DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Joint Inventors
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Examiner notes that this is a 371 national stage of PCT/SE2021/051101 and also claims foreign priority to SE2051368-5 with an earlier filling date of 11/24/2020. Examiner has checked and verified that the foreign priority document supports the subject matter of the instant application. As such, the earlier filed date of 11/24/2020 is granted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2023 and 10/03/2023, were filed before the mailing of a First Office Action on the Merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This action is in response to Applicant’s filing on 05/15/2023. Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“electric machine configured to …” in claims 1, 9, and 11-13
“control arrangement configured to …” in claims 11-15 and 17-20
Examiner notes that “electric machine” is being interpreted to cover the disclosure in 0067 in the specification (or equivalent thereof), which states that the electric machine may be an “electric motor”, which recites sufficient structure for the claim elements at hand.
Regarding the “control arrangement”, examiner is interpreting these to cover the disclosure in 0071 in the specification (or equivalent thereof) which states that the “control unit 21 and power module 21’ are together referred to as a control arrangement”, which recites sufficient structure for the claim element at hand. Additionally, examiner notes that the “control unit 21” and “power module 21’” both also have sufficient structure as a “control unit” corresponds to a broad class of controllers (ECU, CPU, etc.) and “power module” is defined as “power electronics” in 0068 which is sufficient structure as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed towards a computer program which is considered software per se and is not one of the four statutory categories.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-19 are rejected under both 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kiuchi, US 20130253748 A1, herein referred to as Kiuchi.
Regarding claim 1,
Kiuchi discloses the following:
The powertrain comprises an electric machine configured to provide motive power to the vehicle (Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0008-0009, 0019, 0052)
The vehicle system may include a powertrain (see electric motor and engine) which allows for the wheels to be rotated (motive power)
Examiner also notes that the battery and fuel source for the electric motor and engine, respectively, are part of the powertrain
Passing electric current through the electric machine to rotate a rotor of the electric machine while ensuring stand still of the vehicle (Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0008-0009, 0019, 0052)
The electric motor may be controlled to rotate while the vehicle is at a standstill
The electric motor requires electricity in order to rotate
Regarding claim 2,
Kiuchi discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Kiuchi further discloses the following:
The powertrain comprises a transmission configured to transmit power between the electric machine and one or more wheels of the vehicle (Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0008-0013, 0019, 0052)
A transmission may be present in the vehicle that transmits power between the electric motor and the wheels of the vehicle
Controlling the powertrain to a state in which at least a portion of the transmission is disconnected from the one or more wheels and rotating the portion of the transmission using the rotor (Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0008-0013, 0019, 0052)
The electric motor may be disengaged from the transmission (and therefore the vehicle wheels) in order to perform a warm up operation
Regarding claim 3,
Kiuchi discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Kiuchi further discloses the following:
Passing an electric current through the electric machine in a manner ensuring stand still of the rotor (Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0008-0013, 0019, 0052)
The electric motor may be used while the transmission of the vehicle is braked, resulting in a standstill of the vehicle
If the vehicle is braked, then the electric motor may not rotate as the gears G1/G2 are engaged with the wheels
Regarding claim 4,
Kiuchi discloses all the limitations of claim 3. Kiuchi further discloses the following:
Passing the electric current through the electric machine in a manner ensuring standstill of the rotor is performed prior to the step of passing the electric current through the electric machine to rotate the rotor (Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0008-0013, 0019, 0052)
The vehicle may be in a standstill state before the warming process is performed
During the warming process, the electric motor is engaged with the clutches and rotates in order to charge and de-charge the battery
Regarding claim 5,
Kiuchi discloses all the limitations of claim 3. Kiuchi further discloses the following:
Switching back and forth between a first heating mode in which the electric current is passed through the electric machine in a manner ensuring stand still of the rotor and a second heating mode in which the electric current is passed through the electric machine to rotate the rotor (Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0008-0013, 0019, 0052, 0056-0063)
The vehicle may switch back and forth from the warming process during operation
When the vehicle brakes or is at a standstill, the warming process may be engaged by varying the driving force
This results in a disengaged state (no rotor turning due to no clutches being engaged) to an engaged state (clutches are engaged resulting in rotor rotation)
The disengaged state (no rotor turning) may be a first heating mode and the engaged state (rotor turning, warming process) may be a second heating mode
Regarding claim 6,
Kiuchi discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Kiuchi further discloses the following:
Inputting current temperature data representative of a current ambient temperature and/or a current temperature of a portion of the powertrain (Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0008-0013, 0019, 0052, 0056-0063)
A temperature of the powertrain may be determined and utilized for heating process control
Controlling a duration of the passing of electric current through the electric machine based on the inputted current temperature data (Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0008-0013, 0019, 0052, 0056-0063)
The vehicle may engage a heating process if the current powertrain temperature is below a given threshold
The heating process continues until the threshold is met, which means that the electric motor operation during heating operates for a given duration based on the powertrain temperature
Regarding claim 7,
Kiuchi discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Kiuchi further discloses the following:
The powertrain comprises a propulsion battery (Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0008-0013, 0019, 0052, 0056-0063)
The vehicle may include a battery for operation (item 5 in Fig. 1)
Heating the propulsion battery using heat generated by the passing of the electric current though the electric motor (Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0008-0013, 0019, 0052, 0056-0063)
The heating process allows for the system to warm up the battery
Regarding claim 9, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 1 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 1 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 1 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 1 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 1.
Regarding claims 14-19, the claim limitations are similar to those in claims 2-7, respectively, and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claims 2-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kiuchi, and in view of Cochran et al., US 20220371396 A1, herein referred to as Cochran.
Regarding claim 8, Kiuchi discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Kiuchi further discloses the vehicle comprising an occupant compartment (Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0043, 0057; vehicle includes a compartment for a passenger (see foot present on pedal in Fig. 1, as well as passenger seat in 0043)), but fails to disclose heating the occupant compartment using heat generated by the passing of the electric current through the electric machine. However, Cochran, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches heating the occupant compartment using heat generated by the passing of the electric current through the electric machine (Paragraph 0096; the electric motor may be used to pass excess heat to the passenger compartment for heating purposes). Therefore, from the teaching of Cochran, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the vehicle heating system of Kiuchi to include heating the occupant compartment using heat generated by the passing of the electric current through the electric machine, as taught/suggested by Cochran. The motivation to do so would be to increase the efficiency of the vehicle by utilizing excess heat in a useful manner. Additionally, heating the passenger compartment may allow for a more uniform warming up process of the vehicle, especially if important components are located adjacent or near the compartment.
Regarding claim 20, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 8 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 8.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A BUKSA/Examiner, Art Unit 3658