Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1 (JP2019512026).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 6-7, R1 teaches the formation of a moisture curable coating that can be applied as separate layers wherein a first layer is first cured before the application of a second wherein the composition may comprise a silane containing polymer, a liquid epoxy resin and dipropylene glycol methyl ether (polyether PE), wherein the ratio of silane polymer to liquid epoxy is 70/30 to 40/60. R1 is silent as to the specific amount of dipropylene glycol methyl ether employed. However, R1 also teaches that aromatic diluents are employed at 1-30% by weight. Given the dipropylene glycol methyl ether is also listed as a diluent, it would be reasonable if employing it as a diluent to use it in a similar amount. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the diluent amount of R1 employed for one type of diluent for another in the same invention because R1 in general teaches that is an suitable amount of diluent for the intended purposes.
Regarding claim 3, R1 further teaches wherein it is preferable that the polyether contain both urethane and polyurea groups.
Regarding claim 4, the cure time listed for the coating of R1 is stated as “days to weeks” thereby reading upon the claimed curing time range.
Regarding claim 5, R1 further teaches the use fillers in the invention wherein fillers are also considered to be diluents such that in the same manner as described above as relates to the use of aromatic diluents, so too would it be obvious to use filler diluents in the same weight percentages.
Regarding claim 8, there is no requirement that the composition of R1 comprise aromatic or aliphatic alkylalkoxysilanes.
Regarding claim 9, R1 further teaches wherein curing takes place in the presence of preferably 0.1% to 5% aminosilane, which may be a primary aminosilane and a metal complex.
Regarding claim 11, R1 further teaches the use of stabilizers as additional diluents.
Regarding claim 12, R1 further teaches application of the coating material to a roof.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1 (JP2019512026) as applied to claim 1-9 and 11-12 above and further in view of Kametani et al. (JP2015-108083).
Regarding claim 10, the teachings of R1 are as shown above. R1 is silent as to the amount of metal complex used in the catalyst. However, Kametani teaches that metal containing catalysts are employed in a weight ratio of 0.1-1 wt% compared to the reacted components, which would be less than 100 percent of the composition of R1, effectively reducing the range of Kametani to substantially overlap the range of catalyst claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the catalyst to reactive component ratio of Kametani for similar catalysts in the invention of R1 because Kametani shows that his catalyst ratio is suitable for the use of similar catalyst in the curing of polymers using said catalysts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717