DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 and 16-17, as well as the species election of SEQ ID NO: 23, in the reply filed on 2/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9, 12, 14, and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/23/2026.
In view of the prior art search, the species election is withdrawn.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/081438 (11/11/2021) which claims priority to EP20207536.2 (11/13/2020) as reflected in the filing receipt issued on 9/19/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 5/12/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
37 CFR 1.84(u)(1) states “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.”.
In the current case, the view numbers for Figures 1-5 are preceded by the word “Figure” instead of the abbreviation “FIG.”. View numbers should be updated to recite the abbreviation “FIG.”. Any changes to the drawings should also be reflected in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding written description, 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and the first paragraph of pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112 require that the "specification shall contain a written description of the invention ...." This requirement is separate and distinct from the enablement requirement. Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1340, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2010). To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention (MPEP § 2163(I)).
MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(i and ii) states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., .759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
In the instant case, claim 1 recites a binding protein for complement factor H (CFH) comprising an amino acid sequence with at least 89.5 % sequence identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 13. There is not sufficient written description support for a protein having a sequence with 89.5% identity and retaining the claimed function of the binding protein. There is no disclosure of which regions of SEQ ID NO: 13 are critical for function and therefore can or cannot be mutated while maintaining protein function. There is written description support for the specific sequences disclosed with 89.5% identity and a binding affinity of less than 1 μM for CFH, i.e. SEQ ID NOs: 7, 9, 10, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 23. However, these sequences are not representative of the entire genus of proteins having sequences that are 89.5% identical to SEQ ID NO: 13, and it is not clear which of the many possible variants would have the claimed activity.
For this reason, claim 1 fails to comply with the written description requirement, as it is not clear that the applicant had possession of the full scope of the invention at the time of filing.
Claims 2-5 and 16-17 are included in the rejection because they depend on a rejected claim and do not clarify the issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Knick et al., US 2019/0177376 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Knick teaches an immunoglobulin (lg) binding protein with a sequence that is 89.7% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 13 (see Knick SEQ ID NO: 55 or 28; sequence alignment in OA appendix).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, the limitations “has a binding affinity of less than 1 µM for CFH” or “has a binding affinity of less than 500 nM for CFH” are functional limitations of the claimed protein. Absent any essential unclaimed features, any protein having the same structure as the protein of claim 1 must be capable of performing the claimed function. The structure of the protein as set forth in claim 1 is an amino acid sequence with at least 89.5% identity to SEQ ID NO: 13. As Knick teaches a protein with this structure (SEQ ID NO: 28 or 55), it is considered to have the binding activity to CFH as claimed.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Knick teaches that the lg binding protein comprises preferably 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6, lg binding domains linked to each other, i.e. a multimer, and that in preferred embodiments, the multimer is a homo-multimer (Knick p. 8 para. 103-105). SEQ ID NO: 28, which is 89.7% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 13, is a homo-multimer (Knick p. 9 para. 106-108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knick in view of Barlow et al., US 2019/0100563 A1.
Knick teaches the binding protein of claim 1 as set forth above. Knick does not teach that the binding protein further comprises at least one non-Ig binding protein or diagnostically active moiety (claims 5, 16, 17).
Regarding claim 5, Barlow teaches recombinant CFH binding proteins, specifically Streptococcus pneumoniae PspC truncation (PspCN) that binds CFH (Barlow p. 1 para. 5). Barlow teaches that PspCN can be fused to non-Ig binding proteins such as an antibody fragment to collagen IV or horseradish peroxidase (Barlow p. 8 para. 132; p. 9 para. 157).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Barlow teaches that the PspCN can comprise fluorescent tags or may be fused with an enzyme (Barlow p. 9 para. 156-157). Barlow teaches that this modified CFH binding protein can be used in a diagnostic method, i.e., comprises a diagnostically active moiety including fluorescent proteins or enzymes (Barlow p. 9 para. 157).
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to modify the binding protein of Knick with a non-Ig binding protein and diagnostically active moiety as taught by Barlow. Both of these references are directed to binding proteins. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that the binding protein of Knick could be modified with additional diagnostic moieties in a similar manner to that of Barlow.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to the binding protein of Knick because the addition of moieties such as fluorescent proteins or enzymes is useful in diagnostic purposes, for example detecting the presence of CFH in a biological sample from a subject, e.g. a sample of blood (Barlow p. 9 para. 157). Thus, it would be considered beneficial to add such a moiety to a protein as taught by Knick to achieve these functions.
A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Barlow successfully teaches adding additional diagnostically active moieties to a CFH binding protein, and therefore a skilled artisan could expect success in doing so with a similar binding protein as taught by Knick.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 16-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, and 6-7 of copending Application No. 18/036,142 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to binding proteins with the same structure.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 2, claim 17 of ‘142 recites a binding protein with an amino acid sequence having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 27 or 34. SEQ ID NO: 27 is 91.4% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 13 and SEQ ID NO: 34 is 90.5% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 13 (see sequence alignment in OA Appendix). Thus, these proteins have the same structure as the instantly claimed protein of SEQ ID NO: 13. Regarding the functional limitations in claims 1 and 2 directed to binding affinity, it is considered that any protein having the same structure (89.5% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 13) is capable of performing this same function.
Regarding instant claims 3-5 and 16-17, the limitations of these dependent claims are recited in claims 1, 3-4, and 6-7 of of copending ‘142.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 appears to be allowable over the prior art. Sequence searches of SEQ ID NOs: 7, 9, 10, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 23 did not reveal any sequences comprising any of these SEQ ID NOs. The closest prior art is Knick et al., US 2019/0177376 A1.
SEQ ID NO: 55 as taught by Knick is 91.4% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 7, 9, 16, and 18; 92.2% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 10; 89.7% identical to SEQ ID NOs: 14, 15, and 17; 90.5% identical to SEQ ID NO: 19; and 89.5% identical to SEQ ID NO: 23 (see sequence alignment in OA appendix). Knick does not teach a sequence that is 100% identical to any of these SEQ ID NOs. There is no prior art directed to a binding protein comprising any of the sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 7, 9, 10, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 23.
Conclusion
Claims 1-5 and 16-17 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/EMILY F EIX/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/JENNIFER M.H. TICHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653