DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 5/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/11/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (2003/0008978).
Regarding claims 3-4: Chen et al. teach a binder comprising Acumer 9932, a carboxyl group-containing polymer having a Mw of 4,000 g/mol [0028] and glycerin (a polyhydric alcohol), with the claimed molar ratio [Properties Example 4; Table 3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (2003/0008978).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5 and 6: Chen et al. teach a binder comprising Acumer 9932, a carboxyl group-containing polymer with a hypophosphite group, having a Mw of 4,000 g/mol [0028] and a polyhydroxy crosslinking agent, with the claimed molar ratio [Properties Example 4; Table 3]. Chen et al. teach a short, finite list of polyhydroxy crosslinking agents [claim 6]. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select ethylene glycol [claim 6] as the polyhydroxy crosslinking agent for the example of Chen et al. It is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 8: Chen et al. teach a silane coupling agent [0010, 0028; Claims 12-13].
Regarding claim 10: Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed viscosity. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 11: This claim is being interpreted as an intended use of the binder. The binder of Chen et al. is capable of functioning in the claimed capacity, for fibers [0039].
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (2003/0008978) as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Rodrigues et al. (2004/0254290).
Chen et al. teach a silane coupling agent [0010, 0028; Claims 12-13].
Chen et al. fail to teach a polyamine.
However, Rodrigues et al. teach adding polyethyleneimine in combination with a polyol as a crosslinker in a fiberglass binder composition [0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add polyethyleneimine as taught by Rodrigues et al. to the binder composition of Chen et al. to facilitate crosslinking of the binder polymer. It is obvious to combine separately taught prior art ingredients which perform the same function; it is logical that they would produce the same effect and supplement each other. In re Crockett 126 USPQ 186. See MPEP 2144.06.
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763