Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 7/10/25 has been entered. Upon further search and reconsideration the new rejection has been written. See below
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8-9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Uehara et al (US Patent No. 10,378,414).
Regarding claim 1, Uehara teaches A work machine comprising:
an engine; (3 figure 2)
an exhaust gas treatment device including a filter that catches particulate matter in exhaust gas discharged from the engine; and (4 figure 2)
a display device that shows a display screen indicating an operational procedure for regenerating the filter by increase of temperature of the exhaust gas, (28 figure 4A column 18 line 15-20)
wherein a progress of regeneration of the filter and a warning associated with the regeneration superimposed on the display screen are simultaneously displayed on the display device when the filter is regenerated based on the display screen. (figure 16A and 16B column 17 line 1-15 when regen switch 31 is pressed; regen exhaust filter symbol on 42 and contents on alert screen S2 displayed on 28 regen warning and progress).
Regarding claim 2, Uehara teaches further comprising:
a regeneration instruction operation unit that is operated by an operator and receives a regeneration instruction for the filter, (column 16 line 52-67 and column 17 line 1-15 regen switch 31 is pressed for a predetermined time)
wherein the display device (28 figure 4A) displays the progress and the warning when the filter is regenerated in accordance with an operation of the regeneration instruction operation unit (figure 16A and 16B column 17 line 1-15 when regen switch 31 is pressed; regen exhaust filter symbol on 42 and contents on alert screen S2 displayed on 28 regen warning and progress).
Regarding claim 5, Uehara teaches
wherein the display screen of the display device has a first display area (42 exhaust filter symbol column 17 line 1-20) in which the warning is displayed and a second display area (28 figure 4a column 18 line 15-20) that is located out of alignment with the first display area and in which the progress of the regeneration is displayed.
Regarding clam 8, Uehara teaches wherein the display device displays a notification of completion of the regeneration of the filter when the regeneration of the filter is completed. (column 19 line 11-25 when regen is satisfied… alert screen S2 figure 11a displayed on 28 to a previous display (e.g. home screen S1 figure 8)).
Regarding claim 9, Uehara teaches wherein the display device deletes the display of the progress of the regeneration when the regeneration of the filter is completed. (column 19 line 11-25 when regen is satisfied… alert screen S2 figure 11a displayed on 28 to a previous display (e.g. home screen S1 figure 8)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara et al (US Patent No. 10,378,414).
Regarding claim 6, Uehara teaches wherein the second display area (28 figure 4a) is located above the first display area (30 figure 4a) on the display screen.
Uehhara does not explicitly teach that the second display is above the first display on the display screen. However it would have been obvious to do as it is well known to have 2 separate windows on one screen. (see US Patent No. 6,600,500),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have 2 displays on top of each other on one screen since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 7, Uehara teaches a first display (area 42 figure 6, 15 A+B)
Uehara does not explicitly teach that the first display is in the center of the screen. However it would have been obvious as it is well known to put a display at the center of a screen (see US Patent No. 6,600,500),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a first display at the center of the screen, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 3-4, 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara et al (US Patent No. 10,378,414) in view of Quigley et al (US PG Pub No. 2009/0198402)
Regarding claim 3, Uehara does not explicitly teach however Quigley teaches further comprising:
a deletion instruction operation unit that is operated by an operator and receives a deletion instruction to delete display of the warning, (figure 8 paragraph 41 an activated regen can be canceled)
wherein the display device deletes the display of the warning when the deletion instruction operation unit is operated while displaying the progress (paragraph 41 regen failed message is an indication that “regen in progress” message is deleted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Uehara based on the teachings of Quigley to teach further comprising: a deletion instruction operation unit that is operated by an operator and receives a deletion instruction to delete display of the warning, wherein the display device deletes the display of the warning when the deletion instruction operation unit is operated while displaying the progress. The motivation would be to enable operator to put the car in gear (Quigley paragraph 41)
Regarding claim 4, Uehara does not explicitly teach however Quigley teaches wherein the display device displays the warning and, at the same time, displays additional information indicating that deletion of the display of the warning by an operation of the deletion instruction operation unit is possible. (paragraph 41 activated regen in progress is warning and additional information is disable regen in figure 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Uehara based on the teachings of Quigley to teach wherein the display device displays the warning and, at the same time, displays additional information indicating that deletion of the display of the warning by an operation of the deletion instruction operation unit is possible. The motivation would be to enable operator to put the car in gear (Quigley paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 10, Uehara does not explicitly teach however Quigley teaches wherein the display device displays interruption information related to interruption of the regeneration when the regeneration of the filter is interrupted. (figure 8 paragraph 41 “cancel regen” and “regen failed”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Uehara based on the teachings of Quigley to teach wherein the display device displays interruption information related to interruption of the regeneration when the regeneration of the filter is interrupted. The motivation would be to enable operator to put the car in gear (Quigley paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 11, Uehara does not explicitly teach however Quigley teaches wherein the interruption information includes notification information indicating that the regeneration has been interrupted. (figure 8 paragraph 41 “cancel regen” and “regen failed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Uehara based on the teachings of Quigley to teach wherein the interruption information includes notification information indicating that the regeneration has been interrupted. The motivation would be to enable operator to put the car in gear (Quigley paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 12, Uehara does not explicitly teach however Quigley teaches wherein the display device displays the notification information in the display area for the warning. (figure 8 paragraph 41 “cancel regen” and “regen failed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Uehara based on the teachings of Quigley to teach wherein the display device displays the notification information in the display area for the warning. The motivation would be to enable operator to put the car in gear (Quigley paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 13, Uehara does not explicitly teach however Quigley teaches wherein the interruption information includes abnormality information indicating that an abnormality has occurred in the regeneration.( figure 8 paragraph 41 “cancel regen” and “regen failed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Uehara based on the teachings of Quigley to teach wherein the interruption information includes abnormality information indicating that an abnormality has occurred in the regeneration. The motivation would be to enable operator to put the car in gear (Quigley paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 14, Uehara does not explicitly teach however Quigley teaches wherein the display device displays the abnormality information in the display area for the progress of the regeneration. (paragraph 41 regen in progress.. regen failed or disable regen figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Uehara based on the teachings of Quigley to teach wherein the display device displays the abnormality information in the display area for the progress of the regeneration. The motivation would be to enable operator to put the car in gear (Quigley paragraph 41).
Conclusion
/GEORGE C JIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747