig. 1); and
coupling the third spheroid cavity (see middle, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) to the s fourth spheroid cavity (see middle, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) such that air passing into the third spheroid cavity (see middle, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) passes through the third spheroid cavity (see middle, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) and then through the fourth spheroid cavity (see middle, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 100, lines 1-7; see Fig. 2 for airflow path), wherein the GEM is configured to disinfect air exhaled to the third spheroid cavity (see middle, right spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) and the fourth spheroid cavity (see middle, left spherical UV-C bombardment chamber 102 in Fig. 1) (paragraph 90, lines 1-7; Fig. 1)
Catalan fails to discloses wherein the third spheroid cavity has a third ultraviolet (UV) reflective boundary substantially surrounding the third spheroid cavity, and wherein the fourth spheroid cavity has a fourth UV reflective spheroid boundary substantially surrounding the second spheroid cavity.
However, Bell teaches a face mask with flow paths and/or chambers for disinfecting air via UV light (abstract, lines 1-4; paragraph 39, lines 1-8; Fig. 1), wherein the flow pathways and/or chambers are coated with UV reflective material in order to increase the disinfecting power of the device (paragraph 39, lines 1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coated the third and fourth spheroid cavities of the device of Catalan with reflective material, as taught by Bell, to derive third and fourth spheroid cavities with UV reflective spheroid boundaries surrounding the third and fourth spheroid cavities, in order to increase the disinfecting power of the device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catalan (US 2021/0330850) in view of Bell (US 2021/0330851), as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Almeida (US 2021/0275714).
Regarding claim 4, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 3, as discussed above.
Presently modified Catalan fails to disclose wherein the GEM is configured to be worn by a user and to convey UV disinfected air to the user.
However, Almeida teaches a UV sterilizing device (abstract, lines 1-12), and further teaches that the sterilization device is useful in either of ventilators or portable, wearable masks (paragraph 43, lines 1-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of modified Catalan for use in a wearable, portable GEM device for providing disinfected air, given that Almeida teaches that UV sterilization devices can reasonably be employed in ventilation devices (as shown in Catalan’s Fig. 5), or in devices configured to be worn by a user.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catalan (US 2021/0330850) in view of Bell (US 2021/0330851), as applied to claim 11 above in further view of Hunter (US 2009/0004047).
Regarding claim 13, Catalan in view of Bell disclose the GEM of claim 11, as discussed above.
Presently modified Catalan fails to disclose wherein the GEM is configured to convey disinfected air to at least one of a building enclosure or a transportation vehicle.
However, Hunter teaches a UV sterilizing device (abstract, lines 1-10), wherein the device is configured for use in each of a portable, worn breathing device (see Fig. 5, paragraph 78, lines 1-7) or in use within either a building enclosure or a transportation vehicle to provide disinfected air (Figs. 37-44, paragraph 113, lines 1-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of modified Catalan for use in either a building enclosure or a transportation vehicle for providing disinfected air, given that Hunter teaches that UV sterilization devices can reasonably be employed in ventilation devices or in the air ducts of buildings and modes of transportation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pisharodi (US 11,511,013) is cited for its ventilator for destroying COVID-19 virus using UV light (see abstract, and Col. 2, lines 61-66).
/PAIGE KATHLEEN BUGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785