DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 23, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-30 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallentin et al. (US 20220361060 A1) in view of Tseng et al. (US 12368499 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Wallentin et al. teaches a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising: establishing a sidelink connection with a first assistant node (AN) and establishing an access link connection with a first primary node (PN), the first AN and the first PN communicating via a first network interface (Paragraph 58, 60, 63, 91–92, 94, The UE establishes connectivity with a Secondary Node (assistant node) while maintaining connectivity with a Master Node (primary node), and the MN and SN communicate via Xn/SgNB interfaces, thereby teaching simultaneous sidelink-type and access link connections with interconnected nodes); determining an occurrence of a node-change triggering event associated with at least one of the first AN and the first PN (Paragraph 54, 56, 99, 204, The UE determines that a triggering condition (e.g., handover command, conditional event fulfillment, or MN/SN initiated trigger) has occurred that initiates a secondary node change associated with one of the connected nodes); and communicating with at least one of a second AN or a second PN based on the node-change procedure, the second AN and the second PN communicating via a second network interface (Paragraph 60, 99, 102, 105, 107, After the node change, the UE communicates with a target secondary node (second AN) coordinated by a master node (second PN), where those nodes communicate over a network interface (e.g., Xn/SgNB), thus teaching communication with second nodes interconnected via a second interface).
Wallentin et al. does not explicitly teach performing a node-change procedure based on the occurrence of the node-change triggering event.
However, Tseng et al. teaches performing a node-change procedure based on the occurrence of the node-change triggering event (Paragraph 84–86, 94–96, The passage explicitly teaches that once a triggering condition is detected, the UE performs a handover/CHO procedure to transition from a source serving node to a target node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide performing a node-change procedure based on the occurrence of the node-change triggering event as taught by Tseng et al. in the system of Wallentin et al., so that it would allow the UE, after detecting a triggering condition associated with connected nodes, to execute a handover or conditional handover procedure that transitions communication from a source node to a target node, thereby ensuring reliable and efficient continuation of wireless communication during node changes in a multi-node connectivity environment.
Regarding claim 2, Wallentin et al. teaches the sidelink connection with the first AN is based on communication within a sub- 6 GHz frequency range, and the access link connection with the first PN is based on communication within a millimeter wave (mmW) frequency range (Paragraph 29, 57, 59–60, 191, These disclosures teach a UE simultaneously connected to two different access nodes (MN/SN) using LTE and NR radio access technologies, where LTE operates in sub-6 GHz spectrum and NR includes millimeter wave operation).
Regarding claim 3, Wallentin et al. teaches the sidelink connection with the first AN facilitates communicating control signaling between the UE and the first PN, and the access link connection with the first PN facilitates communicating data between the UE and the first PN (Paragraph 57, 59-60, 71-72, 86, 206, These passages show the UE connected to a secondary node (AN) that interfaces with the master/primary node (PN) for coordinated RRC/control signaling, while the master/primary node provides user plane bearers over which data packets are transmitted between the UE and the PN).
Regarding claim 4, Wallentin et al. teaches determining of the occurrence of the node-change triggering event is measurement-triggered (Paragraph 14, 54–56, These passages collectively teach that the occurrence of the handover (node-change) triggering event is determined based on fulfillment of configured measurement events (e.g., A3/A5 thresholds) derived from UE measurements).
Regarding claim 5, Wallentin et al. teaches transmitting, to the first AN via the first PN, a measurement report based on a measurement of at least one of the sidelink connection or the access link connection, wherein the measurement report comprises one or more of: radio resource management (RRM) measurements associated with the second PN, a second PN identifier, first AN sidelink measurements, a second AN identifier, a primary node identifier associated with the second AN, and second AN sidelink measurements (Paragraph 60, 64, 102, 116, These passages collectively teach transmitting measurement results (i.e., a measurement report) over the inter-node interface via the master/primary node to a secondary/assistant node, where the report includes RRM-related measurement results associated with a target/secondary node, node identifier information (target SN ID), and reflects the association between the master/primary node and the secondary node).
Regarding claim 6, Wallentin et al. teaches the first AN sidelink measurements are based on at least one of a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) associated with the first AN and a sidelink discovery message associated with the first AN (Paragraph 64, 102, 116, These passages teach that measurements associated with a specific secondary/target node (i.e., a first AN) are collected and provided as the basis for configuring or changing connectivity to that node, thereby establishing that measurements are based on signals or messages associated with that node).
Regarding claim 7, Wallentin et al. teaches receiving a target node configuration associated with the second AN and the second PN via the sidelink connection with the first AN; establishing a second sidelink connection with the second AN based on the target node configuration; establishing a second access link connection with the second PN based on the target node configuration; and communicating, upon establishing the second sidelink connection and the second access link connection, with at least one of the second AN or the second PN (Paragraph 43, 55, 60, 71–72, 74, 85, 97, 105, 121, The source/master node provides the UE with a target-generated configuration, the UE applies that configuration to synchronize and establish a new radio connection with the target secondary node, user plane and transport/network path information toward the core network is configured and updated, and the UE then transmits and receives user plane data via the target node).
Regarding claim 8, Wallentin et al. teaches the second AN and the first AN correspond to a same assistant node (Paragraph 12–13, These passages teach that two differently designated roles (source and target access nodes) may in fact be the same physical node).
Regarding claim 9, Wallentin et al. teaches determining that the sidelink connection with the first AN is unreliable based on a measurement of the sidelink connection; selecting the second AN from a set of ANs based on one or more measurements performed for the set of ANs, the set of ANs included at least the second AN; and establishing a second sidelink connection with the second AN (Paragraph 14, 52, 56, 64, 80, 138, 204–205, These passages collectively teach that link measurements are used to determine poor serving link reliability, multiple candidate access nodes are evaluated based on measurements to select a target node, and the UE then establishes a new radio connection with the selected target access node).
Regarding claim 10, Wallentin et al. teaches determining that the second AN and the first AN are associated with a same primary node based on a respective primary node identifier associated with the second AN and the first AN; transmitting an intra-PN change request to the second AN based on the determination; and receiving a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message from the second AN based on the intra-PN change request (Paragraph 59–60, 102, 105, 116–117, These passages teach that multiple secondary nodes (ANs) are associated with the same Master Node (primary node) and identified via SN identifiers, that a secondary node change request is transmitted to a target SN within that same MN domain, and that in response the target SN provides an RRC configuration message that is conveyed to the UE).
Regarding claim 11, Wallentin et al. teaches the respective primary node identifiers indicate that the second PN and the first PN correspond to a same primary node (Paragraph 12-13, These passages teach that the source and target nodes can be the same physical access node).
Regarding claim 12, Wallentin et al. teaches determining that the second AN and the first AN are associated with different primary nodes based on a respective primary node identifier associated with the second AN and the first AN; and establishing a connection with the second PN via the second AN based on the determination (Paragraph 59, 60, 116–118, 121, These passages teach that each secondary node (assistant node) is explicitly associated with a respective master node (primary node) identifiable via node ID information during SN change, enabling determination that different assistant nodes are associated with different primary nodes, and that upon selecting the target assistant node, the network performs an SN addition/change procedure and reconfiguration establishing connectivity with the second primary node via the second assistant node).
Regarding claim 13, Wallentin et al. teaches the UE performs a measurement of at least one of the sidelink connection or the access link connection based on a measurement gap configuration comprising an AN gap pattern and a PN gap pattern, and wherein the AN gap pattern and the PN gap pattern are associated with a same gap period (Paragraph 14, 38, 54–55, 64, These passages collectively teach that the UE is configured to perform measurements of multiple radio links (e.g., serving/source and neighbor/target nodes such as MN/SN), based on network-provided configurations that define measurement conditions for both nodes during simultaneous connectivity).
Regarding claim 14, Wallentin et al. teaches the UE performs a measurement of at least one of the sidelink connection or the access link connection based on a measurement gap configuration comprising an AN gap pattern and a PN gap pattern, the AN gap pattern associated with a first gap period and the PN gap pattern associated with a second gap period that is different than the first gap period (Paragraph 80, 85, 94, 102, 105, 116, 118, 210, These passages collectively disclose that the UE performs measurements used for secondary node (AN/SN) and master node (PN/MN) mobility procedures, receives distinct radio resource configurations from different nodes via RRC signaling, and operates dual connectivity with separate configurations and procedures for the secondary node and master node).
Regarding claim 15, Wallentin et al. teaches determining the occurrence of the node-change triggering event is radio link failure-triggered (Paragraph 209, These passages teach that a node-change (handover/secondary node change) related release event is triggered upon detection of a radio link failure).
Regarding claim 16, Wallentin et al. teaches identifying a radio link failure (RLF) associated with the access link connection with the first PN; transmitting a failure indication message to the first PN via the first AN; receiving a target node configuration associated with the second AN and the second PN; establishing a second sidelink connection with the second AN based on the target node configuration; establishing a second access link connection with the second PN based on the target node configuration; and communicating, upon establishing the second sidelink connection and the second access link connection, with at least one of the second AN and the second PN (Paragraph 43, 105, 205–206, 209, 211, These passages collectively teach detecting a radio link failure of the source (first PN) connection, signaling release/failure via the access node, receiving a target node configuration for a new access/secondary node, establishing a new radio connection with the target node based on that configuration, switching communications to the target node, and communicating UL/DL data with the new node upon establishment).
Regarding claim 17, Wallentin et al. teaches the failure indication message comprises one or more of: radio resource management (RRM) measurements associated with the second PN, a second PN identifier, first AN sidelink measurements, a second AN identifier, a primary node identifier associated with the second AN, second AN sidelink measurements, and a failure cause identifier (Paragraph 60, 64, 80, 92, 102, 104, 116, These passages collectively teach that node-change/failure-related signaling includes measurement results associated with a target/secondary node (corresponding to RRM and sidelink measurements), explicit target node ID information (second PN/AN identifier), defined association between master and secondary nodes (primary node identifier associated with the second AN), and an explicit cause field indicating the reason for release/change (failure cause identifier)).
Regarding claim 18, Wallentin et al. teaches initiating a timer after transmitting the failure indication message to the first PN via the first AN, and wherein the UE receives the target node configuration before the timer expires from the first PN via the sidelink connection with the first AN (Paragraph 60, 102, 104–105, 204, 209, These passages teach that upon transmitting handover-related signaling, the UE starts a timer governing release, and receives the target node configuration generated by the target node and delivered via the interconnected nodes before the timer-controlled release occurs).
Regarding claim 19, Wallentin et al. teaches initiating a timer after transmitting the failure indication message to the first PN via the first AN; and performing a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment procedure when the timer expires, wherein the UE receives the target node configuration while performing the RRC re-establishment procedure (Paragraph 105, 118, 209, These passages teach that, after mobility-related signaling, the UE starts a timer whose expiry triggers RRC-level failure/recovery handling, during which the UE receives target node RRC configuration information).
Regarding claim 20, Wallentin et al. teaches identifying an RLF associated with the sidelink connection with the first AN; and performing a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment procedure based on the RLF associated with the access link connection and the RLF associated with the sidelink connection, wherein the UE receives the target node configuration while performing the RRC re-establishment procedure (Paragraph 105, 204, 205, 209, 215, These passages teach that upon detection of a radio link failure leading to release of the existing connection, the UE is triggered to perform an RRC procedure toward a target node, during which it receives and applies the target node configuration while re-establishing/establishing the radio connection).
Regarding claim 21, Wallentin et al. teaches identifying a radio link failure (RLF) associated with the sidelink connection with the first AN; and performing an inter-AN change based on the RLF (Paragraph 99, 116, 118, 196, 209, These passages disclose detecting a radio link failure leading to release of the source access node connection and initiating a secondary node change/handover to a target access node).
Regarding claim 22, Wallentin et al. teaches an apparatus for wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising: memory; and at least one process coupled to the memory and configured to: establish a sidelink connection with a first assistant node (AN) and establishing an access link connection with a first primary node (PN), the first AN and the first PN communicating via a first network interface (Paragraph 58, 60, 63, 91–92, 94, The UE establishes connectivity with a Secondary Node (assistant node) while maintaining connectivity with a Master Node (primary node), and the MN and SN communicate via Xn/SgNB interfaces, thereby teaching simultaneous sidelink-type and access link connections with interconnected nodes); determine an occurrence of a node-change triggering event associated with at least one of the first AN and the first PN (Paragraph 54, 56, 99, 204, The UE determines that a triggering condition (e.g., handover command, conditional event fulfillment, or MN/SN initiated trigger) has occurred that initiates a secondary node change associated with one of the connected nodes); and communicate with at least one of a second AN or a second PN based on the node-change procedure, the second AN and the second PN communicating via a second network interface (Paragraph 60, 99, 102, 105, 107, After the node change, the UE communicates with a target secondary node (second AN) coordinated by a master node (second PN), where those nodes communicate over a network interface (e.g., Xn/SgNB), thus teaching communication with second nodes interconnected via a second interface).
Wallentin et al. does not explicitly teach perform a node-change procedure based on the occurrence of the node- change triggering event.
However, Tseng et al. teaches perform a node-change procedure based on the occurrence of the node- change triggering event (Paragraph 84–86, 94–96, The passage explicitly teaches that once a triggering condition is detected, the UE performs a handover/CHO procedure to transition from a source serving node to a target node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide perform a node-change procedure based on the occurrence of the node- change triggering event as taught by Tseng et al. in the system of Wallentin et al., so that it would allow the UE, after detecting a triggering condition associated with connected nodes, to execute a handover or conditional handover procedure that transitions communication from a source node to a target node, thereby ensuring reliable and efficient continuation of wireless communication during node changes in a multi-node connectivity environment.
Regarding claim 23, Wallentin et al. teaches a method of wireless communication of a first primary node (PN), comprising: receiving a node-change triggering event notification (Paragraph 204, These passages teach receipt of a handover/secondary node change trigger notification); communicating data with a user equipment (UE) via an access link connection based on communications within a millimeter wave (mmW) frequency range (Paragraph 58, 192, These passages teach communicating user plane data over radio access links between access nodes (including NR nodes, which operate in FR2/mmW bands) and the UE via established access link connections); and communicating control signaling with the UE via a first assistant node (AN) that has a sidelink connection with the UE (Paragraph 58–59, 91, These passages teach a secondary node (assistant-like node) participating in control signaling toward the UE, including RRC configuration and mobility control, corresponding to communicating control signaling via an assistant node connected to the UE), the first PN and the first AN communicating via a first network interface connection (Paragraph 8, 60, 81, 85, These passages teach that the master/primary node and secondary/assistant node communicate via a defined network interface (e.g., Xn, Xn-U), corresponding to a first network interface connection between PN and AN).
Wallentin et al. does not explicitly teach performing a node-change procedure based on the node-change triggering event notification.
However, Tseng et al. teaches performing a node-change procedure based on the node-change triggering event notification (Paragraph 84–86, 94–96, The passage explicitly teaches that once a triggering condition is detected, the UE performs a handover/CHO procedure to transition from a source serving node to a target node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide performing a node-change procedure based on the node-change triggering event notification as taught by Tseng et al. in the system of Wallentin et al., so that it would allow the UE, after detecting a triggering condition associated with connected nodes, to execute a handover or conditional handover procedure that transitions communication from a source node to a target node, thereby ensuring reliable and efficient continuation of wireless communication during node changes in a multi-node connectivity environment.
Regarding claim 24, Wallentin et al. teaches the first PN receives the node-change triggering event notification from a second PN, the node-change triggering event comprising a handover request including sidelink measurements associated with a set of ANs including at least the first AN (Paragraph 102, 116-117, 64, 80, These passages teach that a first primary node (MN) receives, from a second primary node (source SN), a node-change notification in the form of an SN change request/handover procedure that includes measurement results associated with candidate secondary nodes (ANs)).
Regarding claim 25, Wallentin et al. teaches performing the node-change procedure based on the node-change triggering event notification comprises: selecting the first AN from the set of ANs based on the sidelink measurements; adding the first AN to operate as an assistant node for the UE and the first PN via the first network interface connection; transmitting a handover acknowledgement message to the second PN, the handover acknowledgement message comprising a target node configuration associated with the first PN and the first AN; and establishing the access link connection with the UE based on the target node configuration (Paragraph 60, 63-64, 102, 105-107, 117, these passages collectively teach selecting a target/secondary node based on measurement results, adding that node as an assistant node connected to the master/primary node via a network interface, transmitting a reconfiguration complete message acknowledging handover with the target node configuration, and establishing the access link with the UE based on that configuration).
Regarding claim 26, Wallentin et al. teaches the first PN receives the node-change triggering event notification from the UE via the first AN, the node-change triggering event notification comprising a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment request (Paragraph 99, 116, 118, 120, 141, 155, 157, These passages collectively teach that a node-change (secondary node change) is triggered and involves RRC-layer signaling between the UE and nodes, where the UE transmits RRC response/control messages that are conveyed through network nodes (SN/MN) and received at the relevant primary/master node).
Regarding claim 27, Wallentin et al. teaches performing the node-change procedure based on the node-change triggering notification comprises: performing an AN reselection procedure with the first AN; receiving UE context information associated with the UE from a second PN, the second PN communicating data with the UE via a second access link connection; transmitting an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE via the first AN, the RRC reconfiguration message including a target node configuration associated with the first AN and the first PN; and establishing the access link connection with the UE based on the target node configuration (Paragraph 92, 99, 102–105, 107, These passages collectively teach a triggered secondary node change (node-change procedure) including reselection of a secondary/assistant node, exchange of UE configuration/context between nodes, transmission of an RRC reconfiguration message containing target node configuration, and application of that configuration by the UE to synchronize with and establish the new access link connection).
Regarding claim 28, Wallentin et al. teaches the first PN receives the node-change triggering event notification from a second PN, the node-change triggering event comprising a handover request including sidelink measurements associated with a set of ANs including at least the first AN (Paragraph 102, 116–117, These passages disclose that a first node (MN/target SN acting as the receiving PN) receives, from another node (source SN acting as a second PN), a node-change triggering notification in the form of an SN change/Addition request that includes measurement results associated with target nodes (ANs)).
Regarding claim 29, Wallentin et al. teaches performing the node-change procedure based on the node-change triggering event notification comprises: adding the first AN to operate as an assistant node for the UE and the first PN via the first network interface connection; transmitting a handover acknowledgement message to the second PN, the handover acknowledgement message comprising a target node configuration associated with the first PN and the first AN; and establishing the access link connection with the UE based on the target node configuration (Paragraph 58, 60, 63, 67, 91–92, 94, 104–105, These passages collectively teach that upon a secondary node change, the primary/master node adds a secondary/assistant node via an inter-node interface, receives an acknowledgement containing the target node configuration, forwards that configuration to the UE, and the UE establishes the new access link by applying and synchronizing to the provided configuration).
Regarding claim 30, Wallentin et al. teaches an apparatus for wireless communication of a first primary node (PN), comprising: memory; and at least one process coupled to the memory and configured to: receive a node-change triggering event notification (Paragraph 204, These passages teach receipt of a handover/secondary node change trigger notification); communicate data with a user equipment (UE) via an access link connection based on communications within a millimeter wave (mmW) frequency range (Paragraph 58, 192, These passages teach communicating user plane data over radio access links between access nodes (including NR nodes, which operate in FR2/mmW bands) and the UE via established access link connections); and communicate control signaling with the UE via a first assistant node (AN) that has a sidelink connection with the UE (Paragraph 58–59, 91, These passages teach a secondary node (assistant-like node) participating in control signaling toward the UE, including RRC configuration and mobility control, corresponding to communicating control signaling via an assistant node connected to the UE), the first PN and the first AN communicating via a first network interface connection (Paragraph 8, 60, 81, 85, These passages teach that the master/primary node and secondary/assistant node communicate via a defined network interface (e.g., Xn, Xn-U), corresponding to a first network interface connection between PN and AN).
Wallentin et al. does not explicitly teach perform a node-change procedure based on the node-change triggering event notification.
However, Tseng et al. teaches perform a node-change procedure based on the node-change triggering event notification (Paragraph 84–86, 94–96, The passage explicitly teaches that once a triggering condition is detected, the UE performs a handover/CHO procedure to transition from a source serving node to a target node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide perform a node-change procedure based on the node-change triggering event notification as taught by Tseng et al. in the system of Wallentin et al., so that it would allow the UE, after detecting a triggering condition associated with connected nodes, to execute a handover or conditional handover procedure that transitions communication from a source node to a target node, thereby ensuring reliable and efficient continuation of wireless communication during node changes in a multi-node connectivity environment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Based on the specification, the applicant could further emphasize the novel improvements by adding concepts that clarify the functional split and coordination between the assistant node and primary node during mobility. For example, the claim could incorporate that the primary node communicates user data with the UE over a millimeter wave (mmW) access link while control signaling is communicated via the assistant node over the network interface, thereby reflecting a separation of user-plane and control-plane handling. The claim could also specify that the node-change triggering event includes a notification exchanged between nodes (e.g., a node-change triggering event notification received at the primary node) to coordinate the mobility procedure. Additionally, the applicant could add that the node-change procedure supports mobility within a 5G NR system and is configured to maintain service continuity for enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB), ultra-reliable low latency communications (URLLC), or massive machine type communications (mMTC). Further concepts that could be incorporated include that the assistant node and primary node coordinate via a defined interface connection to manage handover or link switching between different frequency ranges (such as mmW and sub-6 GHz), and that the node-change procedure is triggered based on link quality, latency, reliability, or beam-related conditions associated with high-frequency communications. Including these types of operational and architectural details would more fully reflect the technical improvements described in the specification beyond the high-level procedural steps currently recited in the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US 20230216564 A1)
Zhao (US 20230041458 A1)
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464