Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicants arguments for 35 U.S.C. 101, applicant argues in page 4-5
“Applicant respectfully disagrees and submits that amended claim 1 does not recite any judicial exceptions, and that even if the claims did recite a judicial exception, the claims incorporate any alleged judicial exception into a practical application. Specifically, the claimed process involves monitoring multiple classification indices over time as series data elements are sequentially obtained, comparing when each of the N classification indices reaches a threshold, and selecting K classes based on the earliest arrival times. This real-time monitoring and comparison of multiple indices as streaming data arrives cannot practically be performed in the human mind.
Applicant submits that amended claim 1 recites elements that cannot practically be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper and does not recite any mathematical concepts, and thus is patent-eligible under Step 2A, Prong One of the patent eligibility analysis…
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that amended claim 1 integrates any alleged judicial exception into a practical application and thus is patent-eligible under Step 2A, Prong Two of the patent eligibility analysis. Independent claims 9 and 10, and all dependent claims, are patent eligible for at least the same reasons. For at least the reasons presented herein, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the above rejection. ” Applicant argues that the amended claim 1 and analogous 9 and 10 are patent eligible as claims recite elements that cannot be practically performed in the human mind. Yet as previously explain in the previous office action and during the interview the claims still recites metal and mathematical process that can be practically performed by the human mind as part of the 101 step 2A, Prong One analysis. Further the applicant argues amended limitations that have not been examined, thus the argument is moot and not convincing. See updated U.S.C. 101 rejection.
Regarding applicants arguments for 35 U.S.C. 103, applicant argues in page 6-8 “As an initial matter, Applicant has amended claim 1 to incorporate the subject matter of claim 4. Mori, which is cited for the rejection of claim 4, neither teaches nor suggests "select and output, from N classes that are classification candidates of the series data, K classes to which the series data are likely to belong, in order from an earliest arrival time when the classification index reaches a predetermined threshold," as required by amended claim 1…
The configuration disclosed in Mori is intended to determine a single classification result at an early stage of the sequential data by controlling the timing of finalizing the prediction based on a predetermined condition. Mori does not compare the progression of classification indices among multiple classes and select multiple candidate classes based on the earliest time at which the indices reach a threshold. In other words, Mori does not teach or suggest the concept of ordering candidate classes based on the time at which the classification index for each class reaches a threshold [i.e., the arrival time] and selecting K classes in that order from when the classification index reaches a predetermined threshold, as required by amended claim 1.
In fact, Mori never selects and outputs multiple candidate classes (K classes) to which series data are likely to belong-it merely predicts a single class for each time series and determines if it is a "safe" class…
Accordingly, Applicant submits that the combination of cited references does not teach or suggest all features of amended claim 1.
For at least the reasons presented herein, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and
withdrawal of the above obviousness rejection.” The applicant argues that the prior art cited Mori does not teach the limitation of “in order from an earliest arrival time when the classification index reaches a predetermined threshold,”. However the claim only recites selecting and output form N classes K classes where (N≥K)≥1 and thus the limitation allows for the selection of 1 class for N classes. Further the limitation does not recite ordering any classes only selecting by the order of earliest arrival time based on the classification index reaching a predetermine threshold. Based on the claim limitation using the class that reaches a predetermine threshold would be a candidate for the data. Mori teaches “Mori page 238 4.1 Learning Phase We propose building a timeline that describes in which moment each class becomes “safe”. This concept of safety refers to the moment in which we can begin to discriminate a certain class from all the rest of the classes with a certain degree of accuracy.
Figure 2 shows an example timeline with four relevant timestamps: t1, t2, t3 and t4. These instants are ordered in time and, at each of them, a class or set of classes becomes safe. For example, at instant t3 we can begin to discriminate class C5 from the rest of the classes. If we consider the classes that have appeared earlier in the timeline, we can conclude that at timestamp t3, classes C2, C4, C1 and C5 can be predicted accurately. As will be shown in the next steps, predictions will only be provided at the timestamps that appear in the timeline or later and, by means of this mechanism, a large number of calculations can be avoided when making predictions for new time series.
Page 244 4.2 Prediction phase,
In this phase, the objective is to make early class predictions for new unclassified time series. As commented previously, PC models are only available at the timestamps that appear in the timeline obtained in Step 1 and at all the timestamps after the last point in the timeline, so predictions will only be made at these time instants. Furthermore, although the classifiers are built including all the classes, only those that are safe will be considered at each instant. If the classifier assigns a non-safe label to a given test series, the answer will be ignored and the time series will continue in the process and wait until the next time step, when more data will be available.
Moreover, the series that are assigned to a safe class must pass the test of the prediction reliability. The differences between the predicted class probabilities obtained from the classification will be compared to the thresholds extracted in Step 2. Only if they are larger, will a final class be given. If not, the series will not be classified and will continue in the process and wait until enough new data points are available.” The prior cited for claim 4 Mori teaches a method that determine when a class is safe to use to classify a given time series. The claim limitation only state “in order from an earliest arrival time”. As shown Mori can use the class that is determine safe in order of earliest arrival time by selecting and outputting. Thus Mori selects classes that have reached a predetermine threshold in classifying a timeseries as the claim limitation requires. Also the claim does not require any ordering/sorting of the classes. Thus applicant’s argument is moot regarding Mori not teaching the amended limitations of claim 1. Applicant also argues that dependent claims should be allowable as claim 1 is allowable. However, applicant’s arguments are considered but are not convincing and moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) significantly more. The subject matter eligibility test for products and process is describe below for claim 1 in view of dependent claims.
Regarding claim 1:
Step 1: Is the claim to a process machine manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes – Claim 1 recites an apparatus, which is a system that falls under the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes – The claim recites the following:
“calculate a classification index indicating a likelihood of a class to which the series data belong, on the basis of at least two elements of the plurality of elements;” - The limitations recites a mathematical process for calculating a classification index (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)I).
“select andin order from an earliest arrival time when the classification index reaches a predetermined threshold, on the basis of the classification index, wherein N is a natural number, K is a natural number that is less than or equal to N and greater than or equal to 1,”- The limitations recites a mental process of selecting N classes that are candidates and selecting K classes and to output them based on the classification index (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III). The limitations also recite a mathematical concept of N and K being natural numbers where K is less than or equal to N and greater than or equal to 1 (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)I).
and the classification index is calculated for each of the N classes - The limitations recites a mathematical process for calculating a classification index of each of the N classes (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)I).
Step 2 Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a particular application? No –
The claim includes the additional element(s):
“An information processing apparatus comprising: at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions to obtain a plurality of elements included in series data;”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to execute instructions. See Mere Instructions to Apply an Exemption (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements fall under Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity as mere data gathering. See MPEP 2106.5(g). The judicial exemptions do not integrate into a practical application nor provide an improvement. The process does not provide an inventive concept nor provides a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No - The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to a significantly more than the judicial exemption. As an order whole, the claim is directed processing data and calculating a classification index. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of processing data. The method does not improve on the function of a computer, transforms an article into another article, nor is it applied by a particular machine, making the claim not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 3:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes – The claim recites the following:
“The information processing apparatus according to claim -1[ [2]], wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to calculate, as the classification index, a likelihood ratio that is a ratio between a first likelihood indicating a likelihood that the series data belong to a class and a second likelihood indicating a likelihood that the series data do not belong to a class.” - The limitations recites a mathematical process for calculating a ratio between a first and second likelihood that will be the classification index (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)I).
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
No additional elements. The judicial exemptions do not integrate into a practical application nor provide an improvement. The process does not provide an inventive concept nor provides a practical application.
Regarding claim 5:
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
“The information processing apparatus according to claim 1 [[2]], wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to select the K classes in descending order of the classification index in a predetermined time range, on the basis of the classification index calculated for each of the N classes.”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to execute instructions to select the K classes in descending order of the classification index. See Mere Instructions to Apply an Exemption (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 6:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to calculate the classification index by considering continuity of the at least two elements.”
The limitations recites a mental process of calculating the classification index by considering continuity (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III).
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
“The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to sequentially obtain the plurality of elements,”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to execute instructions to sequentially obtain the plurality of elements. See Mere Instructions to Apply an Exemption (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 7:
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
“The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to rank and output the selected K classes in descending order of a possibility that the serial data belong to the class.”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to execute instructions to rank the output the k classes in descending order based on the possibility that it belongs to a class. See Mere Instructions to Apply an Exemption (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 8:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform weighting about ease of selection, on each of the N classes, and then selects the K classes.”
The limitations recites a mathematical process of weighting the ease of selection of K classes (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III).
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
No additional elements. The judicial exemptions do not integrate into a practical application nor provide an improvement. The process does not provide an inventive concept nor provides a practical application.
Claims 9 recite a method and is analogous to the system of claim 1. Therefore, the rejections of claim 1 above applies to claims 9.
Claims 10 recite a CRM claim and is analogous to the system of claim 1. Therefore, the rejections of claim 1 above applies to claims 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariyoshi et al. (US20150112900A1) (“Ariyoshi”) in view of Takimoto (US20180246846A1) (“Takimoto”) and further in view of Mori, U., Mendiburu, A., Keogh, E. et al. Reliable early classification of time series based on discriminating the classes over time. Data Min Knowl Disc 31, 233–263 (2017), (“Mori”).
Regarding claim 1 and analogous claims 9 and 10, Ariyoshi teaches An information processing apparatus comprising: at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions to: obtain a plurality of elements included in series data; (Ariyoshi para 0045, FIG. 1 is a diagram showing a time-series data prediction algorithm performed by a time-series data prediction device according to an embodiment of the present invention. In the present embodiment, a case of time-series data of the observation value of the energy demand in a house will be described as an example [An information processing apparatus comprising].
Para 0061, The acquisition unit 32 reads time-series data from the time-series data storage device 2. According to the setting file, the acquisition unit 32 divides the read time-series data into prediction data used for the prediction of energy demand and learning data used for the generation of a prediction model, and further divides the learning data into training data used for the model learning of the latest prediction model (no-cluster prediction model and cluster-specific prediction model) and test data used for the evaluation of a prediction model [obtain a plurality of elements included in series data;].
Para 0116, In addition, the process of the operation of the timeseries data prediction device 3 is stored in a computer-readable recording medium in the form of a program, and the processing described above is performed by reading and executing the program using a computer system. The 'computer system' referred to herein includes a CPU, various memories or an OS, and hardware, such as peripheral devices [and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions to].
Para 0168 line 1-4, Examples of the "computer-readable recording medium" include portable media, such as a flexible disk, a magneto-optical disc, a ROM, and a CD-ROM, and a storage device, such as a hard disk built into a computer system [at least one memory that is configured to store instructions;]);
calculate a classification index indicating a likelihood of a class to which the series data belong, on the basis of at least two elements of the plurality of elements (Ariyoshi Para 0146, As shown in FIG. 11, when generating a prediction result based on the cluster-specific prediction model, the evaluation unit 35 generates a classification model for calculating the cluster proximity index that is a probability that the test data for evaluation belongs to each class (hereinafter, referred to as a "class belonging probability") [calculate a classification index indicating a likelihood of a class to which the series data belong]. A class is a number of the cluster. Assuming that the class belonging probability of a class c (c=1, 2, . . . , C) is P.sub.c and the cluster of the class c is S.sub.c, the class belonging probability P.sub.c of the class c indicates a probability that test data (test data for evaluation) belongs to the cluster S.sub.c. Sparse Logistic Regression (SLR) using the probability derivation expression of logistic regression analysis is used for the generation of the classification model.
Para 149, After reading the training data for prediction from the storage unit 31 (step S510), the evaluation unit 35 generates a classification model using the feature amount for clustering extracted from the read training data for prediction (step S520).
Para 0153, The evaluation unit 35 generates a derivation expression of the class belonging probability shown in the following Expression (21), that is, a classification model, using θ determined so as to maximize Expression (20). In addition, t indicates transposition, and Xn is input data of the classification target.
Para 00152, From the above, the relationship between the input x and the output y when there are N pieces of training data for prediction with a known determination result is expressed by the following Expression (20).
Para 0154, Using Expression (21) that is the classification model generated in step S520, the evaluation unit 35 calculates class belonging probabilities P n (I) to P n (c) of the test data for evaluation with the feature amount for clustering acquired from the test data for evaluation as Xn (step S530) [on the basis of at least two elements of the plurality of elements; and]);
select and output, from N classes that are classification candidates of the series data in order from an earliest arrival time when the classification index reaches a predetermined threshold], on the basis of the classification index, wherein N is a natural number, K is a natural number that is less than or equal to N and greater than or equal to 1, and the classification index is calculated for each of the N classes (Ariyoshi FIG. 11,
As shown in FIG. 11, when generating a prediction result based on the cluster-specific prediction model, the evaluation unit 35 generates a classification model for calculating the cluster proximity index that is a probability that the test data for evaluation belongs to each class (hereinafter, referred to as a "class belonging probability") [and the classification index is calculated for each of the N classes]. A class is a number of the cluster. Assuming that the class belonging probability of a class c ( c= 1, 2, ... , C) is Pc and the cluster of the class c is Sc, the class belonging probability Pc of the class c indicates a probability that test data (test data for evaluation) belongs to the cluster Sc. Sparse Logistic Regression (SLR) using the probability derivation expression of logistic regression analysis is used for the generation of the classification model.).
Ariyoshi does not explicitly teach select and output, from N classes that are classification candidates of the series data in order from an earliest arrival time when the classification index reaches a predetermined threshold], on the basis of the classification index, wherein N is a natural number, K is a natural number that is less than or equal to N and greater than or equal to 1, [and the classification index is calculated for each of the N classes].
However Takimoto teaches select and output, from N classes that are classification candidates of the series data in order from an earliest arrival time when the classification index reaches a predetermined threshold, on the basis of the classification index, wherein N is a natural number, K is a natural number that is less than or equal to N and greater than or equal to 1, [and the classification index is calculated for each of the N classes] (Takimoto FIG. 7A
para 0034, As display which allows the classifier and the user to interactively update a classification standard, a distribution chart can be produced. The distribution chart shows a data distribution of the original feature space or indicates a projection result obtained by the projection in a feature space of equal to or lower than three-dimension through processing such as principal component analysis (PCA) to visualize the data distribution of the original feature space. FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating an example of a distribution chart 500. In the distribution chart 500 in FIG. 5, data is described in a high-dimensional feature quantity. In the distribution chart 500, a distribution of data classified into three classes, i.e., class 1 to class 3, is visualized and expressed in the three-dimensional feature space through supervised dimensionality reduction.
Para 038 line 10-18, In step S602, the data evaluation unit 202 specifies a class to which the data belongs and reliability thereof with respect to all of the input data. Herein, the class corresponds to a type of abnormality. Further, the reliability is a value indicating likelihood that the data belongs to the class, and the reliability can be expressed by probability of the data belonging to the class. The processing in step S602 is an example of class determination processing or reliability determination processing [on the basis of the classification index]
Para 0045, FIG. 7A is a diagram illustrating an example of a distribution chart 700 displayed in step S604. The distribution chart 700 in FIG. 7A is a two-dimensional graph in which a horizontal axis indicates a class type and a vertical axis indicates reliability with respect to the class. In addition, the reliability is normalized to 0 to 1. In the distribution chart 700 in FIG. 7A, data is classified into five classes, so that values corresponding to the five classes are assigned [select and output, from N classes that are classification candidates of the series data]. Further, dot images corresponding to data are plotted in the distribution chart 700. Black dot images correspond to label-instructed data, whereas white dot images correspond to label-uninstructed data. The label-instructed data accord with determination of a class corresponding to the user operation, and is data to which a class label has been instructed (given). The label-uninstructed data is data to which the class label has not been instructed. [wherein N is a natural number, K is a natural number that is less than or equal to N and greater than or equal to 1]
Para 0046, As described above, because the information processing apparatus 100 displays the label-instructed data and the label-uninstructed data in different colors such as black and white, the user can easily distinguish between the data in the distribution chart. In addition, because the user can distinguish between both data if the information processing apparatus 100 displays the label-instructed data and the label-uninstructed data in different display forms, a specific display form is not limited to the display form described in the present exemplary embodiment. (Examiner Notes: The system displays all the selected classes and what class the data belongs in).
Ariyoshi and Takimoto are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Ariyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Takimoto and select the class that the data series likely belongs by determining its reliability. Doing so to determine the reliability of the likelihood that the input data belong to a class and displaying the output to a user to support the user operations (Takimoto para 0023, An information processing apparatus according to a first exemplary embodiment uses a plurality of data pieces expressed by a plurality of feature quantities as learning data and generates a classifier that identifies a class to which the learning data belong. Further, when the classifier is generated, the information processing apparatus of the present exemplary embodiment visualizes data appropriate for supporting the user operation of assigning labels for assorting data into classes.
para 0038, In step S602, the data evaluation unit 202 specifies a class to which the data belongs and reliability thereof with respect to all of the input data. Herein, the class corresponds to a type of abnormality. Further, the reliability is a value indicating likelihood that the data belongs to the class, and the reliability can be expressed by probability of the data belonging to the class. The processing in step S602 is an example of class determination processing or reliability determination processing.).
Mori teaches [select and output, from N classes that are classification candidates of the series data ,] in order from an earliest arrival time when the classification index reaches a predetermined threshold], on the basis of the classification index, wherein N is a natural number, K is a natural number that is less than or equal to N and greater than or equal to 1, [and the classification index is calculated for each of the N classes] (Mori Page 238, Figure 2 shows an example timeline with four relevant timestamps: t1, t2, t3 and t4. These instants are ordered in time and, at each of them, a class or set of classes becomes safe. For example, at instant t3 we can begin to discriminate class C5 from the rest of the classes. If we consider the classes that have appeared earlier in the timeline, we can conclude that at timestamp t3, classes C2, C4, C1 and C5 can be predicted accurately. As will be shown in the next steps, predictions will only be provided at the timestamps that appear in the timeline or later and, by means of this mechanism, a large number of calculations can be avoided when making predictions for new time series.
Page 238, Fig. 2
Page 244 4.2 Prediction phase para 2, Moreover, the series that are assigned to a safe class must pass the test of the prediction reliability. The differences between the predicted class probabilities obtained from the classification will be compared to the thresholds extracted in Step 2. Only if they are larger, will a final class be given. If not, the series will not be classified and will continue in the process and wait until enough new data points are available [in order from an earliest arrival time when the classification index reaches a predetermined threshold]].
Page 238,
(i.e. on the basis of the classification index calculated for each of the N classes).
Ariyoshi and Mori are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Ariyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Mori and select the classes in order of the earliest one to predicted accurately. Doing so to determine what classes can be predicted accurately (Mori Page 238, Figure 2 shows an example timeline with four relevant timestamps: t1, t2, t3 and t4. These instants are ordered in time and, at each of them, a class or set of classes becomes safe. For example, at instant t3 we can begin to discriminate class C5 from the rest of the classes. If we consider the classes that have appeared earlier in the timeline, we can conclude that at timestamp t3, classes C2, C4, C1 and C5 can be predicted accurately.
As will be shown in the next steps, predictions will only be provided at the timestamps
that appear in the timeline or later and, by means of this mechanism, a large number of calculations can be avoided when making predictions for new time series.)
Regarding claim 6, Ariyoshi in view of Takimoto and Mori teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Ariyoshi teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to sequentially obtain the plurality of elements, and the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to calculate the classification index by considering continuity of the at least two elements (Ariyoshi Para 0135, FIG. 10 is a flowchart showing the operation in the prediction model selection process of the evaluation unit 35, and shows the detailed process of step S150 in FIG. 4.
0136 First, the evaluation unit 35 extracts a feature amount for clustering and a feature amount, which is used as an input parameter of the prediction model, from test data for evaluation (step S410). The evaluation unit 35 calculates a prediction result of the time-series data of the prediction target period of2 days based on the cluster-specific prediction model using the extracted feature amount of the test data for evaluation as an input parameter in the no-cluster prediction model generated in step S140 (step S420). That is, the evaluation unit 35 calculates a predicted value by using the feature amount extracted from the test data for evaluation (timeseries data Xn_7 , Xn_ 6, and Xn_ 5) as an input parameter in the approximation model of each element of the prediction target period of 2 days that configures a no-cluster prediction model, and obtains prediction results Xn_4' and Xn_3' of the timeseries data of the prediction target period of 2 days that is the calculated predicted value of each element.
Para 0149, After reading the training data for prediction from the storage unit 31 (step S510), the evaluation unit 35 generates a classification model using the feature amount for clustering extracted from the read training data for prediction (step S520).
Para 0154 line 1-6 Using Expression (21) that is the classification model generated in step S520, the evaluation unit 35 calculates class belonging probabilities
P
n
(
1
)
to
P
n
(
c
)
of the test data for evaluation with the feature amount for clustering acquired from the test data for evaluation as Xn (step S530) [at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to calculate the classification index by considering continuity of the at least two elements]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariyoshi in view of Takimoto and Mori and further in view of B. Tang, S. Kay and H. He, "Toward Optimal Feature Selection in Naive Bayes for Text Categorization," in IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering, vol. 28, no. 9, pp. 2508-2521, 1 Sept. 2016, doi: 10.1109/TKDE.2016.2563436 (“Tang”).
Regarding claim 3, Ariyoshi in view of Takimoto and Mori teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Ariyoshi, Takimoto and Mori are combined with the same rationale used in claim 1 and analogous claims 9 and 10.
Ariyoshi does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to calculate[[,]] as the classification index, a likelihood ratio that is a ratio between a first likelihood indicating a likelihood that the series data belong to a class and a second likelihood indicating a likelihood that the series data do not belong to a class.
Tang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to calculate[[,]] as the classification index, a likelihood ratio that is a ratio between a first likelihood indicating a likelihood that the series data belong to a class and a second likelihood indicating a likelihood that the series data do not belong to a class (Tang page 2511 3.1 Divergence Measures for Binary Hypothesis Testing para 1, Considering a two-class classification problem first, each class is represented by a particular distribution, saying
P
1
=
p
(
x
|
c
1
;
θ
1
)
for class
c
1
and
P
2
=
p
(
x
|
c
2
;
θ
2
)
for class
c
2
. A test procedure for classification can be considered as a binary hypothesis testing such that if a sample is drawn from P1 we accept the hypothesis
H
1
(reject the hypothesis
H
2
), and if a sample is drawn from P2 we accept H2 (reject H1). In other words, we have
p
x
c
1
=
p
x
H
1
and
p
x
c
2
=
p
x
H
2
, and we also denote
p
x
H
i
as the class conditional probability distribution in the rest of paper.
Para 3,
[a likelihood ratio that is a ratio between a first likelihood indicating a likelihood that the series data belong to a class and a second likelihood indicating a likelihood that the series data do not belong to a class]).
Ariyoshi and Tang are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Ariyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Tang and calculate a ration between a likelihood of data being in a class and not belonging to a class. Doing so to determine a measure discrimination in favor for one class (Tang page 2521 3.1 Divergence Measures for Binary Hypothesis Testing para 3,
)
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariyoshi in view of Takimoto and further in view of Mori and further in view of Goa et al. (US20020152069A1) (“Goa”).
Regarding claim 5, Ariyoshi in view of Takimoto and Mori teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Ariyoshi, Takimoto and Mori are combined with the same rationale used in claim 1 and analogous claims 9 and 10.
Ariyoshi does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to select the K classes in descending order of the classification index in a predetermined time range, on the basis of the classification index calculated for each of the N classes.
However Mori teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to select the K classes in [descending order] of the classification index in a predetermined time range, on the basis of the classification index calculated for each of the N classes. (Mori Page 238, Fig. 2
244 4.2 Prediction phase para 2, Moreover, the series that are assigned to a safe class must pass the test of the prediction reliability. The differences between the predicted class probabilities obtained from the classification will be compared to the thresholds extracted in Step 2. Only if they are larger, will a final class be given. If not, the series will not be classified and will continue in the process and wait until enough new data points are available.
Page 238,
[index in a predetermined time range]).
Goa teaches [wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to select the K classes] in descending order [of the classification index in a predetermined time range, on the basis of the classification index calculated for each of the N classes] (Goa Para 0046, In some embodiments of the invention, the observation vectors can be frames of speech and the feature vectors can be acoustic feature vectors. The pattern can be a time waveform cor/responding to speech, such that x.sub.1, x.sub.2, . . . x.sub.N can be represented as {right arrow over (x)}(t), where t is time.
Para 0054, Reference should now be had to FIG. 5, which depicts a partial flow chart showing optional sub-steps which can be performed during the combination of the feature vectors in block 110 of FIG. 1. Specifically, all classes can be ranked for each of the feature vectors, per block 136, and then a merged rank list can be generated by picking that class from among each of the feature vectors which yields the highest rank. This permits discriminating among the correct and incorrect ones of the classes. As shown in block 136, we can rank the likelihoods obtained from each model in a descending order such that all the classes are ranked for each feature vector. Per block 138, one can select the state with the highest rank from the rank ordered list R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . of each model corresponding to each feature vector so as to obtain the merged rank list.) [in descending order].
Ariyoshi and Goa are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Ariyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Goa and rank the output in deciding order. Doing so to that one can select the state with the highest rank from the rank order list (Goa Para 0054, Reference should now be had to FIG. 5, which depicts a partial flow chart showing optional sub-steps which can be performed during the combination of the feature vectors in block 110 of FIG. 1. Specifically, all classes can be ranked for each of the feature vectors, per block 136, and then a merged rank list can be generated by picking that class from among each of the feature vectors which yields the highest rank. This permits discriminating among the correct and incorrect ones of the classes. As shown in block 136, we can rank the likelihoods obtained from each model in a descending order such that all the classes are ranked for each feature vector. Per block 138, one can select the state with the highest rank from the rank ordered list R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . of each model corresponding to each feature vector so as to obtain the merged rank list.).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariyoshi in view of Takimoto and further in view of Goa.
Regarding claim 7, Ariyoshi in view of Takimoto and Mori teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Ariyoshi, Takimoto and Mori are combined with the same rationale used in claim 1 and analogous claims 9 and 10.
Ariyoshi does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to rank and output the selected K classes in descending order of a possibility that the serial data belong to the class.
Goa teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to rank and output the selected K classes in descending order of a possibility that the serial data belong to the class (Para 0054, Reference should now be had to FIG. 5, which depicts a partial flow chart showing optional sub-steps which can be performed during the combination of the feature vectors in block 110 of FIG. 1. Specifically, all classes can be ranked for each of the feature vectors, per block 136, and then a merged rank list can be generated by picking that class from among each of the feature vectors which yields the highest rank. This permits discriminating among the correct and incorrect ones of the classes. As shown in block 136, we can rank the likelihoods obtained from each model in a descending order such that all the classes are ranked for each feature vector. Per block 138, one can select the state with the highest rank from the rank ordered list R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . of each model corresponding to each feature vector so as to obtain the merged rank list. [rank and output the selected K classes in descending order of a possibility that the serial data belong to the class]).
Ariyoshi and Goa are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Ariyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Goa and rank the output in deciding order. Doing so to that one can select the state with the highest ran from the rank order list (Goa Para 0054, Reference should now be had to FIG. 5, which depicts a partial flow chart showing optional sub-steps which can be performed during the combination of the feature vectors in block 110 of FIG. 1. Specifically, all classes can be ranked for each of the feature vectors, per block 136, and then a merged rank list can be generated by picking that class from among each of the feature vectors which yields the highest rank. This permits discriminating among the correct and incorrect ones of the classes. As shown in block 136, we can rank the likelihoods obtained from each model in a descending order such that all the classes are ranked for each feature vector. Per block 138, one can select the state with the highest rank from the rank ordered list R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . of each model corresponding to each feature vector so as to obtain the merged rank list.).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariyoshi in view of Takimoto and further in view of M. Zhu et al., "Class Weights Random Forest Algorithm for Processing Class Imbalanced Medical Data," in IEEE Access, vol. 6, pp. 4641-4652, 2018, (“Zhu”).
Regarding claim 8, Ariyoshi in view of Takimoto and Mori teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Ariyoshi, Takimoto and Mori are combined with the same rationale used in claim 1 and analogous claims 9 and 10.
Ariyoshi does not explicitly teach herein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform weighting about ease of selection, on each of the N classes, and then selects the K classes.
Zhu teaches herein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform weighting about ease of selection, on each of the N classes, and then selects the K classes (Zhu page 4642 I. Introduction para 4, Therefore, we proposed a class weights voting (CWsRF) algorithm based on random forest algorithm (RF), which contains an approach (CWsV) and trains a collection of classifiers in different weights per class to combine the output of each classifier into an ultimate prediction [87]. Different weights per class are obtained from the empirical error of different classifiers. The algorithm assigns individual weights for each class instead of a single weight and focuses on the problem of effective identification for the minority class. It can improve the recognition performance for minority class while maintaining those for majority class [weighting about ease of selection].
Page 4643,
The classification capability of each classifier is often used to evaluate the weight of a classifier; therefore the classifier's prior accuracy (ACC) is used to measure the different weight per class (W / ACC); and the weights were used to calculate votes.
Page 4644,
[on each of the N classes, and then selects the K classes.]).
Ariyoshi and Zhu are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Ariyoshi to incorporate the teachings of Zhu and weight each class. Doing so to weight the decision of combining classifiers and effectively identify the minority class (Zhu Page 4642 I. Introduction para 3 line 1-17, based on random forest (RF) algorithm. Random forest classifiers can achieve high accuracy in data classification compared with many standard classification methods [65]_[68], and it can minimize the overall classification error rate and has the ability to handle class imbalanced data [4], [56], [69]. However, when the imbalanced rate increases (e.g., 15%), the classification ability is weakened [56], [70], [71], it is because that each classifier has the same weight when the classifiers are combined [70], [72]. Therefore, to solve this problem, a method of combining classifiers with different weights is proposed. Weight voting random forest (WRF), an algorithm of getting the decisions of each classifier is multiplied by a weight to reflect the individual confidence of these decisions [73]_[75]. A weighted majority voting method which is based on class-conditional independence of the classifier outputs is proposed [76].
page 4642 I. Introduction para 4, Therefore, we proposed a class weights voting (CWsRF) algorithm based on random forest algorithm (RF), which contains an approach (CWsV) and trains a collection of classifiers in different weights per class to combine the output of each classifier into an ultimate prediction [87]. Different weights per class are obtained from the empirical error of different classifiers. The algorithm assigns individual weights for each class instead of a single weight and focuses on the problem of effective identification for the minority class. It can improve the recognition performance for minority class while maintaining those for majority class).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakasu et al. (US20170053172A1) – teaches calculating the likelihood of object classes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALFREDO CAMPOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2129
/MICHAEL J HUNTLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2129