DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed on October 27, 2025.
Restrictions/Elections.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group III (Claims 13-17 and 38-39) in the reply filed on October 27, 2025, is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that that Group III and Group IV have the same general inventive concept under PCT rule 13.1. This is not found persuasive because the compounds of the invention are known in the prior art (see De et. al., WO 2019/195761, 10-10-2019). This element cannot be a special technical feature under PCT rule 13.2 because the element is shown in the prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant election of the following species:
1-
as the compound of formula (II), and
2- myopia as the disorder associated with the eye,
Is acknowledged.
Since the species myopia was found free of prior art, the examination was expanded to transthyretin (TTR)-associated amyloidosis as the disorder associated with the eye.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-41 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claims 1-12, 18-37 and 40-41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on October 27, 2025.
The following claims read on the elected species myopia: 13-17 and 38-39.
The following claims read on the expanded species (TTR)-associated amyloidosis: 13-16 and 38-39.
The combined set of claims that read on one or both species and, as a consequence, are presently under examination are: 13-17 and 38-39.
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-17 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the treatment of TTR-associated amyloidosis, does not reasonably provide enablement for the prevention of TTR-associated amyloidosis. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. This is a scope of enablement rejection.
To be enabling, the specification of the patent application must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561 (Fd. Cir. 1993). Explaining what is meant by "undue experimentation," the Federal Circuit has stated that:
The test is not merely quantitative, since a considerable amount of experimentation is permissible, if it is merely routine, or if the specification in question provides a reasonable amount of guidance with respect to the direction in which experimentation should proceed to enable the determination of how to practice a desired embodiment of the claimed invention. PPG v. Guardian, 75 F.3d 1558, 1564 (Fed. Cir. 1996). As pointed out by the court in In re Angstadt, 537 F.2d 498 at 504 (CCPA 1976), the key word is "undue", not "experimentation".
The factors that may be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation are set forth In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1988) at 1404 wherein, citing Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Apls. 1986) at 547 the court recited eight factors:
1- the quantity of experimentation necessary,
2- the amount of direction or guidance provided,
3- the presence or absence of working examples,
4- the nature of the invention,
5- the state of the prior art,
6- the relative skill of those in the art,
7- the predictability of the art, and
8- the breadth of the claims
These factors are always applied against the background understanding that scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability involved. In re Fisher, 57 CCPA 1099, 1108, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (1970). Keeping that in mind, the Wands factors are relevant to the instant fact situation for the following reasons:
1. The nature of the invention
Claims 13-17 and 38-39 recite:
A method for treating, preventing, reducing the occurrence of, slowing the progression of, or reducing, ameliorating, or alleviating the symptoms associated with TTR-associated amyloidosis comprising administering to a subject in need a compound of formula (II).
2. The relative skill of those in the art
The relative skill of those in the art is high, generally that of an M.D. or Ph.D.
The artisan using Applicant’s invention would generally be a physician with a M.D. degree and several years of experience.
3. The state and predictability of the art
The term prevention is synonymous with the term curing, and both circumscribe methods of treatment having absolute success (100% success). Humans in need of prevention of TTR-associated amyloidosis do not yet suffer from TTR-associated amyloidosis, and if they were to be administer a compound of formula (I) according to the instant claims, they will never ever suffer from TTR-associated amyloidosis. The general knowledge of the prior art clearly indicates that the art of preventing any disease including TTR-associated amyloidosis, is highly unpredictable.
4. The amount of direction or guidance provided and the presence or absence of working examples
MPEP 2164.03 cites: “the amount of guidance or direction needed to enable the invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art as well as the predictability in the art. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). The “amount of guidance or direction” refers to that information in the application, as originally filed, that teaches exactly how to make or use the invention. The more that is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention, how to make, and how to use the invention, and the more predictable the art is, the less information needs to be explicitly stated in the specification. In contrast, if little is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention and the art is unpredictable, the specification would need more detail as to how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling. >See, e.g., Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“Nascent technology, however, must be enabled with a specific and useful teaching.’ The law requires an enabling disclosure for nascent technology because a person of ordinary skill in the art has little or no knowledge independent from the patentee’s instruction. Thus, the public’s end of the bargain struck by the patent system is a full enabling disclosure of the claimed technology.”
The specification teaches some examples (see Examples 1-4) that correlate with the administration of the instant compounds with the treatment of disorders associated with the eye.
Thus, while the specification provides a procedure for treating disorders associated with the eye, the specification appears to be silent on a nexus between:
treating a disorder associated with the eye and preventing a disorder associated with the eye like TTR-associated amyloidosis.
As such, if there is no correlation then the examples do not constitute working examples.
While it is understood that the absence of working examples should never be the sole reason for rejecting a claim as being broader than an enabling disclosure, the criticality of working examples in an unpredictable art, such as the prevention (100% success) of disorders associated with the eye, is required for practice of the claimed invention.
5. The Quantity of experimentation necessary
Because of the known unpredictability of the art (see section 3) and in the absence of experimental evidence commensurate with the claims (see section 4), the skilled in the art will not accept that the administration of a composition a compound of formula (II), can prevent (100% success) disorder associated with the eye as inferred by the claims and contemplated by the specification.
7. Conclusion
Accordingly, the inventions of claims 13-17 and 38-39 do not comply with the scope of enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C 112, first paragraph, since to practice the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation with no reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De et. al., (WO 2019/195761, 10-10-2019, cited by Applicant).
For claims 13-16, De teaches a method of treating TTR-associated amyloidosis comprising the administration of the following compound:
(identical to species elected by Applicant, see claims 115-116).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by De et. al., (WO 2019/195761, 10-10-2019) in view of Centellas Casado et. al. (US 2014/0296188).
De teaches all the limitations of claims 38-39 (see above 102(a)(1) rejection), except for the further administration of COMT inhibitors. However, Centellas Casado teaches that TTR-associated amyloidosis can be treated with COMT inhibitors (see abstract and [0047]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to treat TTR-associated amyloidosis combining two compositions (a COMT inhibitor and
) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (treating TTR-associated amyloidosis), in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (see MPEP 2144.06). In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See also: In re Diamond, 360 F.2d 214, 53 C.C.P.A. 1172, 149 U.S.P.Q. 562 (C.C.P.A. 1966).
All this would result in the practice of claims 38-39 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
1) Claims 13-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,872,236. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The ‘236 patent teaches a method of treating presbyopia or cataracts comprising the administration of the following compound:
(identical to species elected by Applicant, see claim 18), among others.
2) Claims 38-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,872,236 in view of Keita (US 2020/0234607).
The ‘236 patent teaches all the limitations of claims 38-39, except for the further administration of atropine. However, Keita teaches that presbyopia can be treated with atropine (see [0004]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to treat presbyopia combining two compositions (atropine and
) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (treating presbyopia), in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (see MPEP 2144.06). In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See also: In re Diamond, 360 F.2d 214, 53 C.C.P.A. 1172, 149 U.S.P.Q. 562 (C.C.P.A. 1966).
All this would result in the practice of claims 38-39 with a reasonable expectation of success.
3) Claims 13-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 9-12 of copending Application No. 18/575,218 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The ‘218’ application teaches a method of treating presbyopia, cataracts and TTR-associated amyloidosis comprising the administration of the following compound:
(identical to species elected by Applicant, see claim 9), among others.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
4) Claims 38-39 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 9-12 of copending Application No. 18/575,218 in view of Centellas Casado et. al. (US 2014/0296188).
The copending application 218’ teaches all the limitations of claims 38-39, except for the further administration of COMT inhibitors. However, Centellas Casado teaches that TTR-associated amyloidosis can be treated with COMT inhibitors (see abstract and [0047]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to treat TTR-associated amyloidosis combining two compositions (a COMT inhibitor and
) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (treating TTR-associated amyloidosis), in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (see MPEP 2144.06). In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See also: In re Diamond, 360 F.2d 214, 53 C.C.P.A. 1172, 149 U.S.P.Q. 562 (C.C.P.A. 1966).
All this would result in the practice of claims 38-39 with a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
October 29, 2025.