DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3,5-10,12-13,16,19,22-23,25,27,30,36 and 39 were subject to restriction requirement mailed on 09/30/2025.
Applicant filed a response, and elected Group I, claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-13, 16, 19, 22-23 and 25, and withdrew claims 27,30,36 and 39, without traverse on 11/17/2025.
Claims 1-3,5-10,12-13,16,19,22-23,25,27,30,36 and 39 are pending, and claims 27,30,36 and 39 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-3,5-10, and 12-13 are rejected.
Claims 16, 19, and 22-23 are objected to.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 9,227,181 B2 in view of Kubicek et al., Stabilization of zeolite beta for fcc application by embedding in amorphous matrix, Applied Catalysis, 1998 (Kubicek).
The present claims require A fluid catalytic cracking (FCC) additive composition comprising:a first component comprising beta zeolite and a first matrix;a second component comprising ZSM-5 zeolite and a second matrix; andup to about 40 wt% of a third component comprising Y zeolite and a third matrix, based on total weight of the FCC additive composition,wherein the weight ratio of the first component to the second component ranges from about 2:1 to about 9:1.
The patent claims recite a hydrocarbon conversion catalyst blend comprising: (a) a Y zeolite in an amount of 5 to 50 wt. % of said catalyst blend (reading upon third component); (b) a ZSM-5 zeolite in an amount of 5 to 40 wt. % of said catalyst blend (reading upon second component); and (c) a Beta zeolite in an amount of 35 to 70 wt. % of said catalyst blend (reading upon first component), wherein each of said ZSM-5 zeolite, said Beta zeolite, and said Y zeolite is a separate microsphere, wherein weight ratio of the first, second and third components overlaps or encompasses the presently claimed.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
The patent does not explicitly disclose Beta catalyst is further used with a first matrix.
With respect to the difference, Kubicek teaches the use of zeolite beta for fluidized catalytic cracking application (Kubicek, Title, Abstract). Kubicek specifically teaches embedding crystals of zeolite beta in silica-alumina matrices (Kubicek, Abstract).
As Kubicek expressly teaches, zeolite beta embedded in silica-alumina matrices produces effective catalysts which maintain catalytic activity after treatment under 100% steam.
Kubicek is analogous art as Kubicek is drawn to the use of zeolite beta for fluidized catalytic cracking application.
In light of the motivation of embedding zeolite beta in silica-alumina matrices, it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to embed the Beta zeolite of the patent in a silica-alumina matric, in order to maintain catalytic activity, e.g., upon treatment under steam, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-13, 16, 19, 22-23 and 25 in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 27,30,36 and 39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1, line 4, recites “up to about 40 wt% of a third component”. The examiner interprets that the phrase includes 0 wt% of a third component, therefore the third component is optional.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16, line 6, it is suggested to amend “m2/g” to “m2/g”.
Claim 19, line 4, it is suggested to amend “the air jet” to “an air jet” to ensure proper antecedent basis and clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 13 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al., US 2013/0066131 A1 (Harris) in view of Kubicek et al., Stabilization of zeolite beta for fcc application by embedding in amorphous matrix, Applied Catalysis, 1998 (Kubicek).
Regarding claims 1-2, Harris teaches a petrochemical FCC catalyst system (Harris, [0017]); a catalyst blend, which comprises, based on the total weight of the catalyst blend, 5-40 wt. % ZSM-5, and 35-70% Beta catalyst (Beta catalyst reads upon a first component), the weight percent for each zeolite, as expressed immediately above and hereafter, including the appended claims, pertains to the active zeolite component and any matrix, binder or additive components (Harris, [0018]);
the ZSM-5 zeolite additive is prepared as a separate microsphere and contains phosphorus stabilized ZSM-5 zeolite, alumina, and kaolin bound together with phosphoric acid (the ZSM-5 zeolite additive reads upon a second component comprising ZSM-5 zeolite and a second matrix) (Harris, [0029]);
5-40 wt. % ZSM-5 (i.e., the second component), and 35-70% Beta catalyst (i.e., the first component) corresponds to a weight ratio of the first component to the second component from 35:40 to 70:5, which encompasses or overlaps the ranges of the presently claimed.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Further regarding claim 1, Harris does not explicitly disclose Beta catalyst is further used with a first matrix.
With respect to the difference, Kubicek teaches the use of zeolite beta for fluidized catalytic cracking application (Kubicek, Title, Abstract). Kubicek specifically teaches embedding crystals of zeolite beta in silica-alumina matrices (Kubicek, Abstract).
As Kubicek expressly teaches, zeolite beta embedded in silica-alumina matrices produces effective catalysts which maintain catalytic activity after treatment under 100% steam.
Kubicek is analogous art as Kubicek is drawn to the use of zeolite beta for fluidized catalytic cracking application.
In light of the motivation of embedding zeolite beta in silica-alumina matrices, it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to embed the beta zeolite of Harris in a silica-alumina matric, in order to maintain catalytic activity, e.g., upon treatment under steam, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1, Harris in view of Kubicek teaches 5-50 wt. % zeolite Y (reading upon the third component), 5-40 wt. % ZSM-5 (reading upon the second component), and 35-70% Beta catalyst (reading upon the first component), which corresponds to a weight ratio of 70:40:5 to 35:5:50, which encompasses or overlaps the range of the presently claimed.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 5-7, as applied to claim 1, Harris in view of Kubicek teaches 5-50 wt. % zeolite Y (reading upon the third component), 5-40 wt. % ZSM-5 (reading upon the second component), and 35-70% Beta catalyst (reading upon the first component), which encompasses or overlaps the ranges of the presently claimed.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1, Harries in view of Kubicek further teaches zeolite Y contains up to 12% of a rare earth element ion exchanged onto the Y zeolite (Harris, [0027]), which includes 0% of a rare earth element; and given that Harries in view of Kubicek does not require rare earth in ZSM-5 zeolite or beta zeolite, therefore Harries in view of Kubicek teaches the catalyst free of rare earth metals.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 1, Harries in view of Kubicek teaches embedding crystals of zeolite beta in silica-alumina matrices; the ZSM-5 zeolite additive is prepared as a separate microsphere and contains phosphorus stabilized ZSM-5 zeolite, alumina, and kaolin bound together with phosphoric acid (the ZSM-5 zeolite additive reads upon a second component comprising ZSM-5 zeolite and a second matrix) (Harris, [0029]); wherein the Y zeolite is a macroporous, zeolite comprising Y zeolite crystallized as a layer on the surface of a porous alumina-containing matrix (reading upon a third component comprising Y zeolite and a third matrix) (Harris, claim 2).
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 1, Harries in view of Kubicek further teaches the phosphorus level on the Beta zeolite is between 1% to 7% P2O5 (reading upon oxidized phosphorus) (Harries, [0047]).
Given that Harries in view of Kubicek does not require a transitional alumina obtained by the calcination of a dispersible boehmite in the Beta zeolite embedded in silica-alumina matrices, therefore it is clear that Harries in view of Kubicek meets the claimed limitation of wherein the first component is substantially free of a transitional alumina obtained by the calcination of a dispersible boehmite.
Regarding claim 25, as applied to claim 1, the claim further limits the third component which is an optional embodiment of claim 1 (i.e. the third component would be 0 wt%, and therefore not required in claim 1) and therefore not required. As such, claim 25 is rejected based on identical/substantially identical reasons as claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris in view of Kubicek as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zafari et al., Application of zeolitic additives in the fluid catalytic cracking, Journal of Nanostructures, 2013 (Zafari).
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 1, Harries in view of Kubicek does not explicitly disclose the catalyst further comprising at least one additional component that is compositionally different from the first component, the second component, and the third component, wherein the at least one additional component comprises a zeolite selected from zeolites with the structure BEA, MSE, -SVR, FAU, MOR, CON, SOF, MFI, IMF, FER, MWW, MTT, TON, EUO, MRE, NAT CHA, or a combination thereof.
With respect to the difference, Zafari teaches application of zeolites in fluid catalytic cracking (Zafari, Abstract). Zafari specifically teaches the use of several zeolitic additives for the production light olefins and reduction of pollutants (Zafari, Abstract); medium pore-size zeolites other than ZSM-5 were investigated as an FCC additive include MCM-22 (Zafari, page 212, left column, bottom paragraph).
As Zafari expressly teaches, MCM-22 gives a similar increase in propene yield at lower loss in gasoline yield compared to ZSM-5 (Zafari, page 212, left column, bottom paragraph).
Zafari is analogous art as Zafari is drawn to application of zeolites in fluid catalytic cracking.
In light of the motivation of using MCM-22 zeolite (i.e., MWW zeolite) as catalytic additives as taught by Zafari, it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use MCM-22 (i.e., MWW zeolite), to supplement or partially replace or in conjunction with the catalyst of Harris in view of Kubicek, in order to achieve increase in propene yield, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harries in view of Kubicek as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kirker et al., US 4,724,066 (Kirker).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 1, Harries in view of Kubicek further teaches for example, for the beta zeolite embedded in the silica-alumina matrices, zeolite is 50 wt.% (Kubicek, page 161, Table 1).
Harries in view of Kubicek does not explicitly disclose wherein the first component comprises aluminum phosphate (AlPO4) or amorphous aluminum phosphate at an amount of about 1 wt% to about 25 wt%, based on total weight of the first component.
With respect to the difference, Kirker teaches a catalyst comprising zeolite Beta (Kirker, Abstract). Kirker specifically teaches the catalyst further comprises aluminum phosphate (Kirker, Abstract); the zeolite may constitute from about 5 to about 95 weight percent of the total weight of the zeolite plus the aluminum phosphate (i.e., alumina phosphate constitutes about 5 to about 95 weight percent of the total weight of the zeolite plus the aluminum phosphate) (Kirker, paragraph spanning columns 8-9).
As Kirker expressly teaches, when used in sufficient amounts, the aluminum phosphate component ma enhance the catalyst lifetime (Kirker, column 8, bottom paragraph).
Kirker is analogous art as Kirker is drawn to a catalyst comprising zeolite Beta.
In light of the motivation of using aluminum phosphate with beta zeolite, as taught by Kirker, it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include aluminum phosphate in the beta zeolite embedded silica-alumina matrices, of Harris in view of Kubicek, wherein alumina phosphate constitutes about 5 to about 95 weight percent of the total weight of the zeolite plus the aluminum phosphate, which corresponds to, for example, 2.5 to 47.5 weight percent of the total weight of zeolite embedded silica-alumina matrices plus the aluminum phosphate, which overlaps the range of the presently claimed, in order to improve catalyst lifetime.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 19 and 22-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 16, 19, and 22-23, none of Harris, Kubicek, Zafari, or Kirker teaches or suggests wherein the zeolite surface area (ZSA) of the first component ranges from about 50 m2/g to about 300 m2/g, and wherein the steamed zeolite surface area (SZSA) of the first component ranges from about 50 m2/g to about 300 m2/g, after steaming in 100% steam at 1450 °F for 24 hours; or wherein at least about 65% of the ZSA of the first component is maintained after steaming in 100% steam at 1450 °F for 24 hours, wherein the Bronsted acidity of the first component ranges from about 10 µmol/g to about 65 µmol/g, and wherein an air jet attrition rate (AJAR) of the first component is less than about 5 wt%/hr; or wherein the second component has a MSA of the ZSM-5 zeolite ranging from about 80 m2/g to about 190 m2/g, and wherein the second component has a specific pore volume of about 0.02 cm3/g to about 0.20 cm3/g.
Conclusion
/KELING ZHANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1732