DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/16/2023 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 2-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The polymers claimed are aliphatic and not aromatic, which makes the claims indefinite. The term “aromatic” should be removed and the specification corrected removing “aromatic” with regard to the alcohol, which is a clear error. Currently claim 1 has a contrary meaning to claims 2-4 and likely the opposite of the claimed intention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 5-8, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 4,516,981 A) to Nelson, Jr. et al. (hereinafter Nelson).
Nelson is directed toward removing water from hydrocarbons. Nelson discloses at (C1, L31) a non-ionic dispersant to precipitate water from oil. Nelson discloses at (C1, L46) 25-80% of a polyethoxylated compound and 5-50% of a glycol ether, which reads on the range of 0.75:1.5 to 1.5:3.0. Nelson discloses at (C1, L61) the groups to select at least two alkyl aromatic poly-ethoxy alcohols. Nelson discloses at (C2, L10) the us of a Triton X that reads on Applicants non-ionic surfactant. Nelson discloses at (C1, L50) the composition includes a dilutant of hexanol of 10-50%, which reads on a range of 10-30%. Nelson discloses at (C2, L24) the additive is 1 part per 4000 (0.00025), which reads on the range of 0.0001 to 0.005%. Nelson discloses each and every element of claims 1, 5-8, 10 and 12-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 5-8, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 4,516,981 A) to Nelson, Jr. et al. (hereinafter Nelson).
Nelson is directed toward removing water from hydrocarbons. Nelson discloses at (C1, L31) a non-ionic dispersant to precipitate water from oil. Nelson discloses at (C1, L46) 25-80% of a polyethoxylated compound and 5-50% of a glycol ether, which reads on the range of 0.75:1.5 to 1.5:3.0. Nelson discloses at (C1, L61) the groups to select at least two alkyl aromatic poly-ethoxy alcohols. Nelson discloses at (C2, L10) the us of a Triton X that reads on Applicants non-ionic surfactant. Nelson discloses at (C1, L50) the composition includes a dilutant of hexanol of 10-50%, which reads on a range of 10-30%. Nelson discloses at (C2, L24) the additive is 1 part per 4000 (0.00025), which reads on the range of 0.0001 to 0.005%.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing the disclosure of Nelson to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1, 5-8, 10 and 12-13.
11. Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 4,516,981 A) to Nelson, Jr. et al. (hereinafter Nelson) in view of the teachings of (US 2020/0231519 A1) to Abudawoud et al. (hereinafter Abudawoud).
Nelson is directed toward removing water from hydrocarbons. Nelson discloses at (C1, L31) a non-ionic dispersant to precipitate water from oil. Nelson discloses at (C1, L46) 25-80% of a polyethoxylated compound and 5-50% of a glycol ether, which reads on the range of 0.75:1.5 to 1.5:3.0. Nelson discloses at (C1, L61) the groups to select at least two alkyl aromatic poly-ethoxy alcohols. Nelson discloses at (C2, L10) the us of a Triton X that reads on Applicants non-ionic surfactant. Nelson discloses at (C1, L50) the composition includes a dilutant of hexanol of 10-50%, which reads on a range of 10-30%. Nelson discloses at (C2, L24) the additive is 1 part per 4000 (0.00025), which reads on the range of 0.0001 to 0.005%.
Abudawoud directed toward removing water from hydrocarbons. Nelson and Abudawoud are both directed toward removing water from hydrocarbons and therefore analogous art. Abudawoud teaches at paragraph [0616] that water is removed from the hydrocarbons. Abudawoud teaches at paragraph [0224] that the surfactant may be non-ionic and include a mixture of polysorbates including polysorbate 20, which is a non-ionic surfactant.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing the disclosure of Nelson in view of the teachings of Abuawoud to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-2, 5-8, 10 and 12-13.
12. Claims 1-8, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 4,516,981 A) to Nelson, Jr. et al. (hereinafter Nelson) in view of the teachings of (US 2014/0264179 A1) to Carter et al. (hereinafter Carter).
Nelson is directed toward removing water from hydrocarbons. Nelson discloses at (C1, L31) a non-ionic dispersant to precipitate water from oil. Nelson discloses at (C1, L46) 25-80% of a polyethoxylated compound and 5-50% of a glycol ether, which reads on the range of 0.75:1.5 to 1.5:3.0. Nelson discloses at (C1, L61) the groups to select at least two alkyl aromatic poly-ethoxy alcohols. Nelson discloses at (C2, L10) the us of a Triton X that reads on Applicants non-ionic surfactant. Nelson discloses at (C1, L50) the composition includes a dilutant of hexanol of 10-50%, which reads on a range of 10-30%. Nelson discloses at (C2, L24) the additive is 1 part per 4000 (0.00025), which reads on the range of 0.0001 to 0.005%.
Carter is directed toward corrosion inhibiting. Nelson is directed toward removing water from hydrocarbons, which would inhibit corrosion and therefore solves the same problem and therefore analogous art. Carter teaches at paragraph [0021] the mixture of a polysorbate 20 and 40, which would be obvious to have a 1:1 ratio.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing the disclosure of Nelson in view of the teachings of Carter to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-8, 10 and 12-13.
13. Claims 1 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 4,516,981 A) to Nelson, Jr. et al. (hereinafter Nelson) in view of the teachings of (US 2016/0264837 A1) to Nelson (hereinafter Nelson 2).
Nelson is directed toward removing water from hydrocarbons. Nelson discloses at (C1, L31) a non-ionic dispersant to precipitate water from oil. Nelson discloses at (C1, L46) 25-80% of a polyethoxylated compound and 5-50% of a glycol ether, which reads on the range of 0.75:1.5 to 1.5:3.0. Nelson discloses at (C1, L61) the groups to select at least two alkyl aromatic poly-ethoxy alcohols. Nelson discloses at (C2, L10) the us of a Triton X that reads on Applicants non-ionic surfactant. Nelson discloses at (C1, L50) the composition includes a dilutant of hexanol of 10-50%, which reads on a range of 10-30%. Nelson discloses at (C2, L24) the additive is 1 part per 4000 (0.00025), which reads on the range of 0.0001 to 0.005%.
Nelson is directed toward removing water from hydrocarbon fluids. Nelson 2 is directed toward hydrocarbon fluids. Nelson 2 teaches at paragraph [0041] that non-ionic surfactants that includes polysorbates are used. Nelson 2 teaches at paragraph [0045] that the carrier fluid is a hydrocarbon. Nelson 2 teaches at paragraph [0049] that a biocide is added to the hydrocarbon that includes a quaternary ammonium salt.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing the disclosure of Nelson in view of Nelson2 to select each and every element of claims and add a biocide to prevent hydrocarbon degradation and to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1 and 5-13.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766