DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 12/24/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no extra search and examination burden will occur for examining the claims in the other groups. However, it is noted that the instant application is a National Stage entry filed under 35 USC 371 and the lack of unity of invention as stated in the 11/24/2025 office action at P4 has not been addressed / argued. As such, this argument is not found persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
Group II, claims 5-11 have been elected above. However, claim 5 depends from claim 1. For the purposes of this office action, claim 5 will be interpreted as an independent claim, incorporating the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ay et al. (US 2020/0006759).
Regarding claim 5, Ay et al. discloses in Fig 1, a negative electrode material ([0093]) comprising a silicon oxygen material ([0023]), comprising a silicon oxide having a chemical formula SiOx, with 0<x<2 ([0023]), wherein the silicon oxygen material is primary particles ([0023]) having a Wadell sphericity greater than 0.92 ([0020]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Ay et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the negative electrode material ([0093]) comprises a carbon layer coated on a surface ([0069]) of the silicon oxygen material ([0023]).
Regarding claim 7, Ay et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the negative electrode material ([0093]) further comprises a graphite ([0090], [0094]).
Regarding claim 8, Ay et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a carbon material ([0069], [0074]-[0075]), wherein the silicon oxygen material ([0023]) is dispersed in the carbon material ([0069], [0074]-[0078], core of silicon oxygen material is a core in the shell of carbon material), the negative electrode material is secondary particles ([0069], [0074]-[0075], core-shell defined), and the negative electrode material has a Wadell sphericity greater than 0.91 ([0085]).
Regarding claim 9, Ay et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the negative electrode material has a specific surface area of 0.5 m2/g to 50 m2/g ([0084]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ay et al. (US 2020/0006759) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xiao et al. (US 2017/0338490).
Regarding claim 10, Ay et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose a flexible polymer coating layer on a surface of the silicon oxygen material.
Xiao et al. discloses in Figs 1-6, a battery (Abstract, ref 20) including an electrode active material particle (ref 140) containing a silicon material ([0042]) including a flexible polymer coating thereon ([0040]-[0043]). This flexible polymer coating minimizes or prevents fracturing of the negative electrode material during cycling to counter silicon material expansion / volume changes ([0040]-[0043]).
Xiao et al. and Ay et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, negative electrode materials for batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the flexible polymer material coating disclosed by Xiao et al. onto the material of Ay et al. to minimize or prevent fracturing of the negative electrode material during cycling to counter silicon material expansion / volume changes, enhancing overall battery performance.
Regarding claim 11, modified Ay et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the coating layer further comprises a conductive material ([0090], [0091], [0094], [0095]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Abe et al. (US 2014/0242458) discloses in Fig 1, a battery (Abstract) including a negative active material particulate comprising silicon oxide and having a polymer coating thereon ([0038]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725