DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 02/14/2025.
Claims 15-30 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “maximum” in claim 30 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “maximum” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Therefore “operating the refrigeration circuit in an operating state in which a pressure level on the low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor is set in such a way via control of the valve circuit, the evaporator valve, the chiller valve, and the refrigerant compressor, that the refrigerant compressor is operated at its continuous power maximum” is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graff et al. (DE102011118162A1) and in view of Mieda et al. (US2022/0275982A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Graff teaches a refrigeration circuit for a motor vehicle [0001] and Graff teaches comprising:
a refrigerant compressor [1];
a condenser [2] configured to exchange heat with a cooling circuit [0074 “additional heat absorption for the system”]
a chiller [18] configured to exchange heat with the cooling circuit [0074 “additional heat absorption for the system”];
an evaporator [4] configured to control a temperature of air in an air-conditioning device [0067 “heat absorption by the evaporator 4 of the air conditioning system”], wherein the evaporator [4] is arranged in parallel with the chiller [fig. 1],
wherein the refrigerant compressor [1], the condenser [2] and a parallel circuit comprising the chiller [18] and the evaporator [4] are connected in series [fig. 2 0061-0062] in a main circuit [at least fig. 2].
Graff does not explicitly teach a return line that branches off from the main circuit on a high-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor and leads into the main circuit on a low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor; a liquid collector arranged downstream of the parallel circuit comprising the chiller and the evaporator; and a valve circuit configured to block and release flow through the return line.
However, Mieda teaches a return line [21a] that branches off from the main circuit [0121 “bypass passage” corresponding to of] on a high-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor [fig. 10 clearly showing a branch on a high-pressure side of (11) ] and leads into the main circuit on a low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor [fig. 10 clearly showing a branch on a low-pressure side of (11)];
a liquid collector [27] arranged downstream of the parallel circuit [fig. 34] comprising the chiller and the evaporator [fig. 34; the chiller (19) and the evaporator (18) corresponding to parallel circuit comprising the chiller (18) and the evaporator (4) of Graff]; and
a valve circuit [fig. 34; 14d] configured to block and release flow through the return line [0102 “an opening/closing valve”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Graff to have a return line that branches off from the main circuit on a high-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor and leads into the main circuit on a low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor; a liquid collector arranged downstream of the parallel circuit comprising the chiller and the evaporator; and a valve circuit configured to block and release flow through the return line in view of the teachings of Mieda where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a refrigeration circuit for a motor vehicle that has a return line with a liquid collector and a valve circuit which improves the heating capacity of the air [Mieda; 0401].
Regarding Claim 16, modified Graff teaches the refrigeration circuit according to claim 15 and Graff teaches further comprising:
a heating condenser [11] configured to control the temperature of air in the air- conditioning device [0067], wherein the refrigerant compressor [1], the heating condenser [11], the condenser [2], and the parallel circuit [fig. 1] comprising the chiller [18] and the evaporator [4] are connected in series in the main circuit [at least fig. 2].
Regarding Claim 17, modified Graff teaches the refrigeration circuit according to claim 15 and Mieda teaches wherein the valve circuit [14d] is configured to block and release flow through the main circuit [0102 “an opening/closing valve” see also fig. 34 where there is flow in 21a and fig. 9 where there is no flow in 21a ].
Regarding Claim 18, modified Graff teaches the refrigeration circuit according to claim 15 and Mieda teaches wherein the valve circuit [14d] comprises a valve [12a] arranged at the branch [fig. 34 where there is a branch at 12a] of the return line [21a] from the main circuit [at least fig. 1].
Regarding Claim 19, modified Graff teaches the refrigeration circuit according to claim 1 and Mieda teaches wherein the valve circuit [14d] comprises:
a first valve [Graff; 6] arranged in the main circuit [fig. 34],
downstream of the branch [fig. 34 where there is a branch at 12a] of the return line [21a] from the main circuit [fig. 34], and is configured to block and release flow through the main circuit [074 “primary line would be shut off via the condenser 2 up to the outlet point in front of the refrigerant receiver 9 by the shut-off valve”]; and
a second valve [14d] arranged in the return line [21a] and configure to block and release flow through the return line [0102 “opening/closing valve serves as the refrigerant circuit switching portion”].
Regarding Claim 20, modified Graff teaches the refrigeration circuit according to claim 15 and Graff teaches comprising:
a chiller valve [Mieda; 14c] arranged upstream of the chiller [Graff; 18] and configured to block and release throughflow [Mieda; 0102 “opening/closing valve”].
Regarding Claim 21, modified Graff teaches the refrigeration circuit according to claim 15 and Mieda teaches comprising:
an evaporator valve [14b] arranged upstream of the evaporator [Graff; 4] and configured to block and release throughflow [Mieda; 0102 “opening/closing valve”].
Regarding Claim 22, modified Graff teaches the refrigeration circuit according to claim 15 and Graff teaches comprising:
an inner heat exchanger [5] that connects the high-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor to the low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor [1] in a manner which transfers heat and is fluidically separate [0061; fig. 2].
Regarding Claim 23, modified Graff teaches the refrigeration circuit according to claim 15 and Graff teaches comprising:
a bypass line [28] comprising:
a bypass valve [29], which bypass line connects the high-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor to the low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor and bypasses at least the chiller and the evaporator, wherein the bypass valve is configured to block and release throughflow [0057; claim 7 “refrigerant redistribution is arranged between the outlet of the condenser (2) and the secondary branch with the heating register” ].
Regarding Claim 24, modified Graff teaches the refrigeration circuit according to claim 15 and Graff teaches a heat management system [0060 “combined refrigeration system and heat pump”] comprising:
the refrigeration circuit according to claim 15[modified Graff];
the cooling circuit [24]; and
the air-conditioning device [0061 “refrigeration system mode”].
Regarding Claim 25, modified Graff teaches the heat management system according to claim 24 and Graff teaches a motor vehicle [0001 “motor vehicles”] comprising:
the heat management system according to claim 24 [modified Graff].
Regarding Claim 26, modified Graff teaches the refrigeration circuit according to claim 15 and Graff teaches a motor vehicle [0001 “motor vehicles”] comprising:
the refrigeration circuit according to claim 15 [modified Graff].
Regarding Claim 27, Graff teaches a method for operating a refrigeration circuit [0002] and Graff teaches the refrigeration circuit [fig. 1] comprising:
a refrigerant compressor [1];
a condenser [2] configured to exchange heat with a cooling circuit [0074 “additional heat absorption for the system”]
a chiller [18] configured to exchange heat with the cooling circuit [0074 “additional heat absorption for the system”];
an evaporator [4] configured to control a temperature of air in an air-conditioning device [0067 “heat absorption by the evaporator 4 of the air conditioning system”], wherein the evaporator [4] is arranged in parallel with the chiller [fig. 1],
wherein the refrigerant compressor [1], the condenser [2] and a parallel circuit comprising the chiller [18] and the evaporator [4] are connected in series [fig. 2 0061-0062] in a main circuit [at least fig. 2].
Graff does not explicitly teach a return line that branches off from the main circuit on a high-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor and leads into the main circuit on a low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor; a liquid collector arranged downstream of the parallel circuit comprising the chiller and the evaporator; and a valve circuit configured to block and release flow through the return line and
the method comprising:
operating the refrigeration circuit in an operating state in which the valve circuit blocks flow through the main circuit and releases flow through the return line, thus preventing heat dissipation from the refrigeration circuit via a heating condenser and the condenser.
However, Mieda teaches a return line [21a] that branches off from the main circuit [0121 “bypass passage” corresponding to of] on a high-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor [fig. 10 clearly showing a branch on a high-pressure side of (11) ] and leads into the main circuit on a low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor [fig. 10 clearly showing a branch on a low-pressure side of (11)];
a liquid collector [27] arranged downstream of the parallel circuit [fig. 34] comprising the chiller and the evaporator [fig. 34; the chiller (19) and the evaporator (18) corresponding to parallel circuit comprising the chiller (18) and the evaporator (4) of Graff]; and
a valve circuit [fig. 34; 14d] configured to block and release flow through the return line [0102 “an opening/closing valve”]; and
the method comprising:
operating the refrigeration circuit [fig. 34 corresponding to fig. 1 of Graff] in an operating state in which the valve circuit [fig. 34; 14d] blocks flow through the main circuit and releases flow through the return line [fig. 34], thus preventing heat dissipation from the refrigeration circuit via a heating condenser [113] and the [the condenser 15 corresponding to 2 of Graff] condenser [fig. 34].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Graff to have a return line that branches off from the main circuit on a high-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor and leads into the main circuit on a low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor; a liquid collector arranged downstream of the parallel circuit comprising the chiller and the evaporator; and a valve circuit configured to block and release flow through the return line and the method comprising: operating the refrigeration circuit in an operating state in which the valve circuit blocks flow through the main circuit and releases flow through the return line, thus preventing heat dissipation from the refrigeration circuit via a heating condenser and the condenser in view of the teachings of Mieda where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a refrigeration circuit for a motor vehicle that has a return line with a liquid collector, a valve circuit and method which improves the heating capacity of the air [Mieda; 0401].
Regarding Claim 28, Graff teaches a method for operating a refrigeration circuit [0002] and Graff teaches the refrigeration circuit [fig. 1] comprising:
a refrigerant compressor [1];
a condenser [2] configured to exchange heat with a cooling circuit [0074 “additional heat absorption for the system”]
a chiller [18] configured to exchange heat with the cooling circuit [0074 “additional heat absorption for the system”];
an evaporator [4] configured to control a temperature of air in an air-conditioning device [0067 “heat absorption by the evaporator 4 of the air conditioning system”], wherein the evaporator [4] is arranged in parallel with the chiller [fig. 1],
wherein the refrigerant compressor [1], the condenser [2] and a parallel circuit comprising the chiller [18] and the evaporator [4] are connected in series [fig. 2 0061-0062] in a main circuit [at least fig. 2].
Graff does not explicitly teach a return line that branches off from the main circuit on a high-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor and leads into the main circuit on a low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor; a liquid collector arranged downstream of the parallel circuit comprising the chiller and the evaporator; and a valve circuit configured to block and release flow through the return line and
the method comprising:
operating the refrigeration circuit in an operating state in which the valve circuit blocks flow through the main circuit and releases flow through the return line.
However, Mieda teaches a return line [21a] that branches off from the main circuit [0121 “bypass passage” corresponding to of] on a high-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor [fig. 10 clearly showing a branch on a high-pressure side of (11) ] and leads into the main circuit on a low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor [fig. 10 clearly showing a branch on a low-pressure side of (11)];
a liquid collector [27] arranged downstream of the parallel circuit [fig. 34] comprising the chiller and the evaporator [fig. 34; the chiller (19) and the evaporator (18) corresponding to parallel circuit comprising the chiller (18) and the evaporator (4) of Graff]; and
a valve circuit [fig. 34; 14d] configured to block and release flow through the return line [0102 “an opening/closing valve”]; and
the method comprising:
operating the refrigeration circuit [fig. 34 corresponding to fig. 1 of Graff] in an operating state in which the valve circuit [fig. 34; 14d] blocks flow through the main circuit and releases flow through the return line [fig. 34].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Graff to have a return line that branches off from the main circuit on a high-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor and leads into the main circuit on a low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor; a liquid collector arranged downstream of the parallel circuit comprising the chiller and the evaporator; and a valve circuit configured to block and release flow through the return line and the method comprising: operating the refrigeration circuit in an operating state in which the valve circuit blocks flow through the main circuit and releases flow through the return line in view of the teachings of Mieda where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a refrigeration circuit for a motor vehicle that has a return line with a liquid collector, a valve circuit and method which improves the heating capacity of the air [Mieda; 0401].
Regarding Claim 29, modified Graff teaches the method according to claim 28 and Graff teaches further comprising:
setting the flow through the main circuit [at least fig. 1] via the valve circuit [Mieda; fig. 50; 123 and 14d] in accordance with a heating power requirement in a vehicle occupant compartment [0074-0075].
Regarding Claim 30, modified Graff teaches the method according to claim 28 and Mieda teaches wherein the refrigeration circuit [Graff; at least fig. 1] also comprises:
a chiller valve [Mieda; 14c] arranged upstream of the chiller [Graff; 18] and an evaporator valve [Mieda; 14b] arranged upstream of the evaporator [Graff; 4], which are designed to block and release throughflow [Mieda; 0102 “opening/closing valve”],
the method further comprising:
operating the refrigeration circuit [Graff; at least fig. 1] in an operating state [fig. 35] in which a pressure level [0469 “14d in a throttled state” indicating an expanded pressure level] on the low-pressure side of the refrigerant compressor [1] is set in such a way via control of the valve circuit [0469 “in a throttled state”], the evaporator valve [Mieda; 14b], the chiller valve [Mieda; 14c], and the refrigerant compressor [1; fig. 35], that the refrigerant compressor is operated at its continuous power maximum [0469-470 see also 0453 “the compressor 11 can be protected” indicating a continuous maximum power].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM DORREL MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763