DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 05/12/2023. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/17/2023 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 05/12/2023 are accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biswas et al (US 20210159597), hereinafter Biswas.
Regarding claim 1,
Biswas discloses an antenna (an antenna ANT, Fig 5) for wireless communications, comprising:
a substantially spherical Luneburg lens (a Luneburg lens 7, Fig 5); and
signal conveyors (an array of antenna feeds 8, Fig 5) using radio frequency signals (a beam switching circuitry 9, Fig 5) passing though the Luneburg lens.
Biswas does not explicitly teach the array of antenna feeds 8 configured to communicate with corresponding orbiting antennas using radio frequency signals passing though the Luneburg lens.
However, Biswas teaches a lens antenna for terrestrial wireless, satellite, and radar applications (paragraph [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an array of antenna feeds being configured to communicate with corresponding orbiting antennas using radio frequency signals passing through a Luneburg lens in Biswas, in order to provide a low-cost, wide-angle, multi-beam, multi-frequency beamforming lens antenna.
[AltContent: textbox (Biswas (US 20210159597))]
Regarding claim 2,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Biswas teaches the signal conveyors are aligned with the Luneburg lens (Fig 5).
Biswas does not explicitly teach the signal conveyors communicate the radio frequency signals to one or more satellites.
However, Biswas teaches a lens antenna for terrestrial wireless, satellite, and radar applications (paragraph [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use signal conveyors being aligned with a Luneburg lens to communicate radio frequency signals to one or more satellites in Biswas as modified, in order to provide a low-cost, wide-angle, multi-beam, multi-frequency beamforming lens antenna.
Regarding claim 3,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Biswas does not explicitly teach the one or more satellites are low earth orbit satellites.
However, Biswas teaches a lens antenna for terrestrial wireless, satellite, and radar applications (paragraph [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more satellites being low earth orbit satellites in Biswas as modified, in order to provide a low-cost, wide-angle, multi-beam, multi-frequency beamforming lens antenna.
Regarding claim 4,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Biswas teaches the signal conveyors are printed on a substrate (Fig 8B).
Regarding claim 5,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 4.
Biswas teaches the substrate conforms to the spherical shape of the Luneburg lens (Fig 14).
Regarding claim 6,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 4.
Biswas teaches the signal conveyors are printed on a front side of the substrate and a back side of the substrate is a ground plane (Fig 9A).
Regarding claim 7,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 4.
Biswas teaches the signal conveyors are is a miniaturized feed network of patch antennas printed on the substrate (Fig 6).
Regarding claim 9,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Biswas does not explicitly teach a diameter of the Luneburg lens is twelve inches.
However, Biswas provides an estimate for the gain and the number of feeds needed for different size lenses (paragraph [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a diameter of a Luneburg lens being twelve inches in Biswas as modified, in order to provide a low-cost, wide-angle, multi-beam, multi-frequency beamforming lens antenna.
Regarding claim 10,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Biswas does not explicitly teach the signal conveyors are aligned with the Luneburg lens to communicate the radio frequency signals skyward for 120 degrees by 45 degrees of low earth orbit coverage.
However, Biswas teaches a lens antenna for terrestrial wireless, satellite, and radar applications (paragraph [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use signal conveyors being aligned with a Luneburg lens to communicate radio frequency signals skyward for 120 degrees by 45 degrees of low earth orbit coverage in Biswas as modified, in order to provide a low-cost, wide-angle, multi-beam, multi-frequency beamforming lens antenna.
Regarding claim 11,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Biswas does not explicitly teach the radio frequency signals are communicated in a range between 2-20 GHz at 17-27 dBi.
However, Biswas shows measured element gain across a broadband range of frequencies (Fig 10B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use radio frequency signals being communicated in a range between 2-20 GHz at 17-27 dBi in Biswas as modified, in order to provide a low-cost, wide-angle, multi-beam, multi-frequency beamforming lens antenna.
Regarding claim 12,
Biswas disclose communications system, comprising:
one or more antennas (an antenna ANT, Fig 5), wherein at least one of the one or more antennas includes:
a Luneburg lens (a Luneburg lens 7, Fig 5); and
signal conveyors (an array of antenna feeds 8, Fig 5), wherein a first group of the signal conveyors using radio frequency signals (radio frequency signals of a beam switching circuitry 9, Fig 5) passing though the Luneburg lens.
Biswas does not explicitly teach the array of antenna feeds 8 coupled to a radio equipment via communications circuitry configured to communicate with corresponding orbiting antennas using radio frequency signals passing though the Luneburg lens.
However, Biswas teaches a lens antenna for terrestrial wireless, satellite, and radar applications (paragraph [0007]), and a multitude of signals to be transmitted and received simultaneously in multiple directions in multiple frequency bands (paragraph [0096]). This teaching is result effect in order to connect a single antenna to multiple networks operating at different frequencies (paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an array of antenna feeds coupled to a radio equipment via communications circuitry configured to communicate with corresponding orbiting antennas using radio frequency signals passing through a Luneburg lens in Biswas, in order to provide a low-cost, wide-angle, multi-beam, multi-frequency beamforming lens antenna.
Regarding claim 13,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Biswas does not explicitly teach the radio equipment and the one or more antennas are associated with a mobile installation.
However, Biswas teaches a single antenna to operate on a multitude of networks such as cellular, microwave, terrestrial and satellite networks (paragraph [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a radio equipment and one or more antennas being associated with a mobile installation in Biswas as modified, in order to provide a low-cost, wide-angle, multi-beam, multi-frequency beamforming lens antenna.
Regarding claim 14,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Biswas teaches the signal conveyors are aligned with the Luneburg lens (Fig 5).
Biswas does not explicitly teach the signal conveyors communicate the radio frequency signals to one or more satellites.
However, Biswas teaches a lens antenna for terrestrial wireless, satellite, and radar applications (paragraph [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use signal conveyors being aligned with a Luneburg lens to communicate radio frequency signals to one or more satellites in Biswas as modified, in order to provide a low-cost, wide-angle, multi-beam, multi-frequency beamforming lens antenna.
Regarding claim 15,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 14.
Biswas does not explicitly teach the one or more satellites are low earth orbit satellites.
However, Biswas teaches a lens antenna for terrestrial wireless, satellite, and radar applications (paragraph [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more satellites being low earth orbit satellites in Biswas as modified, in order to provide a low-cost, wide-angle, multi-beam, multi-frequency beamforming lens antenna.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biswas et al (US 20210159597), hereinafter Biswas, in view of Howell et al (US 20060017637), hereinafter Howell.
Regarding claim 8,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Biswas does not teach the signal conveyors are first signal conveyors and the antenna further comprises second signal conveyors configured to communicate with corresponding terrestrial antennas using additionally radio frequency signals passing through the Luneburg lens.
However, Howell teaches an antenna (a multi-beam antenna system 500, Fig 5) comprises a lens (a hemispherical lens 502, Fig 5) and several signal conveyors (several waveguides 510, 520 and 515 operating at different frequencies, Fig 5; paragraph [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use signal conveyors being a first signal conveyors and a second signal conveyors configured to communicate with corresponding terrestrial antennas using additionally radio frequency signals passing through the Luneburg lens in Biswas as modified, as taught by Howell, in order to provide an inexpensive and low-cost antenna feed for a beam scanning for a spherical dielectric lens antenna.
[AltContent: textbox (Howell (US 20060017637))]
Regarding claim 16,
Biswas as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Biswas does not teach a second group of the signal conveyors are aligned with the Luneburg lens for terrestrial communication using other radio frequency signals passing through the Luneburg lens.
However, Howell teaches an antenna (a multi-beam antenna system 500, Fig 5) comprises a lens (a hemispherical lens 502, Fig 5) and several signal conveyors (several waveguides 510, 520 and 515 operating at different frequencies, Fig 5; paragraph [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second group of signal conveyors being aligned with a Luneburg lens for terrestrial communication using other radio frequency signals passing through the Luneburg lens in Biswas as modified, as taught by Howell, in order to provide an inexpensive and low-cost antenna feed for a beam scanning for a spherical dielectric lens antenna.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linehan (US 20190037416), hereinafter Linehan.
Regarding claim 17,
Linehan discloses a method of communicating, comprising:
communicating data between a first communication device (a device for cellular communication systems; paragraph [0137]) and a first antenna (an antenna ANT1 of a wide scan antenna 1100, Fig 11A), wherein the first antenna includes a substantially spherical Luneburg lens (a spherical RF lens 11401, Fig 11A) and first signal conveyors (radiating elements 1130-11, 1130-21 and 1130-31, Fig 11A) configured to communicate the data using radio frequency signals passing through the Luneburg lens; and
communicating the data between a second antenna (an antenna ANT2 of the wide scan antenna 1100, Fig 11A) and a second communication device (a wireless communication device; paragraph [0002]), wherein the second antenna includes a second substantially spherical Luneburg lens (a spherical RF lens 11402, Fig 11A) and second signal conveyors (radiating elements 1130-12, 1130-22 and 1130-32, Fig 11A) configured to communicate the data using radio frequency signals passing through the second Luneburg lens.
Linehan does not explicitly teach the second communication device is an orbiting antenna.
However, Linehan teaches a wide variety of wireless communications systems are in use today including, for example, satellite communications systems, radar systems, microwave communications systems, aviation communication systems and cellular communications systems. All of these systems use antennas to transmit and receive the wireless signals (paragraph [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second communication device being an orbiting antenna in Linehan, in order to provide high gain antenna beams that have good beam characteristics that can be steered over a wide coverage area.
[AltContent: textbox (1130-32)][AltContent: textbox (1130-22)][AltContent: textbox (1130-12)][AltContent: textbox (1130-21)][AltContent: textbox (1130-11)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1130-31)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (11402)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (11401)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (ANT2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (ANT1)][AltContent: textbox (Linehan (US 20190037416))]
Regarding claim 18,
Linehan as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 17.
Linehan does not explicitly teach the first communication device is a mobile computing device.
However, Linehan teaches the wide-scan antennas disclosed herein may be useful in a wide variety of different applications including, for example, base station antennas for cellular communication systems, radar systems, aviation applications, wireless backhaul, fixed wireless access and the like (paragraph [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first communication device being a mobile computing device in Linehan as modified, in order to provide high gain antenna beams that have good beam characteristics that can be steered over a wide coverage area.
Regarding claim 19,
Linehan as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 17.
Linehan does not explicitly teach the orbiting antenna is a low earth orbit satellite.
However, it’s well known in the art that an orbiting antenna may be a low earth orbit satellite.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an orbiting antenna being a low earth orbit satellite in Linehan as modified, in order to provide high gain antenna beams that have good beam characteristics that can be steered over a wide coverage area.
Regarding claim 20,
Linehan as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 17.
Linehan teaches the first antenna and the second antenna are the same antenna (Fig 11A).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845