Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments/amendments filed 9/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that Bergermeister (hereinafter Berg) fails to teach the claimed two channels as they are “bypassed” or “separated” from each other. Applicant has further argued that the combination of Berg and Chen does not teach a porous membrane providing gaseous communication as the rationale to combine would be non-obvious.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., separated/bypassed channels; benefits being described by applicant) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is noted that the applicant did not claim the channels as separated or bypassed from each other. It is not disclosed that they are separated or bypassed either. If the applicant wants to claim this feature, they would need to point out where in the figures this feature may be supported. Furthermore, the applicant would need to amend the specification to address this potentially newly claimed feature. As the channels are not described to be separated or bypassed, the applicant’s arguments to distinguish from Berg as respectfully unconvincing.
As for the porous membrane, examiner notes that the “and feature of Claim 16 has a better chance of advancing prosecution than what applicant has argued and currently claims (i.e. being both air permeable and liquid impermeable). 5/15/6 can be presumed to be already air permeable as they are typical air vents/membranes (¶’s [61-63]). The reason examiner brought in Chen was to improve the rejection since Chen explicitly describes the membrane as being air-permeable. For these reasons, applicant’s arguments have been respectfully refuted.
Drawing objections are maintained as applicant has not clearly labeled the drawings so they can be understood without tedious reference to the specification. The claim and specification objections are withdrawn due to the accepted amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 recites “the first air channel… the second air channel…” twice. Emend to provide proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because with the exception of clearly drawn:
fan 112, in Figs. 1-3 and
Membrane 146 in Fig. 8
elements/part-numbers in Figs. 1-8 lack clear symbols/labels/legend[s] to demonstrate what they are meant to represent right from the Figures.
Add them.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergermeister et al (USPGPN 20200039369; hereinafter Berg) in view of Chen et al (USPGPN 20220140432), as evidenced by Gentsch et al (WO 2007045458 A1)
Independent Claim 1, Berg teaches an assembly for an electric vehicle charger, the assembly (Figs. [1-14, esp. 2-4, 8, 11]) comprising:
an electric vehicle charger housing (2) having a first side wall, a second side wall (see walls of Figs. [2, 4, 11]) and a member providing gas communication between an interior and exterior of the electric vehicle charger housing, and arranged within the electric vehicle charger housing (outlets [16, 19], inlets [15, 18], element 15 can be seen in Fig. 8, elements [16 & 19] in Fig. 11, elements [15, 18, 19] in Figs. [2, 4]):
an electronics module (electronic components [3, 3b, 3c, 4], circuit board 10, ¶’s [43-50, 57, 73, 77, 86, 87]);
an output circuit (terminal 25-27 for charging cable & circuit board [10, 11], ¶’s [55-58]); and a heat exchanger (heat sink 9);
a first air channel located between the electronics module and the first side wall of the electric vehicle charger housing, the first air channel being in fluid communication with the output circuit and the heat exchanger; and a second air channel located between the electronics module and the second side wall of the electric vehicle charger housing, the second air channel being in fluid communication with the output circuit and the heat exchanger (see channels [5, 6] of Figs. [3, 4, 8, 10, 11];
see esp. top and bottom for [1st and/or 2nd air channels of Fig. 11 for 5];
for instance, 1st air channel be left side of Fig. 8, 2nd air channel be right side of Fig. 8 for both 5 and 6 respectively;
Figs. [4,10] channels of 5 in more detail representation with right/left [1st/2nd] channels).
Berg is silent to a porous membrane providing gas communication between an interior and exterior of the housing.
Chen teaches a porous membrane providing gas communication between an interior and exterior of the housing (2, see Figs. [1-6, esp. 5, 6] which is described by ¶[63] to help maintain pressure, be air-permeable [i.e.. gas porous for gas communication] through flow channel p10, valve cover 7 and air vent 71). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that while electronics are generally ok to interact with air [as disclosed by Berg to have air cooling], many liquids [e.g. water, unless completely de-ionised] are damaging to electronics. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that by employing Chen’s membrane to Berg, it would further improve the safety and longevity of the circuitry (water can cause shorting and/or explosions, which would impact safety, damage to circuitry can reduce the longevity of the circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Berg with Chen to provide improved longevity, pressure-balance, and safety.
Applicant has argued that Bergermeister (hereinafter Berg) fails to teach the claimed two channels as they are “bypassed” or “separated” from each other. Applicant has further argued that the combination of Berg and Chen does not teach a porous membrane providing gaseous communication as the rationale to combine would be non-obvious.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., separated/bypassed channels; benefits being described by applicant) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is noted that the applicant did not claim the channels as separated or bypassed from each other. It is not disclosed that they are separated or bypassed either. If the applicant wants to claim this feature, they would need to point out where in the figures this feature may be supported. Furthermore, the applicant would need to amend the specification to address this potentially newly claimed feature. As the channels are not described to be separated or bypassed, the applicant’s arguments to distinguish from Berg as respectfully unconvincing.
As for the porous membrane, examiner notes that the “and feature of Claim 16 has a better chance of advancing prosecution than what applicant has argued and currently claims (i.e. being both air permeable and liquid impermeable). 5/15/6 can be presumed to be already air permeable as they are typical air vents/membranes (¶’s [61-63]). The reason examiner brought in Chen was to improve the rejection since Chen explicitly describes the membrane as being air-permeable. For these reasons, applicant’s arguments have been respectfully refuted.
Independent Claim 20, Berg teaches a method of cooling an assembly for an electric vehicle charger (Figs. [1-14, esp. 2-4, 8, 11]), the method including the steps of (shown constructed, and would involve steps, e.g. turning on fan, building it, as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand):
providing an electric vehicle charger housing (2) having a porous member providing gas communication between an interior and exterior of the electric vehicle charger housing (outlets [16, 19], inlets [15, 18], element 15 can be seen in Fig. 8, elements [16 & 19] in Fig. 11, elements [15, 18, 19] in Figs. [2, 4]), an electronics module (electronic components [3, 3b, 3c, 4], circuit board 10, ¶’s [43-50, 57, 73, 77, 86, 87]), an output circuit (terminal 25-27 for charging cable & circuit board [10, 11], ¶’s [55-58]) and a heat exchanger (heat sink 9) arranged therein;
generating airflow along the first air channel from the output circuit toward the heat exchanger, the first air channel being located between a first side wall of the electric vehicle charger housing and the electronics module in the electric vehicle charger housing; and generating airflow along the second air channel from the heat exchanger toward the output circuit, the second air channel being located between a second side wall of the electric vehicle charger housing and the electronics module in the electric vehicle charger housing (see channels [5, 6] of Figs. [3, 4, 8, 10, 11];
see esp. top and bottom for [1st and/or 2nd air channels of Fig. 11 for 5];
for instance, 1st air channel be left side of Fig. 8, 2nd air channel be right side of Fig. 8 for both 5 and 6 respectively;
Figs. [4,10] channels of 5 in more detail representation with right/left [1st/2nd] channels).
Berg is silent to a porous membrane providing gas communication between an interior and exterior of the housing.
Chen teaches a porous membrane providing gas communication between an interior and exterior of the housing (2, see Figs. [1-6, esp. 5, 6] which is described by ¶[63] to help maintain pressure, be air-permeable [i.e.. gas porous for gas communication] through flow channel p10, valve cover 7 and air vent 71). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that while electronics are generally ok to interact with air [as disclosed by Berg to have air cooling], many liquids [e.g. water, unless completely de-ionised] are damaging to electronics. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that by employing Chen’s membrane to Berg, it would further improve the safety and longevity of the circuitry (water can cause shorting and/or explosions, which would impact safety, damage to circuitry can reduce the longevity of the circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Berg with Chen to provide improved longevity, pressure-balance, and safety.
Applicant has argued that Bergermeister (hereinafter Berg) fails to teach the claimed two channels as they are “bypassed” or “separated” from each other. Applicant has further argued that the combination of Berg and Chen does not teach a porous membrane providing gaseous communication as the rationale to combine would be non-obvious.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., separated/bypassed channels; benefits being described by applicant) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is noted that the applicant did not claim the channels as separated or bypassed from each other. It is not disclosed that they are separated or bypassed either. If the applicant wants to claim this feature, they would need to point out where in the figures this feature may be supported. Furthermore, the applicant would need to amend the specification to address this potentially newly claimed feature. As the channels are not described to be separated or bypassed, the applicant’s arguments to distinguish from Berg as respectfully unconvincing.
As for the porous membrane, examiner notes that the “and feature of Claim 16 has a better chance of advancing prosecution than what applicant has argued and currently claims (i.e. being both air permeable and liquid impermeable). 5/15/6 can be presumed to be already air permeable as they are typical air vents/membranes (¶’s [61-63]). The reason examiner brought in Chen was to improve the rejection since Chen explicitly describes the membrane as being air-permeable. For these reasons, applicant’s arguments have been respectfully refuted.
Dependent Claim 2, Berg teaches the first air channel is configured to move heated air therealong away from the output circuit toward the heat exchanger and the second air channel is configured to move cooled air therealong away from the heat exchanger toward the output circuit (9 is said to completely cover the bottom/rear side of the circuit board 10 in ¶’s [47, 50, 76]), while 25-27 are positioned more at one end of the circuit, so the air cooling loops of [5, 6] means it flows away from [25-27] part of the of the output circuit [10, 25-27] towards the other side of the circuit board having the heat sink 9, and thus meets the claim limitations).
Dependent Claim 3, Berg teaches the first side wall of the electric vehicle charger housing is directly opposed to the second side wall of the electric vehicle charger housing and the first air channel is substantially parallel to the second air channel
(Figs. [4, 10, 11] shows these relationships).
Dependent Claim 4, Berg teaches the electronics module comprises a first opening on a first side of the electronics module and a second opening on a second side of the electronics module to allow cooled air to enter through the second opening from the second air channel and cool an interior of the electronics module and exit through the first opening into the first air channel such that the interior of the electronics module is in fluid communication with the first air channel and the second air channel (see esp. 3a in Figs. [10-13]).
Dependent Claim 5, Berg teaches a passage extends between the first opening on the first side of the electronics module and the second opening on the second side of the electronics module and wherein the passage connects the first air channel to the second air channel (compare Figs. [4-6] and [10-13] for 3a).
Dependent Claim 6, Berg teaches the first opening connects the interior of the electronics module to the first air channel and the second opening connects the interior of the electronics module to the second air channel (compare Figs. [4-6] and [10-13] for 3a).
Dependent Claim 13, Berg teaches the heat exchanger is located at a first end of the electric vehicle charger housing between the first side wall and the second side wall (10, including 9, shown to be at one end of the housing between the sidewalls, ¶’s [47, 50, 76], see esp. Figs. [3, 5-7]).
Dependent Claim 14, Berg teaches the assembly further comprising a backplane arranged within the electric vehicle charger housing, wherein the backplane is located between the electronics module and the second side wall of the electric vehicle charger housing (10 is located between 3c & 3b, see e.g. Fig. 10);
the electric vehicle charger housing further comprising a rear wall connecting the first side wall and the second side wall, and a top and a bottom at opposed ends of the first side wall and the second side wall, and wherein the output circuit is located at a second end of the electric vehicle charger housing between the first side wall and the second side wall (noted that Claim 14 depends on Claim 1, and so there is no reference for a first end of a housing; nevertheless, as output circuit includes [10, 25-27] the rear/bottom part [with frame of reference for Fig. 10] is at one end of the housing between the side walls shown in e.g. Fig. 10) .
Dependent Claim 15, the combination of Berg and Chen teaches the porous membrane comprises a plastic porous membrane (Chen teaches this limitation in ¶[63], with the rationale provided for it in Claim 1 above).
Dependent Claim 16, the combination of Berg and Chen teaches the porous membrane is gas permeable and/or liquid impermeable, wherein the porous membrane is adapted to prevent the ingress of moisture, water and dust but allow the communication of gas between the interior and exterior of the housing (noted that the limitations after the and/or is not necessary to be met, however, Chen, as described above, meets this limitation, where if it is not permeable to water, dust/moisture[condensed water] would not be permeable, see ¶[63], and thus the rationale for the combination was addressed in Claim 1 above).
Dependent Claim 17, the combination of Berg and Chen teaches the electric vehicle charger housing is adapted to prevent the ingress of moisture, water and dust (if it is not permeable to water, dust/moisture[condensed water] would not be permeable, see Chen ¶[63], thus the rationale for the combination was addressed in Claim 1 above, where one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that if the only ingress is via the element 7, then it would only make sense that the rest of the housing was impermeable, otherwise, what would be the point).
Dependent Claim 18, the combination of Berg and Chen teaches the electric vehicle charger housing further comprises a door providing access to the interior of the electric vehicle charger housing, wherein the porous membrane is attached to the door, and the door includes an aperture, wherein the porous membrane is fitted over the aperture (while Berg is silent to these features, Chen in Figs. [1-6] demonstrates that the vent member 7 is removable and not integral to the housing P shown in Fig. 1, which meets the definition of a door according to the Cambridge dictionary [a flat object that is used to close the entrance of something such as a room or building, or the entrance itself, https://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/english/door] and 7 is shown to be flat, with the aperture esp. shown to be present in Fig. 5 over which 2 is slotted, with Gentsch in [page 3 L13-18] providing evidence that these membrane [being water impermeable but air permeable] can be more easily cleaned [of grime, etc. official notice taken],
thus by allowing for the membrane to be removable, cleansing of the member [e.g. for grime on one side of the membrane which can inhibit/reduce the venting and so reduce cleaning] can be more easily cleaned and more efficient venting of the material can be performed due to improved reliability that the vents are free of grime)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berg with Chen to provide improved cooling, ease, and reliability
Dependent Claim 19, Berg teaches the assembly comprises a plurality of electronics modules (3a-3c & 4, thus plural).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg in view of Chen, further in view of Song et al (CN 209409841 U)
Dependent Claim 7, Berg teaches the electronics module comprises an inlet fan located at or adjacent the second opening to draw air from the second air channel into the interior of the electronics module and the electronics module comprises an outlet fan (7 in Figs. 4-7 is shown to be adjacent to the openings to 3a, while 8 is an outlet fan adjacent to electronics).
Berg is silent to an outlet fan located at or adjacent the first opening to draw air from the interior of the into the first air channel.
Song teaches an outlet fan located at or adjacent the first opening to draw air from the interior of the into the first air channel (abstract, Fig. 3 has inlet fan 13 & outlet fan 11, with area between representing the channel, where abstract describing it as an analogous charging module). Official notice taken that the extra fan would improve the cooling ability of the system [i.e. 2 are better than one], thus “, thus the case where avoiding the lost of life as caused by heat build-up generation” (i.e. improve safety, Song abstract)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berg in view of Chen with Song to provide improved cooling and safety.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg in view of Chen, further in view of Bergen (USPGPN 20160066478)
Dependent Claim 8, Berg teaches an electric vehicle charger housing.
Berg is silent to a manifold arranged within the housing, wherein the manifold is connected to the electronics module, and wherein the manifold is configured to deliver coolant to the connected electronics module and the manifold is located between the electronics module and the first side wall of the housing.
Bergen teaches a manifold arranged within the housing, wherein the manifold is connected to the electronics module, and wherein the manifold is configured to deliver coolant to the connected electronics module and the manifold is located between the electronics module and the first side wall of the housing (¶’s [83, 99] with respect to Figs. [1-6], where Figs. [5a, 5b] have internal manifold 80 delivering cooling fluid [i.e. current], and this circuit is described as analogously cooling electronic equipment [abstract]). Bergen describes the use of manifolds serves to improve the ease/efficiency of moving liquid coolant (¶’s [03, 09, 22] in light of ¶[20] to improve the cooling of electronic equipment).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berg in view of Chen with Bergen to provide improved ease and efficiency.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg in view of Bergen and Chen, further in view of Himmelmann (USPGPN 20200325791; hereinafter Himme)
Dependent Claim 9, Berg is silent to the heat exchanger is located within the manifold.
Himme teaches a manifold with a heat exchanger inside of it (Fig. 6, ¶[53], see further Figs. [1, 3, 5] for further context). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having the heat exchanger within the manifold (e.g. that of Berg in view of Chen), it serves to provide improved cooling ability due to direct conduction between the heated component and the coolant, as it would be obvious to try to have it there (rather than a limited number of other options in the housing) since it would be directly connected to the cooling fluid rather than in thermal connection with it, so the effect of dissipating the heat would be stronger.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berg in view of [Bergen and Chen] with Himme to provide improved cooling/heat-dissipation.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg in view of Chen, further in view of Yang et al (USPGPN 20220123566)
Dependent Claim 10, Berg teaches the heat exchanger comprises and a fan (fan 8 cools heat sink 9, ¶’s [70, 73, 84], fan[s] 7 is also present).
Berg is silent to a radiator.
Yang teaches a radiator (Figs. [1-4], ¶[32], abstract, where heat exchanger 3 shown in Fig. 2 to contain both radiator 31 and fan 32). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that a radiator and a fan together with liquid coolant are more efficient at cooling than only using air described by Berg).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berg in view of Chen with Yang to provide improved cooling over the air based cooling of Berg.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg in view of Chen, further in view of Jochman (USPGPN 20200025058; hereinafter Joch)
Dependent Claims 11 and 12, Berg teaches the second heat exchanger is connected to the heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger is in fluid communication with the heat exchanger ([5, 6] are in fluid communication with each other).
Berg further teaches an electric vehicle charger housing.
Berg is silent to a second heat exchanger external to the housing (with respect to [wrt] Claim 11) and the second heat exchanger comprises a radiator (wrt Claim 12)
Joch teaches a radiator assembly (102, i.e. heat exchanger, ¶’s [41-46]) external to the housing (¶’s [18, 29], Fig. 1 shows an external radiator 102 and vent for cooling on 1008, while analogously including electronic components in the circuits of 1, ¶’s [40, 58]) the second heat exchanger comprises a radiator (102). Joch teaches inclusion of the radiator on the outside of the housing allows for improved cooling while not having to modify the housing to add a radiator (see at least ¶[18]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berg in view of Chen with Joch to provide improved cooling and ease.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859