DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed 02/17/2026.
Claim(s) 1-5 have been considered.
- Claim(s) 1-5 are pending.
- Claim(s) 1-2, and 4-5 has/have been amended.
- No claim(s) has/have been canceled.
- No claim(s) has/have been newly added.
- Claim(s) 1-5 have been rejected as described below.
- This action is MADE FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
Examiner acknowledges the entry of following Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) document(s) from applicant:
The information disclosure statement(s) filed 12/18/2025 has/have been considered by examiner.
Note, one of the references had not been considered from IDS filed 03/26/2024 due to lack of quality and clarity in readability of the texts. The above-mentioned IDS filed 12/18/2025 has resolved this issue.
Specification
The amendment to the disclosure (updated title) filed 02/17/2026 is acknowledged and accepted by the examiner for this stage of prosecution.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-2, and 5 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: In L4-5, “… information representing each first aid which is response procedures for each alarm associated with each piece of the alarm master information, …” should be “… information representing each first aid which is a response procedure for each alarm associated with each piece of the alarm master information, …”.
Claim 2: In L5-6, “the acquiring further acquires, from the at least one memory, and presents …” should be “the processor further acquires, from the at least one memory, and presents …”.
Claim 5: In L9-10, “… acquiring, from the at least one memory, and presenting the first aid …” should be “… acquire, from the at least one memory, and present the first aid …”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ramadoss (US 20160328954 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ramadoss teaches:
A first aid presentation system comprising: (abstract, Fig. 2-6, etc.)
at least one memory (Fig. 2 – Alarm activation timeline database 212. 0030 teaches the storage of an activation alarm timeline in memory. 0082-83 also teach examples of memory for storage.) that stores one piece or a plurality of pieces of alarm master information associated with each alarm issued (Fig. 6 and 0070 teach storing a particular pattern of alarms (e.g., an alarm flood) with corresponding control actions. 0074 teaches the example alarm presentation interface 300 of FIG. 3 with another example alarm activation timeline 602 retrieved/recalled from a database such as 212. 0064-65 teach the interface 300 includes an alarm list pane 326 to provide relevant information associated with the active alarms represented in the active alarm timeline 302 in a typical alarm list format (and operator/user to access historical process control data (e.g., alarm data and/or control action data) to generate and display an alarm activation timeline)). For example, as shown in FIG. 3, all of the active alarm icons 304 are associated with alarms from an Overhead Receiver Unit 332 of the process control system.) from one or a plurality of monitoring targets, (Fig. 1 and 0039 teach the alarm data is stored in the historical data archive 206 for later retrieval and/or analysis, where the communicatively coupled (with the controller) monitoring targets are the field devices 110, 112, 114, 120, 122 and other components.) information representing each first aid which is response procedures for each alarm associated with each piece of the alarm master information, (0069-70 teach storing a particular pattern of alarms (e.g., an alarm flood) with corresponding control actions. 0025 teaches in some examples, the operator and/or other plant personnel may add annotations, remarks, or comments to the alarm activation timeline further explaining the nature of the saved alarm pattern, the particular actions taken and/or the reasoning behind such actions, insights into potential alternative response strategies, and so forth. Here, the insights into potential alternative response strategies is considered to be part of a response procedure, for example. 0044, 0070, 0106, etc. teach further details regarding operator response strategies and/or the procedure of providing guidance to other operators (e.g., in training and/or taking over in a subsequent shift) regarding what alarm patterns have occurred.) and information representing a time series relationship between the respective pieces of alarm master information; (Fig. 3-4, and fig. 6 along with 0039 teach, further, in some examples, the historical data archive 206 also stores operator control data indicative of control actions taken by operators and/or other personnel, which may include, for example, the nature of control actions, the time of such actions, parameters affected by such actions, etc. 0044 teaches, in some examples, alarm activation timelines include icons representative of control actions taken by the operator during the historical period of time to indicate the temporal relationship of the alarms and the control actions, where for example, the particular historical period of time may correspond to an alarm flood or other pattern of alarms that the operator or other user desires to review.)
and at least one processor, the at least one memory comprising instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to at least: (0031, 0082-83 teach the methods may be implemented using machine readable instructions that comprise a program for execution by a processor where the instructions are stored in a memory.)
acquire, from the at least one memory, and present the first aid which is the response procedure to a designated alarm associated with the alarm master information corresponding to a designated alarm and information relating to another piece of the alarm master information having the relationship with the alarm master information. (Fig. 4, fig. 6 and 0075-76 teach a user can quickly view each timeline to visually compare the patterns of alarms represented in each. In some examples, when a stored alarm activation timeline 608 is retrieved from the alarm activation timeline database 212, the data in the alarm list pane 326 and the control actions pane 328 (collapsed in FIG. 6) is updated to include data corresponding with the selected alarm activation timeline. Additionally or alternatively, in some examples, more than one timeline may be rendered simultaneously to enable a side-by-side comparison of the patterns of alarms in each timeline. For the response procedure, as above, see 0044, 0070, 0106, etc. teach further details regarding operator response strategies and/or the procedure of providing guidance to other operators (e.g., in training and/or taking over in a subsequent shift) regarding what alarm patterns have occurred.)
Regarding claim 2, Ramadoss teaches all the elements of claim 1.
Ramadoss explicitly teaches:
wherein the at least one memory further stores work history information relating to a work history for the monitoring target and information associating the work history information with one piece or a plurality of pieces of the alarm master information, (Among many applicable examples, see 0026 teaches the operator may use the stored alarm activation timeline (and any associated annotations or remarks) as a guide or reference in responding to the pattern of alarms the operator is currently addressing. 0039 teaches, in some examples, the historical data archive 206 also stores operator control data indicative of control actions taken by operators and/or other personnel (besides storing the alarm data).) and the processor further acquires, from the at least one memory, and presents, in a case where the alarm master information corresponding to the designated alarm is associated with the work history information, information relating to another one piece or a plurality of other pieces of the alarm master information associated with the work history information. (See claim objection above; Besides above, see 0074-75 teach comparison (done by operator/user) of stored alarm activation timeline(s) with current activation timeline for matching patterns in each of the timelines. Note, the comparison can be based on various factors including the control actions and/or the timing of the control actions in addition to the alarms activated during each timeline. For presentation, see 0074 teaches, “FIG. 6 illustrates the example alarm presentation interface 300 of FIG. 3 with another example alarm activation timeline 602 retrieved from a database (e.g., the alarm activation timeline database 212 of FIG. 2).”.)
Regarding claim 4, Ramadoss teaches:
A first aid presentation method comprising: (abstract, Fig. 2-6, etc.)
storing in at least one memory (Fig. 2 – Alarm activation timeline database 212. 0030 teaches the storage of an activation alarm timeline in memory. 0082-83 also teach examples of memory for storage.) one piece or a plurality of pieces of alarm master information associated with each alarm issued (Fig. 6 and 0070 teach storing a particular pattern of alarms (e.g., an alarm flood) with corresponding control actions. 0074 teaches the example alarm presentation interface 300 of FIG. 3 with another example alarm activation timeline 602 retrieved/recalled from a database such as 212. 0064-65 teach the interface 300 includes an alarm list pane 326 to provide relevant information associated with the active alarms represented in the active alarm timeline 302 in a typical alarm list format (and operator/user to access historical process control data (e.g., alarm data and/or control action data) to generate and display an alarm activation timeline)). For example, as shown in FIG. 3, all of the active alarm icons 304 are associated with alarms from an Overhead Receiver Unit 332 of the process control system.) from one or a plurality of monitoring targets, (Fig. 1 and 0039 teach the alarm data is stored in the historical data archive 206 for later retrieval and/or analysis, where the communicatively coupled (with the controller) monitoring targets are the field devices 110, 112, 114, 120, 122 and other components.) information representing each first aid which is response procedures for each alarm associated with each piece of the alarm master information, (0069-70 teach storing a particular pattern of alarms (e.g., an alarm flood) with corresponding control actions. 0025 teaches in some examples, the operator and/or other plant personnel may add annotations, remarks, or comments to the alarm activation timeline further explaining the nature of the saved alarm pattern, the particular actions taken and/or the reasoning behind such actions, insights into potential alternative response strategies, and so forth. Here, the insights into potential alternative response strategies is considered to be part of a response procedure, for example. 0044, 0070, 0106, etc. teach further details regarding operator response strategies and/or the procedure of providing guidance to other operators (e.g., in training and/or taking over in a subsequent shift) regarding what alarm patterns have occurred.) and information representing a time series relationship between the respective pieces of alarm master information; (Fig. 3-4, and fig. 6 along with 0039 teach, further, in some examples, the historical data archive 206 also stores operator control data indicative of control actions taken by operators and/or other personnel, which may include, for example, the nature of control actions, the time of such actions, parameters affected by such actions, etc. 0044 teaches, in some examples, alarm activation timelines include icons representative of control actions taken by the operator during the historical period of time to indicate the temporal relationship of the alarms and the control actions, where for example, the particular historical period of time may correspond to an alarm flood or other pattern of alarms that the operator or other user desires to review.) and acquiring, from the at least one memory, and presenting the first aid which is response procedures for each alarm associated with the alarm master information corresponding to a designated alarm and information relating to another piece of the alarm master information having the relationship with the alarm master information. (Fig. 4, fig. 6 and 0075-76 teach a user can quickly view each timeline to visually compare the patterns of alarms represented in each. In some examples, when a stored alarm activation timeline 608 is retrieved from the alarm activation timeline database 212, the data in the alarm list pane 326 and the control actions pane 328 (collapsed in FIG. 6) is updated to include data corresponding with the selected alarm activation timeline. Additionally or alternatively, in some examples, more than one timeline may be rendered simultaneously to enable a side-by-side comparison of the patterns of alarms in each timeline. For the response procedure, as above, see 0044, 0070, 0106, etc. teach further details regarding operator response strategies and/or the procedure of providing guidance to other operators (e.g., in training and/or taking over in a subsequent shift) regarding what alarm patterns have occurred.)
Regarding claim 5, Ramadoss teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to: (abstract, 0009, Fig. 2-6, etc.)
execute storing in at least one memory (Fig. 2 – Alarm activation timeline database 212. 0030 teaches the storage of an activation alarm timeline in memory. 0082-83 also teach examples of memory for storage.) one piece or a plurality of pieces of alarm master information associated with each alarm issued (Fig. 6 and 0070 teach storing a particular pattern of alarms (e.g., an alarm flood) with corresponding control actions. 0074 teaches the example alarm presentation interface 300 of FIG. 3 with another example alarm activation timeline 602 retrieved/recalled from a database such as 212. 0064-65 teach the interface 300 includes an alarm list pane 326 to provide relevant information associated with the active alarms represented in the active alarm timeline 302 in a typical alarm list format (and operator/user to access historical process control data (e.g., alarm data and/or control action data) to generate and display an alarm activation timeline)). For example, as shown in FIG. 3, all of the active alarm icons 304 are associated with alarms from an Overhead Receiver Unit 332 of the process control system.) from one or a plurality of monitoring targets, (Fig. 1 and 0039 teach the alarm data is stored in the historical data archive 206 for later retrieval and/or analysis, where the communicatively coupled (with the controller) monitoring targets are the field devices 110, 112, 114, 120, 122 and other components.) information representing each first aid which is response procedures for each alarm associated with each piece of the alarm master information, (0069-70 teach storing a particular pattern of alarms (e.g., an alarm flood) with corresponding control actions. 0025 teaches in some examples, the operator and/or other plant personnel may add annotations, remarks, or comments to the alarm activation timeline further explaining the nature of the saved alarm pattern, the particular actions taken and/or the reasoning behind such actions, insights into potential alternative response strategies, and so forth. Here, the insights into potential alternative response strategies is considered to be part of a response procedure, for example. 0044, 0070, 0106, etc. teach further details regarding operator response strategies and/or the procedure of providing guidance to other operators (e.g., in training and/or taking over in a subsequent shift) regarding what alarm patterns have occurred.) and information representing a time series relationship between the respective pieces of alarm master information (Fig. 3-4, and fig. 6 along with 0039 teach, further, in some examples, the historical data archive 206 also stores operator control data indicative of control actions taken by operators and/or other personnel, which may include, for example, the nature of control actions, the time of such actions, parameters affected by such actions, etc. 0044 teaches, in some examples, alarm activation timelines include icons representative of control actions taken by the operator during the historical period of time to indicate the temporal relationship of the alarms and the control actions, where for example, the particular historical period of time may correspond to an alarm flood or other pattern of alarms that the operator or other user desires to review.) acquire, from the at least one memory, and present the first aid associated with the alarm master information corresponding to a designated alarm and information relating to another piece of the alarm master information having the relationship with the alarm master information. (See claim objections above; Fig. 4, fig. 6 and 0075-76 teach a user can quickly view each timeline to visually compare the patterns of alarms represented in each. In some examples, when a stored alarm activation timeline 608 is retrieved from the alarm activation timeline database 212, the data in the alarm list pane 326 and the control actions pane 328 (collapsed in FIG. 6) is updated to include data corresponding with the selected alarm activation timeline. Additionally or alternatively, in some examples, more than one timeline may be rendered simultaneously to enable a side-by-side comparison of the patterns of alarms in each timeline. For the response procedure, as above, see 0044, 0070, 0106, etc. teach further details regarding operator response strategies and/or the procedure of providing guidance to other operators (e.g., in training and/or taking over in a subsequent shift) regarding what alarm patterns have occurred.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramadoss (US 20160328954 A1) in view of Suzuki (US 20110142103 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ramadoss teaches all the elements of claim 2.
While Ramadoss implicitly teaches below by teaching the deletion of the information from the active timeline/display in a case where a predetermined time has elapsed (Among many applicable examples, see 0043 teaches, in some examples, alarm activation timelines include icons representative of fleeting alarms that are triggered and then cleared soon thereafter without operator action (e.g., a parameter value momentarily exceeds a set point but returns to a normal range without operator intervention). … In some examples, one or more types of alarms (e.g., chattering alarms, fleeting alarms, suppressed or shelved alarms, auto-acknowledged alarms, etc.) may be filtered or removed from a rendering of an alarm activation timeline. Note, here, exemplary auto-acknowledged alarms (i.e., work history being no operator control action) are removed/deleted. 0052, 0104 etc. also teach the historical data archive/database being included in mass storage devices such as various drives.),
Ramadoss does not explicitly disclose the deletion to be of the history/stored information (as in claim 1 and 2) in the limitation below.
In other words, Ramadoss does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the information associating the work history information with the one piece or a plurality of pieces of the alarm master information is deleted in a case where a predetermined time has elapsed.
Suzuki explicitly teaches:
wherein the information associating the work history information with the one piece or a plurality of pieces of the alarm master information is deleted in a case where a predetermined time has elapsed. (Fig. 1, 0096-97 teach the alarm information stored in the alarm storage unit 86 by the packet classification unit 85 may be cleared after a certain time period.)
Accordingly, as Ramadoss and Suzuki are directed to abnormality detection, communications, and control technology, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically added the feature of utilizing the well-known technology of clearing stored alarm information after a certain time period, as taught by Suzuki to the monitoring and control system with storage devices storing alarm data such as the historical data archive/database as taught by Ramadoss. The combination would have been motivated in order to take advantage of the well-known feature of monitoring and control of alarm/alert information in a way that ensures that the reliability of communication quality is improved, as evident in Suzuki, 0097, 0158, etc.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009,158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Further, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert, denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Response to arguments
Applicant's remarks and arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered. See below for further details.
The amendment to the disclosure (updated title) filed 02/17/2026 is acknowledged and accepted by the examiner for this stage of prosecution, hence the objection to specification has been overcome and removed from above.
Based on the amendment, a new claim objection section has been introduced.
Based on the amendment (aligns with discussion with examiner from the last interview), the claim interpretations and rejections by 35 U.S.C. 112(f), 112(a) and 112(b) have been overcome and thus removed from above.
Based on the amendment (aligns with discussion with examiner from the last interview), the claim rejection by 35 U.S.C. 101 has been overcome and thus removed from above.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejection are fully considered, but have been deemed not to be persuasive for the amended claim 1.
Applicant argues regarding claim 1, as amended, in applicant remarks (especially in page 5-7) regarding the amended claim limitations. The above amendment has changed the overall scope of the claim language and thus has overcome the prior art rejections.
Applicant argues in page 5 that the Ramadoss art fails to teach or suggest amended independent claim 1. In support, applicant mainly argues next in page 6 (towards the middle) that “In contrast, Ramadoss merely discloses mere "control actions" which constitute "a certain process control", instead of the "first aid" (of the present claims) which is response procedures for each alarm.”
[Wingdings font/0xE0] Examiner respectfully disagrees.
[Wingdings font/0xE0] While this argument is for a claimed portion that is a newly added sub-limitation in claim 1 language, the primary art Ramadoss that teaches the information representing first aid already teaches the first aid information to be part of the response procedure for each alarm in the context of the claim language. See added/updated citations from Ramadoss in the above rejection for further details, such as, besides 0069-70 that teach storing a particular pattern of alarms (e.g., an alarm flood) with corresponding control actions, see 0025 teaches in some examples, the operator and/or other plant personnel may add annotations, remarks, or comments to the alarm activation timeline further explaining the nature of the saved alarm pattern, the particular actions taken and/or the reasoning behind such actions, insights into potential alternative response strategies, and so forth. Here, the insights into potential alternative response strategies is considered to be part of a response procedure, for example. Also, 0044, 0070, 0106, etc. teach further details regarding operator response strategies and/or the procedure of providing guidance to other operators (e.g., in training and/or taking over in a subsequent shift) regarding what alarm patterns have occurred.
Without the “first aid” and “response procedure” having further defined within the claim language, Ramadoss art thus teach the amended claim sufficiently.
See MPEP 2145(VI):
- Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Note, additionally, the scope of the overall claim has been changed in order to interpret and apply prior art(s) due to the additional amendments provided especially the newly added claimed portions regarding information representing each first aid being response procedures for each alarm, new grounds of rejection utilizing further citations and updated explanations from the Ramadoss art have been introduced along with maintaining the teachings of Ramadoss for the existing portions of the claim in the above rejection, necessitated by amendment.
Dependent claims’ citations and rejections have been updated accordingly.
Accordingly, regarding independent claim(s) 4-5, the rejection has been updated as well as it includes similar amended language.
Accordingly, claims 1-5 are not patentable over prior art(s).
Suggestions:
In order to move the prosecution forward, examiner recommends applicant to provide further claim amendments with inventive features (with support from specification) that may help overcome the current rejection based on further search and consideration.
Pertinent Art(s)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Duraisingh et al. (US 20190107830 A1) relates to a building management system that includes building equipment operable to affect a physical state or condition of a building, a system manager, and a cloud-based data platform. The system manager is coupled to the building equipment via a system bus and configured to obtain alarm data from the building equipment and generate a timeseries sample including the alarm data. The cloud-based data platform includes a timeseries service configured to receive the timeseries sample from the system manager, extract the alarm data from the timeseries sample, and store the alarm data as a sample of an alarm timeseries. … In some embodiments, the cloud-based data platform includes a cloud application configured to generate a resolution message describing a resolution of the alarm based on at least one of (a) the text string or (b) the enumerated set attribute and the enumerated value attribute.
Okuda et al. (US 20150314840 A1) relates to a ship alarm display device that displays a plurality of sets of alarm information to be easily understood. An alarm information acquiring module acquires the alarm information from apparatuses installed in a ship. A transmission source classification list memory stores transmission source classification lists obtained by associating each apparatus with a transmission source category. An importance list memory stores importance lists obtained by associating the alarm information with a level of importance. A display target specifying module specifies the transmission category and the level of importance as a display target. An information selecting module selects the alarm information corresponding to the specified display target from the plurality of sets of alarm information stored in memory, based on the transmission source classification lists and the importance lists. An alarm information displaying module displays only the selected alarm information in a list, on a display unit. … In the alarm display device described above, a solution displaying module is preferably provided, which displays, when the set of alarm information is specified by predetermined operation of an operator, a solution of the set of alarm information on the display unit. … By displaying the solution of the alarm as above, the operator can be prompted to make a suitable response. Moreover, since the solution is displayed only for the set of alarm information specified by the operator, the space for displaying the solution can be minimized, and the display space for the alarm information list screen can be secured.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARZIA T MONTY whose telephone number is (571)272-5441. The examiner can normally be reached on T-F: 11am -5pm (approximately). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARZIA T MONTY/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117