Status of claims
Claims 1-4 and 6-16 are pending
Claim 5 is cancelled
Interview Summary
Examiner thanks for the applicant’s representatives for their participation in the interview conducted on January 12, 2026 regarding the present application. Applicant’s breakdown and explanation of the invention’s novelty, specifically the “power extension requests” and “power extension record” in relation to the “non-driving systems”, was very enlightening. Given that explanation, further search and consideration has been conducted. After an extensive search, consideration, and conference with other examiners, it was determined that the current claims as written are not in a state to grant allowability.
Please see non-final rejection below.
Response to Amendment
35 U.S.C.103 Rejection
To clarify arguments for rejection, the SMIDT reference within claim 1 and 12 has been replaced by the new GIBEAU reference.
Please see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Although the use of the term “configured to:” in claim 1 does not incite 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it does introduce vagueness as to whether the control system has a hardware or software structure.
The office recommends removing the phrase “configured to”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SOO (US20160236586A1) in further in view of GIBEAU (US 20140070606 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
SOO discloses:
(Currently Amended) A control system for an electrical power source in a vehicle having a driving system and a non-driving system, the control system comprising one or more controllers configured to: (see at least SOO, ¶ 0016, “The battery pack 24 stores energy that can be used by the electric machines 14. A vehicle battery pack or traction battery 24 typically provides a high voltage DC output. A high-voltage bus 40 may be defined for connecting loads requiring high-voltage. The battery pack 24 may be electrically coupled to the high-voltage bus 40 to provide power to and receive power from the high-voltage bus 40. The high-voltage bus 40 may represent a connection point for loads that require a connection to high-voltage power. One or more power electronics modules 26 may be electrically connected to the high-voltage bus 40 and may be configured to provide power to and receive power from the high-voltage bus 40. The power electronics module 26 may be electrically connected to the electric machines 14 and provides the ability to bi-directionally transfer energy between the high-voltage bus 40 and the electric machines 14. For example, a typical battery pack 24 may provide a DC voltage while the electric machines 14 may utilize a three-phase AC current to operate. The power electronics module 26 may convert the DC voltage to a three-phase AC current as used by the electric machines 14. In a regenerative mode, the power electronics module 26 may convert the three-phase AC current from the electric machines 14 acting as generators to the DC voltage used by the battery pack 24.”; ¶ 0017, “In addition to providing energy for propulsion, the battery pack 24 may provide energy for other vehicle electrical systems. A typical system may include a DC/DC converter module 28 that converts the high-voltage DC output of the battery pack 24 to a low-voltage DC supply that is compatible with other vehicle loads. The DC/DC converter module 28 may be electrically connected to the high-voltage bus 40 and be configured to provide power to and receive power from the high-voltage bus 40. Other high-voltage loads, such as compressors and electric heaters, may be connected directly to the high-voltage bus 40. In a typical vehicle, the low-voltage systems are electrically connected to an auxiliary battery (e.g., 12V) 30. The auxiliary battery 30 may be at any voltage suitable for the particular vehicle application (e.g., 24V, 48V, etc.).”)
determine an adjusted charging limit in dependence on a regular charging limit (see at least SOO, ¶ 0035. “The vehicle 12 may include a navigation system 48 that includes a vehicle position sensor such as Global Positioning System (GPS). The navigation system 48 may include a user interface. The user interface may include a display and an input mechanism. The input mechanism may include buttons, a keypad, or touch screen menus. The operator may enter a destination location via the input mechanism. The navigation system 48 may be connected to other controllers via a communication link (not shown). The navigation system 48 may provide an interface that allows the operator to enter a destination and select if a power generation preparatory mode is to be activated during the drive cycle to the destination. For example, the input mechanism may be a keyboard, a keypad, or a touchscreen.”; ¶ 0042, “If the destination is associated with the power generation preparatory mode, then the energy management strategy may be modified during the drive cycle to the destination. The energy management strategy may include a modified upper SOC limit 204 and a modified lower SOC limit 206. as shown in FIG. 4. FIG. 4 depicts an energy management strategy that may be employed during the power generation preparatory mode. The state of the engine (e.g., engine state 200) may be based on the battery SOC. The power generation preparatory mode may be activated at a particular time as selected by the operator which may be referred to as an activation time 208. Prior to the activation time 208, the energy management strategy may operate with a target SOC 202 that is between the upper SOC limit 106 and the lower SOC limit 108 (e.g., the normal or default energy management thresholds).”)
output a charge signal to charge the electrical power source to the adjusted charging limits (see at least SOO, ¶ 0004; ¶ 0027, “Battery pack state of charge (SOC) gives an indication of how much charge remains in the battery pack. The SOC may be expressed as a percentage of the total charge remaining in the battery pack. The battery pack SOC may be output to inform the driver of how much charge remains in the battery pack, similar to a fuel gauge. The battery pack SOC may also be used to control the operation of an electric or hybrid-electric vehicle. Calculation of battery pack SOC can be accomplished by a variety of methods. One possible method of calculating battery SOC is to perform an integration of the battery pack current over time. This is well-known in the art as ampere-hour integration.”)
SOO does not disclose, but GIBEAU teaches:
retain a power extension record comprising data concerning charging limit adjustments; (see at least GIBEAU, ¶ 0035, “The BECM 34 also compares present battery conditions to predetermined and historic data to calculate present battery conditions. The BECM 34 provides input (P.sub.cap, BSOC, CSOC, AGE) to the vehicle controller 14 that represents battery power capability, battery state of charge, customer state of charge and battery aging, respectively. The P.sub.cap input represents the total amount of power that the battery 32 is capable of providing (discharging) to other vehicle components (e.g., the motor 18 and the climate control system 40). P.sub.cap also represents the total amount of power that the battery 32 is capable of receiving during charging. The BSOC input represents the battery state of charge, which is the amount of electric energy of the main battery 32 as a percentage from 0% (empty) to 100% (full). The CSOC input represents the customer state of charge, which is the amount of "available" electric energy of the main battery 32 as a percentage. The relationship between BSOC and CSOC is described in detail below with respect to FIG. 3. The AGE input represents the battery life ("aging") or degradation of the battery based on the change in capacity over time, faults, and any predetermined limits.”; ¶ 0067, “At operation 428, the vehicle controller 14 receives battery usage control factors that relate to the historic power consumption of the motor 18, the climate control system 40 and the accessories 48. The vehicle controller 14 also receives an identity signal (ID) that represents the identity of the present driver of the vehicle 12. The vehicle controller 14 receives actual power consumption values (P.sub.heat.sub.--.sub.act, P.sub.cool.sub.--.sub.act,P.sub.drv.sub.--.sub.act, P.sub.acc.sub.--.sub.act) during operation of the vehicle 12 that correspond to the actual power consumed by the PTC heater 42, the HVAC compressor 44, the motor 18 and the LV battery 46. The vehicle controller 14 saves this power consumption data in its memory along with other data corresponding to certain vehicle conditions and the identity of the driver, when such power is consumed. By saving such data, the vehicle controller 14 develops historic data that it can later reference to estimate future power consumption.”; ¶ 0073, “In operation 442 the vehicle controller 14 disables charging of the battery 32 when the CSOC reaches the modified upper charging limit (UL.sub.off.sub.--.sub.mod3). The UL.sub.off.sub.--.sub.mod3 is based on the charge level selection, and modified by battery, usage and navigation factors. Other embodiments of the method 410 contemplate fewer modifications to the charging limit, and modifications in different sequences.”; ¶ 0074, “As such, the vehicle system 10 provides advantages by allowing the driver to customize battery charging by selecting a charge level based on their future travel plans, which may be less than a standard maximum charging limit. The vehicle system 10 is also configured to modify the selected charge level based on present and historic vehicle conditions. Such customization of the charging limit extends battery life by avoiding excess cycling of the battery, and charging to undesired charge levels.”)
receive an extended power request associated with the non-driving system; (see at least GIBEAU, ¶ 0068, “At operation 430 the vehicle controller 14 further modifies the modified charging limit (UL.sub.off.sub.--.sub.mod1) based on one or more of the usage control factors. For example, in one embodiment, the vehicle controller 14 receives a charge level selection that corresponds to 40% CSOC, which is offset to 45% CSOC at operation 418. The vehicle controller 14 also receives an ambient temperature (T.sub.amb) value of 30.degree. C. (86.degree. F.). The vehicle controller 14 analyzes the historic climate control system power consumption data for the present driver (ID) at high ambient temperatures, and determines that the present driver uses approximately 500 Watt hours (Wh) of energy to cool the vehicle (based on historic P.sub.cool.sub.--.sub.act) at such temperatures. The vehicle controller 14 then modifies UL.sub.off.sub.--.sub.mod1 to provide a further modified upper charging limit (UL.sub.off.sub.--.sub.mod2) of 50% CSOC. UL.sub.off.sub.--.sub.mod2 is generally referenced by numeral 432 in FIG. 9.”)
and the extended power request; and (see at least GIBEAU, ¶ 0064, “At operation 418 the vehicle controller 14 offsets the charging limit. For example, in one embodiment, the vehicle controller 14 receives a charge level selection that corresponds to a UL of 60% CSOC. Then the vehicle controller 14 determines that 0% CSOC is an undesired CSOC value based on BAT.sub.char. Then the vehicle controller 14 offsets UL (e.g., by adding 5% CSOC) to provide an offset upper charging limit (UL.sub.off). By offsetting the UL, the CSOC.sub.min value also offsets so that the CSOC value when the driver returns to the charging station is offset from an undesired CSOC.sub.min. UL.sub.off is generally referenced by numeral 420 in FIG. 9.”; ¶ 0068)
wherein the adjusted charging limit is determined in dependence on the power extension record. (see at least GIBEAU, ¶ 0067; ¶ 0068; ¶ 0074)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the power management system for determining the appropriate charge limit for an anticipated journey of SOO to include the computation of upper charging limits for anticipated user power consumption from systems such as air conditioning and collection of historic data regarding the user behaviors and battery history within GIBEAU to yield an efficient vehicle battery charger that anticipates the SOC necessary for a vehicle journey and the accompanying vehicle systems.
EXAMINERS NOTE: Although GIBEAU does not explicitly disclose a “non-driving system”, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “non-driving system” would incorporate any system not actively displacing the vehicle (including driving-related systems such as the control computer and speedometer). The examiner recommends further defining in the claims what vehicle systems would be classified as a non-driving system.
Regarding Claim 2:
SOO in view of GIBEAU discloses the limitations within claim 1 and SOO further discloses:
the adjusted charging limit is higher than the regular charging limit. (see at least SOO, ¶ 0043, “After the activation time, 208, the upper SOC limit 106 may be increased such that the modified upper SOC limit 204 is greater than the upper SOC limit 106 for the default strategy. For example, the modified upper SOC limit 204 may be 100%. After the activation time 208, the lower SOC limit 108 may be modified by increasing the lower SOC limit 108 as the distance to the destination changes. As the distance to the destination decreases, the modified lower SOC limit 206 may converge to the modified upper SOC limit 204 (e.g., go from 60% to about 100%). Using the same engine operating strategy as for the normal strategy, the engine 18 may operate more often as the distance to the destination decreases and the battery SOC operating range between the modified upper SOC limit 204 and the modified lower SOC limit 208 decreases. When the vehicle is parked at the destination, the lower SOC limit may be restored to the pre-activation time lower SOC limit 108 (e.g., 60%).”; ¶ 0044, “The impact of increasing the lower SOC limit is to ensure that the battery SOC upon arriving at the destination is at a relatively high SOC. By starting at a relatively high battery SOC at the destination, more energy may be drawn from the battery pack 24 before the engine 18 turns on. This provides the perception of energy efficient operation in the plug-out mode of operation as the engine 18 does not turn on immediately. In some situations, it is possible that the external load 42 is powered without the engine 18 turning on. The period of time that the battery 24 can provide power to the external load 42 may depend on the power drawn by the external load 42 and the capacity of the battery 24.”)
Regarding Claim 3:
SOO in view of GIBEAU discloses the limitations within claim 1 and SOO further discloses:
the extended power request defines an amount of requested additional power and wherein (see at least SOO, ¶ 0026, “It may be useful to calculate various characteristics of the battery pack. Quantities such a battery power capability and battery state of charge may be useful for controlling the operation of the battery pack as well as any electrical loads receiving power from the battery pack. Battery power capability is a measure of the maximum amount of power the battery can provide or the maximum amount of power that the battery can receive. Knowing the battery power capability allows electrical loads to be managed such that the power requested is within limits that the battery can handle.”)
the adjusted charging limit is determined in dependence on the amount of requested additional power. (see at least SOO, ¶ 0005, “An energy management system includes a controller programmed to, in response to receiving a request to prepare for power generation at a destination prior to arriving at the destination, operate a battery according to a target state of charge (SOC) range defined by upper and lower SOC limits during a drive cycle to the destination, and increase the lower SOC limit as a distance to the destination decreases. The controller may be further programmed to, in response to receiving the request, increase the upper SOC limit to a predetermined SOC. The controller may be further programmed to increase the lower SOC limit at a rate such that the lower SOC limit converges with the upper SOC limit upon reaching the destination. The controller may be further programmed to operate the battery such that the SOC of the battery upon arriving at the destination is greater than a predetermined SOC, and after arriving at the destination, operate the battery to power a load external to the vehicle without the engine running for at least a predetermined time before requesting operation of the engine and the electric machine to charge the battery and power the load. The controller may be further programmed to begin increasing the lower SOC limit at a predetermined distance from the destination. The controller may be further programmed to decrease the lower SOC limit to a predetermined value in response to power generation at the destination.”; ¶ 0006, “A method includes operating, by a controller, a battery of a vehicle according to a target state of charge (SOC) range defined by upper and lower SOC limits during a drive cycle to a destination. The method further includes increasing, by the controller, the lower SOC limit as a distance to the destination decreases in response to receiving a request to prepare for power generation at the destination prior to arriving at the destination. The method may further include increasing, in response to receiving the request, the upper SOC limit to a predetermined SOC. The rate of change of the lower SOC limit may be such that the lower SOC limit converges with the upper SOC limit upon arriving at the destination. The method may further include requesting, by the controller, operation of an engine and an electric machine to control a state of charge of the battery to the target SOC range. The method may further include operating, by the controller, the battery to power an external load after arriving at the destination without requesting operation of an engine and an electric machine for at least a predetermined time. The method may further include decreasing, by the controller, the lower SOC limit to a previous value when power generation at the destination begins. The method may further include increasing, by the controller, the lower SOC limit according to the distance from the destination when the distance from the destination is less than a predetermined distance.”)
Regarding Claim 6:
SOO in view of GIBEAU discloses the limitations within claim 1 and SOO further discloses:
configured to output a signal to deliver electrical power to the driving system. (see at least SOO, ¶ 0030, “The plug-out connector module 38 may enable connection of an external device or load 42 to the vehicle 12. The plug-out connector module 38 may be controlled by a controller such as the VSC 44. The plug-out connector module 38 may provide isolation capability when the plug is not in use. The plug-out connector module or port 38 may control the delivery of high-voltage to the external load 42. The plug-out connector module 38 may enable and disable high voltage that is passed to the external load 42. The plug-out connector port 38 may have the capability to selectively connect the output of the DC/AC converter 46 to the external load 42. The plug-out connection port 38 may provide a connection point for connecting the external load 42 to the vehicle 12. The port 38 may provide connections for high voltage and for communications between the vehicle 12 and the external load 42. The plug-out connector module 38 may provide an indication to other controllers that an external load 42 is connected to the vehicle 12.”; ¶ 0039, “Once a destination is selected for which the power generation preparatory mode is enabled, the energy management strategy for the drive cycle to the destination may be determined. If the destination is not associated with the power generation preparatory mode, a normal or default energy management strategy may be implemented. The normal or default energy management strategy may be optimized to minimize fuel consumption. FIG. 3 depicts a possible default energy management strategy during a drive cycle to a destination. A state of the engine (e.g., engine state 100) may be based on the battery SOC. The engine state 100 and the target battery SOC 102 may be plotted as a function of a distance from the destination. The battery SOC may be expected to closely follow the target battery SOC 102. For example, the target battery SOC 102 may be limited to be between an upper SOC limit 106 and a lower SOC limit 108. The upper SOC limit 106 and the lower SOC limit 108 may be predetermined values. For example, the upper SOC limit 106 may be 60% and the lower SOC limit 108 may be 40% when operating with the default energy management strategy.”; ¶ 0040, “The energy management strategy may be such that the engine 18 is operated (e.g., engine is running) when the battery SOC falls below the lower SOC limit 108. The engine 18 may be in the “on” or “running” state until the battery SOC meets or exceeds the upper SOC limit 106 at which time the engine 18 may be turned off. In addition, the electric machine 14 may be operated as a generator to provide energy to charge the battery 24. Other engine operating strategies are possible and the strategy depicted is merely one example.”)
Regarding Claim 8:
SOO in view of GIBEAU discloses the limitations within claim 1 and SOO further discloses:
the electrical power source comprises a battery. (see at least SOO, ¶ 0005, “An energy management system includes a controller programmed to, in response to receiving a request to prepare for power generation at a destination prior to arriving at the destination, operate a battery according to a target state of charge (SOC) range defined by upper and lower SOC limits during a drive cycle to the destination, and increase the lower SOC limit as a distance to the destination decreases. The controller may be further programmed to, in response to receiving the request, increase the upper SOC limit to a predetermined SOC. The controller may be further programmed to increase the lower SOC limit at a rate such that the lower SOC limit converges with the upper SOC limit upon reaching the destination. The controller may be further programmed to operate the battery such that the SOC of the battery upon arriving at the destination is greater than a predetermined SOC, and after arriving at the destination, operate the battery to power a load external to the vehicle without the engine running for at least a predetermined time before requesting operation of the engine and the electric machine to charge the battery and power the load. The controller may be further programmed to begin increasing the lower SOC limit at a predetermined distance from the destination. The controller may be further programmed to decrease the lower SOC limit to a predetermined value in response to power generation at the destination.”; ¶ 0024, “A traction battery 24 may be constructed from a variety of chemical formulations. Typical battery pack chemistries may be lead acid, nickel-metal hydride (NIMH) or Lithium-Ion. FIG. 2 shows a typical traction battery pack 24 in a simple series configuration of N battery cells 72. Other battery packs 24, however, may be composed of any number of individual battery cells connected in series or parallel or some combination thereof. A typical system may have a one or more controllers, such as a Battery Energy Control Module (BECM) 76 that monitors and controls the performance of the traction battery 24. The BECM 76 may monitor several battery pack level characteristics such as pack current 78, pack voltage 80 and pack temperature 82. The BECM 76 may have non-volatile memory such that data may be retained when the BECM 76 is in an off condition. Retained data may be available upon the next key cycle.”)
Regarding Claim 9:
SOO in view of GIBEAU discloses the limitations within claim 1 and SOO further discloses:
the battery is a 12V battery. (see at least SOO, ¶ 0017, “In addition to providing energy for propulsion, the battery pack 24 may provide energy for other vehicle electrical systems. A typical system may include a DC/DC converter module 28 that converts the high-voltage DC output of the battery pack 24 to a low-voltage DC supply that is compatible with other vehicle loads. The DC/DC converter module 28 may be electrically connected to the high-voltage bus 40 and be configured to provide power to and receive power from the high-voltage bus 40. Other high-voltage loads, such as compressors and electric heaters, may be connected directly to the high-voltage bus 40. In a typical vehicle, the low-voltage systems are electrically connected to an auxiliary battery (e.g., 12V) 30. The auxiliary battery 30 may be at any voltage suitable for the particular vehicle application (e.g., 24V, 48V, etc.).”)
Regarding Claim 10:
SOO in view of GIBEAU discloses the limitations within claim 1 and SOO further discloses:
An electrical power source for a vehicle, the electrical power source comprising a control system as claimed in claim 1. (see at least SOO, ¶ 0005, “An energy management system includes a controller programmed to, in response to receiving a request to prepare for power generation at a destination prior to arriving at the destination, operate a battery according to a target state of charge (SOC) range defined by upper and lower SOC limits during a drive cycle to the destination, and increase the lower SOC limit as a distance to the destination decreases. The controller may be further programmed to, in response to receiving the request, increase the upper SOC limit to a predetermined SOC. The controller may be further programmed to increase the lower SOC limit at a rate such that the lower SOC limit converges with the upper SOC limit upon reaching the destination. The controller may be further programmed to operate the battery such that the SOC of the battery upon arriving at the destination is greater than a predetermined SOC, and after arriving at the destination, operate the battery to power a load external to the vehicle without the engine running for at least a predetermined time before requesting operation of the engine and the electric machine to charge the battery and power the load. The controller may be further programmed to begin increasing the lower SOC limit at a predetermined distance from the destination. The controller may be further programmed to decrease the lower SOC limit to a predetermined value in response to power generation at the destination.”)
Regarding Claim 11:
SOO in view of GIBEAU discloses the limitations within claim 1 and SOO further discloses:
A vehicle comprising an electrical power source as claimed in claim 10. (see at least SOO, ¶ 0005, “An energy management system includes a controller programmed to, in response to receiving a request to prepare for power generation at a destination prior to arriving at the destination, operate a battery according to a target state of charge (SOC) range defined by upper and lower SOC limits during a drive cycle to the destination, and increase the lower SOC limit as a distance to the destination decreases. The controller may be further programmed to, in response to receiving the request, increase the upper SOC limit to a predetermined SOC. The controller may be further programmed to increase the lower SOC limit at a rate such that the lower SOC limit converges with the upper SOC limit upon reaching the destination. The controller may be further programmed to operate the battery such that the SOC of the battery upon arriving at the destination is greater than a predetermined SOC, and after arriving at the destination, operate the battery to power a load external to the vehicle without the engine running for at least a predetermined time before requesting operation of the engine and the electric machine to charge the battery and power the load. The controller may be further programmed to begin increasing the lower SOC limit at a predetermined distance from the destination. The controller may be further programmed to decrease the lower SOC limit to a predetermined value in response to power generation at the destination.”)
Regarding Claim 12:
With regards to claim 12, this claim is the method claim to system claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Regarding Claim 13:
With regards to claim 13, this claim is the non-transitory computer readable medium claim to method claim 12 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Regarding Claim 14:
SOO in view of GIBEAU discloses the limitations within claim 1 and SOO does not disclose, but GIBEAU teaches:
wherein the control system is configured to add the received power request to the power extension record and/or add the adjusted charging limit to the power extension record. (see at least GIBEAU, ¶ 0035, “The BECM 34 also compares present battery conditions to predetermined and historic data to calculate present battery conditions. The BECM 34 provides input (P.sub.cap, BSOC, CSOC, AGE) to the vehicle controller 14 that represents battery power capability, battery state of charge, customer state of charge and battery aging, respectively. The P.sub.cap input represents the total amount of power that the battery 32 is capable of providing (discharging) to other vehicle components (e.g., the motor 18 and the climate control system 40). P.sub.cap also represents the total amount of power that the battery 32 is capable of receiving during charging. The BSOC input represents the battery state of charge, which is the amount of electric energy of the main battery 32 as a percentage from 0% (empty) to 100% (full). The CSOC input represents the customer state of charge, which is the amount of "available" electric energy of the main battery 32 as a percentage. The relationship between BSOC and CSOC is described in detail below with respect to FIG. 3. The AGE input represents the battery life ("aging") or degradation of the battery based on the change in capacity over time, faults, and any predetermined limits.”; ¶ 0042, “The vehicle controller 14 saves this power consumption data (e.g., P.sub.heat.sub.--.sub.act, P.sub.cool.sub.--.sub.act, P.sub.drv.sub.--.sub.act, and P.sub.acc.sub.--.sub.act) in its memory along with other data corresponding to certain vehicle conditions and the identity of the driver, when such power is consumed. By saving such data, the vehicle controller 14 develops historic data that it can later reference to estimate future power consumption.”; ¶ 0067, “At operation 428, the vehicle controller 14 receives battery usage control factors that relate to the historic power consumption of the motor 18, the climate control system 40 and the accessories 48. The vehicle controller 14 also receives an identity signal (ID) that represents the identity of the present driver of the vehicle 12. The vehicle controller 14 receives actual power consumption values (P.sub.heat.sub.--.sub.act, P.sub.cool.sub.--.sub.act,P.sub.drv.sub.--.sub.act, P.sub.acc.sub.--.sub.act) during operation of the vehicle 12 that correspond to the actual power consumed by the PTC heater 42, the HVAC compressor 44, the motor 18 and the LV battery 46. The vehicle controller 14 saves this power consumption data in its memory along with other data corresponding to certain vehicle conditions and the identity of the driver, when such power is consumed. By saving such data, the vehicle controller 14 develops historic data that it can later reference to estimate future power consumption.”; ¶ 0074, “As such, the vehicle system 10 provides advantages by allowing the driver to customize battery charging by selecting a charge level based on their future travel plans, which may be less than a standard maximum charging limit. The vehicle system 10 is also configured to modify the selected charge level based on present and historic vehicle conditions. Such customization of the charging limit extends battery life by avoiding excess cycling of the battery, and charging to undesired charge levels.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the power management system for determining the appropriate charge limit for an anticipated journey of SOO to include the computation of upper charging limits for anticipated user power consumption from systems such as air conditioning and collection of historic data regarding the user behaviors and battery history within GIBEAU to yield an efficient vehicle battery charger that anticipates the SOC necessary for a vehicle journey and the accompanying vehicle systems.
Regarding Claim 16:
SOO in view of GIBEAU discloses the limitations within claim 1 and further teaches:
the battery is a lithium ion battery. (see at least SOO, ¶ 0024, “A traction battery 24 may be constructed from a variety of chemical formulations. Typical battery pack chemistries may be lead acid, nickel-metal hydride (NIMH) or Lithium-Ion. FIG. 2 shows a typical traction battery pack 24 in a simple series configuration of N battery cells 72. Other battery packs 24, however, may be composed of any number of individual battery cells connected in series or parallel or some combination thereof. A typical system may have a one or more controllers, such as a Battery Energy Control Module (BECM) 76 that monitors and controls the performance of the traction battery 24. The BECM 76 may monitor several battery pack level characteristics such as pack current 78, pack voltage 80 and pack temperature 82. The BECM 76 may have non-volatile memory such that data may be retained when the BECM 76 is in an off condition. Retained data may be available upon the next key cycle.”)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SOO (US 20160236586 A1) in view of GIBEAU (US 20140070606 A1) in further view of KINOMURA (US 20150191164 A1).
Regarding Claim 4:
SOO in view of GIBEAU discloses the limitations within claim 1 and SOO does not disclose, but GIBEAU teaches:
the extended power request (see at least GIBEAU, ¶ 0068, “At operation 430 the vehicle controller 14 further modifies the modified charging limit (UL.sub.off.sub.--.sub.mod1) based on one or more of the usage control factors. For example, in one embodiment, the vehicle controller 14 receives a charge level selection that corresponds to 40% CSOC, which is offset to 45% CSOC at operation 418. The vehicle controller 14 also receives an ambient temperature (T.sub.amb) value of 30.degree. C. (86.degree. F.). The vehicle controller 14 analyzes the historic climate control system power consumption data for the present driver (ID) at high ambient temperatures, and determines that the present driver uses approximately 500 Watt hours (Wh) of energy to cool the vehicle (based on historic P.sub.cool.sub.--.sub.act) at such temperatures. The vehicle controller 14 then modifies UL.sub.off.sub.--.sub.mod1 to provide a further modified upper charging limit (UL.sub.off.sub.--.sub.mod2) of 50% CSOC. UL.sub.off.sub.--.sub.mod2 is generally referenced by numeral 432 in FIG. 9.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the power management system for determining the appropriate charge limit for an anticipated journey of SOO to include the computation of upper charging limits for anticipated user power consumption from systems such as air conditioning and collection of historic data regarding the user behaviors and battery history within GIBEAU to yield an efficient vehicle battery charger that anticipates the SOC necessary for a vehicle journey and the accompanying vehicle systems.
SOO does not disclose, but KINOMURA teaches:
defines power request period, indicative of an amount of time during which a user wants the non-driving system to be powered, and (see at least KINOMURA, ¶ 0105, “In the third embodiment, a configuration that a user is allowed to set in advance a prohibition time period during which generation of electric power by using the driving force of the engine is prohibited and each user's operation is suppressed will be described.”; ¶ 0107, “As shown in FIG. 7, the user presets a time period between time t10 and time t11 and a time period between time t12 and time t13 as a prohibition time period in the ECU 300. The prohibition time period is set by using, for example, the communication terminal carried by the user, the operation screen of the navigation system, or the like.”)
wherein the adjusted charging limit is determined in dependence on the power request period. (see at least KINOMURA, ¶ 0109, “When the time enters the prohibition time period at time t12, the ECU 300 stops the operation of the engine 160. When a prohibition time period is set, the ECU 300 sets the target value of the SOC to a target value B. On the other hand, when no prohibition time period is set, the ECU 300 sets the target value of the SOC to a target value C. The target value B is a value higher than the target value C. In this way, by setting the target SOC such that the target SOC is high in the case where a prohibition time period is set, it is possible to ensure the amount of electric power that is dischargeable from the electrical storage device 110 in the prohibition time period.”; ¶ 0117, “In a second alternative embodiment to the third embodiment, electric power generated in the case where the prohibition time period is set is configured to be larger than electric power generated in the case where no prohibition time period is set. In this case, because the SOC quickly increases as a result of generation of electric power, even when a period that is not the prohibition time period is short, it is possible to ensure the amount of electric power supplied from the electrical storage device 110 during the prohibition time period.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the power management system that determines the required increased upper charge limits for anticipated user power consumption within SOO in view of GIBEAU to include the time-based charging options of KINOMURA to yield an effective charging system capable of accounting for user time.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SOO (US 20160236586 A1) in view of GIBEAU (US 20140070606 A1) in further view of SLOAN (US 5089762 A).
Regarding claim 7:
SOO in view of GIBEAU discloses the limitations within claim 6 and SOO further discloses:
to monitor a current state of charge, and (see at least SOO, ¶ 0025, “In addition to the pack level characteristics, there may be battery cell 72 level characteristics that are measured and monitored. For example, the terminal voltage, current, and temperature of each cell 72 may be measured. A system may use a sensor module 74 to measure the battery cell 72 characteristics. Depending on the capabilities, the sensor module 74 may measure the characteristics of one or multiple of the battery cells 72. The battery pack 24 may utilize up to N.sub.c sensor modules 74 to measure the characteristics of all the battery cells 72. Each sensor module 74 may transfer the measurements to the BECM 76 for further processing and coordination. The sensor module 74 may transfer signals in analog or digital form to the BECM 76. In some embodiments, the sensor module 74 functionality may be incorporated internally to the BECM 76. That is, the sensor module 74 hardware may be integrated as part of the circuitry in the BECM 76 and the BECM 76 may handle the processing of raw signals.”)
SOO does not disclose but SLOAN teaches:
to output a signal to deliver electrical power to the non-driving system only when the current state of charge exceeds a depletion limit and/or (see at least SLOAN, col 1 line 60 – col 2 line 4, “The microprocessor then adjusts a reference voltage level, e.g. 11.8 volts, as a function of elapsed time since last termination of engine ignition and preferably as a function of the ambient temperature to produce a cut off voltage level. Consequently, the cut off voltage level varies as a function of time and preferably temperature of the battery. The microprocessor then iteratively compares the battery voltage signal with the calculated cut off voltage level. In the event that the battery voltage reaches or is less than the cut off level, the microprocessor generates an output signal which initiates a timing means, such as an internal timer in the microprocessor.”; col 2 lines 5-15, “The timing means is used to count down a preset period of time, for example two minutes, which is designed to permit the operator sufficient time to start the vehicle. If at the end of the timer countdown period the engine has not been started, the timing means produces a battery disconnect signal. This battery disconnect signal actuates an electromechanical switch which disconnects the battery from the electrical load for the vehicle. Thereafter, the switch can be either electrically or manually reset to enable engine ignition.”; col 5 lines 53-59, “In the event that, following expiration of the short term timer 62 and assuming that engine ignition has not occurred, the short term timer 62 generates an output signal to a disconnect driver circuit 64, i.e. the FET 238 and DC motor 240 of FIG. 1. This circuit 64 in turn activates the switch 14 and disconnects the battery 12 from the electrical load 16.”; col 5 lines 60-69, “The output 34 from the long term timer 30 also enables the circuit 10 of the present invention to effectively disconnect the engine battery 12 from the electrical load 16 in the event that the vehicle remains unused for a long period of time, for example six weeks. In effect, the device of the present invention places the battery in a storage mode under such non-use conditions. Furthermore, such disconnection of the battery occurs in this event regardless of the battery voltage of the battery 12.”; col 7 lines 8-24, “Step 126, which corresponds to the summing junction 44 in FIG. 2, then calculates the cut off voltage V.sub.CUT by adding V.sub.REF and V.sub.TIME together and generates a signal on the microprocessor ports 226 representative of this value. Step 126 then branches to step 128 which compares the cut off voltage V.sub.CUT to the current battery voltage VB by reading the output from the comparator 216. If the battery voltage exceeds the cut off voltage V.sub.CUT, indicative that more than sufficient battery capacity remains for subsequent engine ignition, step 128 branches to step 125 which compares the battery voltage to a high voltage valve, e.g. 13.6 volts, indicative of a fully charged battery. If the battery voltage is greater than 13.6 volts, step 125 branches to step 100 which resets the long term timers. Otherwise, step 125 branches to step 102 where the above described process is repeated.”)
to output a signal to deliver electrical power to the driving system when the current state of charge is below the depletion limit. (see at least SLOAN, col 3 lines 6-20, “Oftentimes, the battery continues to drive an electrical load in the vehicle even though the engine is off and, in doing so, discharges the battery. In some cases, this can be inadvertent, such as when the vehicle operator leaves the headlights on the vehicle, or through a malfunction in the electrical circuit. In either event, after a period of time, the battery will discharge to such an extent that engine ignition using the charge in the battery is impossible.”; col 6 lines 1-13, “Still referring to FIG. 2, in one form of the invention, following disconnection of the battery by the switch 14, the device of the present invention must be manually reset (as will be subsequently described) in order to reconnect the battery to the electrical system of the vehicle. In a second embodiment of the invention, however, an ignition detection circuit block 68 detects activation of the engine ignition system and actuates the switch 14 through the driver 64 and to thereby close the switch 14. The ignition activation signal is also provided on input line 27 to the microprocessor 18 (FIG. 1). Thus, in this latter case, the device automatically resets following actuation of the engine ignition system.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the power management system of SOO in view of GIBEAU with the low voltage detection and disconnect driver circuit of SLOAN to yield an effective system that preserves vehicle battery for ignition.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SOO (US 20160236586 A1) in view of GIBEAU (US 20140070606 A1) in further view of LIU (C. Liu, K. T. Chau and J. Z. Jiang, "A Permanent-Magnet Hybrid Brushless Integrated Starter–Generator for Hybrid Electric Vehicles," in IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics, vol. 57, no. 12, pp. 4055-4064, Dec. 2010.).
Regarding claim 15:
SOO in view of GIBEAU discloses the limitations within claim 6 and SOO further discloses:
wherein the control system is configured to output a signal to deliver electrical power to the starter motor. (see at least SOO, ¶ 0041, “At the destination 104, the distance from the destination will be zero. At the destination 104, the vehicle may be parked and an external load 42 may be connected to the vehicle 12. The default strategy may not ensure that the battery SOC is at a relatively high SOC for powering the external load 42. The energy management strategy when the vehicle is parked may follow the default or normal energy management strategy. In the power generation mode, if the battery SOC starts near the lower SOC limit 108, the engine 18 may turn on soon after entering the power generation mode. This may give the perception that the external power generation mode is inefficient.”)
SOO does not disclose, but LIU teaches:
the driving system includes a starter motor, and (see at least LIU, page 1, INTRODUCTION, " Electric machines and drives are one of the key energy-efficient technologies for HEVs [4]–[6]. In a conventional automotive electrical system, because most of the electric machines cannot offer high starting torque and wide speed range simultaneously, the starter motor and the generator have to be separately employed for engine cranking and battery charging, respectively [7], [8]. With the advancement of electric machines and power electronics technologies, the integrated starter–generator (ISG), which performs both engine cranking and battery charging, is becoming attractive for modern automobiles and HEVs [9]–[11].")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the hybrid vehicle and power management system of SOO in view of GIBEAU to incorporate a hybrid vehicle integrated starter-generator motor of LIU to yield an effective hybrid vehicle with a starter motor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LEE (US 20200171970 A1)
¶ 0035, “The BECM 34 also compares present battery conditions to predetermined and historic data to calculate present battery conditions. The BECM 34 provides input (P.sub.cap, BSOC, CSOC, AGE) to the vehicle controller 14 that represents battery power capability, battery state of charge, customer state of charge and battery aging, respectively. The P.sub.cap input represents the total amount of power that the battery 32 is capable of providing (discharging) to other vehicle components (e.g., the motor 18 and the climate control system 40). P.sub.cap also represents the total amount of power that the battery 32 is capable of receiving during charging. The BSOC input represents the battery state of charge, which is the amount of electric energy of the main battery 32 as a percentage from 0% (empty) to 100% (full). The CSOC input represents the customer state of charge, which is the amount of "available" electric energy of the main battery 32 as a percentage. The relationship between BSOC and CSOC is described in detail below with respect to FIG. 3. The AGE input represents the battery life ("aging") or degradation of the battery based on the change in capacity over time, faults, and any predetermined limits.”
¶ 0037, “The vehicle controller 14 also receives input that corresponds to usage control factors that are related to power consumption of the climate control system 40, motor 18 and accessories 48.”
/RAFAEL VELASQUEZ VANEGAS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/JOAN T GOODBODY/Examiner, Art Unit 3664