DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anming (CN 105217166) (see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, Anming discloses a device (figure 1) for dispensing a fluid product, comprising
a reservoir (item 13, figure 1) containing the fluid product; and
a metering valve (valve body, figure 1) comprising a valve body containing a metering chamber,
a valve shut-off element (item 5, figure 1) sliding axially in said valve body between a rest position and a dispensing position, in order to dispense the contents of said metering chamber,
said valve shut-off element being urged towards its rest position by a valve spring (item 51, figure 1),
said fluid product comprising a liquid formulation made up of one or more active principle in suspension (paragraph [0016]),
said reservoir containing a follower-piston (item 4, figure 1) which separates said reservoir between an upper reservoir part connected to said metering valve and a lower reservoir part isolated from said metering valve by said follower-piston,
wherein said reservoir contains a piston spring (item 6, figure 1) which axially urges said follower-piston towards said metering valve, said follower-piston being adapted for axially sliding in said reservoir in a sealed manner after each actuation, in order to compensate for the volume of each dose dispensed, said follower piston being pushed axially downwards by said fluid product when it is filled in said reservoir, such that said follower-piston compresses said piston spring and the air arranged in said reservoir lower part until the pressures are balanced between said upper part of the reservoir containing said fluid product in liquid form and said lower part of the reservoir containing the air and said compressed piston spring (paragraphs [0016], [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Anming discloses that after each actuation, said piston spring pushes said follower piston axially upwards to compensate for the decrease in volume generated by the dispensing of a dose of fluid product, without substantial modification of the pressure in said upper part of the reservoir, such that said fluid product always remains in liquid form (paragraphs [0022-0023]).
Regarding claim 9, Anming discloses that said piston spring exerts a pressure adapted to compensate for each decrease in volume after each actuation, but without exerting a pressure on said follower piston that is liable to hinder the filling of said reservoir with said fluid product (paragraphs [0022-0023]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the structure of Anming is capable of holding any liquid product with propellant dissolved therein and thus teaches the limitations of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anming in view of Dann et al. (“Dann” hereinafter) (US PG PUB 2015/0232260).
Regarding claims 10-11, Anming teaches the invention as discussed in detail above but does not explicitly teach that a propellant comprises HFA gas, such as HFA 134a and/or HFA 227 and/or HFA-152a and/or HFO1234ze.
Dann teaches a spray delivery device that contains a spray composition comprising a propellant, a carrier fluid and other particles (paragraph [0007]), wherein the propellant is mixed in the composition and can comprise an HFA based gas or an HFO based gas or mixtures thereof (paragraphs [0034], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the spray composition mixture of Dann in the device of Anming because it is capable of spraying such liquid compositions through its delivery device. Use of propellants and other gases for dispensing aerosolized liquids is old and well-known in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would choose any such propellants based on the needs of the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/28/2025 regarding the rejections of claims 7-11 under Anming and Dann have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Anming does not teach a follower piston that is arranged between a pressurized propellant and a compressed spring during filling and the follower piston of Anming is primarily aimed at providing spraying pressure to the solution as opposed to a propellant used by the current application. Applicant asserted that because of these reasons, Anming does not anticipate claim 7.
Examiner disagrees and would like to point out that claim 7 does not explicitly teach any propellant that is provided between the follower piston and the compressed spring. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., propellant in the reservoir) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant also asserted that Anming’s follower piston does not provide a pressure equilibrium between the reservoir space and the follower piston space. This is not found to be persuasive as paragraph [0023] of Anming’s translation clearly teaches that the reservoir cavity is filled against the pressure of the piston and the compression spring and the compression spring moves up to pressurize the liquid in the reservoir chamber. Thus, the piston and the compression spring move up and down for pressure equalization purposes. Therefore, Anming anticipates claim 7 because it teaches each and every limitation as claimed. Claims 8-11 also remain rejected under Anming and Dann as discussed in detail above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Vishal Pancholi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754