DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 6-15, 18 are pending in the instant application.
Applicant’s election of Invention I in the reply filed on 10/30/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claims 13, 15, 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1, 6-12, 14 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) 2nd Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6-12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “an amino acid sequence according to SEQ ID NO: 3” which renders the claim vague and indefinite since it is unclear if the synthetic phytase comprises the entire full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 or any part/portion of SEQ ID NO: 3. Dependent claims 6-12, 14 are also rejected because they do not correct the defect.
Claims 6-10 recite the phrase “compared to one of the reference phytases” which renders the claims vague and indefinite since it is unclear the specific identities and amnion acid sequences and structures of “reference phytases” are not known and not recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6-12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to a broad and widely varying genus of synthetic phytases which phytase comprises one of a) any part or portion of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 or b) the amino acid sequence according to option a), with the proviso that the sequence has a sequence identity of > 90 % relative to SEQ ID NO: 3 as specified in a), while maintaining its phytase activity. According to MPEP 2163:
“For each claim drawn to a genus: The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A), above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B), above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C), above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014)…”
According to MPEP 2163.02:
“The courts have described the essential question to be addressed in a description requirement issue in a variety of ways. An objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, "does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed." In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed. The test for sufficiency of support in a parent application is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon "reasonably conveys to the artisan that the inventor had possession at that time of the later claimed subject matter." Ralston Purina Co. v. Far-Mar-Co., Inc., 772 F.2d 1570, 1575, 227 USPQ 177, 179 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (quoting In re Kaslow, 707 F.2d 1366, 1375, 217 USPQ 1089, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 1983)).”
The reference of Chica et al. (Curr Opin Biotechnol. 2005 Aug;16(4):378-84; PTO 892) teaches that the complexity of the structure/function relationship in enzymes has proven to be the factor limiting the general application of rational enzyme modification and design, where rational enzyme modification and design requires in-depth understanding of structure/function relationships. The reference of Singh et al. (Curr Protein Pept Sci. 2017, 18, 1-11; PTO 892) reviews protein engineering methods including directed evolution, rational design, semi-rational design, and de-novo design; and states that despite the availability of a growing database of protein structures and highly sophisticated computational algorithms, protein engineering is still limited by the incomplete understanding of protein functions, folding, flexibility, and conformational changes (see entire publication especially Figs.1 and 3, and page 7, left column, lines 8-17). The reference teachings only provide guidance for searching and screening for the claimed genus of synthetic phytases
The specification as originally filed does not disclose a representative number of species encompassed by the claimed genus by actual reduction to practice. The specification as originally filed does not provide a correlation between function and structure to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to predict which amino acid modifications, amino acid sequences, structures, and/or fragments thereof correlate with phytase enzyme activity and having increased stability compared to any reference phytase.
Hence, the specification does not provide sufficient written description to inform one of ordinary skill in the art that applicants were in possession at the time the application was filed of the claimed broad and widely varying genus of synthetic phytases which phytase comprises one of a) any part or portion of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 or b) the amino acid sequence according to option a), with the proviso that the sequence has a sequence identity of > 90 % relative to SEQ ID NO: 3 as specified in a), while maintaining its phytase activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Accession A0A1C6YW96 (02-NOV-2016; PTO 892) in view of Bornscheuer et al. (Curr Protoc Protein Sci. 2011 Nov;Chapter 26:Unit26.7; PTO 892), Yoshikuni et al. (Curr Opin Chem Biol. 2007 Apr;11(2):233-9; PTO 892), US20240174993 (2024-05-30; PTO 892)
The claims are broad and widely varying genus of synthetic phytases comprising any portion of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 for the reasons stated above.
Accession A0A1C6YW96 teaches the Hafnia phytase having an amino acid sequence that is 89.6%; identical to SEQ ID NO: 3 of the instant application (see attached record).
The teachings of the reference differ from the claims in that the reference does not teach the claimed synthetic phytase.
Bornscheuer et al. teach protein engineering strategies to improve or change the properties of proteins, teach concepts for protein engineering using rational design including substitution and/or deletion of amino acids, directed evolution, and combinations of them where different strategies are presented for identifying the best mutagenesis method, how to identify desired variants by screening or selection, and examples for successful applications are shown which enable researchers to choose the most promising tools to solve their protein engineering challenges (see entire publication especially pages 26.7.1- 26.7.10 and Tables 26.7.1, 26.7.2, and 26.7.3).
Yoshikuni et al. (Curr Opin Chem Biol. 2007 Apr;11(2):233-9; PTO 892) teach protein engineering methodology to redesign enzyme function which was developed on the basis of the theories of divergent molecular evolution: (i) enzymes with more active and specialized functions have evolved from ones with promiscuous functions; (ii) this process is driven by small numbers of amino acid substitutions (plasticity); and (iii) the effects of double or multiple mutations are often additive (quasi-additive assumption). Yoshikuni et al. teach the impact of multiple mutations can be calculated by first determining the effects of a mutation at a single position and subsequently summing these effects using the quasi-additive assumption where the shape of the fitness landscape of a particular enzyme function can be estimated, and the combinations of mutations predicted to yield global optima for desired functions can then be selected and introduced into the enzymes. Yoshikuni et al. teach that the methodology has been demonstrated to be very powerful to redesign enzyme function. See entire publication and abstract especially pages 234-7 and Fig. 2.
US20240174993 teaches engineered, high Tm synthetic phytases and methods for making the synthetic phytases; and animal feed, feedstuff, feed additive composition or premix of comprising the engineered phytases. See entire publication and claims especially paragraphs [0016]- [0042] and [0432]- [0456]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and/or combine the reference teachings to make the claimed invention by using the protein engineering strategies and protein engineering methodology of taught by Bornscheuer et al. and Yoshikuni et al. on the the Hafnia phytase of Accession A0A1C6YW96 to make the claimed synthetic phytase encoded by a nucleic acid on a vector system and making an feed additive, feed ingredient, feed supplement, and/or feedstuff comprising the synthetic phytase as taught by US20240174993. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this in order to obtain a synthetic phytase having improved properties including increased stability that can be used in a feed additive, feed ingredient, feed supplement, and/or feedstuff. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have a reasonable expectation of success because using protein engineering strategies and protein engineering methodology to improve or change the properties of proteins and enzymes are known in the art as shown by the above reference teachings. Hence, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/CHRISTIAN L FRONDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652