DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on January 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 12, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simmers (US 9782574).
Regarding claim 1, Simmers discloses a skin grafting system comprising: a plurality of hollow microneedles (108, Figure 3, C:20, L:2-4) actuatable between a retracted position (figure 4) and an extended position (Figure 3); a rigid member coupled to the plurality of hollow microneedles (carrier 124, Figures 2, 4, 5, C:7, L:16-24); and a latch assembly (locking mechanism 145, Figures 4, 5) comprising at least one latch (144, C:15, L:16-20) coupled to the latch assembly, wherein the at least one latch is configured to inhibit movement of the rigid member when the plurality of hollow microneedles are in the extended position (C:15, L:30-65, P1, figure 3, C:14, L:40-45).
Regarding claim 2, Simmers discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the at least one latch is movable during actuation of the plurality of hollow microneedles and is one of pivotally coupled or slidably coupled to the latch assembly (Figures 4, 5) .
Regarding claim 3, Simmers discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the latch assembly further comprises a spring (142) disposed between a pair of latches (figure 5, spring is in the middle of the latches from left to right).
Regarding claim 4, Simmers discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 3, wherein the latch assembly further comprises a body (143) centrally disposed between the pair of latches, and wherein the latches corresponding to the pair of latches are horizontally opposed about the body (figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Simmers discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 4, wherein the latches are configured to slide horizontally between a latched position and an unlatched position (C:15, L:35-40, latches are rotated to align with apertures which comprises a horizontal component of movement), the latched position corresponding to the plurality of hollow microneedles being in the extended position (C:15, L:30-65, P1, figure 3, C:14, L:40-45).
Regarding claim 7, Simmers discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 4, further comprising a guide plate (121) configured to engage with a guide profile (aperture 123) formed into the pair of latches such that the latches slide horizontally between a latched position and an unlatched position (latches are rotated to align with apertures which comprises a horizontal movement; C:15, L:35-40).
Regarding claim 8, Simmers discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 7, further comprising a shaft (143) coupled to the guide plate, wherein the shaft is slidably coupled to the body via a shaft aperture (123) within the body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmers (US 9782574) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Poon et al (US 20160271380)
Regarding claim 6, Simmers discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 4, wherein the spring is arranged between the pair of latches and configured to bias the latches to a latched position (figures 1, 4, 5) and that the spring can be a leaf spring, coiled spring, hinged spring (C:12, L:24-34), but not specifically a double torsion spring. However, Poon teaches it was known in the art for microneedle applicators having biasing elements for advancing and retracting elements within the device to utilize a double torsion spring as an art-recognized equivalent biasing element for leaf springs and coil springs at the time of the invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the device of Simmers in order to alternatively use a double torsion spring, as an art-recognized equivalent biasing mechanism at the time of the invention taught by Poon, since it has been held that mere substitution of art-recognized equivalents involves routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Simmers discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 8, further comprising a coil spring (142, C:12, L:24-34) configured to bias the guide plate upwards such that the latches remain in the latched position (C:15, L:30-65, P1, figure 3, C:14, L:40-45), but does not specifically disclose the spring is disposed within the shaft. However, Poon teaches it was known in the art at the time of the invention to make a biasing element for biasing a plunger for advancing and retracting a microneedle array to abut the internal wall of a housing (paragraph 0115) in order for the plunger and the microneedle array holder to move relative to the housing together (paragraph 0115). Therefore, it would have been within the level of one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the device of Simmers such that the spring alternatively disposed within a shaft of the actuator, as taught as a known configuration for microneedle advancing and retracting mechanisms at the time of the invention by Poon, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art and each of the elements merely perform the same function as they did separately.
Conclusion
/ANH T DANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771