DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant's amendment and remarks filed on 03/27/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 12-15, 17-22 and 26-32 are pending.
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I (claims 1-4, 8-10, 12-15 and 26-27) in the reply filed on 03/27/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant further elected the species of anti-IL-25 antibody comprising SEQ ID NOS: 3, 6, 7, 9, 12, 20, 25 and 41.
Claims 10, 12, 14-15, 17-22 and 28-32 are withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner under 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species.
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 13 and 26-27 are presently under consideration.
5. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
(i) Claims 8 and 9 are indefinite in the recitation of “functional” fragments of the respective domains, because it is unknown which functions are within the scope of the claims.
(ii) Claims 8 and 9 are further indefinite in the recitation of “derivatives” of the respective domains, because neither the nature nor the degree of derivation is defined.
In view of the above, a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot unequivocally interpret the metes and bounds of the claims so as to understand how to avoid infringement. Applicant is reminded that any amendment must point to a basis in the specification so as not to add New Matter. See MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06.
7. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Al-Daccak et al. (US 20190151346).
Al-Daccak teaches a method of treating cancer comprising administering an IL-17E inhibitor, wherein the cancer is colorectal cancer and wherein the IL-17E inhibitor is an anti-IL-17E antibody (e.g. claims 16, 21, 26, 29). IL-17E is an art-recognized synonym of IL-25. Accordingly, Al-Daccak’s teachings anticipate claims 1 and 2.
Claims 3 and 4 are included in the rejection, because Al-Daccak does not exclude patients with APC mutations, or patients with increased ILC2s in the tumor, which are therefore inherently present in the patient population.
9. Claims 1, 8-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Daccak et al. (US 20190151346) in view of Matthews et al. (US 20110250195; cited on IDS).
As addressed in section 7 above, Al-Daccak teaches a method of treating intestinal cancer comprising administering an inhibitory anti-IL-25 antibody.
While Al-Daccak does not specifically exemplify anti-IL-25 antibody comprising the amino acid sequences recited in claims 8-9 and 13, such antibody, and its advantages, are taught by Matthews.
Specifically, Matthews teaches humanized anti-IL-25 antibody RH2.5 comprising an R71V substitution in the heavy chain, which enhances binding to human IL-25 (e.g. [0182]). The antibody comprises a VH of SEQ ID NO: 2 and a VL of SEQ ID NO: 25, which are identical to SEQ ID NO: 25 and SEQ ID NO: 41, respectively, recited in instant claim 13 (see SCORE). Instant VH of SEQ ID NO: 25 comprises CDRs of SEQ ID NOS: 12, 3 and 20, and instant VL of SEQ ID NO: 41 comprises CDRs of SEQ ID NOS: 6, 7 and 9, recited in instant claims 8 and 9.
Matthews’ teachings that anti-IL-25 antibody RH2.5 is humanized and that the R71V substitution enhances binding to human IL-25 would have provided both the motivation and expectation of success in using this antibody in Al-Daccak’s treatment method. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
10. Claims 1 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Daccak et al. (US 20190151346) in view of Maecker et al. (US 9724413).
Al-Daccak teaches a method of treating intestinal cancer comprising administering an inhibitory anti-IL-25 antibody in combination with additional immunotherapeutic antibodies (e.g. claims 16, 19, 21, 26, 29).
While Al-Daccak does not specifically exemplify PD-1:PD-L1 inhibitors as additional immunotherapeutic antibodies, is was recognized by those skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that combining PD-1:PD-L1 inhibitors with specific cancer therapeutics is beneficial in treating various types of cancer, including colorectal cancer.
For example, Maecker teaches and claims a method of treating colorectal cancer comprising administering an anti-PD-L1 antibody in combination with other therapeutics. This would have provided both the motivation and expectation of success in combining a PD-1:PD-L1 inhibitor such as an anti-PD-L1 antibody with Al-Daccak’s treatment method. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
12. Claims 1-4, 8-9 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 8658169 (cited on IDS) in view of Al-Daccak et al. (US 20190151346).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are obvious over the claims of US ‘169 in view of Al-Daccak.
US ‘169 issued from application USSN 13121898, which was published as US 20110250195 (Matthews et al.) described in section 9 above.
Claims 15 and 31 of US ‘169 claims recite an anti-IL-25 antibody comprising VH and VL of SEQ ID NOS: 2 and 25, respectively, which are within the scope of instant claims 8, 9 and 13, as explained in section 9 above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use this antibody in for treating colorectal cancer, as taught by Al-Daccak, for the same reasons as presented in section 9 above.
Claims 3 and 4 are included in the rejection for the same reasons as presented in section 7 above.
13. The following prior art is cited of record but not presently relied upon:
US 20110318353 teaches a humanized IL-25 antibody comprising variable regions of SEQ ID NOS: 9 and 2, identical to instant SEQ ID NOS: 25 and 41, respectively (see SCORE).
US 20100111968 teaches treating colorectal carcinoma comprising administering an inhibitory anti-IL-25 antibody (e.g. claims 8-11, 30-31 and [0046]).
14. Conclusion: no claim is allowed.
/ILIA I OUSPENSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644