DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action responds to the amendment filed on 11/20/2025. Claims 1-2, 4-10 and 12 are pending in the application. No claims have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-3, filed on 11/20/2025, with respect to the rejection of the claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 12 under U.S.C 102(a)(2) over Rubesamen have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the new references as indicated in the below rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "can be” (screwed to the mounting body) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as “is screwed to the mounting body”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 100855304 B1), and in view of Ismert et al. (US 2015/0259891).
With regards to claim 1:
Lee et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 1 below) a device for mounting sanitary equipment (plumbing equipment 80) to a wall (30), comprising:
- a mounting body (40, 46) having a mount (46) for the sanitary equipment (80) and at least one port (52) for a liquid line (50); and
- a mounting device (46) for mounting the mounting body (40, 46) to the wall (30), and
wherein the at least one port (42) is self-closing (by check valve (45)).
Lee et al. does not disclose the mounting device has a snap element having at least one snap lug, the at least one snap lug being elastically deformable such that the snap lugs extend in a radially inward direction when being inserted through at least one opening in the wall and snap radially outward when reaching a rear surface of the wall to prevent the device from being pulled out of the at least one opening in the wall.
Fig. 1
Ismert et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 3 below) a device for mounting sanitary equipment (plumbing equipment) to a wall (W), comprising:
a mounting body (50, 46, 44) having a mount for the sanitary equipment and at least one port for a liquid line (34); and
a mounting device (44, 50) for mounting the mounting body (40, 46, 50) to the wall (W), and
the mounting device (44, 50) has a snap element (50) having at least one snap lug (50), the at least one snap lug being elastically deformable such that the snap lugs extend in a radially inward direction when being inserted through at least one opening (26) in the wall (W) and snap radially outward when reaching a rear surface of the wall to prevent the device from being pulled out of the at least one opening in the wall (see [0038]-[0040]).
Fig. 2
Fig. 3
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the sanitary installation of Lee et al. to use the wall mounting device as disclosed by Ismert et al. as an alternative design for the mounting device (46) of the sanitary installation of lee et al, since they are both sanitary installation for mounting a mounting sanitary device to an opening of the wall, to provide the fast installation/removal without having to access to the backside of the wall for turning the threaded nut (46).
Lee et al., as modified, discloses the sanitary installation according to claim 1.
With regards to claim 2:
Lee et al., as modified, discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one port (42) is self-closing.
With regards to claim 4:
Lee et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 1 above) the device according to claim 1, wherein the mounting device comprises a nut (81), which can be screwed to the mounting body (40).
With regards to claim 5:
Lee et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 1 above) the device according to claim 1, wherein an attachment element can be used to attach the sanitary equipment (80) in the mount (40).
With regards to claim 6:
Lee et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 7 of Ismert et al.) the device according to claim 1, wherein the mount is covered by a cover (69).
With regards to claim 7:
Lee et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 1-3 above) a sanitary installation, comprising a wall (30, W) having at least one opening (26) in which at least one device according to claim 1 is disposed,
wherein the at least one snap lug (50) is elastically deformable such that the snap lugs (50) extend in a radially inwards direction when being inserted through the at least one opening (26) in the wall (W) and snap radially outward when reaching a rear surface of the wall (W) such that the device is prevented from being pulled out of the at least one opening (26) in the wall (W).
With regards to claim 8:
Lee et al., as modified, discloses the sanitary installation according to claim 7, wherein the mount for sanitary equipment of the device is covered with a cover (69).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloom et al. (US 6,631,730), and in view of Lee et al. (KR 100855304 B1), and in view of Ismert et al..
With regards to claim 9:
Bloom et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 4 below) a sanitary installation comprising a wall (60) having:
- a first opening (150) formed in the wall (60) having a first device (14), wherein at least one port of the first device is connected to a liquid source (not shown) via at least one first liquid line (88); and
- a second opening (62) formed in the wall (60) having a second device (10), wherein at least one further port of the second device (10) having at least one second liquid line (74) is connected to the first device (14).
Bloom et al. does not disclose the sanitary installation according to claim 7.
Fig. 4
Lee et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 1-3 above) the sanitary installation according to claim 7 (see rejected claim 7 above) comprising an opening formed in the wall having a sanitary device disposed therein.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the sanitary installation as disclosed by Rubesamen et al. as an alternative design for sanitary installation for the first (14) and second (10) devices to wall (60), since they are both sanitary installation for mounting a mounting sanitary device to an opening of the wall.
Bloom, as modified, discloses the sanitary installation according to claim 9.
With regards to claim 10:
Bloom, as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 4 above) the sanitary installation according to claim 9, wherein a control element (not shown) for a liquid is disposed in a first mount of the first device (14) and a discharge (faucet (not labeled)) for the liquid is disposed in a second mount of the second device (10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINH Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753